为深受喜爱的经典测试出完美新诠释

当 SundayToz 发布广受欢迎的益智游戏《Anipang》的新版本时,由于营造了令人激动的新鲜体验,获得数百万粉丝的认可。使用 Unity Game Simulation 来测试平衡和错误,团队可专注于游戏的趣味因素。

《Anipang》:Unity Game Simulation 案例分析

《Anipang》在韩国影响甚广,自 2012 年发布以来,这一地区的下载量已超过 3500 万次。SundayToz 团队为《Anipang 4》集成了新的功能、游戏模式和叙事,并且设计了无数新关卡以满足玩家需求。为其求知欲极强的粉丝群体制作比之前版本多得多的内容,就需要在开发和运营方面进行大量新的尝试。SundayToz 采用 Unity Game Simulation,以指数级方式增加了可以运行的测试数量,并且确保精彩的游戏体验。

  • 挑战

    为深受喜爱的经典游戏制作大量关卡内容,使之焕然一新

  • 目标

    利用 Unity Game Simulation 平衡难度和检测错误,团队得以专注于游戏

  • 平台

    Android

  • 团队成员

    330 个,包括 110 个 Unity 用户

  • 所在地

    韩国首尔

更快地制作和测试更多内容

《Anipang 4》用可爱的动画生物改进了热门的 Match-3 益智游戏形式。Match-3 游戏对内容的需求度极高,需要提供无数关卡供休闲玩家去闯关,对于《Anipang》狂热的粉丝群体更是如此。为了及时制作足够的内容,除了真人测试外,SundayToz 还使用 Unity Game Simulation 作为补充,将平衡难度和失败率的工作交托出去,团队得以专注于制作更精彩的内容。

结果

  • 每周新关卡发布时都为每个关卡运行 1000 次游戏测试
  • 与以前的手动工作相比,每个关卡多运行 100 倍以上 
  • 每周为开发者节省一天时间
  • 团队得以将更多精力投向趣味因素的分析
  • 《Anipang 4》发布后前两个月的下载量就超过了 250 万次,拥有 30 万以上的 DAU

粉丝的最爱焕然一新

对于《Anipang 4》,SundayToz 希望保留数百万粉丝的所爱 - 可爱的动物、休闲社交游戏和 Match-3 益智游戏 - 同时加入 20 个玩家的实时战斗、基于公会的社交部分(称为 Fams),以及一个叙事层,目的是帮助游戏在初次发布 10 年后还能保持新鲜感和相关性。但是,变化越大工作也越多,团队需要更高效的工具才能制作和测试如此庞大的新内容。

更多关卡,更少时间

“说到益智游戏,创建关卡是最重要的部分。”SundayToz 技术总监 Donggun Kim 说,“平均来说,我们每周都更新,增加 20 个地图。我们内部创建约 30 个地图,然后选择其中的约 60% 包含在更新中。”

发布如此大量的内容会给团队带来巨大的压力。首先,他们需要找到创新的方式吸引玩家参与,然后需要快速测试游戏,在发布之前检查每一个新关卡。

“在开发团队中,每一位成员都对游戏有不同的想法。”制作者兼总监 Hyunwoo Lee 说,“因此,重要的是,要快速完成一个循环,实现某种想法,进行测试并检查结果,然后重新实现一次修订。”

最大程度增加团队时间

“改进游戏质量面临着最大的挑战,其中之一是我们的时间和人力资源是有限的。”Kim 说。团队意识到,要为完整的版本和常规更新制作足够的内容,他们需要减少花在关卡难度和查找错误上的测试时间。

SundayToz 开始开发一个内部系统,但很快发现这个项目独占了开发资源。他们开始寻找现有的模拟解决方案,幸运地发现,不需要多方寻找,Unity Game Simulation 就在眼前。他们可以将 QA 和难度测试交给 Game Simulation 完成,从而“让我们可以更专注于我们的任务,而不是去开发一个模拟基础设施。”Kim 这样说。

