什么是数字孪生产品?

数字孪生是实体资产、流程、系统或环境的动态虚拟副本,其外观和行为与现实世界的对等物完全相同。数字孪生会引入数据并复制流程,以便您可以预测实际产品可能遇到的性能结果和问题。

数字孪生如何工作?

数字孪生的强大之处在于将现实世界的资源与现实世界的数据联系起来,因此您可以更好地实现其可视化。数字孪生使跨职能团队能够以交互式和沉浸式的方式协作设计、构建、测试、部署和操作复杂系统。它可以帮助公司了解过去,审视现状,并防止未来出现问题。它们通过销售和市场营销洞见、分析、模拟和预测来为决策提供信息。

ToC-2-sitowise

Image courtesy of Sitowise

数字孪生概述

如何创建数字孪生?

我们将导入概念模型(通过 BIM、CAD 或 GIS)或扫描现实世界中的实体并结合企业和物联网 (IoT) 数据对其进行可视化和分析,从而实现数字孪生的创建。由实时 3D 技术驱动的数字孪生是一种计算机图形技术,它可以比人类感知更快地生成交互式内容,还可以将多个数据源(包括信息和模型)以逼真的交互式可视化方式进行管理、组织和呈现。 

数字孪生是资产在现实世界中可能经历的运动、力量和交互的虚拟表现。这让用户能够接触到三维且能够对其动作实时响应的动态内容。在这种虚拟环境中,它们可以有效地模拟真实世界的条件、假设场景和任何可以想象的情况,并在任何平台(包括移动设备、计算机以及增强现实、混合现实和虚拟现实 (AR/MR/VR) 设备)上即时地将结果可视化。

每个数字孪生部署都是独一无二的。部署通常分阶段进行,每个阶段的复杂性和业务影响都在增加。从产品组件的 3D 模型到像城市一样庞大的网络或系统的精确表示,数字孪生的每个组件将会动态链接到工程、施工和运营数据。

随着跨学科和地域的团队对复杂构建的设计、建造、构建、销售并最终运营和维护,数字孪生在生命周期的每个阶段都会为这些团队的决策提供信息。

数字孪生技术的历史

使用数字孪生作为研究现实对象的方法,这一概念最早由 NASA 在 20 世纪 60 年代提出。NASA 在地面复制了它的航天器,使其与太空中执行探索任务的系统相匹配。这项技术在阿波罗 13 号任务中得到了显著证明。通过连接的孪生,Mission Control 能够快速调整和修改模拟,使其与受损航天器的条件相符,并对策略进行故障排除,从而使宇航员安全返回。

在 20 世纪 70 年代初,大型计算机被用作数字孪生系统来监控发电厂等大型设施。20 世纪 80 年代,像 AutoCAD 这样的 2D CAD 系统出现了,这些系统可以绘制技术图纸,使得用计算机设计任何东西成为可能,并很快被数百万设计师和工程师采用。

到 21 世纪初,具有参数化建模和模拟的 3D CAD 能够以更智能的方式设计更复杂的组件,例如互联对象的数据库。快进到 2010 年代中期,当时所有领先的 3D CAD 供应商都推出了云连接解决方案,主要用于协作和项目管理,并逐步用于衍生式设计,但 CAD 工具仍然基于电脑运行。

我们的今天标志着实时 3D 驱动的数字孪生时代的起源,超越了控制面板和 3D 模型,可以在任何设备或平台上解锁来自多个来源的数据,以实现更好的协作、可视化和决策。

 

数字孪生的优点

通过数字孪生部署,客户可以立即实现更好的数据访问。随着数字孪生的成熟,拥有了更多优点,包括降低维护成本、增加用于流程变更决策的信息、节省大量成本以及提高维护和运营效率。从一开始就拥有更好的设计会在项目的整个生命周期中提供优点,因为在设备的生产、使用和维护过程中产生的 80 - 90% 的成本都是在设计阶段确定的。

在设计行业中使用数字孪生改进了多用户协作和通信。客户在施工前便可体验无缝的数据聚合和交易协调。

数字孪生使安全培训、质量保证和质量控制成为可能,大大减少了建筑行业的事故和失误。当数字孪生方案用于维护和运营时,其优点包括优化运营、减少停机时间以及降低维护和人员成本。

与数据实时交互的能力正在改变人们指定设计、运营和维护决策的方式。实时 3D 技术中对复杂运营的可视化和模拟能力提升了人们与资源的交互方式,改变了地球上每个现实空间和资源的创建、建造和操作方式。

