更好的医院设计,降低VR成本

Mortenson 如何利用 Unity 的交互式 VR 和革命性 360 全景视频功能

Mortenson:Unity 用于AEC 的案例故事

如何降低 AEC 项目的高昂成本和巨大风险?Mortenson 已经找到了办法。通过在交互式 3D 空间中完美模拟新的医院和手术室设计,他们的客户可以完全实现关键医疗仪器、工作区和技术的可视化并与之交互,从而确保最佳布局和人体工程学设计。这可以带来简化病人护理、提高员工效率和降低成本之类的主要优势。

项目

交互式 VR 改善了 Kaiser Permanente 等的医院设计

目标是

帮助客户真正可视化、体验和批准新设计项目

平台

VR:HTC Vive、Oculus Rift、Oculus Go、HoloLens、360 全景视频

团队成员

4

地点

美国西雅图和明尼阿波里斯

交互式VR和360视频可改善医院设计

位于明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯的Mortenson是美国排名前20位的能源和工程服务制造商、开发商和提供商。该公司是一家私有公司,拥有约5,000名员工,年营收达38亿美元,在美国各地均设有办事处。其在商业建筑、绿色/可持续建筑、虚拟设计与建筑(VDC)、建筑安全等方面的专业知识倍受赞誉。

多年以前,Mortenson预见到了将可视化技术集成到设计和客户体验服务中的价值并成立了Virtual Insight团队。自此Mortenson成为使用Unity提供虚拟现实(VR)和360视频体验的行家,能满足客户各种各样的需求,如建筑设计审核、销售和市场活动等。

他们的VR医院客户包括华盛顿大学医疗中心和Kaiser Permanente。 

 

成果:

  • 支持客户和开发团队在实时3D设计审核中相互协作
  • 许可医疗利益相关者预先体验和大规模定制新工作空间
  • 让Mortenson轻松为许多不同设备输出到VR和/或360全景视频
  • 为客户节省物理模型的巨大成本(大项目可能需要成千上万个模型)
  • 让客户在项目早期阶段识别和消除人体工程学或设计缺陷

 

VR医院设计的诸多好处

Mortenson 看到了 3D 和 VR 创新的潜力

几年前,Mortenson 的新兴技术开发人员 Will Adams 和 Marc Kinsman(位于西雅图)看到了 VR 和 360 全景视频对客户的价值。当第一款 Oculus 头戴设备刚刚发布时,Adams 早早地就进入了这个领域,他知道 Unity 支持该平台。

“我正在处理 Minnesota Vikings 的体育馆的一个设计项目。尽管我的背景主要是建筑与设计(还有一些渲染经验),但是我还是说服了我们的项目团队利用 3D 渲染引擎来探索新空间模拟的创意。当时,我在这个方面几乎没什么经验,但是我知道它看起来会很酷,而且也很容易输出到 VR。”Adams 的同事 Marc Kinsman 补充道:“Unity 有一个庞大的支持社区,所以学习起来不会太难。”

由于“虚拟洞见”团队的 Adams、Kinsman 和其他同事跟上了 Unity 的发展速度,所以他们的第一个 VR 项目涵盖了新 3D 空间的基础知识,但是也仅限于此。“当我们开始时,我们主要关注的是客户可以来回走的简单虚拟化项目,但在过去几年,我们已经意识到在这些环境中为用户参与构建交互是何等重要。”

利用 Unity 奠定基础

当“虚拟洞见”团队启动 VR 项目时,他们使用许多体系结构资源和其他资源,他们在需要时就从资源商店下载这些资源,他们还从 3ds Max、SketchUp 和 Rhino 等其他软件拿来了许多模型。在内部,他们紧密协作,所以他们全都联接到了 Unity,这加快了开发和问题解决速度,但是也意味着他们在美国和欧洲的客户可以在这些定制 VR 空间中实时协作。

由于广泛交付的客户产品,该团队喜欢在他们的项目中使用许多 Unity 功能,如 C# API。“我们使用这个 API 可以做许多事情。在我们准备建议时,它给了我们信心,因为即使客户想要我们之前从未做过的东西,我们也知道这个 API 可以帮助我们完成,”Adams 说。

