搜索

War Robots凭借均衡的游戏玩法体验和变现策略实现成功

Pixonic通过引入奖励视频广告提高玩家参与度和收入。

Interview with Pixonic

Pixonic:Unity开发者案例分析

如何在一款保持了五年多强劲势头的免费游戏中找到新的创收机会?总部位于莫斯科的Pixonic位列CIS中最受欢迎游戏开发者的前100名,他们将War Robots的每月玩家支出提高到500多万美元,预计会产生1.9亿美元的终身总收入。玩过这款游戏超过两年的用户有成百上千万,他们在增加营收的同时丝毫没有影响玩家参与度和保留率。

项目

将奖励视频广告添加到免费的热门MOBA游戏

目标是

最大限度提高收入而不降低用户体验

团队成员

200+

地点

莫斯科、别尔哥罗德和柏林

总部:塞浦路斯

Founded in Moscow in 2009, Pixonic initially produced games for Russian social networks. After several years of steady growth, the team set its sights on developing a mid-core mobile game and soft-launched War Robots in 2014 – a third-person shooter with real-time PvP battles in multiplayer online battle arena (MOBA) mode.

In 2016, Google called it one of the “most exhilarating games on Android,” with over 130M installs and more than 1.5M daily active users (DAU). Having developed and maintained War Robots in Unity, Pixonic recently rolled out highly successful rewarded videos.

The results:

  • 6% increase in total revenue – representing millions of dollars – with rewarded videos
  • Lower user acquisition (UA) costs when using Unity cinematics than using expensive CGI ads
  • Designers can create and optimize game elements without waiting for developers or programmers

A culture of openness

不管是在外部还是在内部,Pixonic始终坚持培养开放性工作室文化环境。俄罗斯紧张的经济现状导致各行业竞争激烈,许多人认为游戏行业是封闭和孤立的。“我们希望改变这种局面”,Pixonic游戏设计负责人Vladimir Krasilnikov说。“分享经验对我们和其他开发者来说是互惠互利的。这个行业没有哪一家公司可以独自掌握所有专业知识,那么为何要对自己的技术守口如瓶呢?游戏市场体量巨大,足以容纳所有公司参与竞争。”

Pixonic派遣一些开发者参加了许多行业活动,如游戏开发者会议(GDC)、东京游戏展(TGS)、White Nights、Unity Unite会议等。“当他们回来后,”Vladimir说:“我们会让他们分享(有时作为演讲者)他们向公司内外部的其他人学习到的经验。”

这种持续地分享和学习有助于培养Pixonic文化的另一个强大特质。很多人将其称为“实时行为(Live Ops),”而Vladimir可能会将其称为“Kaizen”– 即持续改进。“我不确定我们是否为War Robots集成了实时行为策略,因为它在很大程度上还处于开发过程中,但是,我们在不断增加功能。”他于2015年在该游戏发布后加入Pixonic,他的第一份工作负责修复设计错误。“于是,我就添加了,从那以后,我们一直在添加新功能。我宁愿说我们仍是一个开发团队,而不是实时行为团队。”

他们为什么选择Unity

Vladimir指出Pixonic选择Unity是出于几个原因的考虑。当这个工作室开张时,移动细分段市场上有少量中度发烧级游戏。俄罗斯游戏行业还处于萌芽阶段,很难找到具有专业知识的人才来开发像War Robots一样更复杂的游戏。但是,Unity专业开发者的群体在不断扩大。

多平台支持显然也是Unity的一大优势。“在加入Pixonic之前,我曾经使用过许多其他开发引擎,我发现为不同的平台轻松构建版本是Unity的一个巨大优势。”现在,Unity支持27个平台,包括Oculus Rift、Xbox One、PlayStation 4和Linux。

Unity的用户友好性(尤其是对设计师而言)是另一个考虑因素。“如果我们的美术师需要一种特殊工具或效果,我们不必等待工程师提供协助,因为Unity可以让我们自己完成许多创作工作。我们可以通过调整参数来创造想要的体验,这轻而易举。”

完全在Unity Editor中制作宣传视频

War Robots是Apple App Store中包含宣传视频序列的早期游戏之一,这是一个“可以明显提高下载量,并且大大改善指标”的功能。

Pixonic并没有招募任何专门的动画团队:他们完全靠自己在Unity Editor中制作,没有花费任何额外的预算。“与更加昂贵的CGI视频相比,使用Unity剪辑在实际游戏中获得的转化率更高,”他补充道。出于其他目的,例如为了降低常规广告的CPI(每次展示费用),他们仍在使用CGI。

