Unity 帮助 Madfinger 在《暗影之枪·战争游戏》中将移动端玩家体验放在首位

这家捷克工作室的最新 FPS 游戏充分利用了 Unity 在游戏开发、游戏托管、匹配和语音通信方面的端到端解决方案。

MADFINGER Games:Unity 案例分析

您如何确保一个传奇游戏系列的主要新版本能够顺利发行?十年前,Unity 和 MADFINGER Games 都还是刚刚进入移动端游戏领域的规模很小的公司,那时两家公司就建立了合作伙伴关系。时代发生了巨大的变化,但这种关系仍像以前那样牢固,并延伸到了整个游戏生命周期的各个重要运营领域。

目标

依托 Unity 的端到端技术和支持服务构建出色的移动端游戏

平台
团队成员

从事 Unity 相关工作的人员有约 75 名,其中包括程序员、美术师、动画师、设计师和测试人员

公司

100 多名员工

捷克共和国布尔诺

Madfinger Games 团队

MADFINGER Games team

这家独立工作室没有藏匿在阴影中

自 2010 年以来,完全独立的 Madfinger 的使命一直是“打造最好的移动端游戏”。Madfinger 拥有 100 名成员的团队一直在为此努力奋斗。2019 年,他们因在 Google Play 上发布的《暗影之枪·传奇》摘得制作最精美的游戏奖项。Madfinger 出品的八款游戏的下载量达到了 2.6 亿次。Madfinger 忠实的玩家群体十分热爱 Madfinger 在 《暗影之枪·死亡地带》《死亡扳机》《UNKILLED》 等作品中体现的独特风格。

在最近发布的《暗影之枪·战争游戏》(达到主机级质量的移动端多人第一人称射击游戏 (FPS))中,有 Sara、Jet、Revenant、Willow、Slade 等英雄,适合所有类型和级别的玩家,可进行从非竞争性的单人游戏到令人热血沸腾的 5v5 战斗。Madfinger 使用 Unity 的实时 3D 内容创建平台构建和发布该游戏,利用 Multiplay 进行游戏托管,并将很快集成 Vivox 来实现游戏内语音通信。

结果

  • 借助广泛的 Unity 开发者工具,快速进行原型制作、迭代和优化
  • 基于一个代码库,轻松进行多平台(Android、iOS)构建
  • 采用 Multiplay 久经考验并经过大规模实战测试的技术无缝托管游戏服务器
  • 使用新的 Beta 版 Matchmaker 将玩家与服务器进行亚秒级匹配
  • 借助 Vivox 快速集成语音通信功能

立即观看:MADFINGER Games 访谈

在本采访中,Madfinger 联合创始人兼首席执行官 Marek Rabas 向 Unity 讲述了其团队面临的挑战以及他们如何使用 Unity 的多人游戏工具套件解决这些问题。

Unity 编辑器内视图

构建游戏,而不是引擎

作为一家具有竞争精神的工作室,Madfinger 很看重自己的精益规模,以便在移动领域与强大的竞争对手甚至巨头公司开展竞争。这种经营理念指导着他们的技术决策。

“我们不能挑 10 个人开发引擎,让另外 10 个人开发其他内部工具,我们负担不起 - 我们需要全力投入游戏设计和制作精美的视觉效果,这才是我们的优势所在。”Madfinger 首席技术官 Miroslav Ondrus 说。

“二十年前,当我开始制作游戏时,还没有多少第三方引擎,所以我和我的朋友们不得不构建和维护自己的引擎。但如今,Unity 具有完整的功能,为其提供支持的工程师人数超过了 1000 人,这让我们能够专注于游戏开发,而不是耗时的引擎构建和维护。”

Madfinger 首席运营官、代理首席营销官 Luciano Alibrandi 表示同意:“十年前,Unity 和 Madfinger 都处于成长阶段,我们在正确的时间相遇。双方技能的完美组合和正确的时机让我们不期而遇,建立了长期的关系,使我们能够专注于我们最擅长的领域:制作出色的游戏。”

Madfinger Games 开发团队

激发多个开发团队的潜能

当有新作品进入视野,Madfinger 将如何开始充实其最新的游戏创意?

