实时 3D 技术在 AEC 领域的应用(说明)

了解建筑、工程和施工 (AEC) 公司如何利用实时 3D 改变建筑物的设计、建造和运营方式。

创建、建造、变现

行业领导者如何使用实时 3D 技术

在告诉你什么是实时 3D 之前,让我们先向你展示你的同行是如何在业务中运用它的。

实时 3D 的实用性已促使各行各业(包括建筑、工程、施工、能源、政府、医疗保健、交通运输业等)的数千家公司采用该技术。

实时 3D 有何不同?

实时 3D (RT3D) 是一种计算机图形技术,其生成交互式内容的速度比人类的感知速度还快。查看此页面,深入了解该技术的工作原理。

交互性是实时 3D 的核心。例如,电影虽然能够创造运动感,但同样也向观众提供了被动体验;实时 3D 与此不同,它让人们沉浸在感受逼真的数字现实中,同时让他们能够控制自己的体验,就像玩视频游戏一样。

从根本上说,实时 3D 体验包含以下两个方面:

  • 沉浸式 - 因为现实的数字表示接近于我们对现实的模拟体验的真实性,以及
  • 交互式 - 因为用户可以精确控制自己的体验和有利位置。

虽然利用这项技术的方法有很多,但这些公司使用实时 3D 的主要方式是结合元数据和传感器等数据源的信息,创建和部署其建筑物的数字表示。这些数字表示也称为数字双胞胎,其外观和行为与实体产品相似,可以在移动设备、计算机、增强现实 (AR) 或虚拟现实 (VR) 头盔及其他平台上进行体验。

查看实时 3D 体验

现在,你对实时 3D 有了一定的了解,不妨体验一下这个实时 3D 伦敦办事处(由 Unity 制作)。

它可能需要几分钟时间才能加载完毕,但我们保证你的等待是值得的。在此期间,你可以继续阅读,稍后再回来。

进入该实时 3D 体验后,你可以在办公室内四处走动、调整当日时间和进行设计方面的更改。

实时 3D 的业务影响

在生产力和效率方面,AEC 公司不断面临挑战。因工作流程断裂和效率低下而造成的返工,使建筑业每年损失 4500 亿美元。McKinsey & Company 的一份报告显示,20% 的建筑项目出现逾期,80% 的项目超出预算。在 2020 年疫情大爆发的情况下,这些困难变得更为严重。

使用实时 3D 的公司可以更好地应对这些挑战。研究表明,实时 3D 可带来以下好处:

    通过尽早发现设计和工程缺陷,并排定施工顺序来保证项目的进度,从而
  • 节约成本
  • 通过在 VR 中向客户展示建筑并创建后期运营的 AR 应用程序,

  • 赢得更多项目
  • 通过实现各方之间的协作和沟通,并将不同软件(例如 Revit、Navisworks、Rhino 等)的数据联合到一个模型中,

  • 缩短产品上市时间

通过交互式 VR 和 AR 体验提高员工的生产力和安全性,从而提高员工的留任率

实时 3D 的主要用例

实时 3D 技术的应用范围很广,从设计到预施工再到工作现场及其他方面,都能看到其身影。Forrester Consulting 代表 Unity 开展的一项委托调查(发布时间:2020 年 3 月)显示,已采用实时 3D 的 AEC 公司在整个建造生命周期中使用该技术的平均用例数超过 4 个。

在建造生命周期中应用该技术的一些示例包括:

设计与工程
常见用例:沉浸式设计审查、基于体验的设计、设计可视化、结构工程、审查项目状态、收集利益相关者的反馈意见等。

实时 3D 的真实示例:SHoP Architects 简化了实时 3D 体验的创建过程,将优化大型设计模型所需的时间从数天缩短到数分钟。

施工规划与模拟
常见用例:作业现场协调、施工排序、冲突检测、1:1 AR 现场、海量创新、BIM 协调、现场指导、QA/QC、文档等。

实时 3D 的真实示例:Mortenson 使医疗利益相关者能够以 VR 方式模拟医院设计,从而简化患者护理、提高员工效率并降低成本。

培训与操作
常见用例:基于 VR 的安全培训、基于 AR 的指导、远程维护、实时数字双胞胎、数据可视化等。

实时 3D 的真实示例:Skanska 通过在其标准工人安全培训项目中实施基于 Unity 的 VR 体验,提高了施工现场的安全性。

销售与营销
常见用例:虚拟活动、逼真的渲染效果、宣传短片、沉浸式房地产购买体验、混合现实房地产体验等。

实时 3D 的真实示例:SmartPixel 为 Maestria Condominiums 创建了一个交互式应用程序,使潜在买家能够自由游览未来的塔楼。

将实时 3D 拓展到整个业务的价值

实时 3D 可解决整个生命周期中的挑战,确保建筑物的设计、建造和运营更加完善。Forrester Consulting 的调查发现:

大多数采用者已在业务中的多个接触点使用实时 3D,[他们] 发现实施实时 3D 的地方越多,这些流程的整合就愈加完善,因为它为协作和沟通提供了一个互动性更强的媒介。

事实上,90% 使用实时 3D 的公司都认为它对于支持部门间的协作很有价值。其原因在于:一旦模型存在于虚拟环境中,就可以将其扩展到整个企业的任何用例。

这意味着施工团队也可以使用设计阶段所用的虚拟模型创建现场 1:1 比例的 AR 体验,而运营团队也可以利用这些虚拟模型创建高保真的交互式维护应用程序。这些协同效应可加快建造生命周期,并减少导致建筑项目出现逾期和超出成本的低效环节。

 

将实时 3D 体验变为现实

公司可以使用 Unity 等软件(领先的实时 3D 开发平台)来运用实时 3D 的威力。由于该技术起源于视频游戏开发,因此有时也称为游戏引擎,它提供了强大的功能,既可以制作 交互式数字内容,也能够将其部署 到各种平台(例如移动设备、计算机和头戴式显示器)上运行。

接下来,我们来深入了解一下实时 3D 内容的制作和使用方法。

谁制作了实时 3D 体验?

当前,实时 3D 体验的主要创作者都拥有技术背景,例如软件工程师或 AR/VR 开发者。这是因为基于该技术构建的绝大多数企业应用都需要定制开发和编程专业知识。(Unity 使用 C#。)

但是,随着 Unity 和其他公司使非程序员也能使用实时 3D,实时 3D 用户的数量正在不断增加,这反过来又使扩展定制开发变得更加容易。

以下是降低非编程人员使用实时 3D 技术时的难度的一些方法:

  • 可视化脚本:基于节点的可视化界面(例如 Bolt)让非技术用户无需编写代码即可为应用程序创建逻辑。
  • 产品创新:新产品(例如 Unity Reflect)将把 3D 模型引入实时环境的过程简化成了几次点击操作。
  • 开箱即用的解决方案:随着对沉浸式交互体验的需求的增加,许多独立软件供应商利用该技术为特定用例构建了解决方案,同时消除了对编码和脚本的需求。例如,Interact 是一个强大的平台,可让你轻松地从 CAD 模型创建高级 VR 应用程序。

服务交付:可以创建自定义解决方案,以适应非编程人员的工作方式。例如,Unity 等平台的可扩展性使公司能够定制 Unity 的用户界面,以便设计师或营销人员等非技术用户不必编码也能运用实时 3D 的威力。

如何创建实时 3D 体验?

典型的实时 3D AEC 工作流程从提取现有内容开始。导入的 3D 几何体和元数据可以有多种形式,包括但不限于:

    来自 AutoCAD、Alias、VRED、CATIA、Creo 和 Siemens PLM 软件等应用程序的
  • 计算机辅助设计 (CAD) 模型
  • 来自 Autodesk 3ds Max、Rhino、SketchUp 和 Blender 等 3D 建模和可视化应用程序的

  • 网格
  • 从点云、照片建模和 LiDAR 扫描获取产品或位置的

  • 真实捕获数据
  • 来自 Autodesk Revit 和 Navisworks 等程序的

  • 建筑信息建模 (BIM) 数据
  • 来自 Autodesk Revit 等 BIM 软件的

  • 材质

为了在部署到各种平台时获得最佳的性能和视觉质量,通常需要对实时 3D 内容进行优化。优化过程确保复杂模型变成兼容实时开发的轻量级表示形式,并且能够在手机和 VR 头盔等设备上正确地提供交互性支持。公司可以使用 Unity Reflect 等一键式工具自动为实时应用准备数据,或使用 Pixyz 等专门构建的工具全权掌控这一流程。

