Wird das Gras mit Zwischenraumanzeigen wirklich grüner sein?

deltaDNA hilft Greener Grass bei der Einführung einer der effektivsten Techniken des mobilen Marketings.

Greener Grass: eine Unity-Fallstudie

How does a studio make the smartest decisions to balance gameplay, ads, rewarded videos, and in-app purchases (IAPs)? Designers at Greener Grass, a Finnish development studio, were committed to providing entertaining gameplay with as few distractions as possible. They worried that interstitial ads in particular would lower ratings and retention numbers. Yet they were quite aware that their commercial success depended on optimizing revenue opportunities.

Die Herausforderung

Die möglichen Auswirkungen von Zwischenraumanzeigen auf die Einnahmen und Spielerbindung bestimmen

Plattformen
Projektmitarbeiter

Zwei Programmierer, zwei Künstler, ein Designer und ein Produzent

Firma

Tampere, Finnland

24 Mitarbeiter

 

Quest of the Dicemaker

Verwendung von A/B-Tests und Analysen zur Überprüfung von Zwischenraumanzeigen

Negative Vorurteile über Zwischenraumanzeigen kommen nicht von ungefähr – schlecht ausgeführte Werbestrategien haben viele Spiele ruiniert. Greener Grass wollte dieses Risiko mit seiner ersten Schöpfung nicht eingehen: Dice Hunter: Quest of the Dicemancer. Es handelt sich um ein temporeiches Free-to-Play (F2P) Casual-Mobilspiel, dessen Erfolg von relativ zügigen Konvertierungen abhängt. Wie würden sich also unterschiedliche Strategien für Zwischenraumanzeigen auf Dice Hunter auswirken?

Das Team von Greener Grass spielt

Answering any question like this demands A/B testing and analytics. Greener Grass’ managing director Atte Kotiranta was familiar with deltaDNA, one of the gaming industry’s leading analytics platforms (deltaDNA works on any game engine, with any backend, and with any monetization system). His team set up tests that measured conversion and retention differences between showing no interstitials and showing interstitials after an introductory period. 

The results were clear and dramatic. Showing interstitials:

  • Significantly increased first purchases (+40%) and revenue (+58%)
  • Increased average revenue per daily active user (ARPDAU) by 65%
  • Did not negatively impact player retention, level starts, or rewarded video views

Die Saat von Greener Grass

When Rovio closed its Tampere, Finland studio in 2015, 17 of the employees stayed together and formed Greener Grass. Currently, Greener Grass employs 24 developers and has two titles – Dice Hunter: Quest of the Dicemancer and Golden Roll: The Dice Game – under its belt, along with several codevelopment projects. The studio targets a casual gaming audience that enjoys board games and RPGs.

Monetarisierung mit Unity erlaubt es Entwicklern, sich auf das Gameplay zu konzentrieren

Aus einer Vielzahl von Gründen war Greener Grass seit jeher ein Betrieb von Unity-Kennern. Kotiranta betont: „Die meisten von uns sind Experten im Umgang mit Unity geworden, und es gab für uns nie einen Grund, nach Alternativen zu suchen. Der Unity-Editor ermöglicht es uns, Künstler und Designer stärker in den Entwicklungsprozess einzubeziehen, was viele langwierige Diskussionen erspart und die Entwicklung von Spielen beschleunigt.“ Die Plattform ermöglicht die einfache gemeinsame Nutzung von Ressourcen über Spiele hinweg und genießt umfangreiche Unterstützung durch Dritte, die über die beträchtlichen Ressourcen im Unity Asset Store hinausgeht.

Das Studio verwendet Unity IAP, um mit einer einzigen, vereinheitlichten API In-App-Käufe sowohl für iOS- als auch für Android-Geräte einzurichten. Zudem nutzen sie ausschließlich Unity Ads zur Schaltung aller ihrer Anzeigen (die 20–25 % der Einnahmen erzielen), um die Einnahmen und die Nutzeraktivitäten zu steigern. „Mit den Monetarisierungs-Tools von Unity können wir uns auf die Spieleentwicklung konzentrieren und wissen, dass wir den besten Nutzen aus den Platzierungen ziehen“, ergänzt Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director bei Greener Grass.