“我们非常喜欢 ProBuilder - 它是在 Unity 中制作新关卡和资源原型的强大工具。我们使用它快速构建场景,并在各个团队之间对其进行迭代。我们还喜欢使用它对所有关卡进行灰盒测试。这很方便,因为我们可以在 Unity 中完成所有工作,而不必使用其他第三方软件工具。”

Ondrus 也很喜欢 Unity 的动画编辑器,特别是更新版本的“曲线”模式下的键操作。动画师在 Autodesk 的 MotionBuilder 中构建其作品,并且一旦导入剪辑,便可以一次选择并操纵多个关键点进行操作,例如,水平缩放曲线(更改时间位置)或垂直缩放曲线(更改值)。这是个小功能,但确实可以加快他们的工作流程。

另一个他们喜欢的功能是烘焙光照模式,该模式提供了两种 Ondrus 认为很重要的优势:“它让我们能够在游戏中创造良好的氛围,并且不对性能产生任何影响。”

Ondrus 始终谨记在玩家设备上运行高保真图形的影响:“我们非常了解移动设备的电池成本,因此我们花费很大力气进行性能优化。为此,我们使用了多种 Unity 工具,其中包括 Profiler,该工具可帮助我们查找不必要的分配和渲染调用,以便从总体上优化我们的代码。”此外,他们还利用帧调试器遮挡剔除来确保版本的紧凑性,让游戏可以在所使用的任何设备上正确“着陆”。

Ondrus 还提到了另一个热门的 Unity 功能。“对我来说,Unity 的多平台功能大大简化了我们的工作。我们可以基于一个代码库构建整个游戏,而不必担心它将在哪个移动设备上运行。有了 Unity,这真的很容易 - 只需要在设置中进行切换,就可以输出适用于目标平台的运行时版本。”

Shadowgun 战争游戏的 Unity 编辑器内关卡设计

对延迟、作弊和 P2P 说不

工作室如何以及在何处托管其新游戏是一个长期存在的问题,从 100% 裸机服务器到完全在云端托管的整个范围都有可用的选项。这些选项在技术和财务上有各自的优点和缺点。着眼未来,Madfinger 很早就确定了对等网络 (P2P) 方式不适用于像 《暗影之枪·战争游戏》 这样激烈的第一人称射击游戏 (FPS)。他们需要专用服务器来确保流畅、无延迟的体验。

对于 Madfinger 的首席程序员 Vladimir Zadrazil(“Zadr”)来说,这是一个简单的选择。“我们对战争游戏 的野心是提供有趣而竞争激烈的体验,因此,延迟、作弊和排长队是不可接受的。幸运的是,借助 Multiplay 的多云可扩展解决方案,我们得以为位于不同地点和使用不同设备的玩家提供一致的体验。我们唯一不能保证的就是您会赢!”

Madfinger 希望这款新游戏成为电子竞技玩家的最爱,因此必须采用专用服务器,以防止玩家获得对对手不公平的优势。“如果采用 P2P 方式,将有一台设备作为主机,因此存在更多的作弊风险。而采用专用服务器,我们可以采取防作弊措施,并在必要时轻易地关闭服务器。这给了我们更大的控制权。”Zadr 说。

Madfinger Games 场景

顺利发布,无缝扩展

任何一家工作室都会告诉您,新游戏的发布总是充满未知数,例如大约有多少玩家会加入以及玩家来自何处。但是,当《暗影之枪·战争游戏》上线时,服务器扩展工作十分顺利。“感谢 Multiplay,我们从来没有遇到过服务器容量耗尽的问题。随着知道我们游戏的人数的增多,开始有大量玩家下载和玩我们的游戏,而我们也得以轻松实现扩展。这意味着没有玩家因为等待进行游戏而离开,这对我们来说非常重要。”Ondrus 说。

Zadr 认为,延迟是决定游戏体验好坏的首要问题之一。“因此,我们决定与 Multiplay 合作提供网络方面的服务。这是一种双赢的策略,因为他们帮助我们专注于制作游戏,而我们向他们提供有关其技术的反馈,以便他们可以改进产品,从而为所有人(而不仅仅是我们)提供更好的服务。”

Ondrus 还称赞 Unity 的支持是其舒适度的关键:“沟通非常快速、顺畅。例如,我最近在我们的 Slack 通道中提出了一个问题,一位远在旧金山的用户回答并为我提供了帮助。尽管我们相隔很远,但沟通近在眼前,这种体验太棒了!Unity 为我们提供了出色的合作。”