当资源做好制作实时 3D 内容的准备后,就可以开始开发了。用户可以利用 Unity Asset Store 中的 3D 模型、对象、环境(即虚拟世界)等加速场景创建。Unity 让用户能够快速迭代和调整动画、音视频、影片动画、环境、光照、用户界面、视觉效果等组件。在开发过程中的任何时候,用户都可以实时预览其工作 - 即时可视化,因此无需等待渲染结果。

对于复杂的企业应用程序,Unity 还提供了以下方面的灵活性:

  • 人工智能 (AI):Unity 提供了一套丰富的机器学习 (ML) 工具,并能够与多种 AI 和 ML 框架集成,这对于使用模拟环境训练和验证智能系统特别有用。
  • 系统工程:Prespective 是另一个经过 Unity 验证的解决方案合作伙伴应用程序,它提供了一个强大的系统工程框架,可将 Unity 与外部控制系统(例如可编程逻辑控制器或控制系统的软件仿真)和外部数学模型(例如功能模拟单元 (FMU) 或 MATLAB)连接起来。

企业集成:Unity 强大的应用程序编程接口 (API)、内置联网功能以及与第三方网络堆栈的集成为扩展应用程序以支持远程协作、与物联网 (IoT) 系统或你能想象到的几乎任何联网应用程序集成来实现数字双胞胎提供了一种强大而可靠的方式。

 

如何共享实时 3D 体验?

实时 3D 作为消费媒介的价值在于其与现实的相似性。我们的世界是三维的 - 我们在 3D 世界中活动、思考和体验。与图像和视频等静态体验相比,虚拟环境复制的扩展空间存在带来了许多好处,包括增强的问题解决能力更好的知识保留更高的参与度和理解度等等。

Unity 提供了一套丰富的交互模型,让人们能够在移动设备上、通过 Web 浏览器、使用 AR 或在完全沉浸式 VR 体验中与“实时”应用程序(称为运行时应用程序)进行实时交互。实时 3D 还可以嵌入到现有的属性中,例如移动应用或电子商务页面。

实时 3D 内容的使用者可以是内部利益相关者,例如通过 VR 头盔接受培训计划以提高项目安全性的现场工人,也可以是外部受众,例如来自任何地方的在房地产开发项目建成前预览该项目的潜在买家。它可以提供个人体验,例如建筑师进行实时设计审查,也可以提供共享体验,例如设计和施工团队在施工阶段之前确定设计问题,以减少变更单、施工时间和成本。

深入了解实时 3D

通过查看我们的解决方案或阅读 Forrester Consulting 代表 Unity 进行的委托调查,了解有关实时 3D 技术的更多信息。

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Real-time 3D technology in AEC, explained

Discover how architecture, engineering, and construction (AEC) companies are harnessing real-time 3D to change the way buildings are designed, created, and operated.

Create Build Monetize

How industry leaders use real-time 3D technology

Before we tell you what real-time 3D is, let’s show you how your peers are applying it across their businesses. 

Real-time 3D’s utility has led thousands of companies across a range of industries to embrace the technology, including in architecture, engineering, construction, energy, government, healthcare, transportation, and more.

What’s different about real-time 3D?

Real-time 3D (RT3D) is a computer graphics technology that generates interactive content faster than human perception. Check out this page for a deeper dive into how this technology works.  

Interactivity is at the core of real-time 3D. Unlike movies for example, which create the perception of motion but offer the same passive experience to the audience – real-time 3D immerses people in a digital reality that feels authentic, while giving them control over their experience, much like a video game.

Real-time 3D experiences are fundamentally both:

  • Immersive, because the digital representation of reality approaches the authenticity of our analog experience of reality, and
  • Interactive, because users have precise control over their experience and vantage point.

While there are many ways to leverage this technology, the core use case of real-time 3D among these companies is to create and deploy digital representations of their buildings, combined with information from data sources such as metadata and sensors. Also referred to as digital twins, these representations look and behave like the physical product and can be experienced on mobile devices, computers, augmented reality (AR) or virtual reality (VR) headsets, and other platforms.

Check out a real-time 3D experience

Now that you have a sense of what real-time 3D is, take a walk through this real-time 3D London office – created in Unity. 

