Unity为 Jurassic World Alive所带来的改变

Unity的企业支持、培训和现场咨询带来的变化

Ludia工作室的《侏罗纪世界 Alive(Jurassic World Alive)》:Unity案例分析

开发自己的引擎并不是小事。当你想使用 它去创建一个如Jurassic World Alive 这样的大作,而时间有很紧迫时, 就会有很大压力了。在这种情况下,Ludia被迫选择是继续开发自己的 引擎还是转用第三方平台。 让我们来看看这个故事以了解 他们选择Unity的原因。

该游戏

Jurassic World Alive 利用定位技术和增强现实技术(AR)重现庞大的恐龙

观看预告片

目标是

在创作过程中从 自己的引擎切换到Unity,并在紧张的截止日期前及时完成创作

项目工作人员

约60人(开发高峰期约120人)

 

公司

员工:350人或以上

总部:加拿大蒙特利尔

在开发期间切换到Unity

在开发周期中将大型游戏从一个引擎转移到另一个引擎需要战略规划,严格的迁移过程和及时的培训。 幸运的是,Ludia工作室选择了Unity。 数百万注册玩家热切期待Ludia / Universal Games和数字平台的发布,Unity的企业支持,现场专家和广泛的培训机会被证明是正确的决定。 Ludia是一个经验丰富的工作室,这一350人的团队以多款成功的游戏而闻名,如Jurassic World: The Game, Battlestar Galactica, What’s Your Story?Dragons: Rise of Berk - 不仅能够在发布日期之前完成所有工作,而且有利于改进工作流程并降低成本。

结果

  • Unity企业支持,现场专家和培训
  • 增加了艺术家的自主权,减少了工作流程中的瓶颈
  • 比起开发和维护自己的引擎更便宜
  • 几小时内的游戏渲染与Unity上一版本的半天相比
  • 以Unity为基础的游戏比其他游戏崩溃率更低
迁移到 Unity

过渡到实时3D内容创建平台

出于多种原因,大型工作室会使用不同的游戏引擎来创作或是支持不同的项目。Ludia也不例外,在他们开发Jurassic World Alive的时候,他们在使用旧的C ++引擎时也在开发具有更高性能的子引擎。

但根据Ludia的编程工作室经理Jimmy Beaubien的说法,他们“意识到子引擎还没有准备就绪,事实证明的确还需要很长时间才能使它顺利运行, 于是决定寻找第三方解决方案。“

在那时,距离他们开始开发Jurassic World Alive已经有六个月了。 在几个商用软件的抉择中,他们选择了Unity来创作一个小规模实验项目。 项目非常成功,于是他们决定停止制作自己的引擎,将Jurassic World Alive项目迁移到Unity中。

重点从编程转向内容创作

对于Ludia而言,转移到Unity是一个根本性的转变,因为他们自己的引擎有一个专注于编程的开发环境,Beaubien说道,“Unity完全不同,是一个专注于内容创作环境,每个人都可以在其中为游戏作出贡献,其中整合了3Ds Max等工具中的大量内容,我们非常喜欢。“

Catherine Barbeau, Jurassic World Alive的主程序员补充说:“使用Unity,我们的美术师们更少地依赖程序员,可以独立创作。 当我们使用之前的引擎时,程序员完成了大部分可视内容的集成工作,现在艺术家有更多的选择。 不细讲我们用到的功能了,可以说我们从中受益匪浅。“

她开玩笑说:“注意到我们的程序员不再被要求将这个物件向左移动两个像素或是其他类似的琐事。” 认真地说,她喜欢工作室的美术师们主动开始尝试更多并提出建议,例如新的着色器。

在将着色器添加到游戏中之前,Catherine要求程序员评估它们对性能的影响,“Unity工具包鼓励创造并使开发者的生活更轻松,因为他们不再需要从头开始做所有事情。”

企业支持

在恰当的时间得到恰当的帮助

鉴于紧迫的开发时间以及开发人员的数量,迁移到新平台有许多需要考虑的因素。 幸运的是,Maggy Larouche,Jurassic World Alive的高级制作人,曾在她以前的公司见过Unity员工,了解他们能从中提供许多帮助。

