Keyframe Studio 傲视传统的周转时间

Unity 实时制作为《Dead Pixels》电视喜剧系列带来自我创新。

Keyframe Studios:Unity 案例研究

小型工作室如何为要随时应对紧急重写和格式更改的快节奏电视领域创作广播级内容?《Dead Pixels》是一部情景喜剧系列剧,既有真人版也有在线游戏版。为使虚拟世界栩栩如生,其制片人 Various Artists Ltd. 选择 Keyframe Studios 作为其可靠的专家,为其制作线性和交互内容。

  • 挑战

    在保持顶级制作水准的同时可以应对紧急更改

  • 平台

    广播电视;点播流

  • 团队成员

    17

  • 所在地

    英国伦敦

《Dead Pixels》

为紧急更改提供平台

Keyframe 面临的最大挑战是要为每一剧集快速提供动画序列,在保持顶级制作水准的同时,还需要能够应对紧急更改。其制作环境所需的灵活性只有实时动画才能提供。有了 Unity,Keyframe 有信心提供编剧和制片人要求的任何内容。

Keyframe Studios Russell

结果

  • 与传统方法相比,4K 渲染快了 300 倍
  • 可以紧急添加新场景修订和进行格式更改
  • 加快传递和审批,节省数周项目周转时间
  • 与使用传统渲染方法相比,可以进行更多创意迭代
《Dead Pixels》简介

持续提升创新声誉

Asa Movshovitz 曾经是一名兼职动画师/骨骼绑定师,后来在 2009 年创立了 Keyframe Studios,很快一位朋友 Ben Purkis 加盟,Ben Purkis 具备向建筑应用程序应用实时动画方法的特别背景。他们组建了稳定的团队,人员包括动画师、艺术师和技术指导,现在制作各种视觉作品,包括广播系列剧和好玩的交互式 AR 环境。

多年来,Keyframe 参与了大量 BBC 和 Sky 项目,提供从儿童节目到成人喜剧的各种内容。在早期,云渲染尚未出现之时,他们的制作基础设施就包含大量动画工具以及三或四台计算机。开销非常大,他们的项目相对较小,但他们一直坚持制作高品质内容,在创新和快速周转方面享有盛誉。

《Dead Pixels》剧集

Betty Boop 生机无限

Asa Movshovitz 曾经是一名兼职动画师/骨骼绑定师,后来在 2009 年创立了 Keyframe Studios,很快一位朋友 Ben Purkis 加盟,Ben Purkis 具备向建筑应用程序应用实时动画方法的特别背景。他们组建了稳定的团队,人员包括动画师、艺术师和技术指导,现在制作各种视觉作品,包括广播系列剧和好玩的交互式 AR 环境。

多年来,Keyframe 参与了大量 BBC 和 Sky 项目,提供从儿童节目到成人喜剧的各种内容。在早期,云渲染尚未出现之时,他们的制作基础设施就包含大量动画工具以及三或四台计算机。开销非常大,他们的项目相对较小,但他们一直坚持制作高品质内容,在创新和快速周转方面享有盛誉。

《Dead Pixels》角色

《Dead Pixels》使 Keyframe 的愿景成为现实

英语并非 Movshovitz 的母语。但当他看到投到英国 E4 网的喜剧剧本时,说“我笑得停不下来。”《Dead Pixels》是一档节目,内容是真人影片角色在其日常生活和《Kingdom Scrolls》在线世界之间的讨论,后者是一款大型在线多人 (MMO) 角色扮演游戏。剧本表现了混合了线性和交互式实时内容 - 正是 Keyframe 多年来设想过的创新视觉制作。工作室为制片人模拟了原型,制片人立即表示他们非常喜欢,但 Keyframe 一年之内没有获得更多消息。

他们最终还是接到了电话,在《Dead Pixels》的第一季,Keyframe 的团队有 17 位艺术师,制作了 70 多分钟的动画、350 多个镜头、70 个角色、动物和怪兽,以及大约 30 个 CG 环境,所有这一切都在 11 个月的制作时间表内完成。

《Dead Pixels》Meg

渲染速度提高 300 倍

Keyframe 充满信心地为他们的《Dead Pixels》使用了 Unity 实时产品进行制作,随着每一集的完成,他们都收获颇丰,他们的视觉风格不断精进。“图像质量不仅媲美其他节目,还越来越好,”Movshovitz 说。