数字孪生的挑战

收集大量数据是一回事,但以智能方式消耗数据则是另一回事。最佳决策是使用数据做出的,但数据的好坏取决于您是否有能力将其用于现实来模拟和预测业务场景。

每一个正在经历数字化转型的企业在找到处理和利用原始数据的方法之前,都面临被原始数据淹没的风险。如今,与处理原始数据、过滤无用部分、组合原始数据以及将其转换为在应用程序上下文中对用户有意义的信息相比,捕获原始数据的挑战要小得多。

主要挑战是释放信息的力量。企业和 IoT 数据已经埋没在数据库、电子表格和模型(CAD、BIM、GIS)中。实时 3D 数字孪生可以让这些数据重现生机。

数字孪生的未来

产品、设备、工厂、建筑物和城市已愈发不仅仅是现实世界中的事物,现在,它们拥有精确的虚拟对应物。甚至人都有对应的数字孪生。我们将通过实时 3D 技术在元宇宙中体验互联网以及系统,设备和人的互联的下一次迭代。 

元宇宙正在解锁一种新经济,在跨数字和混合现实空间中提供无数的沉浸式体验机会,无论是管理设施更新还是定制车辆购买。

现实世界中的数字孪生

了解采用数字孪生的一系列行业,以及这些行业利用数字孪生提升影响力的方式。

打造智慧、可持续、安全的城市
智慧城市

了解 Sitowise 如何重新思考未来的基础设施和建筑,利用数字孪生模拟技术为日常生活营造更安全的环境。

重塑城市规划
政府

不断发展的数字孪生巴黎正在为城市注入新的活力,让市民深入参与城市发展。

从游戏到数字孪生
技术

了解 Unity 如何利用其实时 3D 技术创建现实对象、城市甚至人物的数字孪生。

基础设施的沉浸式可视化
可再生能源

了解南非工程咨询公司 Zutari 如何使用 Unity 来制定可持续能源解决方案。

模拟新病房
卫生保健

Mortenson 找到了一种降低 AEC 医疗项目成本和风险的方法。了解他们如何使用交互式 VR 改进医院设计。

简化设计和制造
服饰

鞋业公司 Deckers Brands 使用 RestAR 的 3D 技术简化了生产流程,节省了时间、金钱和资源。

实现概念和结果的实时可视化
汽车

Volvo Cars 正通过交互式实时 3D 技术改变汽车行业设计、工程、制造和销售车辆的方式。

以交互式 3D 的形式查看设计
架构

通过使用 Unity Reflect Review 等技术操作 3D 表单,总部位于英国的建筑事务所 P + HS Architects 节省了宝贵的时间。

通过 3D 市场营销吸引客户
制造业

了解 Arksen 如何与 canVERSE 合作,使用 Unity Forma 通过实时 3D 技术展示他们最新的海洋勘探船。

立即启动您的数字孪生转型

与我们的数字孪生技术专家联系,开启无限可能。

常见问题解答

数字孪生与物联网 (IoT) 有何关联?

数字孪生是以概念模型(例如,BIM、CAD 或 GIS)或真实实体(例如,制造产品或设施)的扫描结果构建的可视化。物联网 (IoT) 设备收集现实世界的实时数据。当数字孪生与物 IoT 数据集成时,它们可以洞见资源在特定时间点的性能,并帮助用户评估可能的结果并规划潜在解决方案。

通过访问 IoT 传感器和数据,数字孪生可以捕捉虚拟模型的整体视图,解锁更深层次的智能运营。

数字孪生用于哪些行业?

在数字孪生方案的使用方面,最成功并显示出最大潜力的行业包括制造业、汽车、工程和建筑、架构、能源生产、模拟培训、医疗服务和城市规划等。

为什么数字孪生技术很重要?

数字孪生改变了产品设计、制造、使用和维护的方式。数字孪生方案提供丰富的数据,为安全、可持续性、有效运营、最佳资产利用、提高生产率和收入等关键结果的决策提供信息。

如果我没有技术专业知识和/或工程基础设施,应如何开始?

Unity 的 Accelerate Solutions 团队可以提供帮助。Accelerate Solutions 由知识渊博的工程师、行业专家和解决方案架构师组成,可以与您一起计划和执行业务的数字化转型,并为您的团队留下可管理的工作基础设施。

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

What is a digital twin?