Zwischenraumanzeigen: Spieleentwickler verabscheuen sie, Vermarkter lieben sie

Es ist nachvollziehbar, warum Entwickler oft eine grundsätzliche Abneigung gegen Zwischenraumanzeigen hegen. Wenn man seine ganze Kreativität und Mühe darauf ausgerichtet hat, eine prachtvolle Spielsequenz zu erschaffen, ist eine Werbeunterbrechung bestenfalls kontraintuitiv. Kauko führt aus: „Ich denke, viele der Entwickler hielten Anzeigen für ein notwendiges Übel, lästig, aber zugleich auch wichtig.“ Es gibt einen besonderen Widerstand gegen Zwischenraumanzeigen, bei denen die Werbung das Spiel vollständig verdrängt und eine Aktion erfordert, damit es weitergeht. 

Dennoch sind die potenziellen Vorteile von Zwischenraumanzeigen bestechend. Wenn beispielsweise 100 % des Bildschirms der Botschaft gewidmet werden, führt dies zu vertieften Impressions, die wiederum zu höheren Klickraten und damit zu mehr Konversionen führen.

Zudem können Zwischenraumanzeigen nützliche Metriken wie vergleichbare Zeit am Bildschirm und Expansionsraten liefern. Für Vermarkter gibt es in der Tat keine große Debatte – Zwischenraumanzeigen funktionieren.

 

Verwertbare Daten aus deltaDNA- und A/B-Tests

Angesichts zurückhaltender Entwickler und der wirtschaftlichen Notwendigkeit, die Erträge zu steigern, wandte sich Greener Grass an deltaDNA, eine bekannte Spielanalyse-Plattform und Firma (heute Teil der Unity-Familie), die sich dem Motto „Bessere Spiele für alle“ verschrieben hat. 

Der Creative Director von Greener Grass, Henri Roth, bekräftigt die Position von deltaDNA: „Um mit Sicherheit zu ermitteln, was bei den Spielern funktioniert, müssen Sie A/B-Tests durchführen und entsprechende Änderungen vornehmen.“ A/B-Tests sollten es Greener Grass ermöglichen, genau zu beobachten, wie sich unterschiedliche Konfigurationen mit Zwischenraumanzeigen auf Umsatz und Spielerbindung auswirken würden, und mit diesen Daten könnten sie die intelligentesten Monetarisierungsstrategien umsetzen.

Der Versuchsaufbau ermöglichte das Sammeln von Daten aus einer aussagekräftigen Stichprobe:

  • Die A-Gruppe von 5.507 Spielern sah in der Store-Ansicht keine Zwischenraumanzeigen oder entsprechende Sticker.
  • Die B-Gruppe mit 5.519 Spielern sah zwischen den Levels nach Level 12 Zwischenraumanzeigen mit jeweils mindestens sieben Minuten zwischen den Anzeigen. Alle Store-Ansichten enthielten einen Sticker mit dem Hinweis: „Bei jedem Kauf werden Anzeigen zwischen den Levels entfernt!“
  • Die dreiwöchige Testphase richtete sich an Spieler in Deutschland, Frankreich, Großbritannien, Italien, Japan, Korea, Russland, Spanien, Taiwan und den USA.

Roth fügt hinzu: „Wir fühlten uns bei diesem A/B-Versuch relativ sicher, weil es dank Unity einfach sein würde, die Zwischenraumanzeigen sofort zu unterbinden, sobald wir auf ein Problem stoßen.“

Mit den deltaDNA-Funktionen konnten die Entwickler den Versuch gestalten, um zu ermitteln, wie sich das Vorhandensein von Zwischenraumanzeigen zwischen den Levels spezifisch auswirken würde:

  • Erstkäufe
  • Umsatz aus Anzeigen
  • Spieleraktivität, gemessen durch Level-Start-Zählungen
  • Aufrufe von Belohnungsvideos

Die Ergebnisse sind eindeutig – Zwischenraumanzeigen wirken

Es fällt schwer, bei Versuchsergebnissen wie den folgenden Argumente gegen Zwischenraumanzeigen zu finden:

  • 40 % mehr Erstkäufer
  • 57,6 % mehr Umsatz
  • 64,8 % Zuwachs bei ARPDAU
  • Kein nennenswerter Unterschied bei Spielerbindung oder Belohnungsvideo-Aufrufen und nur wenige negative Bewertungen

Als Ergebnis der Versuche änderte Greener Grass den Monetarisierungsmix, um schnellere, kleinere Käufe und fortlaufende Möglichkeiten für Belohnungsvideos zu fördern. Kotiranta betont: „Wir können uns nicht auf ein paar zahlungskräftige Nutzer verlassen, weil dem Spiel verhältnismäßig früh die Käufe ausgehen. Wir streben an, dass Spieler, denen das Spiel gefällt, mindestens einen Kauf tätigen und dann weiterspielen.“

Nun erscheinen nach den ersten zwölf Levels Zwischenraumanzeigen zwischen den Levels. Nach einem Belohnungsvideo erscheinen für 15 Minuten keine Zwischenraumanzeigen mehr. Einige Zwischenraumanzeigen zwischen den Levels legen IAPs nahe, und nach jedem Kauf enden die Zwischenraumanzeigen. 