Shadowgun 战争游戏在线 fps

更好的匹配可提高玩家参与度

对于多人游戏而言,适当而快速的匹配对于提供愉悦的游戏体验至关重要。“我们想要提供绝对最佳的玩家体验,因为它始于您所面对的玩家。我们要确保玩家快速进入游戏并与同级别的其他玩家一起玩游戏,否则他们会直接删除应用并且永远不再回来。”Zadr 说。

Ondrus 表示,他们在《暗影之枪·战争游戏》的开发过程中尝试设计过匹配程序。“在自行设计匹配程序之前,我们不知道 Unity 正在创建可扩展的 Matchmaker 服务,因此我们没有考虑过第三方选项。当我们发现 Unity 的 Matchmaker 服务后,便毫不犹豫地选择了它。之后,我们所要做的就是设置我们自己的函数,这非常容易。”

在玩家加入比赛前,游戏客户端(即玩家的手机)通过服务质量 (QoS) 测量与 Multiplay 全球数据中心的连接质量。通过提交 QoS 数据以及由 Madfinger 的服务器授权大厅服务收集的比赛设置和玩家统计信息来进行匹配,以防止作弊。Matchmaker 运行 Madfinger 的自定义比赛函数,查找具有快速连接的竞赛游戏。所有这一切均在数秒内完成。

Multiplay 的匹配服务已与其多云扩展服务完全集成,这意味着玩家不仅可以进入适当的比赛,还将位于适当的服务器上。

Madfinger Games Shadowgun 战争游戏场景

使用 Vivox 为玩家提供语音通信功能

对于当今的多人游戏,在战役和战斗中进行实时通信是取得战果的关键。语音通信是影响玩家体验的最重要因素之一,因为它让玩家能够通过讨论其要进行的操作及操作方法而展开合作,从而改善玩家体验。

Madfinger 首先将 Vivox 集成到了《暗影之枪·传奇》中,这是一个简单的过程。在 Unity Vivox SDK 的帮助下,他们仅花费了两天时间 - 这也是预期的实施时间。Ondrus 说道:“我们遇到了一些小问题,但总的来说,这是一个非常简单、没有痛苦的过程。”现在,Vivox 托管并管理着该游戏的所有语音通信,Madfinger 计划很快会将其集成到《暗影之枪·战争游戏》中。

这意味着 Madfinger 团队可以加快其开发过程,同时专注于玩家参与度。“有 Vivox 团队全天候待命是一件幸事。我们不必面对区域服务中断、错误或其他问题,而是只需要向 Vivox 团队反映,问题就会得到解决。”Ondrus 补充道。

为完善其游戏内通信策略,玩家还可以使用表情符号进行交流,并且 Madfinger 计划很快将实现文本消息传递。

Shadowgun 战争游戏 FPS 动作场景

Madfinger 未来有哪些计划?

Ondrus 表示:“我们对《暗影之枪·战争游戏》的推出感到非常兴奋,因为我们相信这款游戏将受到单人玩家到最具竞争性的团队游戏玩家的青睐。随着玩家群体的增长,我们必须开始考虑向电子竞技方向发展。”这一点不足为奇。毕竟,这家雄心勃勃的工作室始终在移动端游戏领域有着超凡脱俗的表现。

观看 Madfinger 在 Unite Copenhagen 上的演讲,了解他们使用 Multiplay 和 Vivox 实现游戏托管、匹配和语音通信的幕后工作。

 

Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games

“Unity 具有完整的功能,为其提供支持的工程师人数超过了 1000 人,这让我们能够专注于游戏开发,而不是耗时的引擎构建和维护。”

Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games
Luciano Alibrandi, COO/Acting CMO, MADFINGER Games

“十年前,Unity 和 Madfinger 都处于成长阶段,我们在正确的时间相遇。双方技能的完美组合和正确的时机让我们不期而遇,建立了长期的关系,使我们能够专注于我们最擅长的领域:制作出色的游戏。”

Luciano Alibrandi, COO/Acting CMO, MADFINGER Games
Vladimir “Zadr” Zadrazil, Lead Programmer, MADFINGER Games

“我们对《战争游戏》 的野心是提供有趣而竞争激烈的体验,因此,延迟、作弊和排长队是不可接受的。幸运的是,借助 Multiplay 的多云可扩展解决方案,我们得以为位于不同地点和使用不同设备的玩家提供一致的体验。我们唯一不能保证的就是您会赢!”