也必须是这样。广播电视的严格要求意味着要在极短的时间里制作精彩的视觉内容,对于没有预算采用传统外包渲染的小型工作室来说,是很难做到的。“实时渲染做到了这一切,这个行业是绝对欢迎的。” 

Purkis 的计算显示,与他们过去的非实时工作流程相比,他们的实时管线渲染 4K 帧的速度提高了 300 倍。“使用 10 个节点,5 分钟可以渲染 100 帧。在 Unity 中,6 秒就可以完成这样的渲染工作。只需要一台计算机。”这种即时内容交付帮助他们提升了作品迭代次数。“我们希望向艺术总监或客户提供的正是他们所需要的 – 符合他们的愿景 – 是 Unity 让这一切成真。”

《Dead Pixels》大教堂

“惊魂”电话

他们说每一个电视项目至少会发生一次 – 可怕的“惊魂”电话。当然,Keyframe Studios 必须亲自打这个电话。《Dead Pixels》项目最初指定为 24 fps 输出,Keyframe 已交付完全渲染后的第一批少量剧集。但是,制作都近尾声了,编辑告诉团队实际需要的是 25 fps 格式的剧集。而且他们当时就需要得到这些画面 - ,实际上,节目编辑们当时就坐在制作室,等着要这些画面。“我们立即致电告知制作者,不确定会怎么样。他让我们想起,这就是每个项目至少发生一次的惊魂电话,”Purkis 说。

不过,这次的电话无需紧张,因为 Keyframe 快速找到一种方法,在不丢失任何过渡的情况下自动插值,从何达到 25 fps 的要求。由于他们是在 Unity 中工作,他们只需单击“Render”,几个小时之内就完成了所有工作。“这次返工本身,就足以说明为何使用实时渲染,”Purkis 补充道。“如果不是用的 Unity,而是用的传统渲染农场管线,谁知道需要多久时间,多少代价才能完成。”

《Dead Pixels》瀑布

在渲染中,和喜剧一样,时间表至关重要

Movshovitz 说不断有云渲染公司向 Keyframe 推销,他的回应始终如一。“我们不需要渲染服务。我们知道大型工作室在做什么,我们不需要花这样的代价购买这种基础设施来竞争。”他补充说,他们的实时工作流程使 Keyframe 更具创新性,获得了巨大的竞争优势。

对于喜剧节目,这种创新性是至关重要的。如果编剧在半夜醒来想到一个新笑话,一段新的绕口令,能让人不只是大笑而是笑到打滚,为何还用过时的工作流程?“在 Unity 中能够按需制作新的动画内容,我们可以为编剧的灵感实现更好的喜剧时间表,而不必因为渲染缓慢多花时间,”Movshovitz 说。“我们每一天都可以按时完工和关上工作室的门。”

《Dead Pixels》更多创意

Unity 带来更多创意,触达更多人群

对于 Purkis 而言,Unity 最重要的功能之一是其作为开发平台的可扩展性。“Unity 接受几乎任何类型的输入,然后我们可以自由处理对象的物理特征。从动画到交互性,再到架构,它都是我遇到的所有内容创建工具中最开放的。”

Keyframe 的实时制作能力超越了创意体验,也极大提升了客户满意度。《Dead Pixels》系列剧的制作者 Tanya Qureshi 对此有切身体会。时不时都有紧急编辑更改,要求工作室“在仅仅几天之内,制作出新的全动画场景,”她说。“他们能够根据自己的工作流程贡献出有创意的喜剧方案,无疑这会对最终的节目增色不少。”

Purkis 将这种灵活性归功于实时管线。“在我们采用 Unity 之前,当客户有异想天开的想法时,我们常常不得不说‘抱歉,这些工具无法实现。’有了 Unity 之后,我们不必再说抱歉了。实际上,因为有了 Unity,我们总是能够实现各种创意。

Asa Movshovitz, Founder & Animation Director, Keyframe Studios

“在 Unity 中能够按需制作新的动画内容,我们可以为编剧的灵感实现更好的喜剧时间表,而不必因为渲染缓慢多花时间。”

Asa Movshovitz, Founder & Animation Director, Keyframe Studios
Ben Purkis, CTO, Keyframe Studios

“我们希望向艺术总监或客户提供的正是他们所需要的 – 符合他们的愿景 – 是 Unity 让这一切成真。”

Ben Purkis, CTO, Keyframe Studios

想开始创作实时动画吗?