Greener Grass freut sich auf noch mehr operative und analytische Kapazitäten von Unity und deltaDNA, insbesondere da die deltaDNA-Funktionen in die Unity-Plattform integriert sind. „Ein großartiges Spiel zu entwickeln, ist äußerst lukrativ, aber es ist eine so wettbewerbsorientierte Branche, dass man es nicht dabei belassen kann“, hält Kotiranta fest. „Tests und Analysen sind für den Erfolg unverzichtbar. Wir sind daher hocherfreut, dass deltaDNA und Unity diese Kapazitäten zu einem nahtlosen Bestandteil unserer Entwicklungsumgebung gemacht haben.“

 

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

„Der Unity-Editor ermöglicht es uns, Künstler und Designer stärker in den Entwicklungsprozess einzubinden, was zeitraubende Debatten erspart und die Spieleentwicklung beschleunigt.“

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass
Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass

„Mit den Monetarisierungstools von Unity können wir uns auf die Spieleentwicklung konzentrieren und sicher sein, dass wir den besten Nutzen aus den Platzierungen ziehen.“

Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass
Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass

„Wir fühlten uns bei diesem A/B-Versuch relativ sicher, weil es dank Unity einfach sein würde, die Zwischenraumanzeigen sofort zu unterbinden, sobald wir auf ein Problem stoßen.“

Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass
Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

„Ein großartiges Spiel zu entwickeln, ist äußerst lukrativ, aber es ist eine so wettbewerbsorientierte Branche, dass man es nicht dabei belassen kann. Tests und Analysen sind für den Erfolg unverzichtbar. Wir sind daher hocherfreut, dass deltaDNA und Unity diese Kapazitäten zu einem nahtlosen Bestandteil unserer Entwicklungsumgebung gemacht haben.“

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

Wir verwenden Cookies, damit wir Ihnen die beste Erfahrung auf unserer Website bieten können. In unseren Cookie-Richtlinien erhalten Sie weitere Informationen.

Verstanden

Will the grass be greener with interstitial ads?

deltaDNA helps Greener Grass roll out one of mobile marketing’s most-effective techniques.

Greener Grass: A Unity case study

How does a studio make the smartest decisions to balance gameplay, ads, rewarded videos, and in-app purchases (IAPs)? Designers at Greener Grass, a Finnish development studio, were committed to providing entertaining gameplay with as few distractions as possible. They worried that interstitial ads in particular would lower ratings and retention numbers. Yet they were quite aware that their commercial success depended on optimizing revenue opportunities.

The challenge

To determine the impact that interstitial ads would have on revenue and player retention

Platforms

Android, iOS

Project staff

2 programmers, 2 artists, 1 designer and 1 producer

Company

Tampere, Finland

24 employees

 

Quest of the Dicemaker

Using A/B testing and analytics to validate interstitials

Negative preconceptions about interstitial ads don’t come out of nowhere – poorly executed ad strategies have ruined many games. Greener Grass didn’t want to run that risk with its first offering, Dice Hunter: Quest of the Dicemancer. A fast-moving, free-to-play (F2P) casual mobile game, its success depends on relatively fast conversions. So how would different interstitial ad strategies affect Dice Hunter?

Greener grass team playing

Answering any question like this demands A/B testing and analytics. Greener Grass’ managing director Atte Kotiranta was familiar with deltaDNA, one of the gaming industry’s leading analytics platforms (deltaDNA works on any game engine, with any backend, and with any monetization system). His team set up tests that measured conversion and retention differences between showing no interstitials and showing interstitials after an introductory period. 

The results were clear and dramatic. Showing interstitials:

  • Significantly increased first purchases (+40%) and revenue (+58%)
  • Increased average revenue per daily active user (ARPDAU) by 65%
  • Did not negatively impact player retention, level starts, or rewarded video views

The seeds of Greener Grass

When Rovio closed its Tampere, Finland studio in 2015, 17 of the employees stayed together and formed Greener Grass. Currently, Greener Grass employs 24 developers and has two titles – Dice Hunter: Quest of the Dicemancer and Golden Roll: The Dice Game – under its belt, along with several codevelopment projects. The studio targets a casual gaming audience that enjoys board games and RPGs.