解决方案

“在游戏开发过程中,Unity Game Simulation 可以完成测试部分。”Kim 说。在执行模拟任务、益智游戏难度预测和检测数据错误的同时,团队可以腾出手来制作内容和进行游戏趣味因素的测试。

“为了削减成本,我们希望增加难度预测的精度,减少检测错误所花的时间。”Kim 说,“一般来说,对于创建的每一个关卡,我们执行大约 10 次测试来检测错误并衡量其难度是否适当。我们希望每次使用 Auto Play 进行测试所花的时间减少到一分钟以下,这样我们可以通过 Game Simulation 执行数百次测试迭代。”
 

工作原理

首先,SundayToz 使用 Game Simulation 调整其 Auto Play 机器人。他们对机器人运行模拟,将其与真实玩家数据相比较,然后调整机器人的参数,直至机器人的性能接近真实玩家。他们通过使用调整后的机器人,对新关卡进行模拟,以确定关卡的难度和查找错误。

SundayToz 用一组输入参数测试每一个关卡,如给定回合数、某些组件类型、任务数量等。输出指标是每个关卡的失败率。模拟完成后,SundayToz 确定输出指标是否在理想范围内。如果不在理想范围内,他们会调整参数,例如减回合数,再重新运行模拟。只要失败率符合要求,关卡的难度就是适当的。

试错

下一步,团队测试新关卡是否有错误。SundayToz 在 Auto Play 未用完给定回合就停止玩游戏的地方进行标记。发生这种情况时,SundayToz 找出错误原因,例如不正确的任务数、错误的对象放置,或者崩溃。修复错误源头后,SundayToz 再通过模拟验证更改。

“我们使用 Game Simulation 的结果进行估算。”Kim 这样说,解释 SundayToz 如何使用该解决方案进行难度分析。“基本上,我们根据自己对已发布游戏的用户数据估算会影响用户行为的输入值范围,然后通过 Unity Game Simulation 验证我们的估算值。”

测试提高游戏的成功率

“由于益智游戏的随机性,”Kim 说,“在玩同一关卡的 10 个人中,合理的情况是,大约 7 个人能够通关,另外 3 个人出错被卡住。”Game Simulation 大幅增加了给定关卡的游戏演练数量 - 玩得越多,平均值越准确,从而以更好的结果反映典型玩家的体验。

“在我们使用 Game Simulation 之前,每个团队成员都玩 10 次新创建的关卡,用这种方式进行平衡测试。不过,我们现在对新开发的关卡进行约 1000 次甚至更多次测试,来检测错误和衡量其难度。”Kim 说。结果?最终版本的问题更少,以难以想象的程度改善玩家的体验,同时节省团队的时间。

专注于趣味因素

“与以前相比,我们可以更高效地利用花在创建益智游戏关卡上的时间。”Kim 说,“过去,我们在益智游戏趣味因素检验、难度分析和错误检测上分配大约等量的时间。现在,我们采用 Game Simulation 进行难度分析和错误检测,这样我们可以把更多时间用在检验趣味因素上。”

“如今,我们只用于预测益智游戏难度和数据错误检测,但我们计划将其用途扩展到益智游戏之外的其他领域。”他说,“我们下一步的任务就是实现这一点,这样我们可以将人力资源集中在新功能或重要功能的测试上,同时我们用 Game Simulation 来测试总体功能。”

Donggun Kim, Technical Director

“在我们使用 Game Simulation 之前,每个团队成员都玩 10 次新创建的关卡,用这种方式进行平衡测试。不过,我们现在对新开发的关卡进行约 1000 次甚至更多次测试,来检测错误和衡量其难度。”

