利用 3D 扫描技术优化鞋业制造

Deckers Brands 如何通过 RestAR 降低每个工厂的制造和运输成本

Deckers:Unity 案例分析

Deckers Brands 拥有品类齐全的畅销运动鞋类产品组合,希望其品牌的产品生命周期更加高效。通过使用 RestAR 的 3D 技术以高品质 3D 扫描和渲染实体消费类产品,Deckers 优化了原型设计、设计评审和样品生产,节省了时间、资金、材料、人力,减少了二氧化碳排放。

  • 挑战

    面向未来、优化全球运营范围的鞋业制造工作流程

  • 团队成员

    在全球拥有 3,500 名员工

  • 所在地

    总部位于美国 Goleta,在全世界有 35 个工厂

3D 扫描助 Deckers 脚踏实地

扎根于计算机视觉和深度学习,RestAR(现在是 Unity 的一家公司)可以帮助时尚品牌、在线零售商和市场营销人员扫描和渲染实体消费类产品,只需一部手机就可以实现高品质 3D 扫描。其服务经济实惠、随手可得、易于使用并且可以快速获得结果,RestAR 因此成为电子商务、企业对企业 (B2B) 销售和虚拟样品展示的 3D 技术领跑者。

Unity x Deckers shoes display

结果

  • 与其他扫描技术相比,节省 80% 的 3D 扫描成本 
  • 无需数天,只需几个小时就能生成高清晰度扫描
  • 采用照片级真实的 3D 渲染,无需实体样品,节省运输、差旅和时间

打好基础提升效率

Deckers 在其制造工作流程中集成 RestAR 时,是希望使其流程更为高效。现在,这项技术已在 Deckers 遍布全球的 30 多个工厂中应用,覆盖从设计评审和快速原型设计到销售和市场营销的整个产品生命周期。通过优化样品生产、加快设计评审、实现虚拟样品制造以及销售,并且生成美观的 3D 资源用于实现沉浸式零售体验,Deckers 实现了前所未有的智能化运营。

Deckers 提供兼具时尚与功能的产品,专注于让人们的生活更舒适,拥有大众熟知的鞋业品牌,如 UGG、Koolaburra by UGG、Teva、Sanük 以及 HOKA One One。

Deckers 采用 3D 建模已超过五年,于 2019 年后期开始使用 RestAR。Mitchell Harvey 是 Deckers 的 3D Innovation Manager,他彼时的任务是寻找更好的方法,以便在从设计和开发流程到运输销售样品的过程中,Deckers 能够更高效地对各品牌所有产品使用 3D 扫描。 

RestAR 的 3D 扫描技术在优化物料、人力、差旅和运输的同时,还能优化生产,这一点非常明确。有了 RestAR,只需一部手机,无论产品在哪里,都可以获得扫描。

 

从设计到样品

对于 Deckers,鞋业的设计和制造是全球性生产活动。设计和生产团队分散在各个地方,沟通中产生误解的可能性变大了。 

为了消除设计和生产之间的距离,Deckers 在其工作流程中集成了 3D 建模。现在,当鞋业设计师画出草图,3D 美术师制作出 3D 模型提交给 Deckers 评审;然后工厂合作伙伴就制造出样品。过去,团队反复修正设计,工厂可能需要生产三轮或四轮样品。3D 模型的采用改善了沟通的效果,第一次的样品往往就能使所有人满意。 

Deckers 一旦对样品满意,模型就随物料单和 2D 图案发送到工厂。3D 模型经过批准后,工厂制造一个样品,然后使用 RestAR 应用扫描该样品。 

由于设计量极大,Deckers 无法构建每一个单独的模型和配色方案。因此,捕获 3D 扫描就十分重要。除了初始设计和开发流程,3D 模型对销售团队也极具价值,可以节省时间,以及物料和运输所需的资金。使用 RestAR 扫描 3D 配色方案,Deckers 无需在全世界各处制造和运输实体的配色方案样品。 

经过“首次眼观”评审,将进行首次生产线评审(有时称为上市会议),在这里,所有人都将看到第一批实体产品。这种会议通常由全球销售代表参加,会产生大量差旅和物流活动,但 3D 模型的评审非常容易实现,并且经济实惠。

Person interacting with DECKERS simulation on mobile device

在工厂车间扫描

在 Deckers 的新工作流程中,工厂生成出实体样品后,工人使用 RestAR 直接生成 3D 扫描。“我们每个工厂都有 RestAR,”Harvey 说。“我们只需要一个旋转式灯箱。我们可以使用手机,只要五分钟就能获得 3D 扫描。” 

RestAR 只需要 1-2 个小时,就可以生成完整的扫描以备快速原型设计,包括后期处理,每只鞋的扫描成本仅为 80 美元 - 相比之下,以前的扫描合作伙伴需要三天时间,并且每次扫描的费用是 200 美元。 

