L'herbe sera-t-elle plus verte avec les annonces interstitielles ?

deltaDNA aide Greener Grass à déployer l'une des techniques de marketing mobile les plus efficaces.

Greener Grass : Une étude de cas Unity

How does a studio make the smartest decisions to balance gameplay, ads, rewarded videos, and in-app purchases (IAPs)? Designers at Greener Grass, a Finnish development studio, were committed to providing entertaining gameplay with as few distractions as possible. They worried that interstitial ads in particular would lower ratings and retention numbers. Yet they were quite aware that their commercial success depended on optimizing revenue opportunities.

La problématique

Déterminer l'impact des annonces interstitielles sur le chiffre d'affaires et la fidélisation des joueurs

Plateformes
Équipe de projet

2 programmeurs, 2 artistes, 1 concepteur et 1 producteur

Entreprise

Tampere, Finlande

24 employés

 

La quête du Dicemaker

Utiliser des tests A/B et des outils d'analyse pour valider les interstitiels

Les préjugés négatifs sur les annonces interstitielles n'ont pas surgi de nulle part : les stratégies publicitaires mal exécutées ont gâché le potentiel de nombreux jeux. Greener Grass ne voulait pas prendre ce genre de risque avec sa première offre Dice Hunter: Quest of the Dicemancer. Pour un jeu mobile simple et gratuit (F2P), le succès dépend de conversions relativement rapides. Alors en quoi différentes stratégies d'annonces interstitielles auraient-elles eu des répercussions sur Dice Hunter ?

L'équipe de Greener Grass en jeu

Answering any question like this demands A/B testing and analytics. Greener Grass’ managing director Atte Kotiranta was familiar with deltaDNA, one of the gaming industry’s leading analytics platforms (deltaDNA works on any game engine, with any backend, and with any monetization system). His team set up tests that measured conversion and retention differences between showing no interstitials and showing interstitials after an introductory period. 

The results were clear and dramatic. Showing interstitials:

  • Significantly increased first purchases (+40%) and revenue (+58%)
  • Increased average revenue per daily active user (ARPDAU) by 65%
  • Did not negatively impact player retention, level starts, or rewarded video views

Les graines de Greener Grass

When Rovio closed its Tampere, Finland studio in 2015, 17 of the employees stayed together and formed Greener Grass. Currently, Greener Grass employs 24 developers and has two titles – Dice Hunter: Quest of the Dicemancer and Golden Roll: The Dice Game – under its belt, along with several codevelopment projects. The studio targets a casual gaming audience that enjoys board games and RPGs.

La monétisation avec Unity permet aux développeurs de se concentrer sur l'expérience de jeu

Pour de nombreuses raisons, Greener Grass est un client de longue de date de Unity. Selon les dires de Kotiranta, « Nous sommes presque tous devenus des experts de Unity, et nous n'avons aucune raison de vouloir changer. L'éditeur Unity nous permet d'impliquer davantage les concepteurs et les artistes dans le processus de développement. De cette manière, il y a moins d'allers-retours entre les différents intervenants de l'équipe et cela accélère la création du jeu. » La plateforme propose un partage facilité des ressources entre les différents jeux et une assistance tiers supérieure aux nombreuses ressources disponibles dans Unity Asset Store.

Le studio utilise une IAP Unity pour permettre des achats in-app sur des appareils iOS et Android sans changer d'API. Il utilise exclusivement Unity Ads pour diffuser toutes leurs publicités (représentant entre 20 et 25 % du chiffre d'affaires) afin d'engranger des bénéfices et fidéliser les joueurs. « Avec les outils de monétisation Unity, nous pouvons nous concentrer sur le développement de jeu tout en sachant que nous avons choisi les meilleures options de placement », ajoute Jarmo Kauko, directeur technique de Greener Grass.

Publicités interstitielles : les développeurs les détestent, les spécialistes du marketing les adorent

On peut comprendre l'aversion viscérale des développeurs pour les publicités interstitielles. Quand on a consacré toute sa créativité et tous ses efforts dans la production d'une belle séquence de jeu, une interruption commerciale semble au mieux contre-intuitive. Selon Kauko, « beaucoup de développeurs voient les publicités comme un mal nécessaire, déplaisant mais essentiel. » Les publicités interstitielles suscitent la désapprobation, surtout quand elles mettent le jeu en arrière-plan et requièrent une action de la part de l'utilisateur pour continuer. 