Donggun Kim, Technical Director
Hyunwoo Lee, Producer/Director

“与以前相比,我们可以更高效地利用花在创建益智游戏关卡上的时间。过去,我们在益智游戏趣味因素检验、难度分析和错误检测上分配大约等量的时间。现在,我们采用 Game Simulation 进行难度分析和错误检测,这样我们可以把更多时间用在检验趣味因素上。”
 

Hyunwoo Lee, Producer/Director

通过 Game Simulation 自动执行测试

Game Simulation 在云中成千上万次地模拟游戏的通关,提供更全面的测试覆盖率,更快的迭代和更精确的结果,让 Unity 开发者可以自动执行游戏平衡和 QA 游戏测试。

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Testing to perfect a new take on a beloved classic

When SundayToz launched a new version of the wildly popular puzzle game Anipang, they satisfied millions of fans while creating a fresh and exciting experience. Using Unity Game Simulation to test for balance and errors let the team focus on the fun factor.

Anipang: A Unity Game Simulation case study

Anipang is huge in South Korea, where it’s been downloaded over 35 million times since launching in 2012. For Anipang 4, the SundayToz team integrated new features, game modes, and storytelling, while designing countless new levels to satisfy player demand. Creating much more content than the previous game for their voracious fanbase required a variety of new attempts in terms of both development and operation. SundayToz turned to Unity Game Simulation to exponentially increase the number of tests they could run and ensure a great gameplay experience.

  • The challenge

    Create a vast quantity of level content for a fresh update to a beloved classic game

  • The goal

    Balance difficulty and detect errors using Unity Game Simulation to let the team stay focused on gameplay

  • Platforms

    Android

  • Team members

    330, including 110 Unity users

  • Location

    Seoul, South Korea

Creating and testing more content, faster

Anipang 4 heightens the popular match-three puzzle mobile game format with adorable animated creatures. Match-three games are famously content-hungry, requiring countless levels for casual players to burn through – and even more so for a rabid fanbase like Anipang. To create enough content in time, SundayToz complemented human testing with Unity Game Simulation, delegating the work of balancing difficulty and failure rates so the team could stay focused on creating more awesome content. 

The results

  • Run 1,000 playtests for each level when new levels are released every week
  • Ran over 100 times more tests per level than with previous manual efforts 
  • Saved one day per week of developer time
  • Devoted more team energy to analyzing the fun factor
  • Anipang 4 was downloaded over 2.5 million times in the first two months after launch and has over 300,000 DAU

A fresh take on a fan favorite

For Anipang 4, SundayToz wanted to keep what their millions of fans love – cute animals, casual social play, and match-three puzzles – while mixing in 20-player real-time battles, a guild-based social element called Fams, and a storytelling layer to help the game feel fresh and relevant 10 years after its initial release. But more changes mean more work, and the team needed more efficient tools to create and test such large amounts of new content.

More levels in less time

“When it comes to puzzle games, creating levels is the most important part,” explains Donggun Kim, Technical Director at SundayToz. “On average, we do updates every week, during which we add 20 maps. We create about 30 maps internally, then select about 60% of them to include in the update.”

Releasing this much content puts a lot of pressure on the team. First, they need to find innovative ways to engage players, then to quickly playtest and check each new level before release. 

“Within the development team, each member had a different idea about the game,” says producer and director Hyunwoo Lee, “so it was essential to go through a cycle of implementing something fast, testing it and checking the results, and re-implementing a revision.”

Maximizing team time

“One of the biggest challenges to improving game quality is the fact that we have limited time and human resources,” says Kim. The team realized that to produce enough content for a full version release and regular updates, they needed to reduce their testing time for level difficulty and finding errors. 

SundayToz began to develop an in-house system, but quickly found that this project monopolized their development resources. They began to look for existing simulation solutions and luckily didn’t have to look far to find Unity Game Simulation. They could delegate QA and difficulty testing to Game Simulation, which then “allows us to focus more on our job instead of having to work out a simulation infrastructure,” as Kim puts it.