当他们的项目快要完成时,Kinsman 说他们几乎不费吹灰之力就可以输出到超过 20 款平台。“我们在 Oculus Rift 和 Oculus Go、HTC Vive 和 HoloLens 之间不断切换 – 而且我们也针对移动设备做了一些开发 – 所以使用 Unity 作为基础可以让硬件“恰好”适合项目,这对我们来说非常有利。从同一款开发平台,我们可以找到项目需要的任何东西。我们不必学习新的技能,并且我们可以满足无数种客户硬件和平台要求。”

当他们启动新项目时,这个团队通常会先升级到新的 Unity 版本(他们目前使用的是 Unity 2017.3 版本)。在他们的持续研发计划中,他们会定期安装最新的版本,以便熟悉他们想要使用的新功能,如可编程渲染管线 (SRP)。他们不久就会迁移到 Unity 2018。

医院客户利用 VR 和 360 全景视频改善运营

一年为许多顶级客户做 20 来个基于 Unity 的项目让这个团队积累了丰富的 VR 和 360 全景视频经验。他们的客户包括美国第三大非盈利医院组织 Kaiser Permanente。

“通常,在医疗领域,客户会要求我们帮助完成一个主要用例:在 3D 空间构建协作式虚拟模型,”Adams 说。“医院项目经理经常告诉我们,在操作间建好之前,要让外科手术团队理解如何使用操作间极其困难。如果项目经理不能让外科手术团队参与和支持项目,那么医院不可避免的就需要马上做出改变,因为原来的项目对团队没有作用。”

例如,Kaiser Permanente 之前设计过一个新的介入放射诊断室,他们希望确保他们的医疗团队在这个诊断室可以顺利工作。Mortenson 根据规范以虚拟化方式构建了整个诊断室,所以该团队的每一名成员都可以进入这个空间并与之交互,从而帮助他们确定他们将在其中协作多年的诊断室的最终设计。为了这个目的,所有指定的设备都实事求是地在 3D 中呈现了出来,所以外科手术团队可以体验和操纵手术灯、桌子以及他们通常会与之交互的任何其他设备。要查看实际效果,请观看 Kaiser 放射诊疗室视频。

在另一个项目中,当 Mortenson 客户在设计或构建一个新的治疗中心或手术室时,客户利益相关者(包括项目经理、医生、护士和技术人员)通常希望与不同的要素进行交互,从而在项目的最初阶段制定关于房间尺寸比例、人体工程学、功能系统和工作流程效率方面的决策。“这为他们提供了发现、讨论和改正任何问题的良机,”Kinsman 说。观看 Mortenson 如何为华盛顿大学医疗中心校医院创造协作式工作环境。

虚拟项目产生的众多良好优势

在医疗客户的设计审核项目方面,Mortenson 的“虚拟洞见”团队在不断输出巨大的价值。凭借他们的交互式 VR 设计,客户可以节省巨大的成本,避免在开始浇筑混凝土、砌墙或订材料后出现重大缺陷和挫折,并且全都不需要投入时间和成本来制作物理模型。

例如,华盛顿大学医疗中心的资本项目经理 Bob Dillon 说:“它永远在那里 – 你随时可以回去看看,重新审视你的决定,或者看看某一个改变会对项目的剩余部分造成怎样的影响。”Kinsman 补充道:“与物理模型相比,我们的客户总是更喜欢虚拟现实模型,因为它是如此物美价廉。”

Mortenson 也看到了 Kaiser 的巨大成功。“凭借我们利用 Unity 构建的沉浸式交互 VR 体验,项目团队可以确定设计中的不足之处,确保最高产和高效的工作流程,并获得医疗专家的强力支持。重要的是,这让 Kaiser 可以控制预算和计划,而无需付出与物理模型相关的支出和准备时间,”Adams 总结说。

最后一点不足为奇。由于 Unity 的灵活性,广泛的平台支持性和广泛的生态系统 – 如支持社区和资源商店 – 它很快就成为了 Mortenson 的首选平台。他们利用这一平台将巨大的价值和重要的设计验证流程带给他们在医疗行业的客户。

“不管是在 2D 还是 3D 中,我们总有办法实现新建筑设计的可视化,但是 Unity 为我们提供的是一种大规模构建设计的方式。在这种方式中,我们的客户可以完全体验新空间的每一个方面,如尺寸比例、功能、窗户、照明、颜色、纹理等。交互式 VR 可以即时提供客户反馈、重大决策,帮助客户节省时间和金钱。”

Marc Kinsman, Emerging Technology Developer, Mortenson

“凭借我们利用 Unity 构建的沉浸式交互 VR 体验,项目团队可以确定设计中的不足之处,确保最高产和高效的工作流程,并获得医疗专家的强力支持。重要的是,这让 Kaiser 可以控制预算和计划,而无需付出与物理模型相关的支出和准备时间。”

Will Adams, Emerging Technology Developer, Mortenson

想要开始使用针对AEC的Unity解决方案吗?