A digital twin is a dynamic virtual copy of a physical asset, process, system or environment that looks like and behaves identically to its real-world counterpart. A digital twin ingests data and replicates processes so you can predict possible performance outcomes and issues that the real-world product might undergo.

How does a digital twin work?

The power of digital twins comes from connecting real-world assets with real-world data, so you can better visualize them. Digital twins enable cross-functional teams to collaboratively design, build, test, deploy and operate complex systems in interactive and immersive ways. They help companies understand the past, view present conditions, and prevent future problems. They inform decision-making through sales and marketing insights, analysis, 3D visualization, simulation, and prediction.

ToC-2-sitowise

Image courtesy of Sitowise

How do you create a digital twin?

Digital twins are created by importing conceptual models (via BIM, CAD, or GIS) or scanning physical entities in the real world to visualize and analyze them in combination with enterprise and Internet of Things (IoT) data. A digital twin that is powered by real-time 3D, a computer graphics technology that generates interactive content faster than human perception, can also curate, organize and present multiple sources of data (both information and models) as lifelike, interactive visualizations

Digital twins are virtual representations of the movements, forces, and interactions that assets can undergo in the physical world. This lets users engage with dynamic content that is three-dimensional and responsive to their actions in real-time. In this virtual environment, they can effectively simulate real-world conditions, what-if scenarios and any circumstance imaginable, and visualize the outcomes instantly on any platform, including mobile devices, computers, and augmented, mixed and virtual reality (AR/MR/VR) devices.

Each digital twin deployment is unique. Deployments often occur in stages, with each phase increasing in complexity and business impact. A digital twin can range from a product configurator of a 3D model to a precise representation of a network or system as vast as a city, with each of its components dynamically linked to engineering, construction and operational data.

As teams across disciplines and locations design, engineer, build, sell and eventually operate and maintain complex builds, digital twins inform their decision-making at every stage of the lifecycle.

History of digital twin technology

The concept of using a digital twin as a means of studying a physical object was first introduced by NASA in the 1960s. NASA replicated its spacecrafts at ground level to match the systems in space for exploration missions. This technology was notably demonstrated in the Apollo 13 mission. Through the connected twins, Mission Control was able to quickly adapt and modify the simulations to match the conditions of the damaged spacecraft and troubleshoot strategies to bring the astronauts safely home.

In the early 1970s, mainframe computers were used as digital twin-esque systems to monitor large facilities such as power plants. In the 1980s, 2D CAD systems like AutoCAD emerged to produce technical drawings, making it possible to design anything with a computer, and were quickly adopted by millions of designers and engineers.

By the 2000s, 3D CAD with parametric modeling and simulation enabled the design of more complex assemblies in more intelligent ways, like a database of interconnected objects. Fast-forward to the mid-2010s when all leading 3D CAD vendors launched cloud-connected solutions, primarily for collaboration and project management, and gradually for generative design, although CAD tools remained desktop-based.

Our present day marks the genesis of the age of real-time 3D powered digital twins, going beyond dashboards and 3D models to unlock data from multiple sources on any device or platform for better collaboration, visualization, and decision-making.

 

Benefits of a digital twin

With digital twin deployments, customers immediately realize improved access to data. As a digital twin matures, other benefits include reduced maintenance costs, more informed process change decisions with large potential savings, and improvements in maintenance and operational efficiency. Having better designs from the start pays dividends over a project’s lifetime, as 80–90% of costs incurred during the production, use, and maintenance of a facility are determined at the design stage.

Using digital twins in the design industry has improved multiuser collaboration and communication. Preconstruction clients experience seamless aggregation of data and trade coordination.

The safety training, quality assurance and quality control that’s possible with digital twins have significantly reduced accidents and mistakes in the construction industry. When digital twin initiatives are used for maintenance and operations, the benefits include optimized operations, reduced downtime, and decreased maintenance and personnel costs.

The ability to interact with data in real-time is changing the way people make design, operations, and maintenance decisions. The power to visualize and simulate complex operations in real-time 3D has elevated how people interact with their assets, transforming the way every physical space and asset on the planet is created, built, and operated.

Digital twin challenges

It's one thing to gather extensive data, but it's quite another to consume it in an intelligent way. The best decisions are made using data, but your data is only as good as your ability to bring it to life to simulate and predict business scenarios.