You may need to wait a couple of minutes for it to load, but we promise it’s worth the wait. In the meantime, you can continue reading and check back soon.

Once you’re in, walk around the office, adjust the time of day, and change design aspects.

The business impact of real-time 3D

AEC companies face constant challenges when it comes to productivity and efficiency. Rework caused by fractured workflows and inefficiency cost the construction industry $450 billion a year. According to a McKinsey & Company report, 20% of construction projects run over schedule and 80% are over budget. Under the pandemic conditions of 2020, these difficulties are exacerbated.

Companies using real-time 3D can better navigate these challenges. Research shows real-time 3D unlocks the following benefits:

  • Cost savings from catching design and engineering flaws earlier and using construction sequencing to keep projects on schedule.
  • Winning more projects by presenting buildings to clients in VR and creating leave-behind AR applications.
  • Faster time to market by enabling collaboration and communication between trades and federating data from different software (e.g., Revit, Navisworks, Rhino, etc.) into one model.

Higher employee retention rate by increasing workforce productivity and safety through interactive VR and AR experiences.

Top use cases of real-time 3D

Applications for real-time 3D technology run the gamut, from design to preconstruction to the job site and beyond. AEC companies that have adopted real-time 3D use the technology across their building lifecycle for, on average, more than four use cases, according to a commissioned study conducted by Forrester Consulting on behalf of Unity, published in March 2020.

Some examples across the building lifecycle include:

Design and engineering
Common use cases: Immersive design reviews, experience-based design, design visualization, structural engineering, review project status, gather stakeholder feedback, etc.

Real-world examples of real-time 3D: SHoP Architects streamlined creation of real-time 3D experiences and reduced the time it takes to optimize large design models from days to minutes.

Construction planning and simulation
Common use cases: Job site coordination, construction sequencing, clash detection, 1:1 AR onsite, quantity takeoffs, BIM coordination, field guidance, QA/QC, documentation, etc.

Real-world examples of real-time 3D: Mortenson empowered medical stakeholders to simulate hospital designs in VR to streamline patient care, make staff more efficient, and lower costs.

Training and operations
Common use cases: VR-based safety training, AR-based guidance, remote maintenance, real-time digital twins, data visualization, etc.

Real-world examples of real-time 3D: Skanska boosted its construction-site safety by implementing a Unity-based VR experience into its standard worker-safety training program.

Sales and marketing
Common use cases: Virtual events, photorealistic renderings, sizzle videos, immersive real estate purchase, mixed reality real estate experiences, etc.

Real-world examples of real-time 3D: SmartPixel created an interactive application for Maestria Condominiums to enable potential buyers to explore the future towers.

The value of extending real-time 3D across the business

Real-time 3D addresses challenges across the entire lifecycle, ensuring buildings are better designed, created, and operated. The study by Forrester Consulting found that:

Most adopters are already using real-time 3D across multiple touchpoints in the business … [They] find that the more places … they implement real-time 3D, the more seamlessly these processes are integrated as it provides a more interactive medium for collaboration and communication.

Indeed, 90% of companies using real-time 3D find it valuable for supporting interdepartmental collaboration. There’s a reason for that: Once models exist in a virtual environment, they can be extended for any use case across the business.

That means virtual models used during the design phase can also be used by the construction team to create onsite 1:1 scale AR experiences, as well as by the operations team to create high-fidelity, interactive applications for maintenance. These synergies speed up the building lifecycle and reduce inefficiencies that cause construction projects to take longer and cost more than planned.

 

Bringing real-time 3D experiences to life

Companies can harness the power of real-time 3D with software like Unity, the leading real-time 3D development platform. Sometimes referred to as game engines because of the technology’s origins in video game development, these platforms offer robust capabilities to both create interactive digital content and deploy it to run on various platforms, such as mobile devices, computers, and head-mounted displays. 

Let’s dive into how real-time 3D content is created and consumed.

Who creates real-time 3D experiences?

Today, the primary creators of real-time 3D experiences have technical backgrounds, such as software engineers or AR/VR developers. This is because the vast majority of enterprise applications built on this technology require custom development and programming expertise. (Unity uses C#.)

The pool of real-time 3D users is expanding, however, as Unity and other companies make real-time 3D accessible to nonprogrammers, in turn making it easier to scale custom development. 

