Cyber week

获取促销礼品。限时优惠。12 月 4 日结束。
获取促销礼品。限时优惠。12 月 4 日结束。

《寻梦环游记 VR》

发布者 Pixar & Magnopus
The studio
VR 景观魔术师

Magnopus 创始人 Ben Grossmann、Alex Henning 和 Rodrigo Teixeira 在过去十年中参与制作了一些最为仰仗特效的电影,例如摘得奥斯卡奖的《雨果》《星际迷航 2:暗黑无界》《超凡蜘蛛侠》《爱丽丝梦游仙境》《奇幻森林》等。十多年来,Magnopus 才华横溢的团队将创作技术把玩在指尖,创造了一部部令人印象深刻的视觉盛宴。

“我们创办 Magnopus 是因为电影即将遭遇天花板,我们马上就用完了让人们惊声尖叫的手段。我们看到导演们在竭尽全力吸引观众,但观众们所寻求的东西是仅仅依靠剧院或电视节目所无法提供的。”Magnopus 首席执行官 Ben Grossmann 说,“我们知道我们需要把观众带入到体验中,但在现有体系内我们永远无法做到这一点,所以我们选择了重新开始。现在,我们正在打造让人们成为故事中活跃部分的经验和技术 - 不管是物理世界与数字世界的混合,还是一个完全想象的世界。”

他们在《Mission:ISS》和获得艾美奖提名的《银翼杀手 2049:记忆实验室》中提供了一些 2017 年最令人吃惊的 VR 体验,并在这一过程中获得了宝贵的专业知识。首席技术官 Lap Luu 解释说:“为 VR 开发 VFX 与为传统电影或视频游戏制作 VFX 有着本质的区别。制作令人惊叹的 VR 内容与制作电影、电视节目或游戏是不一样的。制作 VR 的过程就像囊括了后面三种一样。”

(Top) Magnopus co-founders Rodrigo Teixeira, Alex Henning, and Ben Grossmann. (Bottom) Pixar’s John Halstead, Supervising Technical Director

The project
邀请活人参观“亡者国度”

《寻梦环游记 VR》中,Magnopus 和 Pixar 融合了他们的创造才能和技术魔力,将玩家带入到他们在 Pixar 动画电影《寻梦环游记》中所看到的无比梦幻的“亡者国度”。

“所以,我们不只是为了制作一部电影的叙事短片,而是设计了一种积极的体验,让用户有机会参观电影中的许多美丽地点,例如乘坐吊船欣赏整座城市的美景。”

除了在城市上空数百英尺高的地方欣赏美景(通过 Oculus Rift 头盔体验)以外,玩家还可以在一系列迷你场景中漫步,游览服装店、艺术馆、电影院、摄影棚和观看音乐表演,体验色彩缤纷的“亡者国度”。

跟 Magnopus 的《银翼杀手 2049:记忆实验室》一样,《寻梦环游记 VR》今年获得了艾美奖“优秀原创互动节目”大奖的提名。鼓励玩家独自或与最多三位好友一起通过每项活动体验《寻梦环游记 VR》。“多人游戏体验是《寻梦环游记 VR》最为耀眼的地方,”Alex Henning 说道,“它从一开始就被打造为一种社交体验,毫无疑问,与好友一起参观‘亡者国度’可令乐趣加倍。”

观看 Coco VR 预告片
The reveal
Pixar 标准在 VR 领域面临的挑战

《寻梦环游记 VR》的多人游戏功能是 Magnopus 最先实现的功能之一。虽然多人游戏对于玩家最终享受到的体验至关重要,但在与 Disney 和 Pixar 客户进行密切协作的设计和迭代过程中,多人协作功能率先证明了其不可估量的价值。

Henning 指出:“与客户以 VR 方式协作时,让人最为吃惊的一点是其极高的沟通效率。“我们能够在自由移动的同时讨论复杂的设计主题,像在电影场景中一样一边行走一边指着某个特定区域:‘这个细节部分要改一下,进行这样的改动,让我们把这个移到这里来,我们把这个东西放到那儿让玩家以这样的方式体验会怎么样?’所有这些建议和讨论变得无比高效,将可缩短项目的迭代时间。”

多人游戏不仅仅是为了娱乐性

无与伦比的动画效果

在进入和退出体验时,玩家将与电影中的主人公 Miguel 进行简短的对话,他们还可以在轻松愉悦的表演过程中与 Hector 互动。Pixar 对角色十分看重,意味着必须以 1:1 的形式将可从电影中辨识出来的英雄转化为新的媒介。

