利用AR实现零错误维护和在职培训

Taqtile如何利用Unity实现革命化的增强现实培训和维护

Taqtile:Unity用于制造行业案例分析

Taqtile的产品可让各公司利用虚拟现实(VR)和增强现实(AR)来可视化物理设备的操作流程,从而提高培训和维护的灵活性和速度。该公司的客户(包括美国空军和新西兰军队)在实施Taqtile利用Unity构建的Manifest解决方案后,看到了明显的业务影响。

项目

Taqtile为一线工人打造的AR解决方案Manifest

目标是

更快速地帮助工业客户获取、学习和执行培训任务,同时减少错误

平台

Microsoft HoloLens、Magic Leap One、HTC Vive、iPad、Web浏览器

团队成员

10

地点

美国西雅图

AR helps workers train more effectively on specialized equipment

AR helps workers train more effectively on specialized equipment

使用增强现实进行在职培训

Taqtile利用现成的AR、VR和混合现实(XR)解决方案,为制造、运输行业以及政府机构获取并交付工作指导和数据可视化,它是这一快速发展的新兴领域的领导者。它的AR旗舰解决方案Manifest于2017年发布。这是一款Made with Unity产品,它可以获取关于指导和操作程序的专家知识,为那些对专业设备技术经验不足的工人提供帮助或培训。

成果:

  • 缩小技能差距:让更多没有获得专业培训或知识的员工能够完成维护任务
  • 提高生产力:更快地完成培训和维护任务
  • 减少错误:通过AR协助的指导和学习完成任务,减少甚至消除错误
AR培训的诸多好处

通过AR获取知识

开发Manifest时,Taqtile发现除了传输数据或指导外,市场上还存在利用AR技术的独特机会。它还可以获取知识和执行复杂任务的指导,然后让没有接受正式培训的员工完成这些任务。

“凭借Manifest,通过让主题专家戴上AR头盔,您可以轻松获得分步指导。该专家不需要知道3D或如何编程,他们只需要知道如何处理自己的工作,”Taqtile副总裁Kelly Malone说。“它可以数字化地获取工作执行指导,然后让任何操作员或学员在任何位置的设备上按照相同的分步指导操作。”

通过Unity加快上市时间

通过在Unity平台上构建Manifest,Taqtile获得了更大的灵活性,可以为客户打造更广泛的XR解决方案。它还使该公司能够快速设计、实现并将这些解决方案推向市场。

“如果没有Unity,我们能够成功构建这一解决方案吗?当然可以。但是,要达到今天的成就,我们需要付出更多的工作、更多的时间、更多的费用和努力,”Taqtile的CEO Dirck Schou说。“这真是令人难以置信,不仅因为我们在Unity上创造了我们的产品,还因为我们能够利用Unity生态系统中提供的各种插件和附加工具,这让我们如虎添翼。”

A military subject matter expert immersed in authoring a complex maintenance task

AR培训的价值

Taqtile的客户已经看到了Manifest解决方案令人印象深刻的结果,特别是在执行任务和培训方面。美国空军是该公司的一个特殊客户,通过利用混合现实技术,他们看到在飞机维护和维修任务方面的培训效果有了显著改善。

采用传统方法,一组经验水平最低的1级维护工程师在没有指导员介入的情况下,无法完成12项任务中的8项,并且产生了3个错误。利用Manifest,通过HoloLens头盔提供基于AR的指导,新工程师也可以在没有协助的情况下完成所有任务,而且错误为零。在另一项试验中,级别更高的5级工程师采用传统方法完成指定任务时出现了8个错误,而级别更低的3级工程师利用Manifest完成任务时没有产生任何错误。

新西兰军队是Taqtile的另一个客户,他们在其贸易培训学校进行了类似的试验,对于几个与车辆相关的任务,他们将使用Manifest的AR培训的效果与讲师主讲的传统培训的效果进行对比。实验表明,Manifest将发生错误的几率降低了36%,提高了学生对培训材料的整体理解,同时消除了寻求帮助的需要。

将AR用例扩展到培训之外

很显然,Manifest已经对培训和维护场景产生了明显的影响,但是Taqtile还发现AR在销售和营销能力方面的效用也在与日均增。对于由于产品尺寸或进口问题,导致无法向客户展示实物的情况,Manifest可以帮助企业以虚拟形式向客户展示产品及特性。

Safe Boats International就是这样一家公司,他们有85英尺(26米)长的轮船,无法运输到活动和展会举办地,也无法在现场向客户展示,但他们能够利用Manifest进行虚拟展示。鉴于到目前为止XR解决方案的成功,Taqtile预计随着更多应用程序和硬件的出现,XR的应用广度和情形会继续增长。

“如果没有Unity,我们能够成功构建这一解决方案吗?当然可以。但是,要达到今天的成就,我们需要付出更多的工作、更多的时间、更多的费用和努力。这真是令人难以置信,不仅因为我们在Unity上创造了我们的产品,还因为我们能够利用Unity生态系统中提供的各种插件和附加工具,这让我们如虎添翼。”

Dirck T. Schou Jr., CEO, Taqtile

“在头戴式计算领域,许多设备即将上市,它们展现出巨大的潜力,而且这些设备会变得越来越小,越来越轻便。由于它们使用Unity的SDK,所以我们可以快速方便地找到目标,这让我们的客户掌握了很大的灵活性和选择权。”

Kelly Malone, Vice President, Taqtile

想不想将实时3D的强大能力引入您的组织?

