Unity for Humanity

支持。推广。影响。变革。

Grant applications are now open – apply by December 9 for $500k to bring your real-time 3D project to life. Apply now

掀起变革

创作者是变革者,Unity 则是他们发挥影响力的平台。全球各地的创作者都在使用 Unity 讲述故事,或在构建对社会、社区和地球产生积极而有意义的影响的工具。我们设立了 Unity for Humanity 来表彰并支持他们改变生活和改善世界的历程。

What is Unity for Humanity?

The Unity for Humanity program empowers real-time 3D creators to make the world a better place by helping bring their visions to life and amplifying their impact.

Grants

We provide financial support needed by creators to bring their projects to market.

Mentorship

We use our technical skills and expertise to help empower creators to realize their visions.

Inspiration & education

Through the Unity for Humanity summit, we inspire creators to use their real-time 3D skills for good.

Amplification

Publishing an experience isn’t the end of the road. We use our reach to help social impact projects connect with wider audiences and create lasting change.

The Unity for Humanity grant

We offer funding, mentorship, and technical support for RT3D social impact projects. In 2023, we’re awarding a total of $500,000 USD to help grantees bring their projects to life. If you have a project in progress we want to hear from you. Applications are open until December 9, 2022.

Past Unity for Humanity Grants

We partner with organizations and activists to support creators making an impact on the world around them.

Imagine Grant
Common

In 2021 we partnered with award-winning artist and activist Common to create the Imagine Grant, given to the project that best inspires audiences to ‘imagine a better world.’

Rare Impact Challenge
Rare Beauty’s Rare Impact

We partnered with Rare Beauty’s Rare Impact to fund immersive experiences that raise awareness, increase support access, and destigmatize conversations surrounding mental health.

Environment & Sustainability Grant
UNEP and Project Drawdown

We collaborated with the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and Project Drawdown to provide grants for creators using real-time 3D to foster a more sustainable world.

The Unity for Humanity Summit

At the annual Unity for Humanity summit we host an amazing group of changemakers and RT3D experts. Join us to hear their inspirational stories, learn about tools and strategies for success, and network with fellow impact creators.

Unity for Humanity Summit Highlights

Watch the full playlist
Transforming communities with RT3D programs

In this session you'll see how education institutions are using real-time 3D to drive positive social impact.

Changing the world with AR

Watch this session to hear how AR is transforming the way we interact with content – and learn how it can make a world of difference.

Level up! Creating a more sustainable gaming universe

Watch and listen as leaders discuss the future of green gaming content, operations, and partnerships.

掀起有意义的变革

支持。认知。影响。变革。

Unity for Humanity 资助计划常见问题解答

哪些类型的项目可以申请?

符合提交条件的项目必须是原型项目或处于任何制作阶段的项目。Unity for Humanity 资助计划接受使用任何 RT3D 平台创建的任何类型的项目(游戏、XR、电影、解决方案)。

所有项目都必须富有影响力,这意味着它们要有可衡量的影响目标和/或行动呼吁,并且/或者包含社会、医疗保健、教育、人道主义、环境问题等主题。我们 2021 年 4 月的资助金将划拨给以环境和可持续发展为主题的项目、故事和解决方案。项目还必须与联合国 17 个可持续发展目标中的至少一个相符。请注意,资助金不能授予个人。请通过法律实体(例如制作公司、工作室等)提交申请。

Unity for Humanity 计划旨在为富有社会影响力的实时 3D 内容提供支持。我们不接受包含或煽动仇恨、暴力、霸凌、骚扰、威胁个人或群体、非法内容的项目或内容。我们的目标是培育一个富有包容性、可持续性和社会影响力的创作者生态系统。

2022 年资助计划有什么要求?

所有项目都必须富有影响力,这意味着它们要有可衡量的影响目标和/或行动呼吁,并且/或者包含社会、医疗保健、教育、人道主义、环境问题等主题。项目还必须与联合国 17 个可持续发展目标中的至少一个相符。

对于符合条件的项目,是否有任何内容限制?

我们不接受包含或煽动仇恨、暴力、霸凌、骚扰、威胁个人或群体、非法内容的项目。我们的目标是培育一个富有包容性、可持续性和社会影响力的创作者生态系统。

项目是否需要与非营利组织或慈善机构合作才能获得资助?

我们鼓励具有慈善性质和/或与非营利组织有关联的项目提交申请。如果您的项目不具有慈善性质,我们仍然鼓励您提交申请(请在申请书上的指定字段中注明这一点)。

是否有任何禁止申请的国家和地区?为什么?

受美国制裁的国家或地区和个人不符合申请资格。目前,这包括:乌克兰的克里米亚地区、古巴、伊朗、朝鲜、苏丹和叙利亚。

你们根据什么标准来选择资助金获得者?

我们根据以下标准选择 Unity for Humanity 资助金获得者:

  1. 愿景 (25%)
  2. 包容性 (25%)
  3. 影响力 (25%)
  4. 可行性 (25%) 

在我们 2022 年的征集活动中,自行决定申请 Imagine Grant 或由评委提名考虑申请 Imagine Grant 的项目必须符合“构想更美好的世界”的要求。

提交内容必须使用哪种语言?

