插页式广告能给 Greener Grass 带来收益吗?

deltaDNA 帮助 Greener Grass 部署移动端营销领域最有效的技术之一。

Greener Grass:Unity 案例分析

工作室如何做出最明智的决策来在游戏玩法、广告、奖励视频和应用内购买 (IAP) 之间取得平衡?芬兰开发工作室 Greener Grass 的设计师致力于提供有趣的游戏玩法,并尽可能减少干扰。他们担心广告(尤其是插页式广告)会降低其游戏的评分和导致玩家流失。但是他们很清楚,他们的商业成功取决于优化收入机会。

挑战

确定插页式广告对收入和玩家保留率的影响

平台
项目工作人员

2 名程序员、2 名美术师、1 名设计师和 1 位制作人

公司

芬兰坦佩雷

24 名员工

 

Quest of the Dicemaker

使用 A/B 测试和分析验证插页式广告

关于插页式广告的消极观念并非空穴来风 - 执行不力的广告策略确实毁了很多游戏。Greener Grass 不想在其首款产品 Dice Hunter: Quest of the Dicemancer 中冒此风险。快速移动、免费玩 (F2P) 的休闲移动端游戏的成功取决于相对快速的转化。那么,不同的插页式广告策略会对 Dice Hunter 产生何种影响?

Greener grass 组队游戏

要回答此类问题,需要进行 A/B 测试和分析。Greener Grass 总经理 Atte Kotiranta 十分了解 deltaDNA - 游戏行业领先的分析平台之一(deltaDNA 可在任何游戏引擎上配合任何后端以及任何变现系统使用)。他的团队进行了测试,测量了在不展示插页式广告和在引导期后展示插页式广告之间的转化率和保留率差异。

结果明显而引人注目。展示插页式广告:

  • 首次购买和收入显著增加(分别增加 40% 和 58%)
  • 每日活跃用户的平均收入 (ARPDAU) 增加 65%
  • 对玩家保留率、关卡开始时间或奖励视频观看次数没有负面影响

Greener Grass 的种子

2015 年,Rovio 关闭了其在芬兰坦佩雷的工作室。之后,该工作室的 17 名员工共同组建了 Greener Grass。如今,Greener Grass 拥有 24 名开发者,发布了两款作品 - Dice Hunter: Quest of the DicemancerGolden Roll: The Dice Game - 以及一些共同开发项目。该工作室的目标受众是喜欢棋盘游戏和 RPG 的休闲游戏受众。

通过 Unity 获利,让开发者专注于游戏玩法

出于多种原因,Greener Grass 一直是 Unity 商店。Kotiranta 说:“我们中的大多数人已成长为 Unity 专家,我们从来没有任何理由考虑替代方案。在开发过程中,Unity 编辑器能够让我们的美术师和设计师更深入地参与进来,减少反复讨论并加快游戏的制作。”除了 Unity Asset Store 中可用的大量资源之外,该平台还可以轻松跨游戏共享资源,并获得广泛的第三方支持。

该工作室使用 Unity IAP 通过单个统一的 API 在 iOS 和 Android 设备上设置应用内购买。而且,他们仅使用 Unity Ads 投放其所有广告(带来 20% 到 25% 的收入),以提高收入和玩家参与度。“在 Unity 变现工具的帮助下,我们可以专注于游戏开发,并确保从展示中获得最大价值。”Greener Grass 技术总监 Jarmo Kauko 补充道。

插页式广告:游戏开发者不喜欢它们,但营销人员热爱它们

开发者通常对插页式广告比较反感是可以理解的。当您将所有的创造力和精力投入到创建华丽的游戏序列中时,广告造成的中断最起码是违反直觉的。Kauko 表示:“我觉得,许多开发者都将广告视作必要之恶 - 既烦人又很重要。”对插页式广告有一种特殊的抵制,即广告完全取代了游戏,需要采取措施来向前推进。

然而,插页式广告的潜在优势也很明显。例如,使用 100% 的屏幕图像传达信息可产生更深刻的印象,带来更高的点击率,进而提高转化率。

此外,插页式广告还能提供有用的指标,例如可比较的屏幕展示时间和扩展率。确实,对于营销人员来说,没有太多的争论 - 插页式广告是一种有效的手段。

 

来自 deltaDNA 和 A/B 测试的可操作数据

面对犹豫的开发者和增加收入的业务需求,Greener Grass 选择了 deltaDNA - 一个著名的游戏分析平台和致力于“为所有人提供更好的游戏”的公司(现在是 Unity 家族的一部分)。

Greener Grass 创意总监 Henri Roth 回应了 deltaDNA 的立场:“要确定对玩家有效的手段,必须运行 A/B 测试并相应地进行更改。”通过 A/B 测试,Greener Grass 可以确切地看到不同的插页式广告配置如何影响收入和保留率,借助这些数据,他们可以实施最明智的变现策略。

测试设置允许从有意义的样本中收集数据:

  • 5,507 名玩家组成的 A 组不会在 Store 视图中看到任何插页式广告或相关标签。
  • 在第 12 关之后,5,519 名玩家组成的 B 组将在切换关卡时看到插页式广告(广告之间间隔至少 7 分钟)。所有 Store 视图均包含标签:“进行任意购买可删除切换关卡时的广告!”
  • 针对法国、德国、意大利、日本、韩国、俄罗斯、西班牙、中国台湾、英国和美国的玩家进行了为期三周的测试。

Roth 补充说:“我们觉得进行这种 A/B 实验很安全,因为使用 Unity,一旦发现问题,我们可以很容易地立即停止插页式广告。”

deltaDNA 功能让开发者能够设计测试,了解在切换关卡时展示插页式广告对以下方面的影响:

  • 首次购买
  • 广告收入
  • 玩家活动,通过关卡开始计数进行衡量
  • 奖励视频观看次数

结果很明显 - 插页式广告有效

根据以下测试结果,很难反驳插页式广告的有效性:

  • 首次购买者增加 40%
  • 收入增加 57.6%
  • ARPDAU 增加 64.8%
  • 保留率或奖励视频观看次数没有显著差异,只有少量负面评价

根据测试结果,Greener Grass 修改了变现组合,以鼓励更快、小额购买和持续奖励视频机会。Kotiranta 说:“我们不能依赖于少量进行高额购买的用户,因为这样游戏内购买会相对较早地完结。我们希望喜欢这款游戏的玩家至少进行一次购买然后继续玩下去。”

现在,关卡间插页式广告将在完成前 12 关后显示。播放奖励视频后 15 分钟内,不显示插页式广告。某些关卡间插页式广告宣传 IAP,进行任何购买后,插页式广告结束。

Greener Grass 期望 Unity 和 deltaDNA 能够提供更多的运营和分析功能,尤其是在 deltaDNA 功能集成到 Unity 平台中之后。Kotiranta 指出:“制作一款出色的游戏非常有意义,但这是一个竞争激烈的行业,您不能止步于此。您需要进行测试和分析才能取得成功,因此,我们很高兴 deltaDNA 和 Unity 将这些功能无缝融入到我们的开发环境中。”

 

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

“在开发过程中,Unity 编辑器能够让我们的美术师和设计师更深入地参与进来,减少反复讨论并加快游戏的制作。”

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass
Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass

“在 Unity 变现工具的帮助下,我们可以专注于游戏开发,并确保从展示中获得最大价值。”

Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass
Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass

“我们觉得进行这种 A/B 实验很安全,因为使用 Unity,一旦发现问题,我们可以很容易地立即停止插页式广告。”

Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass
Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

“制作一款出色的游戏非常有意义,但这是一个竞争激烈的行业,您不能止步于此。您需要进行测试和分析才能取得成功,因此,我们很高兴 deltaDNA 和 Unity 将这些功能无缝融入到我们的开发环境中。”

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Will the grass be greener with interstitial ads?

deltaDNA helps Greener Grass roll out one of mobile marketing’s most-effective techniques.

Greener Grass: A Unity case study

How does a studio make the smartest decisions to balance gameplay, ads, rewarded videos, and in-app purchases (IAPs)? Designers at Greener Grass, a Finnish development studio, were committed to providing entertaining gameplay with as few distractions as possible. They worried that interstitial ads in particular would lower ratings and retention numbers. Yet they were quite aware that their commercial success depended on optimizing revenue opportunities.

The challenge

To determine the impact that interstitial ads would have on revenue and player retention

Platforms

Android, iOS

Project staff

2 programmers, 2 artists, 1 designer and 1 producer

Company

Tampere, Finland

24 employees

 

Quest of the Dicemaker

Using A/B testing and analytics to validate interstitials

Negative preconceptions about interstitial ads don’t come out of nowhere – poorly executed ad strategies have ruined many games. Greener Grass didn’t want to run that risk with its first offering, Dice Hunter: Quest of the Dicemancer. A fast-moving, free-to-play (F2P) casual mobile game, its success depends on relatively fast conversions. So how would different interstitial ad strategies affect Dice Hunter?

Greener grass team playing

Answering any question like this demands A/B testing and analytics. Greener Grass’ managing director Atte Kotiranta was familiar with deltaDNA, one of the gaming industry’s leading analytics platforms (deltaDNA works on any game engine, with any backend, and with any monetization system). His team set up tests that measured conversion and retention differences between showing no interstitials and showing interstitials after an introductory period. 

The results were clear and dramatic. Showing interstitials:

  • Significantly increased first purchases (+40%) and revenue (+58%)
  • Increased average revenue per daily active user (ARPDAU) by 65%
  • Did not negatively impact player retention, level starts, or rewarded video views

The seeds of Greener Grass

When Rovio closed its Tampere, Finland studio in 2015, 17 of the employees stayed together and formed Greener Grass. Currently, Greener Grass employs 24 developers and has two titles – Dice Hunter: Quest of the Dicemancer and Golden Roll: The Dice Game – under its belt, along with several codevelopment projects. The studio targets a casual gaming audience that enjoys board games and RPGs.

