在图形丰富的RPG《魔法时代》中探寻奇珍异宝

在与Unity合作后,Playkot开拓了新的游戏市场,大力推动了公司的发展

Playkot - Unity案例研究

在俄罗斯圣彼得堡,一位商人和一名软件开发人员在一张简易餐桌上工作,探讨如何利用行业优质图形制作精美的社交游戏和移动RPG。Sasha Pavlov和Oleg Sysoev在2009年创立了Playkot Games。从那时起,他们通过精心挑选合适的人员,利用Unity的技术并实施正确的策略来赢取世界各地的重要市场份额,从而将他们的团队发展到了150多人。

项目

从Flash转向强大的开发平台

目标是

制作图形丰富的优质移动RPG

平台

iOSAndroid和Web

项目工作人员

制作《魔法时代》期间为12人

公司

150多名员工

俄罗斯圣彼得堡和塞浦路斯(总部)

一夜艰辛换来数百万玩家

Playkot的两位创始人以VKontakte为起点开始创业。VKontakte于2007年推出,被称为俄罗斯的Facebook,一经推出便迅速风靡起来;到2009年年中开放应用程序支付系统时,已拥有逾400万用户。Sasha和Oleg都意识到,社交网络的迅猛发展是一个不容错过的机会。他们都没有游戏行业的经验,但是都富有想象力,并且Oleg对Flash有所了解。于是,他们在某个晚上熬夜制作了他们的首款游戏。

他们为什么选择Unity过渡到移动领域

不出所料,他们的首次尝试并没有那么成功。不过,他们在一周内修复了漏洞并发布了另一款游戏,这款游戏很快吸引了付费玩家。由于收入来源不断,他们增加了资源并开始开发新游戏。截至Playkot于2010年8月发布《Club Life》之时,VK已拥有近1000万用户;该游戏在仅一个月后就吸引了230万名玩家,占VK总用户数量的20%。

随着Playkot继续推出《超级城市》等游戏并跻身Facebook收入前20名游戏发行商,Playkot选择与Unity合作来转战移动平台(移动版《超级城市》就是采用Unity的技术制作),继续开发社交和休闲游戏,继而凭借优质的RPG《魔法时代》赢得了更大的成功。

成果:

  • 将更多精力投入艺术与游戏设计,因为Unity既能方便他们将更多资源分配给这些领域,又能减少排除故障时占用的资源。
  • 提高每个用户的平均收入(ARPU)
  • 访问全球Unity开发人员顶尖人才库
  • 快速移植到各种移动平台
  • 备受认可的高品质游戏图形

并非昙花一现

Playkot的发展与很多基于Flash的开发公司相似。1996年,FutureSplash Animator(被Macromedia收购之前称“Flash”)让设计人员实现了在基本时间轴上展示基于矢量的动画。它是一种相对容易学习的工具,Web开发人员可以使用跨平台查看器嵌入简单的动画。

2011年,Flash无疑是Playkot的主要开发工具。这一年,Playkot有了第一位艺术总监Aleksey Guk,并且发布了《Pioneers》《超级城市》,以及首款非Flash的移动设备游戏《Farkle Live》:一款适面向iOS和Android设备的骰子游戏。

在Guk看来,Playkot取得成功的秘诀之一在于他们比较民主的创作环境。“我的同事可以将任何好的创意变为现实。创意并非只能由艺术总监或主管提供。只要是团队成员,都可以提出创意。”

iOS设备的普及,以及Apple公司对Flash的排斥,对于Playkot和大多数其他游戏开发人员来说都是非常重要的机遇。一方面,HTML5、CSS和JavaScript等Web技术越来越重要;另一方面,Unity的创始人已在Mac OS上开发了游戏引擎的早期版本。

Sasha和Oleg过去都意识到了VK和新兴社交网络的重要性。这一次,他们也意识到了移动游戏行业涌现的巨大机遇。

迈向移动平台

2012年,移动游戏占据了视频游戏18%的市场份额;根据Newzoo《2018年全球游戏市场报告》,预计到2021年,这一数据将攀升至接近59%。Playkot正确地预见到了这一转变,积极应对了开发移动平台游戏的挑战。虽然他们通过开发《超级城市》等Facebook社交游戏积累了丰富的扩展服务器和同时处理几十万用户的经验,但移动游戏市场需要新的技能。

Roman认为,“在移动环境下,最大挑战是速度和控件,需要采取与桌面应用不同的思维模式。”幸运的是,为了制作《魔法时代》,他挑选到了合适的美术人才和技术人才来达成目标:制作出具有精美图形的精彩游戏。“我们的团队有很多‘魔法师’,没有什么是他们办不到的。我碰壁的时候,他们会说,‘没问题,我们可以解决这个问题,必要时我们可以从头再来!’”

