Unity 有助于确保《纸牌落在哪》在 Apple Arcade 上顺利发布

一家小型工作室的第一款游戏在 Unity 集成成功服务 (ISS) 临门一脚的帮助下,顺利按时发布。

The Game Band:ISS 案例分析

2019 年秋,Apple 推出了 Apple Arcade - 一项基于订阅的游戏服务,按固定月费提供大量可在 Apple 设备上玩的游戏。《纸牌落在哪》是首发阵容中最引人注目的明星作品之一。这是由位于洛杉矶的独立工作室 The Game Band 制作的一款精美叙事型益智游戏,并由 Toronto’s Snowman 发布。

挑战

优化游戏性能以满足 Apple Arcade 的发布标准和截止日期要求

平台

iOS、iPadOS、tvOS、macOS

团队成员

由 20 人组成的核心团队,外加 30 名自由职业者和其他合作者

地点

洛杉矶

The Game Band studio

The Game Band studio

期望越多,压力越大

对于 The Game Band 这样的小型团队来说,Apple Arcade 的推出似乎是他们展示自己第一款游戏的千载难逢的机会。通过将《纸牌落在哪》的首发时间与这一新的 Apple 订阅系统捆绑起来,则可巧借 Apple 这种行业巨头强大营销和宣传实力的东风。众多用户迫不及待地等待着 Apple 新服务的发布,因此给其留下良好的第一印象至关重要。游戏必须在严格的预定期限内同时面向多种设备发布,而每种设备都有自己的控制系统。最为关键的是,当发布日到来时,要确保世界各地的玩家能够按预期畅玩其翘首以盼的游戏。

《纸牌落在哪》

《纸牌落在哪》邀请玩家随机洗牌和堆叠纸牌,以穿越时光之路。巧妙的环境迷题构成了房屋、平台和桥梁,它们贯穿梦幻般的场景,通过巧妙的动画将故事编织成游戏玩法。玩家通过传送门时,可以看到闪回的记忆片段和飞逝的日常光景。借助易用、直观的触摸控件和迷人的图形,The Game Band 构建了《纸牌落在哪》来吸引休闲和普通游戏玩家 - 而 Apple Arcade 提供了一种确保其曝光度的可靠方法。

The Game Band 联系 Unity 获取集成成功服务 (ISS) 包来帮助他们优化性能、降低风险和管理任何可能在最后时刻突然出现的问题。Unity 团队切实、及时的帮助为《纸牌落在哪》的顺利发布提供了巨大支持。

    The Game Band 的开发者正在制作《纸牌落在哪》

    结果

     

    • 总体上减少了 60%-70% 的内存使用量
    • 极大缩短了启动时间 - 在高端设备上从 8 秒缩短到 3-4 秒,在最低端设备上从 60 秒缩短到不足 10 秒
    • CPU 时间减少了一半
    • 对加载顿挫问题进行了调试,将 2 到 3 秒的延迟削减到几不可察的地步(<0.1 秒)
    Unity 开发者关系经理

    与 Unity 密切合作

    Unity 为 The Game Band 指派了专门的开发者关系经理 (DRM)(与该工作室保持定期联系的 Unity 员工),并对该游戏的核心技术进行了深入了解。Unity 现场访问了 The Game Band,进行了详细的项目审查,深入研究了游戏的每一个细节,以确定潜在痛点和能够改进性能的领域。之后,The Game Band 与 Unity 支持团队通力合作实施了多个解决方案。

    DRM 加快了 The Game Band 对按时发布游戏所需的工具和专业知识的访问。除此之外,DRM 担当该团队与构建 Unity 平台和对其源代码了如指掌的工程师之间的直接纽带。ISS 计划为 The Game Band 提供了最佳实践指南,帮助实现了新功能和工具,并基于 Unity 的未来版本路线图对该工作室的工作提供了前瞻性建议。

    通过分析进行微小调整,结果却大不相同

    首先要解决的问题是核心功能。Unity 工程师进行深入研究后发现,必须同时提高 CPU 和 GPU 的使用率,以改善该游戏在高规格和低规格设备上的性能。在 2GB 设备上进行测试后,他们发现《纸牌落在哪》在启动时(即游戏加载期间)存在崩溃问题;此外,他们还发现了一些关键的 CPU 性能问题,这些问题可能会影响游戏在高规格设备上的表现。

