缩短 WebGL 加载时间,加快产品上市速度

Marxent 如何与 Unity 的专业服务团队合作以优化应用程序性能。

Marxent:Unity 专业服务案例分析

您如何整合两个复杂软件程序和多种浏览器技术以协同工作,从而实现最佳用户体验?Marxent 增强了其世界级开发人员团队,以优化用于网络的 360° 3D 室内设计工具,使得客户和销售人员能够创建和修改丰富的可视化内容。他们通过利用 Unity 专业服务将更优秀的产品推向市场。

Beck 和 Barry Besecker 于 2011 年创办了 Marxent,通过利用新兴的 3D 技术帮助零售商(特别是家具和家居装饰零售商)增加销售额并减少退货。最初,他俩构建了一次性 AR 和 VR 应用,但随着性能需求的增加和集成内容管理工作越来越必要,他们很快从 OpenGL 切换到 Unity 实时引擎。这使他们能够将 Marxent® 3D 云平台推向行业的最前沿。现在,他们已成为全渠道 3D 设计和可视化领域的全球领导者。

项目

交互式的快速可视化功能提升室内设计销售额并减少退货

目标是

优化应用在各种浏览器环境中的加载时间

平台

WebGL、iOS、Android

团队成员

80

地点

Miamisburg, OH – Austin Landing

Unity 的实时引擎是一个不可或缺的组成部分

Marxent 的 3D Room Designer 是一款基于浏览器的室内设计工具,客户和销售人员可用它在丰富的 3D 环境中混合搭配家具、颜色、墙面处理和尺寸。它简单且响应式的界面使买家能够直观地配置设计项目并为其定价。Unity 实时引擎是一个不可或缺的重要组件。

当 Marxent 演示 3D Room Designer 的最新 WebGL 实现方案时,一位新客户提到加载时间长这一问题。虽然 Marxent 工程师最近进行了重大的全面优化,但导致这个特定问题的原因并不明显。尽管如此,他们还是致力于解决这个问题,这将有助于客户为最终用户提供更佳的体验,并最终提高销售额。

他们不太了解 Unity 实时引擎的内部细节以及渲染程序如何使用某些特殊代码格式(如 WebAssembly)进行渲染。于是,Marxent 与 Unity 专业服务部门联系,帮助调查和解决所发生的问题。通过调查 Unity 代码、Marxent 代码以及 .dll 和框架的构造方式,了解影响启动和加载时间的因素,尤其是在 WebGL 平台上。

结果:

  • 通过更快速、更简化的 3D 程序改善了客户体验
  • 增强了 Unity 平台的内部专业知识水平
  • 两家世界级软件公司间达成更强大、更具协作性的合作伙伴关系

目标:减少加载时间

3D Room Designer 的前端是内置的本机 HTML 和 JavaScript,通过外部 JavaScript 调用来与 Unity WebGL Player 通信。它由所有 Marxent® 3D Cloud 应用程序共享的一组托管库(由 Marxent 编写)提供支持。

在 Marxent 开发人员解释项目体系结构、系统、部署过程、设置和库后,Marxent 和 Unity 团队致力于减少 WebGL 应用的播放器数据和代码库的大小,并优化应用流程。更确切地说,这包括:

  • 实施 WebAssembly
  • 从播放器版本中删除不需要的资源,同时优化较大型必需资产的大小
  • 删除不需要的 Unity 软件包(模块)
  • 通过改进剥离过程和消除部分托管代码库来优化托管代码大小
  • 尽量减小着色器编译时间和第一场景前期加载时间
  • 消除其他 CPU 瓶颈问题

在该应用性能优化 (APO) 项目中,主要工作是使应用与 WebAssembly 保持一致。WebAssembly 是万维网联盟 (W3C) 开发的代码的快速执行文本格式,用于为 JavaScript 提供补充。Marxent 的产品开发负责人 Vince Kilian 指出:“WebAssembly 集成是我们在 Unity 2018.3 版本中推出的最重要功能之一。”