信任Unity

转向移动平台意味着转向新的开发引擎。移动游戏市场的竞争非常激烈,发展也很快,因此,Playkot需要一种可以快速生成测试用原型并能发布适用于各种移动设备的生产级代码的工具。开发团队知道这种根本性改变会带来的风险,Sasha和Oleg必须消除他们的疑虑。

Oleg先是提醒团队他主要是一个商人而不是开发人员,然后告诉他们他的第一个理由是,“这是一种务实且简单直接的计划:我们只需支付许可证费,之后赚再多钱都是我们自己的,不是他们的。”其次,Oleg指出,Unity丰富的开发人员人才库(全球600万开发人员)会让寻求高端人才变得更为容易。第三,Roman解释说,“Unity可以为我们提供想要制作的游戏类型所需的所有技术工具。我们都认为Asset Store(资源商店)非常方便,因为它拥有成百上千种面向游戏的资源。

移动游戏成功案例分析

决定好迁移到Unity后,团队便开始下载移动游戏,仔细研究UX标准和特性。他们计算游戏加载时间、不间断畅玩的时长和决策时间框架等所有事情。Roman说,“在Unity的帮助下,我们可以让玩家完全沉浸于游戏本身而忘记游戏机制。”

Playkot随后聘请了具有丰富的Unity图形游戏经验的人员担任团队主管。“他是主脑人物,我们以他为中心组建了一个团队。每个组员都可以从他和他的代码中学到相关知识,他们学习Unity课程所产生的费用,均由我们承担。”Roman这样说道。

培训不会占用太长的时间。“学完基础知识后,他们便可着手进行更新和修复漏洞。我们的所有开发人员均具备良好的通用技能,因此,他们学得非常快。“

专注于游戏设计和更高的ARPU水平

Roman认为,Unity的优势之一在于他们可以让开发人员专注于艺术与游戏设计,无需在技术层面耗费精力。“有些公司试图通过使用各种着色器和一切先进的事物来进行技术展示。我们并没有采取这种做法。Playkot将游戏设计的艺术性放在首位,这也是我们选择Unity的原因所在。“其另一个重要优势在于速度。“从简要构思到艺术处理,再到生产就绪,Unity可以助力我们在四周的时间内开发出角色:进行完整测试并实现所有动画和视觉效果。鉴于我们要求的高质量水平,这已经很快了。”

2014年,采用Flash制作的《超级城市》游戏斩获了Facebook的“最佳新游戏奖”;2017年7月发布的移动版《超级城市》成为了Playkot利用Unity技术制作的首款游戏。不过,他们的CEO Sasha关注的依然是行业趋势,而不是现状。Roman说,“休闲社交游戏吸引了大量玩家,但这些玩家不会只衷于一款游戏。策略性RPG游戏的玩家更少,但此类游戏玩家的投入度更高,常常会花大量时间来玩游戏。大家都喜欢非常精美的图形,因此我们想制作具有精美图形的游戏,我们还想吸引那些投入度更高的忠诚玩家,这也是我们选择多元化发展的原因所在。”

这种根本性转变还可以帮助Playkot提升他们的ARPU。

《魔法时代》的诞生

游戏制作人Roman Zorin自学生时代就在构思“魔法肆虐的世界”。加入Playkot后,他开发了大型多人在线角色扮演游戏(MMORPG)的原型 — Portal。他称其为“所有Playkot人员都不喜欢的大胆、大规模和硬核”原型游戏。但他坚信,它的基本游戏元素(英雄、战场、战斗和冲突)都非常精彩。“我意识到必须将它们恰当组合起来。”经过三次内部编程马拉松之后,团队终于找到了恰当的组合,《魔法时代》随即诞生。

“三个人花费了五个月的时间制定出该项目的完整计划。我们随后又增加了五名开发人员,两个月后,我们得到了可以证明图形概念的游戏成品垂直切片”,Roman说道。团队人员增加至12人,他们开始一起制作游戏。五个月后,游戏测试版得以发布。又过了三个月,游戏在iOS上正式发布;五个月之后,游戏在Android上正式发布。