“当Ludia决定迁移到Unity时,我的第一个建议之一是获得Unity Enterprise支持以获得及时的帮助。 而且因为这是第一次与Unity合作 - 并且由于项目的规模 - 他们设置了现场工程师与我们的员工密切合作并实时回答他们的问题。 通过安置这些工程师,Unity展示了其灵活性和远见,为我们的起步提供了关键支持。“

Beaubien补充道,“让Unity工程师与我们的工程师交谈是最好的策略,因为他们能够清楚了解对方的话语。 与远程技术支持沟通相比要好得多,他们可能不知道你正在努力解决的问题。 有人在现场意味着他们可以直接看到我们的代码并指出问题,进行深入的评论 - 这就带来了巨大的改变。 这就是为什么即使在一年后我们仍然继续使用企业支持服务。“

及时培训

升级他们的Unity技能

既然95%的Jurassic World Alive开发者在迁移平台之前都没有Unity开发的经验,培训就是必需项。按照Larouche的说法,他们是由所谓的一些“自由时光”起步的:“起初是让我们的开发团队自由探索Unity,在那里他们可以访问所有Unity培训视频,这样他们就可以挖掘他们想要的任何内容。”

他们接着为程序员/设计师提供为期三天的课堂培训,为美术师提供两天的培训,Larouche说,“这对于将大家的水平提升一定程度非常有帮助,然后我们又花了几天时间让他们进行实验和进一步调查。”

经过初步培训,他们开始向Unity过渡。 在前三个月,他们获得了额外的个性化课程,包括大量的UI培训,由于创建自己的编辑器和窗口的需要。

持续学习与认证

使他们的Unity专业技能获得成长

现在,随着团队使用Unity的熟练度加强,Ludia计划根据他们的需求进行持续培训,并投资更多在Unity学习上,这使他们在培训类型,形式和日程安排方面具有灵活性。 “我们很开心能在难以自学的项目上得到专业课程培训,”Beaubien说。 “在这一点上,我们希望大家能学习到更多的功能和主题。”

Beaubien向他的开发人员发送调查,了解他们的兴趣是什么,并确保其与当前的项目和挑战保持一致,而后他们建立了特定的Unity培训讲座。 “以目前为例,对着色器和图形编程肯定有很多兴趣。 那是因为还有很多没有得到充分诠释的内容,所以我们可以在Unity中更多地利用相关功能,用于优化 - 这对于移动端来说很重要。”

他们正在探索的另一个领域是Unity认证。 “我们有一些成员被认证为Unity开发人员,我们希望使每个人都有机会学习和发展,期望有更多Unity专家,他们可以在开发新功能或开发其他游戏时克服新的挑战,“Larouche说。

这也将有助于他们吸引Unity人才,他们已经开始将Unity体验列为许多职位发布中的关键资格或所需技能。

“选择迁移到Unity是我们做出的关于Jurassic World Alive项目最好的决定之一。Unity给予我们更多功能,灵活性以及我们需要的在预算和时间内完成大作的帮助—我们永远不会后悔当时做出的这个决定。”

Alex Thabet, CEO, Ludia

“切换到Unity的一大好处是,我们现在可以一下子找到人来上手制作游戏,他们已经拥有丰富的Unity经验,从第一天工作开始就有高效率,这进一步加强了我们团队的力量。 在使用Unity进行开发之前,我们必须先花时间培训人员使用我们的专有引擎和工具集。”

Maggy Larouche, Senior Producer – Jurassic World Alive, Ludia

成果和优点

像饥饿的霸王龙一样全速前进

自从 Jurassic World Alive发布以来,已拥有数百万活跃用户,每天增加上千新用户。 看起来Ludia的生产策略已有了回报。 (一条具有典型性的五星评价:“来自Ludia工作室的超棒的新游戏,比起Pokémon GO在很多方面都有所改进”。)

那么Ludia工作室将Jurassic World Alive迁移到Unity后获得了哪些额外的好处呢? 正如Barbeau所指出的那样,在Unity上创建游戏的崩溃频率平均相较其他引擎低很多,包括几年来可用的有“成熟代码体系”的游戏。

Beaubien指出,Unity可以更轻松地在多个设备上构建,比起内部引擎,其构建所需的时间要少两到三倍。 “在过去,我们花了整个下午的时间来构建,而使用Unity后,只需几小时就能完成任务。”