个体可以实现的差异化优势

Unity 的一位主要支持工程师在客户团队现场工作了一周的时间。Marxent 首席技术官兼联合创始人 Barry Besecker 说:“他的专业技术知识的深度和广度都十分出色,但可能更重要的是,他能够与我们的团队很好地合作。得益于这样优秀的人员,整个合作过程非常完美。”除了作为熟练的故障排除人员和经验丰富的企业级 Unity 平台运营人员,他还充当通信中心角色,与 Unity 的其他开发人员和工程师联系,而后者可以为解决方案做出贡献。特别是,他经常在工作会议期间直接与 Unity 的 WebGL 专家沟通,以帮助集思广益和解决棘手问题。

通常,他负责提供有关如何使用 Unity 的“黑匣”的实用指导,同时保护 Unity 的知识产权。Kilian 表示:“有时,你必须了解关于系统构造方式的特定知识,才能在深层次上诊断问题。Unity 使用了一些复杂的嵌套语句,而且有些堆栈跟踪真的很难!对我们来说,拥有这种专业知识和洞察力是非常重要的。“

高效合作

在 APO 之后,Marxent 向其客户告知,前端加载问题已快速得到解决,并且可以迅速实现。Besecker 说道:“如果发生问题,我们会很快收到客户的意见。假如这样,我们提供在测试环境中使用原型的新客户端,因此很容易向他们演示所做的改进。”总的来说,Marxent 估计加载速度将提高 30%,他们觉得改进非常明显。

凭借这一经验,Marxent 目前正在编制 Development Assistance 的工作声明,以提高着色器系统(Unity 2018.3 中引入的着色器管线和渲染系统管线)的可扩展性。

展望未来,Marxent 预计将受益于 Unity 对增强动态环境和用户生成环境和对象的承诺。 “我在开发者大会上看到了 Unity 相关项目,屏幕上显示了数百万个实例,并且调用数量已大幅减少,这是巨大的进步。但这是对大量相关从业者而言。Marxent 并不需要同时渲染数以千计的沙发!”Kilian 如是说。

但是,他们帮助销售数千张沙发。在全球范围内,Marxent 正引领 AR/VR 商业工具的开发,以及通过两种方式开展的“专业服务”合作:产品经过优化,并且 Unity 获得关于增强和构建自己产品和路线图的深入见解。例如,与 Marxent 合作强化了 Memory Profiler 作为一般诊断工具的重要性,以及实时照明在动态零售应用的着色器系统中的重要性。

“我们确实没有考虑过其他供应商,而是直接选择了 Unity。Unity 验证了我们引以为傲的技术和研发,而且我们深信 Unity 将帮助我们正确地优化应用。坦率地说,他们能够提供专家人员来参与项目。”

Barry Besecker, CTO and Co-Founder, Marxent

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.

Faster WebGL load times and time to market

How Marxent teamed with Unity Professional Services to optimize application performance

Marxent: A Unity Professional Services case study

How do you get two sophisticated software programs and a diverse collection of browser technologies to work together for the best user experience? Marxent augmented its team of world-class developers to optimize a 360°, 3D interior-design tool for the web that lets customers and sales associates create and modify rich visualizations. They brought a better product to market faster by leveraging Unity Professional Services.

Beck and Barry Besecker started Marxent in 2011 to help retailers, particularly in home furnishings and home improvement, increase sales and reduce returns by taking advantage of emerging 3D technologies. Initially, the brothers built one-off AR and VR applications, but with the increased performance demands and necessity of integrated content management, they soon switched from OpenGL to the Unity real-time engine. This enabled them to push the Marxent® 3D Cloud platform to the forefront of the industry, where they are now a global leader in omnichannel 3D design and visualization.

The project

Fast, interactive visualizations increase interior design sales and reduce returns

The goal

Optimizing app loading times in various browser environments

Platforms

WebGL, iOS, Android

Team members

80

Location

Miamisburg, OH – Austin Landing

Unity’s real-time engine is an integral component

Marxent’s 3D Room Designer is a browser-based, interior-design tool that lets customers and sales associates mix-and-match furniture, colors, wall treatments, and dimensions in a rich 3D environment. Its simple, responsive interface encourages buyers to configure and price design projects visually. The Unity real-time engine is an integral component.

When Marxent was demoing a recent WebGL implementation of the 3D Room Designer, a new client mentioned that the longer loading times were an issue. While Marxent engineers had recently made major optimizations overall, the reason for this particular issue wasn’t obvious. Still, they committed to resolving it, which would help the customer deliver better end-user experience and ultimately increase sales.