Cependant, les bénéfices potentiels des interstitiels ne laissent planer aucun doute. Par exemple, allouer 100 % de l'écran au message permet de produire une plus forte impression, ce qui mène à des taux de clics plus élevés, et donc à plus de conversions.

De plus, les interstitiels fournissent des chiffres utiles concernant le temps passé devant l'écran et les taux de croissance. Pour les spécialistes du marketing, il n'y a donc pas de débat : les publicités interstitielles sont efficaces.

 

Données exploitables issues de deltaDNA et de tests A/B

Face à des développeurs hésitants et à l'impératif commercial d'augmenter ses revenus, Greener Grass s'est tourné vers deltaDNA, une plateforme réputée d'outils d'analyse pour les jeux vidéo, et une entreprise (appartenant désormais à la famille Unity) qui a pour mot d'ordre de faire « de meilleurs jeux, pour tous. » 

Le directeur créatif de Greener Grass, Henri Roth, appuie la position de deltaDNA : « Pour s'assurer de ce qui fonctionne auprès des joueurs, il faut effectuer des tests A/B et implémenter les changements nécessaires. » Les tests A/B permettront à Greener Grass de mesurer avec exactitude la façon dont différentes configurations d'annonces interstitielles impacte le chiffre d'affaires et la fidélisation, et de se servir de ces données pour mettre en place les stratégies de monétisation les plus performantes.

La configuration du test a permis de collecter des données à partir d'un échantillon représentatif :

  • Le groupe A, constitué de 5 507 joueurs, n'a vu aucuns interstitiels ou stickers connexes dans la vue des applications payantes.
  • Le groupe B, constitué de 5 519 joueurs, a vu des annonces interstitielles entre chaque niveau à partir du niveau 12, avec un minimum de sept minutes entre chaque annonce. Toutes les vues d'application payante comportaient un sticker indiquant que « tout achat supprime les publicités entre les niveaux ! »
  • Le test, d'une durée de trois semaines, visaient des joueurs résidant en France, Allemagne, Italie, au Japon, en Corée, Russie, Espagne, à Taïwan, au Royaume-Uni et aux États-Unis.

Roth ajoute : « Avec Unity, nous avons pu effectuer sereinement cette expérience A/B, car nous savions qu'il serait facile de supprimer immédiatement les interstitiels si nous découvrions un problème. »

Les fonctionnalités de deltaDNA permettent aux développeurs de concevoir un test révélant si la présence d'interstitiels entre les niveaux se répercutent spécifiquement sur :

  • les premiers achats
  • les revenus publicitaires
  • l'activité des joueurs, mesurée à partir des chiffres de niveaux commencés
  • les vues de vidéos avec récompense

Les résultats sont sans appel : les publicités interstitielles sont efficaces

Il est difficile de s'opposer aux publicités interstitielles quand on obtient ce genre de résultats :

  • 40 % en plus de nouveaux clients
  • 57,6 % d'augmentation du chiffre d'affaires
  • 64,8 % d'augmentation du chiffre d'affaires moyen quotidien par utilisateur actif (ARPDAU)
  • Aucune différence significative concernant la fidélisation et les vues de vidéos avec récompense, à l'exception de quelques évaluations négatives

En se basant sur les résultats du test, Greener Grass a modifié sa stratégie de monétisation afin d'encourager de petits achats et le visionnage de vidéos avec récompense. Kotiranta commente : « On ne peut pas compter sur les utilisateurs les plus dépensiers, car le jeu se retrouve rapidement à court d'achats disponibles. Nous souhaitons que les joueurs qui apprécient le jeu effectuent au moins un achat, puis continuent à jouer. »

Désormais, les publicités interstitielles sont diffusées après les 12 premiers niveaux. Après une vidéo avec récompense, elles n'apparaissent pas pendant 15 minutes. Certains interstitiels entre les niveaux font la promotion d'achats in-app : après chaque achat, les annonces disparaissent. 