Playkot在开发《魔法时代》的过程中,充分利用了Unity的程序化摄像机系统 — Cinemachine。Roman说,“我们只能利用有限的时间来展示一个巨大的魔法世界,融汇故事情节,制作出带有角色、对话框和动画的过场动画。Cinemachine实实在在地简化了我们所有的摄像机工作,这样我们就有时间来微调艺术元素。这也是《魔法时代》被誉为最美观的移动RPG的原因所在。”

这美誉实至名归。Playkot现已拥有700多万玩家(每天100万)。在中国,Playkot进入了前50强,并且正在与一些知名的中国发行商洽谈继续在中国发展的相关事宜。《魔法时代》毫无悬念地成为Playkot目前最赚钱的游戏。这个充满活力和鼓舞人心的俄罗斯工作室坦言,Unity是他们持续成功的一个重要助推因素。

Watch this video for an example of how the studio uses Cinemachine cameras in both the Game view and the Scene view.

Cinemachine与《魔法时代》

为了打造《魔法时代》中很多非常魔幻的场景,Playkot部署了Unity的程序化摄像机系统 — Cinemachine。故事通过多个虚拟镜头从多个视角和角度展开,将玩家带入充满悬念和激动人心的游戏之中。

“有些公司试图通过使用各种着色器和一切先进的事物来进行技术展示。我们并没有采取这种做法。Playkot将游戏设计的艺术性放在首位,这也是我们选择Unity的原因所在。“

Roman Zorin, Producer, Playkot

从简要构思到艺术处理,再到生产就绪,Unity可以助力我们在四周的时间内开发出角色:进行完整测试并实现所有动画和视觉效果。鉴于我们要求的高质量水平,这已经很快了。

Aleksey Guk, Art Director, Playkot

Roman说,“在Unity的帮助下,我们可以让玩家完全沉浸于游戏本身而忘记游戏机制。”

Roman Zorin, Producer, Playkot

“Unity可以为我们提供想要制作的游戏类型所需的所有技术工具。我们都认为Asset Store(资源商店)非常方便,因为它拥有成百上千种面向游戏的资源。”

Roman Zorin, Producer, Playkot

Roman说,“我们只能利用有限的时间来展示一个巨大的魔法世界,融汇故事情节,制作出带有角色、对话框和动画的过场动画。Cinemachine实实在在地简化了我们所有的摄像机工作,这样我们就有时间来微调艺术元素。这也是《魔法时代》被誉为最美观的移动RPG的原因所在。”

Roman Zorin, Producer, Playkot

Unity Asset Store

“Unity可以为我们提供想要制作的游戏类型所需的所有技术工具。我们都认为 Asset Store(资源商店)非常方便,因为它拥有成百上千种面向游戏的资源”,Playkot的游戏制作人Roman Zorin如是说。

制作游戏时要用到的其中一种资源是Vertex Dirt(顶点环境光遮蔽),这种资源有助于将环境光遮蔽转换为顶点颜色。

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Finding treasure in the Age of Magic, a graphics-rich RPG

Switching to Unity helped Playkot reach new game markets and fuel impressive company growth

Playkot – A Unity case study

How do a businessman and a software developer working at an improvised kitchen table in St. Petersburg, Russia go on to produce sophisticated social games and mobile RPGs with some of the best graphics in the industry? Meet Sasha Pavlov and Oleg Sysoev, who started Playkot Games in 2009. Since then, they’ve grown their team to 150+ by carefully combining the right people, adopting Unity, and implementing the right strategies to capture significant market share around the world.

The project

Transition from Flash to a more robust development platform

The goal

Produce a top-quality, graphics-rich mobile RPG

Platforms

iOSAndroid and web

Project staff

12 for Age of Magic during production

Company

150+ employees

St. Petersburg, Russia, and Cyprus (HQ)

A one-night hack leads to millions of players

The two Playkot founders got their start on VKontakte, “the Russian Facebook.” VK, launched in 2007, gained quick popularity and had over 4M users by mid-2009 when it opened its payment system for applications. Sasha and Oleg both saw that the social networking trend was exploding and that it was an opportunity not to be missed. Neither had gaming experience, but both were imaginative and Oleg knew some Flash, so they stayed up late one night and built their first game.