Vladimir “Zadr” Zadrazil, Lead Programmer, MADFINGER Games
Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games

“对我来说,Unity 的多平台功能大大简化了我们的工作。我们可以基于一个代码库构建整个游戏,而不必担心它将在哪个移动设备上运行。有了 Unity,这真的很容易 - 只需要在设置中进行切换,就可以输出适用于目标平台的运行时版本。”

Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games
Vladimir “Zadr” Zadrazil, Lead Programmer, MADFINGER Games

“我们想要提供绝对最佳的玩家体验,而这要从公平的匹配开始,因为体验始于您所面对的玩家。您要确保玩家的游戏对手是同级别的其他玩家。”

Vladimir “Zadr” Zadrazil, Lead Programmer, MADFINGER Games
Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games

“感谢 Multiplay,我们从来没有遇到过服务器容量耗尽的问题。随着知道我们游戏的人数的增多,开始有大量玩家下载和玩我们的游戏,而我们也得以轻松实现扩展。这意味着没有玩家因为等待进行游戏而离开,这对我们来说非常重要。”

Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games
Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games

“有 Vivox 团队全天候待命是一件幸事。我们不必面对区域服务中断、错误或其他问题,而是只需要向 Vivox 团队反映,问题就会得到解决。”

Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Unity helps Madfinger put mobile player experience first in Shadowgun War Games

This Czech studio’s latest FPS taps Unity’s end-to-end solutions for gamedev, game hosting, matchmaking, and voice comms.

MADFINGER Games: A Unity case study

How do you ensure the smoothest launch for a major new addition to a storied game franchise? Ten years ago, Unity and MADFINGER Games teamed up when both companies were considerably smaller and just entering the mobile games arena. Times have changed dramatically, but the relationship is as strong as ever and extends to key operations for the entire game lifecycle.

The goal

Build an awesome mobile game on Unity’s end-to-end technology and support services

Platforms
Team members

~75 working in Unity, including programmers, artists, animators, designers, and testers

Company

100+ employees

Brno, Czech Republic

Madfinger Games team

MADFINGER Games team

This indie’s not hiding in the shadows

Since 2010, the fiercely independent Madfinger’s mandate has been “to build the best mobile games.” And the 100-member team is doing just that. In 2019, they won the award for the Most Beautiful Game on Google Play for Shadowgun Legends. With 260 million downloads across eight games, their loyal player base loves the distinctive Madfinger touch on titles like Shadowgun: DeadZone, Dead Trigger, and UNKILLED.

With the recently launched Shadowgun War Games – a console-quality, mobile multiplayer first-person shooter (FPS) – there are heroes like Sara, Jet, Revenant, Willow and Slade, for all types and levels of players, ranging from non-competitive solo to hardcore 5v5. Madfinger built and launched the game with Unity’s real-time 3D content-creation platform, tapped Multiplay for game hosting, and will soon integrate Vivox for in-game voice comms.

The results

  • Fast prototyping, iteration, and optimization thanks to a wide range of Unity developer tools
  • Easy multiplatform (Android, iOS) builds due to one code base
  • Seamless game server hosting with Multiplay’s proven technology, battle-tested at scale
  • Sub-second matching of players to servers with the new Beta Matchmaker
  • Quick integration of voice comms courtesy of Vivox

Watch now: Interview with MADFINGER Games

In this interview, Madfinger CEO and cofounder Marek Rabas talks to Unity about the challenges his team faces and how they solve them with Unity’s suite of multiplayer tools.

Unity in-editor view

Building games, not engines

As a close-knit studio with a competitive attitude, Madfinger values its lean-and-mean size in order to go against giant competitors – bosses even – in the mobile realm. And that attitude guides their tech decisions. 

“We simply can’t afford to have 10 people working on an engine and another 10 working on other internal tools – we need to devote all our energies to game design and making stunning visuals, which is our forté,” says Miroslav Ondrus, Madfinger’s CTO.

“Two decades ago when I started building games, there weren’t many third-party engines, so my friends and I had to build and maintain our own. But nowadays, Unity is fully featured, with something like 1,000-plus engineers behind it, which lets us focus on game development, not time-consuming engine-building and maintenance.”

Luciano Alibrandi, Madfinger’s COO and acting CMO, concurs, “Ten years ago we found each other at the right moment – when Unity was growing up and Madfinger was growing up. It was the perfect combination of skills on both sides and the right timing that brought us together, which has built a very long relationship that allows us to focus on what we do best: making great games.”