Greener Grass se réjouit de pouvoir bientôt bénéficier de nouveaux outils d'analyse encore plus performants avec Unity et deltaDNA, d'autant plus que les fonctionnalités deltaDNA sont intégrées à la plateforme Unity. « Réussir la conception d'un jeu est quelque chose de très gratifiant, mais sur ce marché compétitif, il faut aller plus loin », remarque Kotiranta. « Il faut également réussir les tests et les analyses. Nous sommes donc très satisfaits de profiter de ces fonctionnalités que deltaDNA et Unity ont parfaitement intégrées à notre environnement de développement. »

 

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

« L'Éditeur Unity nous permet d'impliquer davantage les concepteurs et les artistes dans le processus de développement. De cette manière, les allers-retours entre les différents intervenants sont moins nombreux et le développement de jeu est accéléré. »

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass
Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass

« Avec les outils de monétisation Unity, nous pouvons nous concentrer sur le développement du jeu tout en sachant que nous avons choisi les meilleures options de placement. »

Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass
Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass

« Avec Unity, nous avons pu effectuer sereinement cette expérience A/B, car nous savions qu'il serait facile de supprimer immédiatement les interstitielles si nous découvrions un problème. »

Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass
Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

« Réussir la conception d'un jeu est quelque chose de très gratifiant, mais sur ce marché compétitif, il faut aller plus loin. Il faut également réussir les tests et les analyses. Nous sommes donc très satisfaits de profiter de ces fonctionnalités que deltaDNA et Unity ont parfaitement intégrées à notre environnement de développement. »

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

Ce site utilise des cookies dans le but de vous offrir la meilleure expérience possible. Consultez notre politique de cookies pour en savoir plus.

Compris

Will the grass be greener with interstitial ads?

deltaDNA helps Greener Grass roll out one of mobile marketing’s most-effective techniques.

Greener Grass: A Unity case study

How does a studio make the smartest decisions to balance gameplay, ads, rewarded videos, and in-app purchases (IAPs)? Designers at Greener Grass, a Finnish development studio, were committed to providing entertaining gameplay with as few distractions as possible. They worried that interstitial ads in particular would lower ratings and retention numbers. Yet they were quite aware that their commercial success depended on optimizing revenue opportunities.

The challenge

To determine the impact that interstitial ads would have on revenue and player retention

Platforms

Android, iOS

Project staff

2 programmers, 2 artists, 1 designer and 1 producer

Company

Tampere, Finland

24 employees

 

Quest of the Dicemaker

Using A/B testing and analytics to validate interstitials

Negative preconceptions about interstitial ads don’t come out of nowhere – poorly executed ad strategies have ruined many games. Greener Grass didn’t want to run that risk with its first offering, Dice Hunter: Quest of the Dicemancer. A fast-moving, free-to-play (F2P) casual mobile game, its success depends on relatively fast conversions. So how would different interstitial ad strategies affect Dice Hunter?

Greener grass team playing

Answering any question like this demands A/B testing and analytics. Greener Grass’ managing director Atte Kotiranta was familiar with deltaDNA, one of the gaming industry’s leading analytics platforms (deltaDNA works on any game engine, with any backend, and with any monetization system). His team set up tests that measured conversion and retention differences between showing no interstitials and showing interstitials after an introductory period. 

The results were clear and dramatic. Showing interstitials:

  • Significantly increased first purchases (+40%) and revenue (+58%)
  • Increased average revenue per daily active user (ARPDAU) by 65%
  • Did not negatively impact player retention, level starts, or rewarded video views

The seeds of Greener Grass

When Rovio closed its Tampere, Finland studio in 2015, 17 of the employees stayed together and formed Greener Grass. Currently, Greener Grass employs 24 developers and has two titles – Dice Hunter: Quest of the Dicemancer and Golden Roll: The Dice Game – under its belt, along with several codevelopment projects. The studio targets a casual gaming audience that enjoys board games and RPGs.

Monetizing with Unity lets developers focus on gameplay

For a number of reasons, Greener Grass has always been a Unity shop. Kotiranta says, “Most of us have become experts with Unity, and we’ve never had any reason to consider alternatives. The Unity Editor lets us involve artists and designers more deeply in the development process, which reduces a lot of back-and-forth discussions and speeds up game creation.” The platform enables easily sharing resources across games and enjoys extensive third-party support beyond the considerable resources available in the Unity Asset Store.