所有申请必须用英语提交。我们与具有不同英语能力水平的创作者合作。非英语语言的视频或预告片必须有字幕。项目本身不需要是英文的,但必须提供字幕或翻译(如果适用),以便评委能够正常评审。

申请需要哪些材料?

创作者必须填写 Unity for Humanity 资助计划申请书。申请人必须提供 PDF 格式的项目宣传资料及视频剪辑或预告片的链接。申请书中有一些简短问题,要求申请人概述其创建项目的目的。

需要在宣传资料中包含哪些内容?
  • 有关团队和公司的信息
  • 项目中重要的美术图稿(接受尚未完成的作品)
  • 制作预算和 Unity 资金使用计划(如果收到)
  • 有关主要利益相关者/合作伙伴的信息
  • 制作时间表、分发时间表和详细的分发计划
  • 影响计划,包括项目的影响目标以及如何实现这些目标
由谁评判提交的作品?

来自 Unity 各种垂直团队的 Unity 员工和/或内部代表将与 Unity for Humanity 计划经理一起审查项目。

当与其他组织合作提供资助金时,该组织的代表也将作为客座评委,参与资助金获得者的甄选工作。

选中的项目会获得什么?

我们将向 Unity 的 Charitable Fund(由 Tides Foundation 赞助,奖金池高达 50 万美元)提出拨款建议。此外,Unity 将提供 8 小时的 Unity 专业服务团队技术支持(需在一年内使用),以及定制化市场营销和指导支持。

我已提交申请。接下来该怎么做?

无需进一步操作。您会收到一封确认电子邮件,我们将审查所有提交的项目。如果我们需要项目的更多信息,会直接联系您。只有 Unity for Humanity 资助金获得者会收到通知。感谢您提交申请!

由谁颁发 Unity for Humanity 资助金?

Unity 与 Tides Foundation 合作,设立了用于慈善目的的 Donor Advisor Fund (DAF)。如果你的团队创建的项目被选中,我们将推荐你的团队成为潜在受赠方,但你要通过 Tides 的资格审查程序才能获得资助金。这是个二次审查过程,可能需要两到六周时间。

你们会给申请人延期吗?

不会。很遗憾,我们不能给申请人延期。

我可以用同一个项目再次提交申请吗?

可以。只要您的项目符合要求、主题和标准,就可以再次申请 Unity for Humanity。如果项目以前获得过 Unity for Humanity 资助金,则没有资格再次获得资助,但我们欢迎您用新项目再次申请资助金。

What are Unity for Humanity’s guiding principles?

Empathy, respect, and opportunity: We celebrate and support creators with diverse backgrounds, experiences, and perspectives.

Positive global change: We provide opportunities for creators to realize a more sustainable and inclusive world.

Uplifting community: We foster a social impact creator community grounded in inclusion to empower changemakers.

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Unity for Humanity

Support. Awareness. Impact. Change.

Creating change

Creators are changemakers, and Unity is their platform for making an impact. People around the globe are using Unity to tell stories or build tools that will have a positive and meaningful impact on society, their communities, and the planet. We founded Unity for Humanity to celebrate and support their journey to change lives and improve our world.

UFH

The Unity for Humanity Grant

We empower social impact creators by offering grant funding, mentorship, and technical support for their RT3D projects. For 2022, we are awarding up to $500K in grants, including a special Imagine Grant in partnership with Common to the project that best Imagines a Better World inspired by Common’s latest single, Imagine.

Apply from October 11 – December 3, 2021

UFH

Previous Unity for Humanity Grants

Each year we run an annual grant for social impact creators. We also collaborate with impact-driven organizations such as Rare Beauty’s Rare Impact, Project Drawdown, and the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) to design grants focused on specific impact areas. 

Learn more about some of our past grants and recipients.

Guiding principles

Promoting empathy, respect, and opportunity: We celebrate and support creators with diverse backgrounds, experiences, and perspectives.

Amplifying impact: We provide opportunities for creators to realize a more sustainable and inclusive world.

Community engagement:  We foster a social impact creator community grounded in inclusion to empower changemakers.

Unity for Humanity Summit 2021

This fully virtual, one-day summit celebrates creators around the world who are using real-time 3D (RT3D) to make a positive impact on society and the planet. Engage with them and their impact-driven work across these themes:

  • Education and Inclusive Economic Opportunity
  • Digital Health and Wellbeing
  • Environment and Sustainability
  • Tools for Changemakers

The Unity for Humanity Grant FAQs

What type of projects are eligible to apply?

Project(s) eligible for submission must be a prototype or a project in any stage of production. The Unity for Humanity grant accepts any project genre (game, XR, film, solution) created with any RT3D platform. 

All projects must be impact-driven, meaning that they have measurable impact goals and/or calls to action and/or encompass themes of social, healthcare, education, humanitarian and environmental issues. Our April 2021 grant is for environment and sustainability-themed projects, stories and solutions. Projects must also align with at least one of the UN 17 Sustainable Development Goals. Please note that the Grant cannot be awarded to individuals. Please submit your application via a legal entity (e.g., a production company, studio, etc.).