Madfinger Games Developer Team

Empowering many dev teams

So, once a new title gets greenlit, how does Madfinger begin fleshing out its latest game ideas? 

“We like ProBuilder a lot – it’s a powerful tool for prototyping new levels and assets within Unity. We use it to build our scenes quickly and iterate on them across teams. We also like to use it for grey-boxing all the levels. This is handy because we can do all our work in Unity and don’t have to use another third-party software tool.” 

Ondrus also likes Unity’s Animation editor, especially the updated version of Key manipulation in Curves mode. His animators build their work in Autodesk’s MotionBuilder, and once they import their clips they can select and manipulate several keys at once to, for example, scale curves horizontally (to change the time placement) or vertically (to change the value). It’s a small feature but it really speeds up their workflow.

Another feature they like a lot is baked lighting mode, which provides two important benefits according to Ondrus, “It lets us create great atmosphere in our games without any cost to performance.”

Ever mindful of how high-fidelity graphics run on player devices, Ondrus says, “We’re hyper-aware of the battery cost on mobile, so consequently we heavily optimize performance. To do that we use Unity tools, including the Profiler, which helps us look for unnecessary allocations and render calls, and to optimize our code in general.” They also tap the Frame Debugger and Occlusion Culling to ensure the builds are tight and the game lands just right on whatever device you’re playing on. 

Ondrus mentions one other popular Unity feature. “For me, Unity’s multiplatform capabilities simplify things quite a bit. We can build an entire game on one code base and not have to worry about which mobile device it’s going to run on. With Unity, it’s really easy – it’s just a switch in the settings and the runtime version is output for the target platform.” 

Unity in-editor level design of Shadowgun War Games

Saying no to lag, cheaters, and P2P

How and where a studio hosts its new game is a perennial question, with options available right across the spectrum, from 100% bare metal servers to fully in the cloud. Each of these options has technical and financial advantages as well as drawbacks. With an eye to the future, Madfinger decided early that for a competitive first-person shooter (FPS) like Shadowgun War Games, peer-to-peer (P2P) wasn’t going to cut it. They needed dedicated servers to guarantee a smooth, lag-free experience. 

For Vladimir Zadrazil (“Zadr”), Madfinger’s lead programmer, it was a simple choice. “Our ambition with War Games is to deliver a fun yet highly competitive experience, so lag, cheating, and long queues are unacceptable. Thankfully, with Multiplay’s multi-cloud, scalable solution we’re able to give our players a consistent experience, regardless of device or location. The only thing we can’t promise is that you’ll win!”

With Madfinger’s ambition to make the new game an eSports favorite, dedicated servers were a must, as they can prevent one player from gaining an unfair advantage over an opponent. “With P2P there’s more risk of cheating due to one device being the host. With dedicated servers we can put anti-cheat measures in place and, if necessary, take down a server with ease. It gives us more control,” says Zadr.

Madfinger Games scene

Smooth launch, seamless scaling

As any studio will tell you, new game launches are always fraught with unknowns, such as approximately how many players will join and from where. However, when Shadowgun War Games went live, server scaling went smoothly. “Thanks to Multiplay, there was never an issue of running out of server capacity. As word got out and players started to download and play the game en masse, we were able to scale with ease. This meant no players were left waiting for a game, which is so important for us,” says Ondrus.

According to Zadr, latency is one of the top issues that determine good or bad gameplay experience. “That’s why we decided to collaborate with Multiplay on networking. And it’s a win-win strategy because they helped us focus on making games, while we gave them feedback on their tech, so they can make the product better for everyone, not just for us.”

Ondrus also calls out Unity’s support as a key to their comfort level, “The communication is super fast and super smooth. For example, I recently asked a question in our Slack channel and someone in San Francisco replied and helped me, which was amazing because he was many time zones away! We have excellent cooperation from Unity.”

Shadowgun War Games fps online

Better player engagement with better matchmaking

For multiplayers, getting matched up properly and quickly is crucial for enjoyable gameplay. “We want the absolute best player experience, because it begins with who you’re up against. We want to make sure players get into the game fast and are playing with others at their level, otherwise they will just kill the app and never return,” says Zadr.