从独立的“精品制作屋”到面向全球的媒体制作商,世界各地的工作室都在利用实时渲染的威力加快制作速度、解决工作流程中遇到的障碍并通过 Unity 来提高创造力。

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Keyframe Studio laughs at traditional turnaround times

Unity real-time production brings spontaneity to the Dead Pixels comedy TV series.

Keyframe Studios: A Unity case study

How does a small studio create broadcast-quality content for the fast-paced television world of last-minute rewrites and format changes? Dead Pixels is an episodic comedy series set in both real life and in an online game. To bring the virtual world to life, its producers, Various Artists Ltd., chose Keyframe Studios for their proven expertise creating both linear and interactive content.

  • The challenge

    To enable last-minute changes while maintaining top production standards

  • Platforms

    Broadcast television; on-demand streaming

  • Team members

    17

  • Location

    London, UK

Dead Pixels

Giving last-minute changes a platform

The greatest challenge facing Keyframe was to deliver animated sequences for each episode quickly, maintaining top production standards while enabling last-minute changes. Their production environment required the kind of flexibility that only real-time animation could provide. And with Unity, Keyframe was confident it could deliver whatever the writers and producers asked for.

Keyframe Studios Russell

The results

  • 300x faster 4K rendering over traditional methods
  • Ability to add fresh scene revisions and make format changes up to the last minute
  • Faster handoffs and approvals, saving weeks in project turnarounds
  • More creative iterations possible than when using conventional rendering techniques
Dead Pixels generic

Steadily building a reputation for innovation

After a freelance career as an animator/rigger, Asa Movshovitz founded Keyframe Studios in 2009 and soon brought on Ben Purkis, a friend with an interesting background in applying real-time animation techniques to architecture applications. They steadily put together a team of animators, artists, and tech wizards, and today create diverse visual communications that include broadcast serials and playful, interactive AR environments.

Over the years, Keyframe contributed to a number of BBC and Sky projects, delivering everything from children’s programming to adult comedy. Early on, before the advent of cloud rendering, their production infrastructure consisted of a number of animation tools and three or four computers. Overhead was high and they had relatively small projects, but they consistently put out quality content and built a reputation for innovation and quick turnarounds.

Dead Pixels episode

Betty Boop shakes things up

After a freelance career as an animator/rigger, Asa Movshovitz founded Keyframe Studios in 2009 and soon brought on Ben Purkis, a friend with an interesting background in applying real-time animation techniques to architecture applications. They steadily put together a team of animators, artists, and tech wizards, and today create diverse visual communications that include broadcast serials and playful, interactive AR environments.

Over the years, Keyframe contributed to a number of BBC and Sky projects, delivering everything from children’s programming to adult comedy. Early on, before the advent of cloud rendering, their production infrastructure consisted of a number of animation tools and three or four computers. Overhead was high and they had relatively small projects, but they consistently put out quality content and built a reputation for innovation and quick turnarounds.

Dead Pixels characters

Dead Pixels brings Keyframe’s vision to life

English is not Movshovitz’s first language. But when he saw a comedy script being pitched to the British E4 network, he says, “I couldn’t stop laughing.” Dead Pixels was a show about live-action characters bouncing back and forth between their everyday lives and their online world in Kingdom Scrolls, a massively multiplayer online (MMO) role-playing game. The script depicted a blend of linear and interactive, real-time content — exactly the kind of innovative visual production Keyframe had envisioned for years. The studio mocked up prototypes for the producers, who immediately said they loved it, but Keyframe didn’t hear back for a year.

They eventually got the phone call, and for the first season of Dead Pixels, Keyframe had a team of 17 artists creating over 70 minutes of animation, 350+ shots, 70 characters, animals and monsters, and around 30 CG environments, all in an 11-month production schedule.

Dead Pixels Meg

Rendering 300 times faster

Keyframe confidently jumped into using Unity real-time production for their Dead Pixels sequences, and as they gained experience with each episode, their visual style evolved. “The image quality not only matched what we saw in other shows, it was getting better and better,” says Movshovitz.