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Better hospital designs, lower costs with VR

How Mortenson employs Unity for interactive VR and innovative 360 video

Mortenson: A Unity for AEC case study

How do you lessen the high costs and immense risks of AEC medical projects? Mortenson has found a way. By perfectly simulating new hospital and operating-room designs in interactive 3D spaces, their clients can fully visualize and interact with their crucial medical instruments, work areas and technologies to ensure optimal layout and ergonomics. This means major benefits like streamlined patient care, more efficient staff, and lower costs.  

The project

Interactive VR improves hospital designs for Kaiser Permanente and others

The goal

Help clients truly visualize, experience and approve new design projects  

Platforms

VR: HTC Vive, Oculus Rift, Oculus Go, HoloLens, 360 video

Team members

4

Location

Seattle and Minneapolis, USA

Minneapolis, MN-based Mortenson is a U.S.-based, top-20 builder, developer and provider of energy and engineering services. The company is privately-held with 5,000 employees, $3.8 billion in revenue, and has offices across the U.S. Their expertise is highly sought after for commercial building, green/sustainable construction, virtual design & construction (VDC), construction safety, and much more.

Years ago, Mortenson saw the value of integrating visualization technologies into their design/customer experience offering and created a Virtual Insights team. Since then, they have become experts in using Unity to deliver interactive virtual-reality (VR) and 360 video experiences for a wide variety of client needs such as building-design reviews and sales & marketing initiatives.

Their VR hospital customers include the University of Washington Medical Center and Kaiser Permanente.  

 

The results:

  • Empowers clients and developer teams to collaborate in real-time 3D design reviews
  • Permits medical stakeholders to pre-experience and tailor new workspaces at scale
  • Lets Mortenson easily output to VR and/or 360 video for many different devices
  • Saves clients huge amounts on physical mockups (hundreds of thousands on large projects)
  • Allows clients to identify and eliminate ergonomic or design flaws early in project

 

  • Innovating in 3D and VR
  • Laying the foundation with Unity
  • Better hospitals with VR & 360
  • Many benefits from virtual projects

Mortenson saw the potential for 3D and VR innovation

Several years back, Seattle-based Will Adams and Marc Kinsman, Emerging Technologies Developers at Mortenson, saw the value of VR and 360 video for client projects. The first Oculus headset was just out and Adams got in on the ground floor knowing that Unity supported the platform. 

“I was working on a design project for the Minnesota Vikings’ stadium. Even though my background is mostly in architecture and design (and some rendering), I was able to convince our project team to explore the idea of simulating the new space with a 3D rendering engine. At the time, I had little experience doing that but I just knew that it would look cool and be easy to output to VR.” Adams’ colleague, Marc Kinsman, was also on board “because Unity has a big supportive community, which meant it would be easy to learn.”

As Adams, Kinsman and colleagues on the Virtual Insights team got up to speed on Unity, their first VR projects covered the basics of the new 3D space but not much more. “When we started, we were mainly focused on simple virtual projects that clients could walk around in, but over the past few years, we’ve realized how important it is to build interaction into these environments for user engagement.”

Laying the foundation with Unity

When the Virtual Insights team begins a VR project, they use many architecture assets and other resources, which they download from the Asset Store as needed and they also pull in a lot of models from other software such as 3ds Max, SketchUp, and Rhino. Internally, they collaborate a lot, so they are all networked in Unity, which speeds up development and problem-solving, but also means that their customers throughout the U.S. and in Europe can collaborate in real-time in these custom VR spaces. 

Due to the wide-ranging client deliverables, the team favors a number of Unity features for their projects, such as the C# API. “We can do pretty much anything we want with the API. It gives us confidence when we’re doing proposals because even if the customer wants something we’ve never done before, we know the API will help us deliver it,” says Adams. 