The Unity for Humanity program supports real-time 3D content that is social impact-driven. We will not accept projects or content that include or promote hate, violence, bullying, harassment, threats against individuals or groups of people, or illegal content. Our aim is to foster an inclusive, sustainable social impact creator ecosystem.

What are the requirements of the 2022 grant?

All projects must be impact-driven, meaning that they have measurable impact goals and/or calls to action, and/or encompass themes of social, healthcare, education, humanitarian, or environmental issues. Projects must also align with at least one of the UN 17 Sustainable Development Goals.

Are there any content restrictions on eligible projects?

We will not accept projects that include or promote hate, violence, bullying, harassment, threats against individuals or groups of people, or illegal content. Our aim is to foster an inclusive, sustainable social impact creator ecosystem.

What is the Imagine Grant?

As a part of the Unity for Humanity 2022 Grant, we are awarding one Imagine Grant in partnership with Common to the project that best inspires audiences to ‘Imagine a Better World’. 

A single project cannot receive both the Imagine Grant and a Unity for Humanity 2022 Grant, but you can apply for both via the same application.

Does my project need a nonprofit or charity partnership to receive a grant?

We encourage projects to apply that are charitable in nature and/or affiliated with a nonprofit organization. If your project is not charitable in nature, we still encourage you to apply, and ask you to indicate this on your application in the field provided.

Are there any countries and territories prohibited from applying and why?

The countries and individuals the United States has introduced sanctions against are prohibited from applying. At present, this includes: the Crimea Region of Ukraine, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Sudan, and Syria.

What criteria do you use to select grant recipients?

Unity for Humanity Grant recipients are selected using the following criteria: 

  1. Vision (25%)  
  2. Inclusion (25%) 
  3. Impact (25%) 
  4. Viability (25%) 

For our 2022 call, projects that self-identify to apply for the Imagine Grant or are nominated by the judges to be considered for the Imagine Grant must ‘Imagine a Better World.’

On what criteria are you evaluating the Imagine Grant?

In addition to the general Unity for Humanity evaluation criteria, the Imagine Grant recipient will be judged based on these focus areas:

  1. Positive future of humanity
  2. Based in real issues
  3. Inspiration for change
  4. Imagination
  5. Motivation
  6. Inclusive team
  7. Diverse audiences
What language must submissions be in?

All applications must be submitted in English. We work with creators with varying levels of English ability. Videos or trailers in a language other than English must have subtitles. The project itself does not need to be in English, however, there must be subtitles or translations provided (if applicable) so that the judges can properly review.

What materials are needed to apply?

Creators must fill out the Unity for Humanity Grant application. Applicants will be asked to provide a pitch deck in PDF format and a link to a video sample or trailer of the project. There are short essay questions on the application which ask the applicant to outline their motivation for creating the project.

What do we need to include in the Pitch Deck?
  • Information about the team and company
  • Key art from the project (in-progress work accepted)
  • Production budget with a plan for use of Unity funding, if received
  • Information on key stakeholders/partners
  • Production timeline, distribution timeline, and detailed distribution plan
  • An Impact Plan with the project’s impact goals and how they will be achieved
Who judges the submissions?

Unity employees and/or internal representatives from a variety of vertical teams across Unity will review projects along with Unity for Humanity program managers.

If the grant is in partnership with another organization, representatives from the organization will also serve as guest judges to select the grant recipients.

What do the selected projects receive?

We will make grant recommendations from a pool of $500,000 USD to Unity’s Charitable Fund, a fund of the Tides Foundation. In addition, Unity will provide 8 hours of technical support from the Unity Professional Services team (to be used within a one year period) as well as bespoke marketing and mentorship support.

I’ve submitted my application. What’s next?

No further action is required. You will receive a confirmation email and we will review all projects submitted. If we need additional information from a project we will reach out directly. Only Unity for Humanity Grant recipients will be notified. Thank you for submitting your application!

Who issues the Unity for Humanity Grants?

Unity partners with the Tides Foundation to set up the Donor Advisor Fund (DAF) for charitable purposes. If the project created by your team is selected, we will recommend your team as a potential grantee, subject to Tides’s review process for eligibility. This process can take anywhere from two to six weeks and is a secondary review process.

What time is the application deadline?

The deadline date and time are indicated in the Pacific Time Zone. Please give yourself ample time to submit in case of issues within your submission process.

Opens: Monday, October 11, 2021 at 12:00 am PT
Closes: Friday, December 3, 2021 at 11:59 pm PT

Do you give application deadline extensions?

No, unfortunately we are not able to grant extensions for applications.

Can I reapply with the same project?

Yes, you can reapply to Unity for Humanity, so long as your project meets the requirements, theme, and criteria. If a project has previously received a Unity for Humanity Grant, it is not eligible for additional funding, however, you are welcome to reapply with a new project.

Create meaningful change

Support. Awareness. Impact. Change.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it