One missing element was deep insight into the Unity real-time engine and how rendering programs behaved with sometimes-idiosyncratic code formats such as WebAssembly. Marxent got in touch with Unity Professional Services to help investigate and troubleshoot what was going on – with the Unity code, the Marxent code, the way .dlls and frameworks were structured – whatever was impacting launching and loading times, particularly on the WebGL platform.

The results:

  • An enhanced customer experience through a faster, more streamlined 3D program
  • Increased in-house expertise working with the Unity platform
  • A stronger, more collaborative partnership between two world-class software companies

The goal: Reduce loading times

The 3D Room Designer’s front end is built-in native HTML and JavaScript that communicates with the Unity WebGL Player through external JavaScript calls. It’s powered by a suite of Marxent-authored managed libraries shared across all of Marxent® 3D Cloud applications.

After Marxent developers explained the project’s architecture, systems, deployment process, setup, and libraries, the Marxent and Unity teams targeted reducing the size of the WebGL application’s player data and codebase and optimizing the application flow. More precisely, this included:

  • Implementing WebAssembly
  • Removing unneeded assets from the player build while optimizing the size of larger required assets
  • Removing unneeded Unity packages (modules)
  • Optimizing managed code size by improving stripping and by eliminating parts of managed code libraries
  • Minimizing Shader compilation times and first-scene upfront load times
  • Eliminating other CPU bottlenecks

Getting the app in tune with WebAssembly turned out to be a major part of this application performance optimization (APO) project. WebAssembly is a fast-executing text format for code developed by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) to complement JavaScript. According to Vince Kilian, Marxent’s Product Development Lead, “WebAssembly integration is one of the most important capabilities for us in the Unity 2018.3 release.”

The difference an individual can make

One of Unity’s lead support engineers spent a week onsite with the client team. Barry Besecker, Marxent’s CTO and Co-Founder, said, “The depth and breadth of his technical expertise was extensive, but perhaps more importantly, he was a great mesh with our team – the collaboration was remarkable due to this fantastic resource.” In addition to being an adept troubleshooter and highly experienced with the Unity platform running at enterprise scale, he was also a communications hub, connecting with other developers and engineers at Unity who could contribute to the solution. In particular, he would often direct-message one of Unity’s WebGL gurus during work sessions to help brainstorm and troubleshoot sticky issues.

Often, his role was to provide helpful, practical guidance on working with Unity’s “black box,” while protecting Unity’s intellectual property. According to Kilian, “Sometimes you’ve got to know certain things about the manufacture of the system to be able to diagnose problems at a really deep level. Unity’s got some serious nested statements in there and some of the stack traces are no joke! Having that kind of expertise and insight was really important for us.”

A highly productive collaboration

After the APO, Marxent informed its customer that there was a quick solve to the front-end loading issue and that it could be implemented promptly. Besecker said, “We hear from clients pretty quickly if there are issues, and in this case, we had a new client using a prototype in a test environment, so it was easy to show them the improvement.” Overall, Marxent estimated a 30% loading-speed improvement, which they feel is quite significant.

With this experience under their belt, Marxent is currently working on a statement of work for Development Assistance to expand the extensibility of the shader system – the shader pipelines and rendering-system pipelines introduced in Unity 2018.3.

Looking ahead, Marxent anticipates taking advantage of Unity’s commitment to enhancing dynamic and user-generated environments and objects. “I’ve seen Unity projects at developer conferences where there are millions of instances on the screen and way-fewer call counts, and that’s a huge jump forward. But that’s for legions of soldiers shooting arrows. At Marxent, we’re not simultaneously spawning thousands of couches!” according to Kilian.

They are, however, helping sell thousands of couches. Globally, Marxent is leading the development of AR/VR tools for commerce, and collaborations such as the Professional Services engagement work two ways – a product is optimized, and Unity gains profound insight into enhancing and shaping its own product and roadmap. For example, working with Marxent reinforced the importance of the Memory Profiler as a general diagnostic tool and the importance of real-time lighting in the shader system for dynamic retail apps.

“We really didn’t consider other vendors – we went right to Unity. They validated the technology and R&D that we were quite proud of, and we just knew Unity was the right path to help us optimize the app. And, quite frankly, they had expert staff available to jump on the project.”

Barry Besecker, CTO and Co-Founder, Marxent

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it