Monetizing with Unity lets developers focus on gameplay

For a number of reasons, Greener Grass has always been a Unity shop. Kotiranta says, “Most of us have become experts with Unity, and we’ve never had any reason to consider alternatives. The Unity Editor lets us involve artists and designers more deeply in the development process, which reduces a lot of back-and-forth discussions and speeds up game creation.” The platform enables easily sharing resources across games and enjoys extensive third-party support beyond the considerable resources available in the Unity Asset Store.

The studio uses Unity IAP to set up in-app purchases across iOS and Android devices with a single, unified API. And they exclusively use Unity Ads to serve all their ads (bringing in 20–25% of revenue) to drive revenue and player engagement. “With Unity monetization tools, we can focus on game development and know that we’re getting the best value from placements,” adds Jarmo Kauko, Greener Grass’ technical director.

Interstitial ads: Game developers dislike them, marketers love them

It’s understandable why developers often have a gut aversion to interstitial ads. When you’ve applied all your creativity and effort to creating a gorgeous game sequence, a commercial interruption is counterintuitive at best. According to Kauko, “I think many of the developers thought of ads as a necessary evil, annoying but at the same time important.” There’s a particular resistance to interstitials, where the ad completely displaces the game and requires an action to move forward. 

Yet the potential benefits of interstitials are compelling. For example, devoting 100% of the screen image to the message makes for deeper impressions, which lead to higher click-through rates, which lead to more conversions.

In addition, interstitials can provide useful metrics such as comparative time-on-screen and expansion rates. Indeed, for marketers, there’s not much debate – interstitials work.

 

Actionable data from deltaDNA and A/B testing

Faced with hesitant developers and the business imperative of increasing revenues, Greener Grass turned to deltaDNA, a well-known game-analytics platform and company (now part of the Unity family) dedicated to “Better games for everyone.” 

Greener Grass creative director Henri Roth echoes deltaDNA’s position: “To know for sure what works for players, you have to run A/B tests and implement changes accordingly.” A/B testing would let Greener Grass see exactly how different configurations with interstitials would affect revenue and retention, and with that data they can implement the smartest strategies for monetization.

The test setup enabled gathering data from a meaningful sample:

  • The A group of 5,507 players saw no interstitials or related stickers in Store view.
  • The B group of 5,519 players saw interstitials between levels after level 12 with a minimum of seven minutes between ads. All Store views included a sticker that said: “Any purchase removes ads between levels!”
  • The three-week test period targeted players in France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Korea, Russia, Spain, Taiwan, the U.K., and the U.S.

Roth adds, “We felt quite safe with this A/B experiment because with Unity it would be easy to stop the interstitials immediately if we found a problem.”

deltaDNA capabilities let developers design the test to find out how the presence of between-level interstitials would specifically affect:

  • First purchases
  • Ad revenue
  • Player activity, as measured by level-start counts
  • Rewarded video views

The results are clear – interstitials work

It’s hard to argue against interstitial ads with test results such as:

  • 40% more first-time purchasers
  • 57.6% greater revenue
  • 64.8% increase in ARPDAU
  • No significant differences in retention or rewarded video views, and only a few negative ratings

As a result of the testing, Greener Grass modified the monetization mix to encourage faster, small-purchase and on-going rewarded video opportunities. Kotiranta says, “We can’t rely on a few high-paying users because the game runs out of purchases relatively early. We want players who enjoy the game to make at least one purchase and then keep playing.”

Now, interstitial ads between levels appear after the first 12 levels. After a rewarded video, interstitials don’t appear for 15 minutes. Some between-level interstitials pitch IAPs, and after any purchase, interstitial ads end. 

Greener Grass is looking forward to even more operational and analytics capabilities from Unity and deltaDNA, particularly as deltaDNA features are integrated into the Unity platform. “Creating a great game is very rewarding, but it’s such a competitive industry that you can’t stop there,” Kotiranta notes. “You need testing and analytics to succeed, so we’re very happy that deltaDNA and Unity have made these capabilities a seamless part of our development environment.”

 

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

“The Unity Editor lets us involve artists and designers more deeply in the development process, which reduces a lot of back-and-forth discussions and speeds up game creation.”

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass
Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass

“With Unity monetization tools, we can focus on game development and know that we’re getting the best value from placements.”

Jarmo Kauko, Technical Director, Greener Grass
Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass

“We felt quite safe with this A/B experiment because with Unity it would be easy to stop the interstitials immediately if we found a problem.”

Henri Roth, Creative Director, Greener Grass
Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

“Creating a great game is very rewarding, but it’s such a competitive industry that you can’t stop there. You need testing and analytics to succeed, so we’re very happy that deltaDNA and Unity have made these capabilities a seamless part of our development environment.”

Atte Kotiranta, Managing Director and Cofounder, Greener Grass

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it