Larouche补充说,他们花在Unity上的开支少于他们开发和维护内部游戏引擎的开支,但具体数字是保密的。

最后,虽然他们切换到Unity后主要以栩栩如生的恐龙获得了大众的关注,但其他游戏也从这个决定中受益。 在创作Jurassic World Alive的同时, 另一支团队已经开发并发布What’s Your Story?, 以及备受期待的Unity助力的游戏 Warriors of Waterdeep – Dungeons & Dragons 即将发布,证明了Unity为Ludia工作室广受欢迎的移动端游戏提供的一系列可能性。

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.

Converting to Unity for Jurassic World Alive

How Unity’s Enterprise Support, training, and onsite expertise made all the difference

Ludia’s Jurassic World Alive: A Unity case study

Developing your own game engine is no small thing. And when you’re also using it to create a major title like Jurassic World Alive under a looming deadline, the pressure is on. So Ludia had a major decision to make – proceed with internal engine development or convert to a third-party platform. Read this story to learn why they chose Unity.

The game

Jurassic World Alive brings awe-inspiring dinosaurs to life with location-based technology and augmented reality (AR)

Watch trailer

The goal

Convert from an internal engine to Unity midway through production and meet their tight deadline

Platforms
Project staff

~60 (~120 at peak production)

 

Company

350+ employees

HQ: Montreal, Canada

Switching to Unity midway through development

Moving a major title from one game engine to another halfway through development takes strategic planning, rigorous migration processes, and timely training. Fortunately, Ludia chose Unity. With millions of pre-registered players eagerly awaiting the Ludia/Universal Games and Digital Platforms launch, Unity stepped in with Enterprise Support, onsite experts, and a wide range of training options. Ludia – a veteran, 350-person studio known for best-selling titles such as Jurassic World: The Game, Battlestar Galactica, What’s Your Story?, and Dragons: Rise of Berk – not only met their launch date but also benefited from workflow enhancements and cost reductions.

The results

  • Unity Enterprise Support, onsite experts and training made for a smooth conversion
  • More autonomy for artists and fewer bottlenecks in the production pipeline
  • Less expensive than developing and supporting an internal engine
  • The game renders in several hours vs half a day for the pre-Unity version
  • Game crash rate is much lower on Unity-based games than other games
Migrating to Unity

Moving to a real-time, 3D content-creation platform

For many reasons, large game studios create and support different titles on different game engines. Ludia is no different. Around the time they started developing Jurassic World Alive, they had an older C++ engine and were also developing a second game engine with better features.

However, according to Jimmy Beaubien, Ludia’s Programming Studio Manager, they “realized that it really was not ready yet, and the turnaround to make it work properly was really too long, so we started to look at different third-party solutions.”

At this point, they were six months into development on Jurassic World Alive. After reviewing a number of commercial software options, they chose Unity for a small pilot project. It went so well that they decided to stop work on their own engine and migrate Jurassic World Alive to Unity.

Changing the focus from programming to content

Moving to Unity proved a fundamental switch for Ludia because the internal engine had been a programmer-centric development environment, whereas Beaubien says “Unity is not like that – it’s content-centric where everyone can contribute to the game, which appealed to us since we integrate a lot of content using tools like 3ds Max.”

Catherine Barbeau, Lead Programmer on Jurassic World Alive, concurs: “With Unity, our artists are more autonomous and less dependent on programmers. On the previous engine, we needed our programmers to do a large part of the visual integration and now the artists can do more on their own. Without naming any key feature, I would say this is ‘the Big Win’ for us.”

And she jokes that she’s “noticed that our programmers are no longer being asked to move things two pixels to the left or do other trivial things like that.” More seriously, she likes that their artists do a lot more experimenting now and can propose things such as new shaders.

While she will ask a programmer to review the shaders for performance before they go into the game, “the Unity tools encourage creativity and take some pressure off our developers since they no longer have to build everything from scratch.”

Enterprise Support

Getting the right assistance at the right time

Given the looming deadline and the number of developers working on the game, there were many serious considerations migrating to a new platform. Fortunately, Maggy Larouche, Jurassic World Alive’s Senior Producer, had seen Unity staff in action at her previous company and knew how responsive and helpful they could be.