其他扫描技术要求工厂安装特殊的摄像机设备和支架,成本可达 1 万美元,还需要进行人员培训,并且场地足够大才能使用。而 RestAR 实质上是便携式的,无需费力将产品运送至扫描设备,可以提供相同的扫描品质,从而节省大量的时间和资金。 

这项扫描技术可以提供接近照片级真实的结果,随对象的纹理和材质而有不同。不过,Deckers 确保所有面向消费者的渲染能够充分展示产品,并且已找到一种很好的方式将 RestAR 与其他鞋业特定设计软件搭配使用,从而获得最佳效果。

创建虚拟展厅

由于实施了 RestAR 并且优化了样品生成流程,Deckers 快速适应了 Covid-19 疫情带来的不利环境。据 Harvey 说“由于疫情,我们按时停止了接收样品。RestAR 是唯一明智的选择 - 我们本季的设计和销售会议中,3D 样品的评审非常重要。” 

除了设计评审的样品,Deckers 的全球销售代表现在也使用 3D 样品与潜在买家进行远程会谈。Harvey 解释道,“对于销售会谈,我们开发过一个内部解决方案,通过鞋的缩略图来创建分类,以便销售人员通过拖放来创建销售订单,在我们采用 RestAR 之后,实际上会为虚拟展厅生成即时 3D 分类。” 

DECKERS virtual try-on on mobile device

零售创新:领先一步

随着 RestAR 集成到公司运营的其他方面,并且扩展改善的可能性,Deckers 向前迈出了最好的步伐。

将 RestAR 模型引入 Deckers 内部产品生命周期管理系统、销售工具以及消费者洞见工具,正在产生巨大的效益,表现在增强了可视化和产品开发信息的沟通,并且改善了可持续性和公司的总体碳足迹。

随着购物快速转至线上,Deckers 为其消费者提供更多沉浸式体验,如 Snapchat-AR Try-On 和 Facebook 3D Ads。成行排列的鞋靴图片重新设计为虚拟展厅提供给消费者。 

“3D 助力更好的决策、更准确的预测和更快的上市时间。可以帮助我们节省时间和资金,大大加快决策速度,”Harvey 说。“在这些环境中探索品牌推广是没有任何限制的,可以为消费者提供难忘的体验。”

Mitchell Harvey, 3D Innovation Manager, Deckers

“由于疫情,我们按时停止了接收样品 - 我们根本就不接收实体样品。RestAR 是唯一明智的选择 - 3D 样品的评审,是我们本季不必接收鞋样品的原因。”

Mitchell Harvey, 3D Innovation Manager, Deckers

想要更智能、更高效工作?

优化您的制造工作流程,帮助消费者以可视化方式进行购物,从而提高转化率。

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Streamlining footwear manufacturing with 3D scanning technology

How Deckers Brands reduced manufacturing and shipping costs with RestAR in every factory

Deckers: A Unity Case Study

Sporting a global portfolio of popular footwear, Deckers Brands wanted to make the product lifecycle across its brands more efficient. By using RestAR’s 3D technology to scan and render physical consumer products in high-quality 3D, Deckers streamlined prototyping, design review and sample production, saving on time, money, materials, labor and CO2 emissions.

  • The challenge

    To optimize and future-proof a footwear manufacturing workflow throughout all global operations

  • Team members

    3,500 employees worldwide

  • Location

    Headquartered in Goleta, U.S., with 35 factories around the world

Deckers keeps its feet on the ground with 3D scanning

Founded in computer vision and deep learning, RestAR (now a Unity company), enables fashion brands, online retailers, and marketers to scan and render physical consumer products in high-quality 3D, using only a mobile device. The affordability and mobility of its services, its ease of use and fast results position RestAR as a frontrunner in 3D technology for e-commerce, business-to-business (B2B) sales, and virtual sampling.

Unity x Deckers shoes display

The results

  • Saved 80% on the cost of 3D scans compared to other scanning technology 
  • High-definition scans produced within hours instead of days
  • Almost eliminated the need for physical samples using photorealistic 3D renderings, saving on shipping, travel, and time

Laying the groundwork for efficiency

When Deckers incorporated RestAR into its manufacturing workflow, it hoped to make its processes more effective. The technology is now being used across the product lifecycle, from design review and rapid prototyping to sales and marketing, and in more than 30 Deckers factories worldwide. By streamlining sample production, facilitating design review, enabling virtual sampling and sales, and producing beautiful 3D assets that can be leveraged for immersive retail experiences, Deckers is working smarter than ever.

Deckers offers fashion and performance, with a focus on making people’s lives more comfortable, with familiar footwear brands such as UGG, Koolaburra by UGG, Teva, Sanük, and HOKA One One.