Why they chose Unity to transition to mobile

Predictably, their first effort didn’t work that well. But within a week, they fixed the bugs and posted another game that immediately attracted paying players. As the income stream continued, they added resources and started work on a new game. By August 2010, VK had grown to nearly 10M users when Playkot launched Club Life – attracting 2.3M players – more than 20% of all VK users – after just one month.

As Playkot continued to grow with titles like SuperCity and became one of the top-20 Facebook game publishers by revenue, they chose Unity to transition to mobile platforms (SuperCity Mobile is made with Unity) and keep developing social and casual games until they found an even bigger success with the high-quality RPG, Age of Magic.

The results:

  • Increased focus on art and game design as Unity allowed them to allocate more resources in those areas and less on troubleshooting
  • Boost average revenue per user (ARPU)
  • Access to a deep global pool of Unity developer talent
  • Faster porting to diverse mobile platforms
  • Renowned high-quality game graphics

Not merely a Flash in the pan

Playkot’s evolution is similar to that of many Flash-based developers. In 1996, FutureSplash Animator (or “Flash” before it got acquired by Macromedia) let designers lay out vector-based animations on a basic timeline. It was a relatively easy-to-learn tool, and web developers could embed simple animations using a cross-platform viewer.

Flash was certainly Playkot’s primary development tool when they added Aleksey Guk, their first art director, in 2011. That year saw the launch of Pioneers and SuperCity as well as their first non-Flash, mobile-device effort: a dice game, Farkle Live, for iOS and Android.

According to Guk, one of the keys to Playkot’s success is their democratic creative environment. “My colleagues can bring to life any idea if it’s good enough. It doesn’t have to come from the art director or a lead – just being part of the team gives you a voice.”

The popularity of iOS devices, and Apple’s rejection of Flash, was significant for Playkot and most other game developers. HTML5, CSS, and JavaScript were increasingly important web technologies, and the founders of Unity had developed early versions of their gaming engine on the Mac OS.

Sasha and Oleg recognized the importance of VK and emerging social networks. This time, they recognized the huge opportunity emerging in mobile gaming.

Making the leap to mobile

In 2012, mobile amounted for 18% of the video-game market, and through 2021 it will be nearly 59%, according to Newzoo’s 2018 Global Games Market Report. Correctly anticipating this shift, Playkot savored the challenge of developing for mobile platforms. While with their Facebook social games such as SuperCity they had developed considerable experience scaling servers and dealing with hundreds of thousands of simultaneous users, the mobile market required new skills.

According to Roman, “With mobile environments, the greatest challenge is in pacing and controls – it’s a different mindset than desktop apps.” Fortunately, in order to build Age of Magic he was able to find the right talent on both the artistic and technical sides in order to achieve their goal: a great game with fantastic graphics. “Our team features many ‘magicians.’ Nothing is impossible with them. If I see a brick wall, they just say, ‘no problem – we’ll go over or through it if we need to!’”

Putting their faith in Unity

Moving to mobile meant moving to a new development engine. The mobile market was extremely competitive and fast moving, so Playkot needed a tool that could quickly generate prototypes for testing as well as publish production-grade code for diverse mobile devices. The development teams knew the risks of making radical changes like this, and Sasha and Oleg had to calm their concerns.

After reminding the team that he was primarily a businessman not a developer, Oleg told them his first reason was, “It’s an honest, straightforward setup: we pay a license fee and if we start making millions, it’s all ours, not theirs.” Second, Oleg pointed out that the considerable pool of Unity developers (six million worldwide) would make finding the best talent much easier. Third, Roman said, “Unity includes all the tech tools we need to build the types of games we want to create. And we all think the Asset Store, with its thousands of game-ready resources, comes in very handy.”

Studying successful mobile games

Having made the call to migrate to Unity, the team started downloading mobile games, carefully studying both UX standards and idiosyncrasies. They timed how long games took to load, how long they felt comfortable playing without a break, decision timeframes, everything. “Unity helps us get to a place where the player is totally absorbed by the gameplay and forgets about the mechanics,” said Roman.

Playkot then hired a team lead who had extensive Unity experience with graphics-rich games. “He was the mastermind, so we built a team around him. Everyone learned from him and his code, and we paid for anyone who wanted to take Unity courses,” said Roman.

The training didn’t take long. “After learning the basics, they would start working with updates and fixing bugs. All our developers have good general skills, so they learned quickly.”

