将新的游戏构思付诸实践

Gameloft青睐Unity灵活的快速迭代工具

Gameloft:Unity开发人员案例分析

如何将绝妙的游戏构思迅速投入生产、将创意火花投入实践?加拿大蒙特利尔Gameloft的游戏总监Renaud Forestié(带领五人团队),聆听游戏创意并快速组装可供利益相关者试玩和评估的可正常工作的有形版本。该团队利用Unity将多个游戏理念化为现实,让最佳创意进入最终开发、发布和营销阶段。

Gameloft创立于1999年,是育碧集团旗下的专业游戏软件公司,已从开发支持Java和Brew的手机游戏公司发展成为全球主要的移动游戏提供商,其开发的游戏每天下载量超过250万次。该公司工作室遍布六大洲,拥有从《狂野飙车》、《现代战争》到大热门《迪士尼梦幻王国》等数百种知名游戏。

项目

根据游戏理念构建各种版本以便进行评估

目标是

为新的游戏开发创造一个培育环境

平台
项目工作人员

6名Unity开发人员驻扎加拿大蒙特利尔

公司

6000多名员工

总部:法国巴黎

 

首日便可推出具备可玩性的游戏

游戏开发与电影创作相似,都是由点到面展开的。开发团队和几位制作人听取设计师(Gameloft称其为“织梦师”)的一些游戏创意,定下要开发的项目,再分配资源。Forestié表示,“我们会为每个项目分配一到三周的时间;我们会针对每个项目创建几个迭代。”他们通常会在第一天结束时给出具备可玩性的东西,在第一周结束时得到可以进行测试的东西。

“我们会尝试创建大量的版本,以期找出让人觉得惊艳的版本;而后从中获取用户保留和玩家启动游戏的次数等客观数据。我们真的很快就能将游戏交到玩家手中。”在过去的一年里,他的团队完成了30多个项目,每个项目有一到五个版本;其中有12个项目可投入生产。Forestié补充道,“我们需要Unity才能维持这样的产出水平,这就是我们将它用于所有项目的原因。”

结果:

  • 用于玩家测试的高功能初始版本
  • 快速了解游戏的技术可行性
  • 快速淘汰薄弱构思的工具集和环境
  • 源源不断的经过测试的且可用于生产的游戏概念
快速的游戏设计和迭代

注重玩家体验

Forestié的职业生涯和个性非常适合他在Gameloft担任负责快速制作游戏的角色。从大学毕业后,他曾担任过网络程序员和艺术指导,培养了Flash相关技能,并在几家初创公司从事过UI/UX工作。然而,他志不在此:“为初创公司开发APP不是我最想做的事。快速将想法付诸实践才能让我获得满足感。”他在网上找到教程并自学了Unity,然后将他的编码、艺术和UI/UX技能运用到了游戏开发中。

“我在成长过程中喜欢玩乐高、视频游戏,还画过不少画。现在我将这些兴趣结合起来 — 设计基本的游戏元素、用Unity组装‘积木’、制作游戏。这就是最理想的工作。”Forestié注重玩家,他的用户体验经验对Gameloft有很大影响。这也是他的团队如此努力地构建具有真实游戏感的游戏版本的一个原因。“我们希望首先为玩家创建游戏,如果玩家觉得体验良好,那么我们很有可能获得不错的保留率和收益。”

他承认快速游戏迭代并不适合所有人。多数项目都熬不过初始评估阶段,这可能会令人失望。然而,好的项目是能够度过这一关的。他补充道,“实验有时会带来意外之喜 — 发现我们不知道或预期外的东西。这相当有趣。”

地铁游击测试

Forestié最初任职Gameloft时,他的目标是迅速将想法变成可测试的形式。“我们需要一种可以让我们快速行动的工具;除了Unity,就没有这样的工具了,”他说。“于此同时,我们希望游戏概念切实具备吸引力,所以它与仅仅作为编程艺术和供内部使用的标准原型不同。我们希望获得一定程度的‘活力’。”

除了内部审核外,Forestié还会将其带向街头。“我会进行游击测试,比如我会在地铁里给人们分发手机,希望他们不会把手机带走,”他打趣道。“我会观察他们如何玩游戏,研究他们的表情。”这并非正式的游戏测试,但它的确给开发人员留下了宝贵的第一印象。这种快速反馈,加上他们丰富的经验和他们自我批评的天性,会引导他们进一步开发,或者“我们觉得这还不够好,我们重新开始。”

增加即时“游戏感”