Pixar 的叙事风格在很大程度上依赖于其先进的面部动画效果,因此,虽然 Magnopus 几乎优化了电影中的所有模型,但主人公的面孔和动画还是完全按照原作呈现的。通常,在 VR 体验中,纹理是最大的文件,但对于《寻梦环游记 VR》,动画文件非常庞大,并且是使用 Pixar 的专有动画系统创建的,这促使 Magnopus 制作了能够在 Unity 中实时适应这些文件的自定义工具。

Hector in the Editor

Hector in the Editor

除了面部动画以外,骷髅身体的移动对于体验的沉浸感也极为重要。该团队利用 Final IK(Asset Store 中提供的反向运动学解决方案)来实现玩家及其好友的骷髅身体动画。

大量细节,最低成本

《寻梦环游记 VR》体验的诸多成功方面中,最令人印象深刻的是“亡者国度”的视觉效果。“Pixar 为电影《寻梦环游记》中的‘亡者国度’创造了一种极其详尽、奢华、炫丽、辉煌的视觉效果。”Luu 沉思后说道,“参与这个项目的每一个人都觉得有必要将这一景象尽可能忠实地体现在 VR 中。我们希望玩家真的感觉自己穿越到了另一个世界,就像电影中的 Miguel 一样。”

Pixar 的 Halstead 说道:“这对我们来说是项目的关键部分。我们的团队花费了大量精力重新设计电影中的元素,以便以这种新格式在本地进行工作。难点之一是要确保它们在 Unity 引擎和体验本身中都能正常工作。为了处理好这个环节,在将动画交给 Magnopus 之前,我们完成了很多步骤的工作。”

Incredible size and scale made affordable for VR.

Incredible size and scale made affordable for VR.

为了达到他们所期望的细节级别,Magnopus 发明了一些新技术,将各种各样的 360 度投影混合为环境,从而使他们在某些情况下可以使用电影中的实际 RenderMan 渲染。3D 美术主管 Luke Schloemer 说:“你看到的其实是一种多层体验,近处是真 3D 资源,风景越远,投影越多。你可以把它看成是天空盒 1.5。”

体验中处处都使用了环境的细节分层,在乘坐吊船穿过城市时所看到的令人眼花缭乱的景象最为明显。这是一种混合产物,可轻松欺骗大脑,让它看到一个凝聚的整体,并允许在 VR 环境中实现惊人的细节。

“第一次看完成后的电影真的很有趣。”Henning 回忆道,“进入 VR 体验后,我曾驻足在广场中央,也乘坐了吊船,看电影的体验几乎就像在翻看我去过的地方的度假照片。”

了解如何以Unity创建出色的VR 和 AR 交互体验!

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Coco VR

by Pixar & Magnopus
The studio
Magicians of VR spectacle

Magnopus founders Ben Grossmann, Alex Henning, and Rodrigo Teixeira have credits in some of the most effects-heavy film productions in the last decade, including the Oscar-winning Hugo, Star Trek: Into Darkness, The Amazing Spiderman, Alice in Wonderland, and The Jungle Book. For well over a decade, the ultra-talented team at Magnopus has been bending creative technology to their wills to create impressive visual feasts.

“We started Magnopus because films were hitting a ceiling and we were running out of impossible spectacles to wow people with. We saw directors struggling to engage audiences, and audiences looking for more than a theater or TV could provide,” said Ben Grossmann, CEO. “We knew we needed to put audiences inside those experiences, but that we’d never be able to do it within the existing system, so we left to start fresh. Now we’re building experiences and technology that allow people to become an active part of the story, whether it’s a mixture of the physical and digital worlds or a completely imagined world.”

They delivered some of 2017’s most impressive VR experiences in Mission:ISS and the Emmy-nominated Blade Runner 2049: Memory Lab, gaining valuable expertise in the process. “Developing for VR is fundamentally different from creating VFX for traditional films or video games,” explained Lap Luu, CTO. “Making amazing VR content is not the same as making films, TV or games. It’s like all three at the same time.”

(Top) Magnopus co-founders Rodrigo Teixeira, Alex Henning, and Ben Grossmann. (Bottom) Pixar’s John Halstead, Supervising Technical Director

The project
Inviting the living to the Land of the Dead

In Coco VR, Magnopus and Pixar combined their creative talent and technical wizardry to transport players into Pixar’s beautiful vision of the Land of the Dead as seen in their animated film Coco. “We set out to both explore the creative opportunities of the medium as well as push the technology to its limit,” said John Halstead, Pixar’s Supervising Technical Director.