集成奖励视频广告

Pixonic的War Robots利用应用内购买(IAP)开始实现盈利,但随着游戏的热度不断上升,该团队考虑了集成视频广告。“我们不喜欢广告,从Facebook社区收集的许多反馈意见表明玩家也不喜欢广告,”Vladimir说。“但是我们发现其他游戏通过对广告善加利用,不仅提高了收入,也没有损失玩家。”让玩家通过观看广告获取高级内容,而不是进行应用内购买(IAP),他们不仅可以体验更丰富的游戏玩法,还能深入到更高级的游戏关卡,从而提高玩家保留率。

Unity的内部研究表明,Pixonic的数据十分具有说服力:71%的用户更喜欢观看视频广告,而只有4-5%的玩家愿意在免费游戏中进行应用内购买(IAP)。此外,奖励视频比非奖励视频的效果好一倍。

据Vladimir说:“我们进行过多次激烈的争论,但最终我们决定试试使用奖励视频广告。”他们最初为广告制定的指导原则是:广告对高端、中端和低端玩家细分段都有效;快速锁定新玩家(因为他们很容易流失);限制序列广告数量;将广告奖励限制为每个广告2-3美分的等价物。

五个奖励通道

对Pixonic来说,非常重要的一点是,开展与众不同的优惠活动并为玩家提供选择性,所以他们按照如下方式在War Robots中集成广告:

  • 经过一场战斗后提供双倍奖励(但只是偶尔)
  • 快速和即时升级(对新玩家尤其有效)
  • 任务完成(对完成不那么有趣的任务有效)
  • 黑市宝箱(非常流行的随机礼物)
  • 更快速地提供补充(除了在每次战斗后获得的板条箱外)

据Vladimir说:“视频广告完全没有影响教程漏斗,因为玩家没有离开游戏,实际上,我们从喜欢这种激励措施的玩家收到了正面反馈。”

Pixonic发现有40%的iOS玩家和50%的Android玩家观看过奖励广告。在观看广告的用户中,高端玩家比低端玩家数量多,过去进行过应用内购买(IAP)的玩家比只愿意免费玩的用户数量多:分别为66%和44%。

”愿意付费的用户是最忠实的受众 – 他们把你的游戏当做自己的业余爱好,总是希望获得自己能得到的所有奖励!“凭借奖励视频广告,War Robots的收入提高了6%,等于每年多赚几百万美元。他们的其他收入几乎没有受到影响,玩家也根本没有流失。

跟着兴趣走,金钱...

展望未来,Pixonic发现休闲和超休闲游戏市场已接近饱和,进入壁垒极高。“没有哪一家公司可以再运营3种类型的游戏,因为你根本无法跟King竞争,”Vladimir说。“我认为,随着市场细分和专业化程度越来越高,移动市场将变得更加复杂。游戏运营的难度会更高,游戏作品将定位于更小但参与度和忠诚度不断提高的受众群体。”

虽然他预计市场将会出现新的射击游戏和更复杂的移动赛车游戏,但他不会透露Pixonic目前在做什么。“War Robots是一款生命力极强的游戏,它肯定还会生存很长时间,但最终也必然下市。我们正在设计另一款有竞争力的玩家对玩家(PvP)游戏的原型,这是一款令人激动的作品,但我能透露的就是这些!”

为了体现Pixonic开放和合作的文化精神,Vladimir对刚开始创作的开发者有一些建议。“虽然说听起来显而易见,但最重要的策略仍是快速原型设计和重点打造具有吸引力的核心游戏玩法。这就是让玩家被您的游戏吸引的关键所在。只要能留住玩家,你随时都可以赚钱。常言道:跟着兴趣走,金钱自然有。”

观看Pixonic在Unite Berlin会议上的演示:在War Robots中配合使用广告与IAP的成功秘诀。

“如果你需要一种特殊工具或效果,不必等待工程师提供协助 – Unity可以让我们自己完成许多创作工作。你可以通过调整参数来创造想要的体验,这轻而易举。”

Oleg Poroshin, Producer War Robots, Pixonic

“在加入Pixonic之前,我曾经使用过许多其他开发引擎,我发现为不同的平台轻松构建版本是Unity的一个巨大优势。”