该团队维护着自己的反馈库(基于Unity的原生API),因此只需点击几个复选框,就可以触发粒子和屏幕抖动、色差、定格以及时间线修改,从而轻松创建强大的游戏感。Forestié将“游戏感”定义为游戏用于告诉玩家发生了某些事情的所有视觉和音频反馈。“假设我按下触发按钮,我会看到枪口射出子弹、出现闪光,我会听到隆隆声,感受到后座力。我能看到并感受到我开了枪的所有反应。”Forestié相信这些额外的效果可以让玩家获得满足感,而这正是让游戏变得有趣的原因。

他还认为游戏创作是一个很好的测试场所;在多数游戏创作平台中,Unity是他最喜欢的工具。“我喜欢游戏创作的一个点在于当玩家在YouTube上点击‘Let’s Play’时。我会见到从不认识、从未有过关联的人玩着游戏并说着,‘呃,我好像应该走这道门,我应该捡这个技能’。我觉得这太酷了。”

深度工具箱和有着较高支持度的社区

Unity资源商店是Gameloft的重要资源,可提供从角色、环境和音乐到计费插件和本地化工具等所有内容。“无论何时需要某个现成的东西,资源商店里都会免费或付费提供该物件,”Forestié说到。例如,免费的Cinemachine是游戏内摄像机的统一程序系统,能够用电影方式跟踪和创作定义的目标。“Cinemachine是我经常使用并且非常喜欢的一种资源。它对与摄像机相关的内容都非常有用,既能进行变焦、又能实现屏幕抖动,即便是使用Cinemachine得到的原生‘噪音’也非常棒。” ProBuilder — 最初位于资源商店中,但从Unity 2018开始便成为了内置功能 — 是团队用于3D建模的主要资源。

他们的另一个重要资源是Unity开发人员社区。“当我们陷入困境时,我知道世界上有其他人已经解决了这个问题,我只需要去Google上搜索相关问题就好了。”他还在Twitter上花了很多时间。“人们会在这里分享不少关于Unity的绝妙提示和技巧,我觉得这里算是我的首要信息来源之一。”Forestié经常建议其他开发人员访问Unity网站的“学习”板块,利用新版本的教程。 “这是我学到大部分知识的地方,”他说。

最后,凭借快速发布到几乎任何平台的能力、创新和多样化的功能集以及支持团队轻松协作的能力,Unity已成为Forestié及其Gameloft游戏设计师同事的主力开发工具。他的团队使用Unity的快速工作效率引起了人们的注意 — 传言称,Gameloft将在明年构建完全利用Unity制作的首款游戏。

迅速实现游戏设计的最佳范例

Renaud Forestié在洛杉矶Unite大会上向满座观众分享Gameloft团队创建的原型作品。观看他的演讲。

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.

Bringing new game ideas to reality fast

Gameloft likes Unity’s flexible tools for rapid iterations.

Gameloft: A Unity developer case study

How do you put cool game ideas into production fast, turning a creative spark into a foundry? With his team of five, Gameloft Montreal’s Director of Gameplay, Renaud Forestié, listens to game ideas and quickly assembles tangible, working versions that stakeholders can play and evaluate. The team uses Unity to bring multiple game ideas to life, letting the best rise to the top for final development, publishing, and marketing.

Founded in 1999 by a co-founder of Ubisoft, Gameloft has grown from developing games for Java- and Brew-enabled handsets to being a major mobile-game provider with over 2.5-million downloads daily. Their studios span six continents, and their hundreds of well-known titles range from Asphalt and Modern Combat to the tycoon hit Disney Magic Kingdoms.

The project

Build working variations of game ideas for evaluation

The goal

Create a nurturing environment for new game development

Platforms

iOS and Android

Project staff

6 Unity developers in Montreal, Canada

Company

6,000+ employees

HQ: Paris, France

 

Flexible tools deliver a playable game on Day 1

Similar to a movie studio, game development starts with a pitch. The team and several producers listen to a number of game ideas from designers (called “vision holders” at Gameloft), decide on a number of projects, and assign resources. According to Forestié, “We’ll allocate somewhere between one and three weeks per project, and for each project, we create several iterations.” They often have something playable by the end of the first day and something testable by the end of the first week.

“We try to create substantial builds that will give us ‘Wow, that’s interesting!’ reactions, where we can get objective data like user retention and how many times people launch the game. We put them into the hands of players really fast.” In the past year, his team has completed over 30 projects with from one to five builds each. Of these, 12 were greenlighted for production. Forestié added, “To maintain this level of output, we need Unity, and that’s why we use it for all our projects.”