Focusing on game design and higher ARPU genres

According to Roman, one of Unity’s strong points is how it lets developers focus on art and game design rather than technical aspects. “Some companies try to build technology showcases, using every possible shader and anything to look more cutting-edge. Not us. At Playkot, the art of game design is the biggest priority – that’s why we chose Unity.” Another important benefit was speed. “From brief to artist to production-ready, with Unity we can develop a character in four weeks, with complete testing and working out all the animations and visual effects. That’s pretty fast considering the level of quality we have.”

In 2014, SuperCity, made with Flash, won Facebook’s Best New Game Award, and SuperCity Mobile, released in July 2017, became Playkot’s first Made with Unity game. But again, Sasha, their CEO, was looking at trends rather than the status quo. Roman said, “Casual social games pick up lots of players, but they aren’t necessarily committed to the one game. With strategic RPG games, there are fewer players, but they are much more intense, and they tend to spend a lot on their gameplay. We love really sophisticated graphics, so we wanted to build games that showcased that and we also wanted to reach those intense, loyal players – that’s why we chose to diversify.”

That fundamental shift also helped Playkot boost their ARPU (average revenue per user).

The Age of Magic is born

Game Producer Roman Zorin had been working on “a world torn apart by magic” since he was in school. At Playkot, he had developed a massively multiplayer online role-playing game (MMORPG) prototype, Portal, that he said was “ambitious, large-scale, and hardcore – and nobody at Playkot liked it.” He was convinced that the basic game elements were awesome: the heroes, locations, battles, and conflicts. “I realized I had to find the right mix.” After three internal hackathons, the team found the right mix, and Age of Magic was born.

“It took three people five months to prepare a comprehensive plan for the project. We then added four more developers, and after two months, we had a real vertical slice of the game to prove the graphics concept,” said Roman. The team grew to 12 and they started production. It then took five months to soft-launch the game and another three months for the hard launch on iOS and, five months later, on Android.

Playkot heavily leveraged Cinemachine, Unity’s unified procedural camera system, during Age of Magic development. “We had a limited time to show a huge magical world, integrate a plot, generate cutscenes with characters, dialogs, and animations. Cinemachine really simplified all our camera work, which gave us time to work on fine-tuning the art elements. That’s why Age of Magic is the best-looking RPG on mobile,” asserted Roman.

Few disagree, and today Playkot boasts nearly 7,000,000+ players (1M daily). In China it reached the Top 50 and Playkot is talking to some well-known Chinese publishers about continuing its growth in that market. Not surprisingly, Age of Magic is Playkot’s most lucrative game yet – making it easy for this dynamic and inspiring Russian studio to say that Unity is an important contributor to their ongoing success.

Watch this video for an example of how the studio uses Cinemachine cameras in both the Game view and the Scene view.

Cinemachine and Age of Magic

To create the many truly magical moments in the Age of Magic, Playkot deployed Unity’s procedural camera system, Cinemachine. From numerous perspectives and angles, the story unfolds through multiple virtual lenses, drawing players into the suspense and exciting gameplay. 

“Some companies try to build technology showcases, using every possible shader and anything to look more cutting-edge. Not us. At Playkot, the art of game design is the biggest priority – that’s why we chose Unity.”

Roman Zorin, Producer, Playkot

From brief to artist to production-ready, with Unity we can develop a character in four weeks, with complete testing and working out all the animations and visual effects. That’s pretty fast considering the level of quality we have.

Aleksey Guk, Art Director, Playkot

“Unity helps us get to a place where the player is totally absorbed by the gameplay and forgets about the mechanics.”

Roman Zorin, Producer, Playkot

“Unity includes all the tech tools we need to build the types of games we want to build. And we all think the Asset Store, with its thousands of game-ready resources, comes in very handy.”

Roman Zorin, Producer, Playkot

“We had a limited time to show a huge magical world, integrate a plot, generate cutscenes with characters, dialogs, and animations. Cinemachine really simplified all our camera work, which gave us time to work on fine-tuning the art elements. That’s why Age of Magic is the best-looking RPG on mobile.”

Roman Zorin, Producer, Playkot

Unity’s Asset Store

“Unity includes all the tech tools we need to build the types of games we want to build. And we all think the Asset Store, with its thousands of game-ready resources, comes in very handy.” – Roman Zorin, Game Producer, Playkot

One of the assets used during production was Vertex Dirt (Vertex Ambient Occlusion), which helped them convert from ambient occlusion to vertex colors.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it