    “性能分析器和内存性能分析器为确定性能瓶颈提供了巨大便利。此外,对于测试和调试,我们在 Apple TV 上大量使用了 Unity Remote。”《纸牌落在哪》游戏设计师兼技术总监 Brandon Sorg 说道。

    内存性能分析器确定了能够改进内存使用率的重要领域,Unity 团队基于此提出了采用更好的系统压缩和降低纹理尺寸、更改导入网格的设置以及执行常规资源审核等建议 - 实施这些建议后,The Game Band 将游戏的内存使用量减少了 60%-70%。Unity 团队建议集成关键字以根据需要激活和停用房间转换计算,以及使用 CullingGroupAPI 剔除屏幕外的角色和纸牌元素。为了提高 GPU 性能,他们使用了着色器性能分析器来提出更改建议,以降低 VertexColor 型着色器的成本。Unity 团队确定了启动缓慢问题的根源,帮助 The Game Band 将游戏在最低端设备上的启动时间从 60 秒左右大幅削减到 10 秒以下。CPU 时间也减少了一半以上 - 在低端设备上,性能从大约 10 fps 提升到了 24 fps,最终实现了 The Game Band 设定的帧率达到 30 fps 的发布目标。

    “Unity 帮助我们完成了分析,并为我们看到的许多数据提供了背景信息。我们为了达成目标所做的一些最重要的性能优化都是基于对他们帮助我们确定的瓶颈的修复。”Sorg 说道,“他们能够提供帮助的一个关键领域是确定我们如何设置动画和可播放图形的问题。如果没有他们的支持,这个问题将很难得到解决。”

    在 Unity 编辑器中进行《纸牌落在哪》游戏开发

    尽早开始使用可寻址资源系统

    Unity 团队建议将游戏资源分解成较小的块,以解决事先完整加载游戏引发的问题。根据这一反馈,《纸牌落在哪》成为了第一批充分利用称为 Unity 可寻址资源系统的新 Unity 功能的游戏之一。

    可寻址资源系统通过将内容与代码分离来提高效率,简化了资源(用于创建游戏的任何类型的内容,例如预制件、纹理、音频剪辑或动画)的管理。该功能集可为任何资源分配一个地址,然后在需要时从任意位置异步加载资源及其所有依赖项。可寻址资源系统减少了迭代时间,同时提高了打包资源捆绑包的效率,让游戏更具动态性,而无需对代码做出更改。

    在 Unity 编辑器中进行《纸牌落在哪》游戏开发

    更好的资源捆绑包

    The Game Band 团队通过实验找到了在其游戏中部署这一强大功能集的合适方法,因为他们知道在何处实施该系统能够产生最大效用。

    “我们首先尝试将所有最高级别的资源(引用所有动画、网格、纹理等的资源)标记为可寻址,这确实允许异步加载我们的所有场景。然而,事实证明这样做不够灵活。”Sorg 解释道,“最后,我们仅将最低级别的资源标记为可寻址,事实证明,要使我们的游戏在 iPhone 上运行,我们只需要管理纸牌纹理内存就行了。”

    集成可寻址资源系统是该工作室得以大幅削减内存使用量的关键因素。Unity 团队帮助 The Game Band 大幅削减了内存使用量(削减量达到了惊人的 60%-70%)- 而且,新的资源管理系统 为他们额外增加了 500-700 MB 的牌组纹理存储空间。

    据 Sorg 说,实际上,The Game Band 发现这“很容易做到”,并且“比以前的资源捆绑包工作流程有了显著改进”。“这也给我们吃了一颗定心丸:如果我们需要进一步削减内存使用量,我们可以采取逐步推进的方法(例如,接下来对动画或网格进行类似操作),而不必担心需要对过多的系统进行彻底‘检修’。”

    男人在 Apple TV 上玩《纸牌落在哪》

    四个平台,完美覆盖

    要将游戏随 Apple Arcade 一起发布,The Game Band 面临诸多艰巨挑战,其中之一是确保游戏兼容并且能够在 iPhone、iPad、Apple TV 和 Mac 上完美运行。