As their projects near the finish line, Kinsman says they like how effortless it is to output to 20-plus platforms. “We’ll jump between Oculus Rift and Oculus Go, the HTC Vive and HoloLens – and we’ve done some stuff for mobile devices too – so using Unity as the base allows us to ‘right fit’ the hardware for the project, and that’s been quite beneficial for us. From the same development platform, we can target whatever’s needed for the project. We don’t have to learn anything new and we can accommodate myriad client hardware and platform requirements.” 

When they start a new project, the team typically upgrades to a new Unity version (they’re currently on Unity 2017.3). And as part of their ongoing R&D, they regularly install the latest versions to familiarize themselves with new features they want to try out, such as the Scriptable Render Pipeline (SRP). They’ll be migrating to Unity 2018 soon.

Hospital clients operate better with VR and 360 video

Doing around 20 Unity-based projects a year has given the team a lot of VR and 360 video experience for many top-tier clients, including Kaiser Permanente, the third-largest non-profit hospital organization in the U.S. 

“Generally, within the medical arena, clients ask us for help with one major use case: to build a collaborative virtual mockup in 3D space,” says Adams. “Hospital project managers regularly tell us how difficult it is for surgical teams to understand how a procedure room will work for them before it gets built. If the PM can’t get the surgical team to engage and buy in on the project, the hospital inevitably needs to remodel right away because it’s not working for the team.” 

For example, Kaiser Permanente was designing a new interventional radiology room and wanted to be sure that it would function smoothly for their medical team. Mortenson built the entire room virtually, according to specifications, so that everyone on the team could enter the space and interact with it in order to help finalize the design of a room they’ll be collaborating in for years. To that end, all the specified equipment was faithfully represented in 3D so the surgical team could reach out and manipulate the light booms, tables, and everything else that they typically interact with. Watch the Kaiser radiology room video to see it in action.

On another project, when Mortenson customers are designing or building a new treatment center or operating room, the client stakeholders – including project managers, doctors, nurses and technical personnel – typically want to interact with the different elements and make decisions about room dimensions, ergonomics, aesthetics, functional systems, and workflow efficiency very early in the project. “It gives them a great opportunity to spot, discuss and correct any problems,” says Kinsman. Watch how Mortenson created a collaborative work environment for the hospital wing of the University of Washington Medical Center.

Many healthy benefits flow from virtual projects

In terms of design review projects for healthcare clients, Mortenson’s Virtual Insights team has delivered substantial value. Courtesy of their interactive VR pieces, clients have enjoyed huge savings and avoided major flaws and frustrations before any concrete was poured, walls built or materials ordered, and all without having to spend time and money on a physical mockup.

For example, Bob Dillon, Capital Projects Manager at University of Washington Medical Center, stated, “It’s always there – you can go back to it and review what your decision was or review how a change might impact the rest of the project.” And Kinsman adds, “Our clients always prefer the virtual reality mockup over a physical mockup because it’s so cost-effective and informative.” 

Mortenson saw much success with Kaiser as well. “With the interactive, immersive VR experience we built with Unity, the project team was able to identify deficiencies in the design, ensure the most productive and efficient workflows, and get important buy-in from the medical professionals. And importantly, this allowed Kaiser to stay on budget and schedule without the expense and lead time associated with physical mockups,” concludes Adams. 

Finally, it’s not surprising that due to Unity’s flexibility, wide platform support, and extensive ecosystem – such as the supportive community and Asset Store – it has quickly become Mortenson’s go-to platform for bringing great value and important design-validation processes to their clients in the medical industry. 

“We’ve always had ways to visualize – in 2D or 3D – new building designs, but what Unity gives us is a powerful way to build designs at scale where our clients can fully experience every aspect of their new space like dimensions, functions, windows, lighting, colors, textures, etc. Interactive VR gives you that immediate client feedback, important decision-making, and helps our clients save time and money.”

Marc Kinsman, Emerging Technology Developer, Mortenson

“With the interactive, immersive VR experience we built with Unity, the project team was able to identify deficiencies in the design, ensure the most productive and efficient workflows, and get important buy-in from the medical professionals. And importantly, this allowed Kaiser to stay on budget and schedule without the expense and lead time associated with physical mockups.”

Will Adams, Emerging Technology Developer, Mortenson

Want to get started with a Unity solution for AEC?

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.