Every enterprise going through a digital transformation risks drowning in raw data before finding a way to process and leverage it. Today, capturing raw data is less of a challenge than processing it, filtering the useless parts, combining it, and transforming it into information that makes sense to the user in the context of their application.

The main challenge is unlocking the power of information. Enterprise and IoT data has been buried in databases, spreadsheets, and models (CAD, BIM, GIS). Real-time 3D digital twins can bring that data to life.

The future of digital twins

Increasingly, products, equipment, factories, buildings, and cities are no longer merely things in the physical world – they have accurate virtual counterparts. Even people have digital twins. We will experience the next iteration of the internet – and the connectedness of systems, devices, people – in the metaverse via real-time 3D

The metaverse is unlocking a new economy with countless opportunities  - such as 3D marketing - for immersive experiences in cross-digital and hybrid reality spaces, whether it’s to manage facility updates or customize a vehicle purchase.

Digital twins in the real world

Check out the range of industries embracing digital twins and the different ways they use them to drive impact.

Creating smart, sustainable and safe cities
Smart cities

Learn how Sitowise is rethinking future infrastructure and buildings to create safer environments for daily living using digital twin simulations.

Reimagining urban planning
Government

The evolving digital twin of Paris is casting the city in a new light, deeply engaging its citizens in its urban development.

From gaming to digital twins
Technology

Learn how Unity is leveraging its real-time 3D technology to create digital twins of real-life objects, cities, and even people.

Immersive visualization for infrastructure
Renewable energy

Learn how South African engineering consultancy Zutari is using Unity to create sustainable energy solutions.

Simulating new hospital rooms
Healthcare

Mortenson has found a way to reduce the high costs and risks of AEC medical projects. Discover how they are using interactive VR to improve hospital designs.

Streamlining design and manufacturing
Apparel

By using RestAR’s 3D technology, footwear company Deckers Brands has streamlined its manufacturing workflow, enabling them to save time, money, and resources.

Visualizing concepts and results in real-time
Automotive

Volvo Cars is changing the way the automotive industry designs, engineers, manufactures, and sells vehicles with interactive real-time 3D.

Reviewing designs in interactive 3D
Architecture

By manipulating 3D forms with technology such as Unity Reflect Review, UK-based architectural practice P+HS Architects is saving valuable time.

Captivating customers with 3D marketing
Manufacturing

Find out how Arksen partnered with canVERSE to showcase their latest marine exploration vessel in real-time 3D using Unity Forma.

Top applications for digital twins in 2022

Learn how various industries use digital twins and check out inspiring case studies that showcase the real-world impact of this technology in 2022.

digital twin use cases teaer

The sky is the limit with digital twins

Explore the world of digital twins, powered by Unity. See how to extract better value from your digital data, and gain improvements across the product lifecycle. Increase revenue, improve training programs, decrease machinery downtime, drive better remote collaboration, train autonomous devices, and more. Watch the video to discover the endless possibilities.

Jumpstart your digital twin transformation

Connect with our digital twin experts.

Frequently asked questions

What industries are digital twins used in?

Industries having the most success with and showing the most potential for the use of digital twin initiatives include manufacturing, automotive, engineering and construction, architecture,  energy production, simulation training, healthcare services, and urban planning, among others.

How is a digital twin different from a simulation?

A digital twin is different from a simulation because it can ingest and visualize an array of information and models that enable more complex, true-to-life simulations. Closing this “simulation-to-real” gap provides greater confidence that physical things will work as designed in the real world. 

The process of developing a digital twin and simulating with it is an iterative process. First teams need to import or create the digital assets necessary to create a digital twin (objects, models, environments, sensors, etc.), and then define the variables and actions of the assets and agents for the desired simulation scenario(s) (e.g., physics, controllers, behavior models, sensors, environment layout, etc.). Insights from the simulations can help inform decisions around product development and/or operations.

Why is digital twin technology important?

Digital twins have transformed how products are designed, manufactured, used, and maintained. Digital twin initiatives make enriched data accessible to inform decisions around key outcomes like safety, sustainability, effective operations, optimal asset utilization, and increased productivity and revenue.

How do I get started if I don’t have the technical expertise and/or engineering infrastructure?

Unity’s Accelerate Solutions team can help. Consisting of knowledgeable engineers, industry experts, and solutions architects, Accelerate Solutions can work with you to plan and execute your business’s digital transformation, and leave behind a working infrastructure that your team can manage.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it