    “有很多设计要求需要适应,同时要确保后端的所有内容足够可靠,从而确保发布成功。最为关键的是,每个版本都必须流畅运行,并达到我们给自己设定的质量标准。”Snowman 高级制作人 Andrew Schimmel(他还面向 Apple Arcade 发布了 Agens 的《滑板都市》)解释道。必须让《纸牌落在哪》在 Apple 的全部四个平台上都提供原生游玩体验,“而不是事后才想起来,然后在两三天里匆匆移植而来的作品。为了确保设计在每种设备上都能完美运行,必须要异常小心并注重每一处细节。”

    此外,在团队竭尽全力按时完成作品的这段时间里,某些格式本身也在不断更改、完善。Sorg 说:“我们必须在开发初期就探索所有选择。Unity 让我们有能力、有信心为这些新兴平台制作优秀作品。”

    回报

    为 Apple Arcade 这样的新服务开发首发游戏是一项艰巨的任务,同时也是令人激动的挑战。通过提供可靠、可自定义的技术支持,Unity 的 ISS 计划让 The Game Band 和 Snowman 能够专注于他们的工作,而 Unity 支持则帮助解决“冲刺”过程中遇到的技术瓶颈。正如 Brandon Sorg 所说:“Unity 不只是帮助我们解决问题;他们还提供指导,让我们能够化被动为主动,将我们的时间花在真正重要的工作上!”

    这种协作提供了丰厚的回报。这款游戏受到了 CNETGizmodoIGNLos Angeles Times Esquire 等众多媒体机构的一致好评,并获得了许多行业奖项的提名。大众甚至投票选举《纸牌落在哪》为 Unity Awards 2019 年度最佳移动游戏。

    Brandon Sorg, Gameplay Designer/Technical Director, The Game Band

    “Unity 专业服务帮助我们完成了分析,并为我们看到的许多数据提供了背景信息。我们为了达成目标所做的一些最重要的性能优化都是基于对他们帮助我们确定的瓶颈的修复。”

    Brandon Sorg, Gameplay Designer/Technical Director, The Game Band
    Andrew Schimmel, Senior Producer, Snowman

    “要在一个不断发展的新平台上保质保量地按时完成项目并非易事。有很多设计要求需要适应,同时要确保后端的所有内容足够可靠,从而确保发布成功。我们再次向两个开发团队致敬,他们克服了重重困难,按时完成了这个艰巨的任务。”

    Andrew Schimmel, Senior Producer, Snowman
    Brandon Sorg, Gameplay Designer/Technical Director, The Game Band

    “Unity 不只是帮助我们解决问题;他们还提供指导,让我们能够化被动为主动,将我们的时间花在真正重要的工作上!”

    Brandon Sorg, Gameplay Designer/Technical Director, The Game Band
    Roldan Melcon, Game Engineer, The Game Band

    “由于我们不需要从头开始构建这些工具,因此可以花更多的时间来改进游戏。”

    Roldan Melcon, Game Engineer, The Game Band

    我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

    明白了

Unity helps ensure a flawless launch for Where Cards Fall on Apple Arcade

A small studio’s first game gets a final push from Unity Integrated Success Services (ISS) to hit a tight release deadline.

The Game Band: An ISS Case Study

In the fall of 2019, Apple launched Apple Arcade, a subscription-based game service offering a plethora of games to play on Apple devices for a flat-rate monthly fee. One of the biggest stars out of the gate was Where Cards Fall, a beautiful, narrative-driven puzzle game created by Los Angeles-based indie studio The Game Band and published by Toronto’s Snowman.

The challenge

Optimizing game performance to meet Apple Arcade launch standards and deadlines

Platforms

iOS, iPadOS, tvOS, macOS

Team members

A core team of 20, plus 30 freelancers and other collaborators

Location

Los Angeles

The Game Band studio

The Game Band studio

The stakes are high when everyone’s watching

For the small team at The Game Band, the Apple Arcade launch seemed like a once-in-a-lifetime chance to showcase their first game. By debuting Where Cards Fall alongside the new Apple subscription system, it would be backed by all the marketing muscle and publicity that an industry titan like Apple commands. With an audience ready to dive into the new service, it was crucial to get the first impression right. The game would be released on a strict deadline to multiple devices simultaneously, each with its own control system. It was important that, come launch day, players everywhere could immerse themselves in the game as it was meant to be experienced.