It had to. The demands of broadcast TV meant producing great visuals in very little time, not easy when you’re a smaller studio with no budget set aside for traditional, outsourced rendering. “Real-time rendering is what made it happen, and it’s something the industry is going to absolutely embrace.” 

Purkis calculates that their real-time pipeline renders 4K frames 300 times faster than their previous, non-real-time workflow. “Using 10 nodes, it would take 5 minutes to render 100 frames. In Unity, we’d render that in 6 seconds. On one computer.” This kind of instant content delivery facilitated an increased number of iterations they could produce. “We want to give the art director or the client exactly what they’re looking for – we want to match their vision – and Unity makes that happen.”

Dead Pixels cathedral

The “heart attack” call

They say it happens at least once on every television project – the dreaded “heart attack” call. And sure enough, Keyframe Studios had to make that call first-hand. The Dead Pixels project had been originally specified for 24 fps output, and Keyframe had delivered the first few episodes fully rendered out. Near the end of production, however, the editor informed the team they actually needed the episodes in 25 fps format. And they needed it now – right now, actually, because the show’s editors were sitting in the edit suite, waiting for the footage. “We immediately called the producer to let him know, and weren’t sure what to expect. He reminded us this was the heart-stopping call he expects at least once per project,” says Purkis.

The call was unnecessary, though, because Keyframe quickly tooled a way to automatically interpolate everything into 25 fps without losing any transitions. Then, because they were working in Unity, they just clicked Render and everything was done within a couple of hours. “That one re-do on its own is enough reason to use real-time rendering,” adds Purkis. “If that had happened in a traditional pipeline with a render farm instead of Unity, who knows how long it would have taken and how much it would have cost.”

Dead Pixels waterfall

In rendering, like comedy, timing is everything

Movshovitz says Keyframe is constantly bombarded with pitches from cloud rendering companies, and he always responds the same way. “We’re not looking for rendering services. We know what the big studios are doing, and we don’t want to compete at those prices for that infrastructure.” He adds that their real-time workflow gives Keyframe a tremendous competitive advantage by letting them be more innovative.

And for a comedy show, that innovation is everything. If the writer wakes up in the middle of the night with a new joke, a new twist that makes the difference between LOL and ROFL, why should an obsolete workflow stand in the way? “Being able to animate new content on-demand in Unity lets us deliver better comic timing for the writer’s instincts, without the moment being lost to slow rendering,” says Movshovitz. “We could get the job done and close the studio doors on time every night.”

Dead Pixels more creativity

More creativity, wider reach with Unity

For Purkis, one of Unity’s most important features is its extensibility as a development platform. “Unity accepts almost any kind of input, and then we can freely play around with the physics of objects. It’s the most open of all the content creation tools I’ve encountered, from animation to interactivity to architecture.” 

Keyframe's real-time production capabilities go beyond the creative experience and have a big impact on customer satisfaction, as well. Dead Pixels Series Producer Tanya Qureshi learned this firsthand. At times, the last-minute editorial changes required the studio to create "new, fully animated scenes that were turned around within a matter of days," she says. "Their ability to offer up creative, comedic solutions based on their workflow unquestionably added huge amounts to the final programmes.”

Purkis owes this flexibility to a real-time pipeline. “Before we had Unity, when clients asked for the moon, we often had to say ‘Sorry, the tools won’t let us do that.’ With Unity, we have no problem saying yes. In fact, there’s never been a point where we couldn’t accomplish something creative because of Unity.”

Asa Movshovitz, Founder & Animation Director, Keyframe Studios

“Being able to animate new content on-demand in Unity lets us deliver better comic timing for the writer’s instincts, without the moment being lost to slow rendering.”

Asa Movshovitz, Founder & Animation Director, Keyframe Studios
Ben Purkis, CTO, Keyframe Studios

“We want to give the art director or the client exactly what they’re looking for – we want to match their vision – and Unity makes that happen.”

Ben Purkis, CTO, Keyframe Studios

Want to start creating real-time animation?

From independent boutiques to global media producers, studios around the world are harnessing the power of real-time rendering to speed up production, smooth workflow hurdles, and grow their creativity with Unity.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it