今天和我们的团队成员谈谈。

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Error-free maintenance and on-the-job training with AR

How Taqtile is revolutionizing augmented reality training and maintenance with Unity

Taqtile: A Unity for manufacturing case study

Taqtile’s products enable companies to use virtual reality (VR) and augmented reality (AR) to visualize processes on top of real-world equipment, enabling greater flexibility and speed in training and maintenance. The company’s customers, including the U.S. Air Force and the New Zealand Army, have seen measurable business impact since implementing Taqtile’s Manifest solution, which is built on Unity.

The project

Taqtile Manifest, AR solution for frontline workers

The goal

Help industrial customers capture, learn and execute training tasks faster while reducing errors

Platforms

Microsoft HoloLens, Magic Leap One, HTC Vive, iPad, web browsers

Team members

10

Location

Seattle, USA

AR helps workers train more effectively on specialized equipment

AR helps workers train more effectively on specialized equipment

Using augmented reality for on-the-job training

Taqtile is a leader in the rapidly emerging area of capturing and delivering work instructions and data visualization using off-the-shelf AR, VR, and mixed-reality (XR) solutions for manufacturing, transportation, and government industries. Its flagship AR solution, Manifest, was launched in 2017. Made with Unity, Manifest captures expert knowledge on instructions and procedures to assist, or train those without advanced technical experience on specialized equipment.

The results:

  • Reduced skills gap: Enables maintenance tasks to be completed by more employees who do not have specialized training or knowledge
  • Improved productivity: Faster time to completion for training and maintenance tasks 
  • Fewer errors: Reduction and even elimination of errors when completing tasks with AR-assisted guidance and learning
The many benefits of AR training

Capturing knowledge with AR

When developing Manifest, Taqtile saw a unique opportunity in the market to implement AR technology for more than just conveying data or instructions. It could also capture knowledge and the execution of complex tasks that could then be completed by staff without formal training.

“With Manifest, you can easily capture step-by-step instructions by putting an AR headset on a subject-matter expert. That expert doesn’t have to know 3D or how to program, they only need to know how to do their job,” says Kelly Malone, Vice President at Taqtile. “It can digitally capture the execution of work instructions, which then allows any operator or trainee to follow those same step-by-step instructions on a piece of equipment in any location.”

Faster time to market with Unity

Building Manifest on the Unity platform has provided Taqtile with greater flexibility in creating a broader range of XR solutions for its customers. It has also enabled the company to design, implement, and bring those solutions to market quickly. 

“Could we have built this solution without Unity? Absolutely. But it would have taken us way more work, much more time, and a lot more expense and effort to get to where we are today,” says Dirck Schou, CEO of Taqtile. “It’s absolutely been incredible, not only in terms of creating our product on top of Unity itself, but in giving us the ability to take advantage of the various plug-ins and additional tools that are made available in the Unity ecosystem and that’s been a big help for us.”

A military subject matter expert immersed in authoring a complex maintenance task

The value of AR-based training

Taqtile’s customers have seen impressive results with the Manifest solution, specifically in regard to execution of tasks and training. One customer in particular, the U.S. Air Force, has seen significant improvements in training results on maintenance and repair tasks for aircraft using mixed-reality. 

Using traditional methods, a group of minimally experienced Level-1 maintenance engineers were unable to complete eight of twelve tasks without instructor intervention, and incurred three errors. Using Manifest with HoloLens headsets to provide AR-based guidance, the recruits were able to complete all tasks without assistance, incurring zero errors. In another trial, a more advanced Level-5 engineer using traditional methods completed the assigned task with eight errors, while a more novice Level-3 engineer was able to complete the same task with zero errors using Manifest. 

Another of Taqtile’s customers, the New Zealand Army, conducted a similar trial at its trade training school to compare the effects of AR training with Manifest versus traditional instructor-led training on several vehicle-related tasks. The trial concluded that Manifest reduced the occurrence of errors by 36 percent, increasing the students’ overall understanding of the training materials and removing the need to ask for assistance.

Expanding AR use cases beyond training

It’s clear that Manifest has had a measurable impact on training and maintenance scenarios, but Taqtile has also seen an increase in utility for AR in a sales and marketing capacity. For situations where displaying the physical product to a customer is not feasible due to the product’s scale or importability, Manifest is helping companies share their products and features virtually. 

One such company, Safe Boats International, is able to leverage Manifest to virtually showcase its 85-foot (26-meter) vessel, which cannot be transported and shown to customers at events and tradeshows. Given its success to date with XR-based solutions, Taqtile expects the breadth and use cases for XR to continue to grow as more applications and hardware are realized. 

“Could we have built this solution without Unity? Absolutely. But it would have taken us way more work, much more time, and a lot more expense and effort to get to where we are today. It’s absolutely been incredible, not only in terms of creating our product on top of Unity in itself, but we also take advantage of the various plug-ins and additional tools that are made available in the Unity ecosystem and that’s been a big help for us.”

Dirck T. Schou Jr., CEO, Taqtile

“There are a number of devices coming to market in the head-mounted computing space that show great promise and that are going to be smaller and lighter. And because they have Unity SDKs they are devices that we will be able to target very quickly and easily, which gives us great flexibility and choice for our customers.”

Kelly Malone, Vice President, Taqtile

Want to bring the power of real-time 3D into your organization?

Speak with a member of our team today.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it