Where Cards Fall

Where Cards Fall invites players to shuffle and stack decks of cards to navigate pathways across time. Clever environmental puzzles form houses, platforms, and bridges that lead through a dreamlike landscape, weaving the storytelling into gameplay with artful animation. Players access portals where they can view flashback vignettes of formative memories and fleeting everyday moments. With easy-to-use, intuitive touch controls and charming graphics, The Game Band built Where Cards Fall to appeal to both casual and regular gamers – and Apple Arcade offered a surefire way to make it discoverable. 

The Game Band reached out to Unity for an Integrated Success Services (ISS) package to help them optimize performance, mitigate risk, and manage any last-minute issues that might arise. Hands-on and timely assistance from the Unity team was a tremendous support on the road to launch.

    The Game Band developer working on Where Cards Fall

    The results

     

    • Reduced memory usage by 60–70% overall
    • Accelerated startup times dramatically – from 8 to 3–4 seconds on high-end devices and 60 to less than 10 seconds on lowest-end devices
    • Reduced CPU times by half
    • Debugged a loading hitch to cut a 2–3 second lag to an unnoticeable <0.1 seconds
    Unity Developer Relations Manager

    A direct connection to Unity

    Unity assigned The Game Band a dedicated Developer Relations Manager (DRM), a Unity employee who maintained regular contact with the studio and developed an in-depth understanding of the game’s core tech. Unity visited the studio onsite to conduct a detailed Project Review, investigating every nook and cranny of the game to identify potential pain points and areas where performance could be improved. From there, The Game Band and Unity support teams worked together to implement solutions. 

    The DRM accelerated the studio’s access to the tools and expertise they needed to ship their game on time. Beyond this, the DRM became the team’s direct link to the engineers who built the Unity platform and know its source code inside out. The ISS program offered The Game Band guidance in best practices, help implementing new features and tools, and recommendations on how to future-proof their work in light of Unity’s roadmap for future versions. 

    Profiling for small changes that make a big difference

    The first front to tackle was core functioning. When Unity engineers looked under the hood, they saw that it was essential to enhance both CPU and GPU use to improve the game’s performance on both high-spec and lower-spec devices. Testing on a 2GB device, they found that Where Cards Fall sometimes crashed at startup as the game loaded, and they also identified key CPU performance issues that would impact gameplay on higher-spec devices. 

    “The Profiler and Memory Profiler were both huge benefits to identify performance bottlenecks. Also, for testing and debugging, we relied on Unity Remote heavily for Apple TV,” says Brandon Sorg, who acted as both the gameplay designer and technical director for Where Cards Fall

    The Memory Profiler identified vital areas where memory usage could be improved, leading to recommendations for better systems to compress and downsize textures, changes to the settings on imported meshes, and performing regular resource audits – together, these suggestions helped the studio reduce memory usage by 60–70%. The team recommended integrating keywords to activate and deactivate room transition calculations as needed, as well as culling off-screen character and card elements using CullingGroupAPI. To boost GPU performance, they used the Shader profiler to recommend changes that would reduce the cost of VertexColor-type shaders. The team pinpointed issues causing slow startup times, which helped The Game Band to dramatically accelerate from around 60 to less than 10 seconds on lowest-end devices. CPU times were also more than halved – on low-end devices, performance improved from around 10 fps to 24 fps, eventually hitting their target launch framerate of 30 fps.

    “Unity helped walk us through profiling and provided context for many of the readings we were seeing. Our biggest performance optimizations to cross the finish line were based on fixing bottlenecks they helped us identify,” says Sorg. “One key area they were able to help with was identifying an issue with how we were setting up animations and playable graphs. Without their support, this fix would have been very difficult to come by.”

    Where Cards Fall game development in Unity Editor

    Getting in early on the Addressable Asset System

    The Unity team recommended breaking up the game’s assets into smaller chunks to solve issues caused by the game loading in its entirety up front. Based on this feedback, Where Cards Fall became one of the first games to make full use of a new Unity feature called the Unity Addressable Asset System.

    The Addressable Asset System streamlines the management of assets – any kind of content used to create a game, like Prefabs, textures, audio clips, or animation – by separating the content from the code to improve efficiency. The feature set can assign an address to any asset, then asynchronously load that asset and all of its dependencies, wherever they are, and whenever they’re needed. The Addressable Asset System reduces iteration time while packing asset bundles more efficiently, making the game more dynamic without requiring changes to the code. 