The studio uses Unity IAP to set up in-app purchases across iOS and Android devices with a single, unified API. And they exclusively use Unity Ads to serve all their ads (bringing in 20–25% of revenue) to drive revenue and player engagement. “With Unity monetization tools, we can focus on game development and know that we’re getting the best value from placements,” adds Jarmo Kauko, Greener Grass’ technical director.

Interstitial ads: Game developers dislike them, marketers love them

It’s understandable why developers often have a gut aversion to interstitial ads. When you’ve applied all your creativity and effort to creating a gorgeous game sequence, a commercial interruption is counterintuitive at best. According to Kauko, “I think many of the developers thought of ads as a necessary evil, annoying but at the same time important.” There’s a particular resistance to interstitials, where the ad completely displaces the game and requires an action to move forward. 

Yet the potential benefits of interstitials are compelling. For example, devoting 100% of the screen image to the message makes for deeper impressions, which lead to higher click-through rates, which lead to more conversions.

In addition, interstitials can provide useful metrics such as comparative time-on-screen and expansion rates. Indeed, for marketers, there’s not much debate – interstitials work.

 

Actionable data from deltaDNA and A/B testing

Faced with hesitant developers and the business imperative of increasing revenues, Greener Grass turned to deltaDNA, a well-known game-analytics platform and company (now part of the Unity family) dedicated to “Better games for everyone.” 

Greener Grass creative director Henri Roth echoes deltaDNA’s position: “To know for sure what works for players, you have to run A/B tests and implement changes accordingly.” A/B testing would let Greener Grass see exactly how different configurations with interstitials would affect revenue and retention, and with that data they can implement the smartest strategies for monetization.

The test setup enabled gathering data from a meaningful sample:

  • The A group of 5,507 players saw no interstitials or related stickers in Store view.
  • The B group of 5,519 players saw interstitials between levels after level 12 with a minimum of seven minutes between ads. All Store views included a sticker that said: “Any purchase removes ads between levels!”
  • The three-week test period targeted players in France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Russia, Spain, Taiwan, the U.K., and the U.S.

Roth adds, “We felt quite safe with this A/B experiment because with Unity it would be easy to stop the interstitials immediately if we found a problem.”

deltaDNA capabilities let developers design the test to find out how the presence of between-level interstitials would specifically affect:

  • First purchases
  • Ad revenue
  • Player activity, as measured by level-start counts
  • Rewarded video views

The results are clear – interstitials work

It’s hard to argue against interstitial ads with test results such as:

  • 40% more first-time purchasers
  • 57.6% greater revenue
  • 64.8% increase in ARPDAU
  • No significant differences in retention or rewarded video views, and only a few negative ratings

As a result of the testing, Greener Grass modified the monetization mix to encourage faster, small-purchase and on-going rewarded video opportunities. Kotiranta says, “We can’t rely on a few high-paying users because the game runs out of purchases relatively early. We want players who enjoy the game to make at least one purchase and then keep playing.”

Now, interstitial ads between levels appear after the first 12 levels. After a rewarded video, interstitials don’t appear for 15 minutes. Some between-level interstitials pitch IAPs, and after any purchase, interstitial ads end. 

Greener Grass is looking forward to even more operational and analytics capabilities from Unity and deltaDNA, particularly as deltaDNA features are integrated into the Unity platform. “Creating a great game is very rewarding, but it’s such a competitive industry that you can’t stop there,” Kotiranta notes. “You need testing and analytics to succeed, so we’re very happy that deltaDNA and Unity have made these capabilities a seamless part of our development environment.”

 

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

“The Unity Editor lets us involve artists and designers more deeply in the development process, which reduces a lot of back-and-forth discussions and speeds up game creation.”

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass
Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass

“With Unity monetization tools, we can focus on game development and know that we’re getting the best value from placements.”

Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass
Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass

“We felt quite safe with this A/B experiment because with Unity it would be easy to stop the interstitials immediately if we found a problem.”

Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass
Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

“Creating a great game is very rewarding, but it’s such a competitive industry that you can’t stop there. You need testing and analytics to succeed, so we’re very happy that deltaDNA and Unity have made these capabilities a seamless part of our development environment.”

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it