Vladimir Krasilnikov, Head of Game Design, Pixonic

“与更加昂贵的CGI视频相比,使用Unity剪辑在实际游戏中获得的转化率更高,”

Vladimir Krasilnikov, Head of Game Design, Pixonic

“这很棘手,因为你不得不通过玩家获得新的收入来源,但又必须找到一种平衡,让玩家把注意力集中在游戏上。”

Vladimir Krasilnikov, Head of Game Design, Pixonic

“视频广告完全没有影响教程漏斗,因为玩家没有离开游戏,实际上,我们从喜欢这种激励措施的玩家收到了正面反馈。”

Vladimir Krasilnikov, Head of Game Design, Pixonic

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.

Search Unity

War Robots succeeds with balanced gameplay-monetization blend

Pixonic introduced rewarded video ads to increase engagement and revenue.

Interview with Pixonic

Pixonic: A Unity developer case study

How do you find new revenue opportunities in a free-to-play game that’s been going strong for over five years? Moscow-based Pixonic, a Top 100-grossing game developer in the CIS, has driven War Robots’ monthly players’ spending to over $5M and generated an estimated $190 million in lifetime gross revenue. And with millions of users playing for over two years, they’ve done it without sacrificing player engagement and retention.

The project

Add rewarded video ads to a popular free-to-play MOBA game

The goal

Maximize revenue without negatively impacting user experience

Team members

200+

Locations

Moscow, Belgorod and Berlin

HQ: Cyprus

Founded in Moscow in 2009, Pixonic initially produced games for Russian social networks. After several years of steady growth, the team set its sights on developing a mid-core mobile game and soft-launched War Robots in 2014 – a third-person shooter with real-time PvP battles in multiplayer online battle arena (MOBA) mode.

In 2016, Google called it one of the “most exhilarating games on Android,” with over 130M installs and more than 1.5M daily active users (DAU). Having developed and maintained War Robots in Unity, Pixonic recently rolled out highly successful rewarded videos.

The results:

  • 6% increase in total revenue – representing millions of dollars – with rewarded videos
  • Lower user acquisition (UA) costs when using Unity cinematics than using expensive CGI ads
  • Designers can create and optimize game elements without waiting for developers or programmers

A culture of openness

Pixonic has consistently fostered an open studio culture both externally and internally. The tight Russian economy promotes fierce competition, and many view the gaming industry as closed and isolated. “We want to change that,” declared Vladimir Krasilnikov, Head of Game Design at Pixonic. “Sharing experiences helps both us and other developers. No single company possesses all the expertise in the industry, so why keep everything you do secret? The market is huge and it’s big enough for all of us.”

Pixonic sends some developers to a number of industry events such as Game Developers Conference (GDC), Tokyo Game Show (TGS), White Nights, Unity’s Unite conferences, and many others. “When they return,” Vladimir said, “we ask them to share, sometimes as speakers, what they learned with others both inside and outside the company.”

This constant sharing and learning contributes to another strong attribute of the Pixonic culture. What many call “live ops,” Vladimir would probably call “kaizen” – continuous improvement. “I’m not sure if we have integrated a live-ops strategy for War Robots, as it’s very much still in development, but we’re continually adding features.” He joined Pixonic in 2015, after the game’s release, and his first job was fixing design bugs. “I did that, and we’ve been adding features on the fly ever since. I’d say we are still a development team rather than a live-ops team.”

Why they chose Unity

Vladimir indicated that Pixonic chose Unity for several reasons. When the studio opened, there were few mid-core games in the mobile segment. The Russian gaming industry was at a very early stage, and it was hard to find talent with the expertise to develop a more-complex game like War Robots. There was, however, a growing pool of expert Unity developers.

Supporting multiple platforms was also a clear Unity strength. “Before I joined Pixonic, I had worked with a lot of other development engines, and being able to easily build for different platforms is a huge Unity advantage.” Today, Unity supports 27 platforms, including Oculus Rift, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and Linux.

Unity’s user-friendliness, particularly for designers, was yet another factor. “If our artists want a special tool or effect, we don’t have to wait for programmers because Unity lets us create a lot by ourselves. We adjust parameters to get the experience we want, and that’s it.”

Creating a promo video entirely in the Unity Editor

War Robots was one of the first games to include a promotional video sequence in Apple’s App Store, a feature that “definitely boosted downloads, and it was very positive in terms of metrics.”