During the development of Shadowgun War Games, Ondrus says that they were designing a matchmaker. “This was before we found out Unity was creating its own scalable matchmaker service, so we didn’t have a third-party option in mind. But once we found out, we jumped for it. Then all we had to do was set up our own functions, which was quite easy.” 

Before the player joins a match, the game client (i.e., the player’s phone) measures the connection quality to Multiplay’s global data centers with Quality of Service (QoS). QoS data, along with match settings and player stats collected by Madfinger’s server-authoritative lobby service to prevent cheating, are submitted to matchmaking. The matchmaker runs Madfinger’s custom match functions to find competitive games with a fast connection. And all this happens within seconds.

Multiplay’s matchmaking service is fully integrated with its multi-cloud scaler, meaning players are not only put in the right matches, but also on the right server.

Madfinger Games Shadowgun War Games scene

Giving players a voice with Vivox

For today’s multiplayer games, live communication during campaigns and battles is key to outcomes. Voice comms are one of the most important factors to player experience because they let players get more organized by discussing what they want to do and how to do it, adding a lot to their experience. 

Madfinger first integrated Vivox into Shadowgun Legends, and it was a simple process. They spent just two days with Unity’s Vivox SDK, which is the expected implementation time. “We ran into a few small issues on our side but in general it was a super easy, painless process,” says Ondrus. Now Vivox hosts and manages all the voice comms for the game, and Madfinger is planning to integrate it into Shadowgun War Games very soon.

This means the Madfinger team can speed up their development process and focus on player engagement. “Having the Vivox team available 24/7 is a blessing. Rather than stressing over an outage in one region or some bug or another, we can speak to the Vivox guys and it gets fixed,” added Ondrus.

To round out their in-game comms strategy, players can also communicate with emojis, and Madfinger is planning to implement text messaging soon.

Shadowgun War Games FPS action scene

What’s next for Madfinger?

“We’re really excited about the launch of Shadowgun War Games, as we believe this game will work across the board, from solo players to the most competitive team gamers,” says Ondrus. “And as our player base grows, we’ll definitely start thinking about eSports,” which is not surprising to learn. After all, this ambitious studio has always punched well above its weight in the mobile-gaming arena.

Watch Madfinger’s presentation at Unite Copenhagen to get the behind-the-scenes scoop on how they’re using Multiplay and Vivox for game hosting, matchmaking, and voice comms.

 

Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games

“Unity is fully featured, with something like 1,000-plus engineers behind it, which lets us focus on game development, not time-consuming engine-building and maintenance.”

Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games
Luciano Alibrandi, COO/Acting CMO, MADFINGER Games

“Ten years ago we found each other at the right moment – when Unity was growing up and Madfinger was growing up. It was the perfect combination of skills on both sides and the right timing that brought us together, which has built a very long relationship that allows us to focus on what we do best: making great games.”

Luciano Alibrandi, COO/Acting CMO, MADFINGER Games
Vladimir “Zadr” Zadrazil, Lead Programmer, MADFINGER Games

“Our ambition with War Games is to deliver a fun yet highly competitive experience, so lag, cheating, and long queues are unacceptable. Thankfully, with Multiplay’s multi-cloud, scalable solution we’re able to give our players a consistent experience, regardless of device or location. The only thing we can’t promise is that you’ll win!”

Vladimir “Zadr” Zadrazil, Lead Programmer, MADFINGER Games
Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games

“For me, Unity’s multiplatform capabilities simplify things quite a bit. We can build an entire game on one code base and not have to worry about which mobile device it’s going to run on. With Unity, it’s really easy – it’s just a switch in the settings and the runtime version is output for the target platform.”

Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games
Vladimir “Zadr” Zadrazil, Lead Programmer, MADFINGER Games

“We want the absolute best player experience, and that starts with fair matchmaking because the experience begins with who you’re up against. You want to make sure players are playing with others at their level.”

Vladimir “Zadr” Zadrazil, Lead Programmer, MADFINGER Games
Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games

“Thanks to Multiplay, there was never an issue of running out of server capacity. As word got out and players started to download and play the game en masse, we were able to scale with ease. This meant no players were left waiting for a game, which is so important for us.”

Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games
Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games

“Having the Vivox team available 24/7 is a blessing. Rather than stressing over an outage in one region or some bug or another, we can speak to the Vivox guys and it gets fixed.”

Miroslav Ondrus, CTO, MADFINGER Games

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it