Here are some ways barriers to real-time 3D are being lowered for nonprogrammers:

  • Visual scripting: Visual, node-based interfaces like Bolt enable nontechnical users to create logic for applications without writing code.
  • Product innovation: New products such as Unity Reflect condense the process for bringing 3D models into real-time environments into a few clicks.
  • Out-of-the-box solutions: As demand for immersive, interactive experiences has increased, many independent software vendors have leveraged this technology to build solutions for specific use cases while removing the need for coding and scripting. For instance, Interact is a powerful platform that makes it easy to create advanced VR applications from your CAD models.

Service delivery: Custom solutions can be created that accommodate nonprogrammers and the way they work. For instance, the extensibility of platforms like Unity enables companies to tailor Unity’s user interface so that nontechnical users such as designers or marketers can harness the power of real-time 3D without having to code.

How are real-time 3D experiences created?

A typical real-time 3D AEC workflow starts by ingesting existing content. Imported 3D geometry and metadata can come in many forms, including but not limited to:

  • Computer-aided design (CAD) models from applications such as AutoCAD, Alias, VRED, CATIA, Creo, and Siemens PLM Software
  • Meshes from 3D modeling and visualization applications like Autodesk 3ds Max, Rhino, SketchUp, and Blender
  • Reality capture data of products or locations from point clouds, photogrammetry, and LiDAR scanning
  • Building information modeling (BIM) data from programs like Autodesk Revit and Navisworks
  • Materials from BIM software like Autodesk Revit

To achieve the best performance and visual quality when deploying to various platforms, real-time 3D content typically needs to be optimized. The optimization process ensures complex models become lightweight representations that are compatible for real-time development and can properly support interactivity on devices like phones and VR headsets. Companies can use one-click tools like Unity Reflect that automatically prepare data for real-time consumption, or take full control of that process with purpose-built tools like Pixyz.

Once assets are ready for real-time 3D, development can begin. Users can accelerate scene creation with 3D models, objects, environments (i.e., the virtual world), and more from Unity’s Asset Store. Unity lets users iterate rapidly and adjust components like animations, audio and video, cinematics, environments, lighting, user interfaces, visual effects, and more. At any point in development, users enjoy real-time previews of their work – visualization is instant, so there’s no waiting around for the results to render.

For complex enterprise applications, Unity also provides the flexibility to do more with:

  • Artificial intelligence (AI): Unity provides a rich set of machine learning (ML) tools and the ability to integrate with multiple AI and ML frameworks, which is especially helpful for using simulated environments to train and validate intelligent systems.
  • Systems engineering: Prespective, another Unity Verified Solution Partner application, provides a powerful systems engineering framework to connect Unity with external control systems, such as programmable logic controllers or software emulations of control systems, and external math models, such as a functional mock-up unit (FMU) or MATLAB.

Enterprise integrations: Unity’s powerful application programming interface (API), built-in networking capabilities and integrations to third-party network stacks provide a robust and reliable way to extend applications to support remote collaboration, integration with Internet of Things (IoT) systems for digital twins, or almost any networked application you can imagine.

 

How are real-time 3D experiences shared?

The value of real-time 3D as a medium of consumption is its parallels to reality. Our world is in three dimensions – we move, think and experience in 3D. Compared to static experiences like images and videos, the extended spatial presence that a virtual environment replicates brings numerous benefits, including enhanced problem solving, better knowledge retention, higher levels of engagement and understanding, and much more.

Unity offers a rich set of interaction models so that people can interact in real-time with a “live” application (known as a runtime application) on a mobile device, through a web browser, using AR, in a fully immersed VR experience, and more. Real-time 3D can also be embedded into existing properties, such as a mobile app or e-commerce page. 

Consumers of real-time 3D content can be internal stakeholders, such as an onsite worker receiving a training program to improve project safety from a VR headset, or external audiences, such as potential buyers from anywhere exploring real estate developments before they’re built. It can enable individual experiences, such as an architect conducting real-time design reviews, or shared experiences, such as design and construction teams identifying design concerns before the construction phase to reduce change orders, construction time, and costs.

Dive deeper into real-time 3D

Learn more about real-time 3D technology by checking out our solutions or reading our commissioned study conducted by Forrester Consulting on behalf of Unity.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it