    Where Cards Fall game development in Unity Editor

    Better asset bundles

    The Game Band team experimented to find the right way to deploy this powerful feature set in their game, knowing that they could implement the system just where it was most helpful. 

    “We started out by attempting to mark all our highest-level assets (the ones that reference all our animations, meshes, textures, etc.) as addressable, which did allow for loading all our scenes asynchronously. However, it proved to be a bit unwieldy,” explains Sorg. “We ended up marking just the lowest-level assets as addressable, and it turned out that, to get our game running on iPhone, we only needed to manage the card texture memory.” 

    Integrating the Addressable Asset System was a key factor in the studio’s ability to attain an incredible reduction in memory usage. The Unity team helped The Game Band achieve a staggering 60–70% reduction in memory usage – and that’s after the new asset management system let them add an additional 500–700 MB of deck textures. 

    In practice, The Game Band found that it was “pretty painless” and “a marked improvement over the previous Asset Bundle workflow,” according to Sorg. “It also gave us some peace of mind that if we needed to trim down the memory usage even further, we could do it in a piecemeal approach (e.g., target animations or meshes next) without worrying about needing to overhaul too many systems at once.”

    Man playing Where Cards Fall on Apple TV

    Four platforms, one moment-defining launch

    One of the most significant challenges that The Game Band faced with the Apple Arcade launch was ensuring that it was compatible and played beautifully across iPhone, iPad, Apple TV and Mac.

    “There were many design considerations to adapt to while ensuring that everything was reliable enough on the back end for a hard launch date. It was imperative that each of these versions ran smoothly, and to the standard of quality we set for ourselves,” explains Andrew Schimmel, a senior producer at Snowman, which also published Agens’ Skate City for Apple Arcade. It was essential that Where Cards Fall felt at home on each of the four Apple platforms, “without feeling like an afterthought or quick two-day port job. A lot of care and attention to detail was required to ensure the designs really sing on each device.”   

    What’s more, some of the formats were themselves evolving as the team worked toward their deadline. “We had to explore all our options early in the development stage,” says Sorg. “Working in Unity gave us the ability and confidence to target these emerging platforms.”

    The payoff

    Developing a launch title for a new service like Apple Arcade is a tall order and exciting challenge. By providing reliable, customized technical support, Unity’s ISS program let The Game Band and Snowman stay focused on their work, while Unity support helped fix technical bottlenecks in the race to the finish line. As Brandon Sorg puts it, “Unity went a step above simply helping us solve issues; they offered guidance that allowed us to be proactive so our time was spent on the work that really mattered!”

    This collaboration paid off in spades. The game has received glowing reviews in media outlets from CNET, Gizmodo, and IGN to the Los Angeles Times and Esquire, and it’s been nominated for a slew of industry awards. The public even voted it the Best Mobile Game of the year at the Unity Awards 2019.

    Brandon Sorg, Gameplay Designer/Technical Director, The Game Band

    “Unity Professional Services helped walk us through profiling and provided context for many of the readings we were seeing. Our biggest performance optimizations to cross the finish line were based on fixing bottlenecks they helped us identify.”

    Brandon Sorg, Gameplay Designer/Technical Director, The Game Band
    Andrew Schimmel, Senior Producer, Snowman

    “Making sure everything felt complete and seamless for launch day within an evolving new platform was no small feat. There were many design considerations to adapt to while ensuring that everything was reliable enough on the back end for a hard launch date. Our hats go off to both development teams again for meeting those challenges head on, and seeing our schedule through to the finish line.”

    Andrew Schimmel, Senior Producer, Snowman
    Brandon Sorg, Gameplay Designer/Technical Director, The Game Band

    “Unity went a step above simply helping us solve issues; they offered guidance that allowed us to be proactive so our time was spent on the work that really mattered!”

    Brandon Sorg, Gameplay Designer/Technical Director, The Game Band
    Roldan Melcon, Game Engineer, The Game Band

    “Since we don’t need to build these tools from scratch, we were able to spend more time improving our game.”

    Roldan Melcon, Game Engineer, The Game Band

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

    Got it