Monetizing with Unity lets developers focus on gameplay

For a number of reasons, Greener Grass has always been a Unity shop. Kotiranta says, “Most of us have become experts with Unity, and we’ve never had any reason to consider alternatives. The Unity Editor lets us involve artists and designers more deeply in the development process, which reduces a lot of back-and-forth discussions and speeds up game creation.” The platform enables easily sharing resources across games and enjoys extensive third-party support beyond the considerable resources available in the Unity Asset Store.

The studio uses Unity IAP to set up in-app purchases across iOS and Android devices with a single, unified API. And they exclusively use Unity Ads to serve all their ads (bringing in 20–25% of revenue) to drive revenue and player engagement. “With Unity monetization tools, we can focus on game development and know that we’re getting the best value from placements,” adds Jarmo Kauko, Greener Grass’ technical director.

Interstitial ads: Game developers dislike them, marketers love them

It’s understandable why developers often have a gut aversion to interstitial ads. When you’ve applied all your creativity and effort to creating a gorgeous game sequence, a commercial interruption is counterintuitive at best. According to Kauko, “I think many of the developers thought of ads as a necessary evil, annoying but at the same time important.” There’s a particular resistance to interstitials, where the ad completely displaces the game and requires an action to move forward. 

Yet the potential benefits of interstitials are compelling. For example, devoting 100% of the screen image to the message makes for deeper impressions, which lead to higher click-through rates, which lead to more conversions.

In addition, interstitials can provide useful metrics such as comparative time-on-screen and expansion rates. Indeed, for marketers, there’s not much debate – interstitials work.

 

Actionable data from deltaDNA and A/B testing

Faced with hesitant developers and the business imperative of increasing revenues, Greener Grass turned to deltaDNA, a well-known game-analytics platform and company (now part of the Unity family) dedicated to “Better games for everyone.” 

Greener Grass creative director Henri Roth echoes deltaDNA’s position: “To know for sure what works for players, you have to run A/B tests and implement changes accordingly.” A/B testing would let Greener Grass see exactly how different configurations with interstitials would affect revenue and retention, and with that data they can implement the smartest strategies for monetization.

The test setup enabled gathering data from a meaningful sample:

  • The A group of 5,507 players saw no interstitials or related stickers in Store view.
  • The B group of 5,519 players saw interstitials between levels after level 12 with a minimum of seven minutes between ads. All Store views included a sticker that said: “Any purchase removes ads between levels!”
  • The three-week test period targeted players in France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Russia, Spain, Taiwan, the U.K., and the U.S.

Roth adds, “We felt quite safe with this A/B experiment because with Unity it would be easy to stop the interstitials immediately if we found a problem.”

deltaDNA capabilities let developers design the test to find out how the presence of between-level interstitials would specifically affect:

  • First purchases
  • Ad revenue
  • Player activity, as measured by level-start counts
  • Rewarded video views

The results are clear – interstitials work

It’s hard to argue against interstitial ads with test results such as:

  • 40% more first-time purchasers
  • 57.6% greater revenue
  • 64.8% increase in ARPDAU
  • No significant differences in retention or rewarded video views, and only a few negative ratings

As a result of the testing, Greener Grass modified the monetization mix to encourage faster, small-purchase and on-going rewarded video opportunities. Kotiranta says, “We can’t rely on a few high-paying users because the game runs out of purchases relatively early. We want players who enjoy the game to make at least one purchase and then keep playing.”

Now, interstitial ads between levels appear after the first 12 levels. After a rewarded video, interstitials don’t appear for 15 minutes. Some between-level interstitials pitch IAPs, and after any purchase, interstitial ads end. 

Greener Grass is looking forward to even more operational and analytics capabilities from Unity and deltaDNA, particularly as deltaDNA features are integrated into the Unity platform. “Creating a great game is very rewarding, but it’s such a competitive industry that you can’t stop there,” Kotiranta notes. “You need testing and analytics to succeed, so we’re very happy that deltaDNA and Unity have made these capabilities a seamless part of our development environment.”

 

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

“The Unity Editor lets us involve artists and designers more deeply in the development process, which reduces a lot of back-and-forth discussions and speeds up game creation.”

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass
Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass

“With Unity monetization tools, we can focus on game development and know that we’re getting the best value from placements.”

Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass
Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass

“We felt quite safe with this A/B experiment because with Unity it would be easy to stop the interstitials immediately if we found a problem.”

Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass
Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

“Creating a great game is very rewarding, but it’s such a competitive industry that you can’t stop there. You need testing and analytics to succeed, so we’re very happy that deltaDNA and Unity have made these capabilities a seamless part of our development environment.”

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it