The results:

  • Highly functional initial builds for player testing
  • Fast understanding of a game’s technical viability
  • A toolset and environment that ensures weak ideas fail fast
  • A steady stream of tested, production-ready game concepts
Rapid game design and iterations

Putting player experience first

Forestié’s career and personality are a good fit for his quick-moving role at Gameloft. After university, he worked as a web programmer and art director, developed Flash skills, and moved into UI/UX work at several startups. However, it wasn’t his passion: “Doing apps for startups was not really my thing. I get satisfaction from quickly creating something that reflects exactly what I have in mind.” He found a tutorial online, taught himself Unity, and brought his coding, art, and UI/UX skills to bear on games.

“Growing up, I loved playing with Lego, video games, and did a lot of drawing. Now I’m combining these interests – designing basic game elements, assembling ‘building blocks’ with Unity and making games. It’s the perfect job.” His UX experience is a strong influence at Gameloft, where he focuses on the player. That’s one of the reasons why his team puts so much effort into creating builds with an authentic game feel. “We want to build for the player first, and if a player has a good experience, then chances are we’ll get good retention and good numbers.”

He acknowledges that rapid game iteration isn’t for everyone. Most projects don’t move beyond initial evaluations, and that can be disappointing. However, good ones do make it through. He added, “With experimentation, sometimes there’s serendipity – finding out things that we just didn’t know or expect. That’s really fun.”

Guerilla testing on the subway

When Forestié first arrived at Gameloft, his goal was to get ideas into testable form quickly. “We needed a tool that would let us move fast, and I don’t know of a better tool than Unity to do that,” he said. “At the same time, we want to make the game concept really appealing, so it’s not like your standard prototype where it’s just programmer art and only used internally. We want a certain level of ‘juice.’”

In addition to internal reviews, Forestié literally takes it to the streets. “I do guerilla testing where I’ll give people in the subway a phone and hope they don’t run away with it,” he jokes. “I’ll watch how they play the game and study their faces.” It’s not formal playtesting, but it does give the developers a valuable first impression. This quick feedback, combined with their extensive experience and their own self-critical natures, guides them to either further development or, “We just say this isn’t good enough and we start again.”

Adding instant “game feel”

The team maintains its own feedback library, based on Unity’s native API, so that with the click of a few checkboxes they can trigger particles and screen shakes, chromatic aberrations, freeze frames, and timeline modifications, which lets them easily create a strong game feel. Forestié defines “game feel” as all the visual and audio feedback that the game uses to tell a player that something happened. “Let’s say I press the trigger button, my gun shoots and I see a muzzle flash, hear the boom, and the scene recoils. I see and feel all of that, which tells me I shot the gun.” Forestié believes that these extra effects make the player feel rewarded, and that’s what makes a game fun.

He also considers game jams a great place for testing, and at most game jams, Unity is a favorite tool. “What I love about game jams is when players do Let’s Play on YouTube. I get to see people I’ve never met, that I’ve never connected with, play the game and say, ‘Oh, I think I should go through this door, I should pick this power up.’ For me, that is really cool.”

A deep toolbox and highly supportive cast

The Unity Asset Store has been an important resource for Gameloft, offering everything from characters, environments, and music to billing add-ons and localization tools. “Whenever we need something off-the-shelf, it’s probably for sale or available for free in the Asset Store,” said Forestié. For example, Cinemachine, which is free, is a unified, procedural system for in-game cameras that can cinematically track and compose a defined target. “Cinemachine is an asset I use a lot and that I love. It really helps with all our camera stuff, having a zoom, having a screen shake, just the ‘noise’ that you get natively with Cinemachine is amazing.” ProBuilder – which was initially on the Asset Store but as of Unity 2018 is a built-in feature – is a key asset that the team uses for 3D modeling.

Another vital resource for them is the Unity developer community. “When we’re stuck with something difficult, I know someone else in the world has solved this problem, and I just have to Google it.” He also spends a lot of time on Twitter. “People share amazing Unity tips and tricks there, so I’d say it’s one of my first sources of information.” Forestié often points other developers to the Learn section of the Unity website, and with new releases, goes to the tutorials. “That’s where I learned most of what I know,” he said.

Finally, with its ability to quickly publish to virtually any platform, an innovative and diverse feature set, and the ease with which teams can collaborate, Unity has become the workhorse development tool for Forestié and his game-designer colleagues at Gameloft. His team’s rapid productivity with Unity has not gone unnoticed – rumor has it that Gameloft will create its first full-production Unity game next year.

Best practices for fast game design

Renaud Forestié shared Gameloft’s prototype teamwork at Unite LA to the crowded room’s delight. Watch his presentation.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it