“So instead of just doing a narrative short of the film, we designed an active experience that gives users the opportunity to visit many of the beautiful locations in the film, including taking a gondola ride and enjoying gorgeous views of the surrounding city.”

As well as experiencing the world hundreds of feet above the city – courtesy of an Oculus Rift headset – players experience the vibrantly colored Land of the Dead as they wander through a series of mini-experiences that include a costume shop, an art gallery, a cinema, a photo booth, and a musical performance.

Coco VR – like Magnopus’ Blade Runner 2049: Memory Lab – is nominated for an Emmy this year in the Outstanding Original Interactive Program category. Players are encouraged to experience Coco VR on their own or with up to three friends through each of the activities. “The multiplayer experience is where Coco VR really comes to life,” said Alex Henning. “It was built to be a social experience from the ground up and there’s no doubt that visiting the Land of the Dead with friends elevates the fun.”

Watch Coco VR's trailer
The reveal
The challenge of Pixar standards in VR

The multiplayer functionality of Coco VR was among the first features Magnopus implemented. While important to the eventual enjoyment of the final experience for players, multiplayer first proved invaluable in the highly collaborative design and iteration process with clients at Disney and Pixar.

“One of the most amazing things about working in VR with a client is how effective communication can be,” observed Henning. “We’re able to discuss complex design topics while freely moving around, pointing to specific areas like we’re walking around a set on a movie: ‘Change this detail, make this alteration, let’s move this over here, what if we put this stuff there and had players experience things this way?’ All of these suggestions and discussions become infinitely more productive, shortening iteration time on projects.”

Multiplayer isn’t just for fun anymore

Animation worthy of a hero

On entering and exiting the experience, players are treated to short conversations with Miguel, the hero of the films, and they can also interact with Hector during an enjoyable performance sequence. Pixar’s focus on character meant these heroes, so recognizable from the film, needed to translate 1:1 to a new medium.

Pixar’s storytelling style is heavily dependent on their advanced facial animation, so while Magnopus optimized nearly every model from the film, the hero character faces and animations are rendered in the exact format of the original. Normally in a VR experience, the textures are the largest files, but in the case of Coco VR, the animation files were massive and created with Pixar’s proprietary animation system, prompting Magnopus to craft custom tools capable of accommodating the files in real time in Unity.

Hector in the Editor

Hector in the Editor

In addition to the facial animation, the movement of the skeleton bodies is extremely important to the immersion of the experience. The team utilized Final IK, an inverse kinematics solution available on the Asset Store, to implement the skeleton body animation of players and their friends.

Massive detail, minimal cost

Of the many successful aspects of the Coco VR experience, one of the most impressive is the visualization of the Land of the Dead. “Pixar created one of the most detailed, extravagant, colorful, brilliant visualizations for the Land of the Dead for the Coco film,” Luu reflected. “Everyone working on this project felt a need to bring that vision to life in VR as closely as possible. We wanted players to really feel like they’ve crossed to the other side, just like Miguel did in the movie.”

“That was a key part of the project for us,” said Pixar’s Halstead. “Our team spent a lot of effort redesigning elements from the film to work natively in this fresh format. And part of the challenge was to make sure they worked smoothly both in the Unity engine and in the experience itself. To get it right, we went through a number of steps before handing off the animations to Magnopus.”

Incredible size and scale made affordable for VR.

Incredible size and scale made affordable for VR.

In order to achieve the level of detail they hoped for, Magnopus cultivated new techniques that blended a variety of 360-degree projections as the environment, allowing them to use actual RenderMan renders from the film in some cases. “What you’re actually seeing is a multi-layered experience of true 3D assets up closer and more projections the farther the scenery is in the distance,” said lead 3D artist Luke Schloemer. “You can think of it as skybox 1.5.”

The detailed layering of environments is used everywhere in the experience but is most apparent in an eye-popping gondola ride through the city. It’s a mixture that easily tricks the brain into seeing a cohesive whole and allows for a stunning amount of detail in a VR environment.

“It was really interesting seeing the finished movie for the first time,” recalled Henning. “Having been in the VR experience first and having stood in the middle of the square and ridden the gondola, the experience of seeing the movie was almost like looking at vacation photos from somewhere I had already visited.”

Learn more about how you can build incredible interactive experiences in VR and AR with Unity!

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.