Pixonic didn’t enlist any special animation teams: they produced it entirely by themselves in the Unity Editor with no extra budget. “The conversion rates were higher using Unity clips from actual gameplay than what we got from much costlier CGI videos,” he added. They continue to use CGI for other purposes such as lowering CPI (cost per impression) for regular ads.

Integrating rewarded video ads

Pixonic started off monetizing War Robots with in-app purchases (IAP), but as the game’s popularity grew, the team considered video ads. “We didn’t like ads, and we got a lot of feedback from the Facebook community that players didn’t either,” said Vladimir. “But we saw that other games used ads quite successfully, increasing revenues and not losing players.” By letting players access premium content by watching ads rather than making IAP, they experience richer gameplay and can be drawn deeper into the game, enhancing retention.

Unity’s own research showed Pixonic convincing data: 71% of users prefer monetization through video ads and only 4-5% of players respond to IAP in free-to-play games. Additionally, rewarded videos do twice as well as non-rewarded videos.

According to Vladimir, “We had a lot of heated arguments, but we decided to give rewarded video ads a try.” Their starting guidelines for the ads were: make them work for top-, middle-, and low-level player segments; target new players quickly (because they tend to churn early); limit sequential ads; and, limit the ad reward to the equivalent of two or three cents per ad.

Five channels of rewards

It was important for Pixonic to vary their offers and give players a choice, so they implemented ads in War Robots as follows:

  • Double rewards after a battle (but only occasionally)
  • Quick and instant upgrades (especially effective with newcomers)
  • Quest completion (good for getting through less-interesting tasks)
  • Black Market chests (very popular random gifts)
  • Faster supply replenishment (in addition to receiving a crate after each battle)

According to Vladimir, “The video ads didn’t influence the tutorial funnel at all because people didn’t leave the game, and we actually got positive feedback from players who liked the incentives.”

Pixonic found that 40% of iOS and 50% of Android players watched the rewarded ads. High-level players watched ads more than low-level players, and users who had previously made IAPs watched more than non-paying users: 66% versus 44%.

“Paying users are your most loyal audience – they treat your game as a hobby and they want to get every reward they can get!” With rewarded video ads, War Robots’ revenue increased 6%, amounting to millions of dollars annually. There’s been minimal if any cannibalization from other income streams, and no impact on churn at all.

Do what you love, and ...

Looking forward, Pixonic sees the market for casual- and hyper-casual games as saturated with a high barrier to entry. “No one does Match 3-type games anymore because you just can’t compete with King,” said Vladimir. “I think that the mobile market will become more complex with more niches and specializations. Games will be more difficult and will target smaller but increasingly involved and loyal audiences.”

Though he anticipates the market will see new shooter games and more sophisticated mobile racing games, he won’t reveal what Pixonic’s currently working on. “War Robots is a very strong game and it will certainly live for a long time, but it will end eventually. We’re prototyping another competitive PvP game, something quite exciting, but that’s all I’ll tell you!”

And reflecting Pixonic’s open, cooperative culture, Vladimir has some advice for developers starting out. “I know it sounds obvious, but the most important strategy is to prototype fast and focus on engaging core gameplay. That’s what brings players to your games. If you have good retention, you can always monetize it. It’s like they say: Do what you love, and the money will follow.”

Watch Pixonic’s presentation at Unite Berlin for their recipe for success pairing ads with IAP in War Robots.

“If you want a special tool or effect, you don’t have to wait for programmers – Unity lets us create so much by ourselves. You adjust parameters to get the experience you want, and that’s it.”

Oleg Poroshin, Producer War Robots, Pixonic

“Before I joined Pixonic, I had worked with a lot of other development engines, and being able to easily build for different platforms is a huge Unity advantage.”

Vladimir Krasilnikov, Head of Game Design, Pixonic

“The conversion rates were higher using Unity clips from actual gameplay than what we got from much costlier CGI videos.”

Vladimir Krasilnikov, Head of Game Design, Pixonic

“It’s tricky because you have to build this new source of income from players, but you have to find a balance to keep people focused on the game.”

Vladimir Krasilnikov, Head of Game Design, Pixonic

“The video ads didn’t influence the tutorial funnel at all because people didn’t leave the game, and we actually got positive feedback from players who liked the incentives.”

Vladimir Krasilnikov, Head of Game Design, Pixonic

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.