The company had been using 3D modeling for more than five years when, in late 2019, Deckers started using RestAR. Mitchell Harvey, 3D Innovation Manager at Deckers, was tasked with finding a better way of doing things so Deckers could use 3D scanning more effectively for all its products across brands, from the design and development process to shipping sales samples. 

The potential of RestAR’s 3D scanning technology to streamline production while optimizing materials, labor, travel and shipping was clear. RestAR allows you to capture a scan wherever the product is; all you need is a phone.

 

From design to sample

For Deckers, footwear design and manufacturing is a global production. With design and production teams geographically dispersed, the potential for miscommunication was amplified. 

To close the gap between design and production, Deckers integrated 3D modeling into its workflow. Now when a footwear designer produces a sketch, a 3D artist creates a 3D model to hand off to Deckers to review; then a sample is made by a factory partner. In the past, the factory might have had to produce three or four rounds of samples as the team iterated on the design. Using a 3D model improved communication such that the first sample often turns out to everyone’s satisfaction. 

Once Deckers is pleased with the output, the model is sent to the factory with a bill of materials and a 2D pattern. When the 3D model has been approved, the factory creates a sample that is then scanned using the RestAR app. 

Due to the high volume of designs, Deckers is not yet at capacity to build every single model and colorway. So being able to capture 3D scans became essential. Beyond the initial design and development process, 3D models are invaluable for sales teams, with huge savings in time and money on materials and shipping. By using RestAR to scan 3D colorways, Deckers eliminated the need to create and ship physical colorway samples around the world. 

After a “first look” review, an initial line review (sometimes called a go-to-market meeting) is conducted, where everyone sees the first physical products. These meetings typically include global sales representatives and involve a lot of travel and logistics, but reviewing a 3D model is easily accessible and affordable.

Person interacting with DECKERS simulation on mobile device

Scanning on the factory floor

As part of Deckers’ new workflow, when a factory produces a physical sample, workers use RestAR to produce a 3D scan straight away. “We have RestAR in every factory,” says Harvey. “All we needed was a turntable and a light box. We can use a phone and it takes five minutes to capture a 3D scan.” 

Producing a complete scan for rapid prototyping, including post-processing, takes 1–2 hours and costs only $80 per shoe with RestAR – compared to three days and $200 per scan with a previous scanning partner. 

Other scanning technology requires facilities equipped with specialized camera equipment and rigs that can cost as much as $10,000, along with personnel trained to use them and enough square footage to accommodate them. RestAR, on the other hand, is essentially portable, eliminating the hassle of shipping products to scanning facilities and providing comparable scan quality for immense savings of time and money. 

The scanning technology can provide near photorealistic results, varying according to the textures and materials of the object. However, Deckers ensures that any consumer-facing renders fully represent the product and have now found a comfortable rhythm using RestAR alongside other footwear-specific design software to produce the best results.

Creating a virtual showroom

Having already implemented RestAR and streamlined the sample production process, Deckers readily adapted to conditions imposed by the Covid-19 pandemic. According to Harvey, “Due to the pandemic, we stopped receiving samples on time. RestAR was the only option that made sense – reviewing samples in 3D was critical for our design and sales meetings this season.” 

Beyond samples for design review, Deckers’ global sales representatives are now using 3D samples in remote meetings with potential buyers. Harvey explains, “For sales meetings, we developed a solution in-house to create assortments with thumbnails of shoes, which salespeople could drag and drop to create the sales orders, but since we have embedded RestAR, it was actually an instant 3D assortment ready for a virtual showroom.” 

DECKERS virtual try-on on mobile device

Retail innovation: Looking a step ahead

Deckers is putting its best foot forward as RestAR is being integrated into other facets of the company’s operations and expanding the possibilities for improvement.

Bringing RestAR models into Deckers’ internal product lifecycle management system, sales tools, and consumer insights tools are producing efficiencies by heightening visualization and communication to inform product development, as well as improving sustainability and the company’s overall carbon footprint.

As shopping shifts rapidly to online, Deckers is providing more immersive experiences, such as Snapchat-AR Try-On and Facebook 3D Ads, to its customers. Pictures of shoes lined up in a row are reimagined as a virtual showroom to consumers. 

“3D has led to better decisions, more accurate predictions, and faster time to market. This is helping us save time and money, and make decisions a lot faster,” says Harvey. “There are no limitations to what you can explore within those environments to communicate your brand and offer an unforgettable experience to your consumer.”

Mitchell Harvey, 3D Innovation Manager, Deckers

“Due to the pandemic, we stopped receiving samples on time – we weren't getting physical samples at all. RestAR was the only option that made sense – reviewing 3D samples was how we saved our footwear collections this season.”

Mitchell Harvey, 3D Innovation Manager, Deckers

Want to work smarter and more efficiently?

Optimize your manufacturing workflow and help customers visualize their purchase to increase conversion.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it