The solution

“In the game development process, Unity Game Simulation can take over the testing part,” Kim explains. This frees the team to create content and playtest for the fun factor, while tasking simulations with predicting the difficulty of puzzles and detecting data errors. 

“We’re hoping to increase the precision of difficulty predictions and reduce the time it takes to detect errors to cut costs,” says Kim. “Generally speaking, for each created level, we conduct about 10 tests to detect errors and gauge whether the difficulty is appropriate. We hope to reduce the time it takes for one test to less than a minute using Auto Play so that we can do hundreds of test iterations through Game Simulation.”
 

How it works

First, SundayToz uses Game Simulation to tune their Auto Play bot. They run simulations on the bot to compare it to real player data, then tune the bot’s parameters until it performs similarly to players. Using the tuned bot, they run simulations on new levels to determine their difficulty and find errors.

SundayToz tests each level with a set of input parameters, such as the given number of turns, certain block types, mission count, and more. The output metric is the failure rate of each level. After the simulations complete, SundayToz determines whether the output metric is within the desirable range. If not, they adjust the parameters - for example, by reducing the number of turns - and rerun the simulation. Once the failure rate is right, the level’s difficulty is deemed to be appropriate.

Trial and errors

Next, the team tests to see whether the new levels have errors. SundayToz flags simulations where the Auto Play stops playing before using all of its given turns. When this happens, SundayToz identifies the cause of the error - for example, an incorrect mission count, wrong object placement, or crashes. After fixing the cause of the error, SundayToz reruns simulations to verify the change.

“We use the results from Game Simulation to come up with estimates,” Kim says, explaining how SundayToz uses the solution for difficulty analysis. “Basically, we base our estimation on the user data of already-launched games to establish the range of input values that may affect user behavior and then verify our estimates through Unity Game Simulation.” 

Testing improves games’ odds

“Because of the random nature of puzzle games,” says Kim, “out of 10 people who play the same level, it is plausible that about seven of them manage to clear it, while three are stuck due to errors.” Game Simulation vastly increases the number of playthroughs on a given level – and the more plays, the more accurate the average, so the better results reflect a typical player's experience. 

“Before we started using Game Simulation, each team member played a newly created level 10 times for balance-testing. However, we now test about 1,000 or even more times for a newly developed level in order to detect errors and gauge its difficulty,” Kim explains. The result? Fewer problems make it into the final release, dramatically improving players’ experience while freeing up the team’s time. 

Focusing on the fun factor

“We can use the time spent on creating puzzle game levels more efficiently than before,” says Kim. “In the past, we had allotted about equal amounts of time to checking the fun factor of the puzzle, difficulty analysis, and error detection. Now, we let Game Simulation take care of difficulty analysis and error detection so that we can spend more time on checking the fun factor.”

“Right now, we’re just focusing on predicting puzzle difficulty and data error detection, but we plan on expanding its use to other areas besides puzzle games,” he says. “Our next mission is to make it so that we can concentrate human resources on testing the functionality of new or important features while we let Game Simulation test the overall functionality.”

Donggun Kim, Technical Director

“Before we started using Game Simulation, each team member played a newly created level 10 times for balance testing. However, we now test about 1,000 or even more times for a newly developed level in order to detect errors and gauge its difficulty.”

Donggun Kim, Technical Director
Hyunwoo Lee, Producer/Director

"We can utilize the time spent on creating puzzle game levels more efficiently than before. In the past, we had allotted about equal amounts of time checking the fun factor of the puzzle, difficulty analysis, and error detection. Now, we let Game Simulation take care of difficulty analysis and error detection so that we can spend more time on checking the fun factor."
 

Hyunwoo Lee, Producer/Director

Automate testing with Game Simulation

Game Simulation empowers Unity developers to automate game balance and QA playtests by simulating thousands of playthroughs of your game in the cloud, providing more comprehensive testing coverage, faster iteration, and more accurate results.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it