“When Ludia decided to move to Unity one of my first recommendations was to get Unity Enterprise Support for fast assistance. And because it was the first time Unity was helping us – and due to the size of the project – they put in place onsite engineers to work closely with our people and answer their questions in real-time. Unity showed a ton of flexibility and foresight by placing these engineers, which gave us key support when we started.”

Beaubien adds, “Having a Unity engineer talk to our engineers was the best strategy because they speak the same language. It’s much better than speaking to remote support people where they might not know exactly what you’re struggling with. And having someone onsite means they can open our code and point out stuff and do deep-dive reviews – which made a huge difference. And that’s why we stayed on Enterprise Support even after the first year ended.”

Timely training

Leveling up their Unity skills

Since 95% of the Jurassic World Alive devs had no Unity experience prior to the migration, training was essential. According to Larouche, they began with what they called a few “days of freedom”: “We started by leaving our dev team alone in front of Unity, where they had access to all the Unity training videos, so they could dig into whatever they wanted.”

They followed that with three days of classroom training for programmers / designers and two days for artists, which Larouche says, “were very helpful to bring people to a certain level, and then we left another few days for them to experiment and investigate further.”

After the initial training, they began the transition to Unity. During the first three months, they got additional personalized courses, including a lot of UI training because they needed to create their own editors and windows.

Ongoing learning and certification

Growing their Unity expertise

Now with the team going strong on Unity, Ludia’s planning for ongoing training tailored to their needs and have invested in Unity Learning Credits, which give them flexibility in training types, formats, and scheduling. “We’re definitely interested in getting advanced classes in topics that can be difficult to learn on your own,” says Beaubien. “At this point, we want people to be introduced to more complex features and subjects.”

Beaubien sends surveys to his developers to see what their interests are and to make sure they’re aligned with current projects and challenges, and then they set up specific Unity workshops. “Currently, there’s definitely a lot of interest for shaders and graphics programming, for example. That’s because it’s something that we don’t use enough of in Unity so we can exploit those features more, which taps into optimization – an important topic for mobile.”

Another area they’re exploring is Unity certifications. “We have a couple of people certified as Unity Developers and we want to go beyond that so that everyone has a chance to learn and develop. We’re aiming to have more Unity experts who can tackle new kinds of challenges as we develop new features or other games,” says Larouche.

That will also help them attract Unity talent, and they’ve started listing Unity experience as either a key qualification or desired skill in many job postings.

“Choosing to migrate to Unity was one of the best decisions we made on the Jurassic World Alive project. It gave us the features, flexibility and support we needed to deliver a major title on time and on budget – and we never looked back.”

Alex Thabet, CEO, Ludia

“One of the big benefits of switching to Unity is that we can now find people to work on our games who already have vast Unity experience and can be productive almost from Day 1, which further strengthens our team. Before Unity, we had to start by training people on our proprietary engine and toolset.”

Maggy Larouche, Senior Producer – Jurassic World Alive, Ludia

Results and benefits

Full steam ahead like a hungry T. rex

Since Jurassic World Alive was launched, they have millions of active players and are growing with thousands of new players a day, so it looks like Ludia’s production strategy really paid off. (One typical 5-star review: “Great new game by Ludia, better than Pokémon GO in most aspects.”)

So, what were some of the additional benefits Ludia enjoyed after migrating Jurassic World Alive to Unity? One thing that Barbeau noticed was that the crash rate on games made with Unity is on average much lower than on games made with other engines, including “code-mature” games that have been available for several years.

Beaubien likes that with Unity it’s easier to build for different devices and that their build times are two or three times faster compared to the internal engine. “In the past it would take an entire afternoon to compile a build, whereas with Unity it takes only a couple of hours.”

And Larouche adds that they spend less for Unity than they did to develop and maintain their internal game engine, though those numbers obviously remain confidential.

Finally, while they switched to Unity primarily to populate the world with lifelike dinosaurs, other games are benefiting too. In parallel to Jurassic World Alive, another team produced and released What’s Your Story?, and the Unity-powered and much-anticipated Warriors of Waterdeep – Dungeons & Dragons is coming soon, proving Unity’s versatility for a wide range of Ludia’s wildly popular mobile games.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it