特大城市

在短短两个月内,我们的ECS团队与两名来自FPS示例团队的美术师便创造了充满未来感的城市景观 — 穿梭飞行的车辆、成千上万个高度细节化的游戏物件和独特的音频源 — 充分展示了我们在ECS和Burst编译器方面取得的进展。

2018年洛杉矶Unite大会主题演讲

在洛杉矶大会上,许多人对ECS和Burst编译器产生了浓厚兴趣。我们的游戏代码和FPS示例团队以Nordeus在奥斯汀Unite大会上展示的演示为基础,双方合作制作了极具动感和未来感的城市景观 — 特大城市(Megacity)。特大城市利用了我们的数据导向型技术堆栈(DOTS),即Performance by Default栏下的所有项目的名称,包括ECS、Native Collections、C#任务系统和Burst编译器。

创作洛杉矶Unite大会演示仅耗费了6周时间

在小型外部团队的协助下,两位Unity美术师在大约六周内制作出了所有高分辨率资源。他们借助嵌套预制件和部分新开发的功能加速处理数量庞大的游戏物件。

需要协力……

构建特大城市(Megacity):为了制作此示例,我们利用了Unity所有研发过程中的团队和技术,包括嵌套预制件、可编程渲染管线等最新功能,以及场景编辑、世界构建、Cinemachine和后期处理栈等原有功能。我们还利用了将在2019年推出的一些正在开发的功能:

  • 适用于(极)大型场景的工作流
  • C#音频系统
  • HLOD系统
  • ECS剔除系统
  • 异步场景加载
  • 异步实体实例化
  • ECS工具和调试功能改进

移动设备上的Megacity

来自Nordeus的一些开发人员参加了Megacity演示,展示了DOTS和轻量级渲染管道(LWRP)如何帮助将PC项目无缝扩展到移动平台。 目标是保持PC版本的图形复杂度,但以极快的帧率在移动设备上运行。

为达到这一目的,他们使用了2019.1预览版中的LWRP。 引述要点:“假设您正在开发一款旨在突破PC极限的游戏,稍后您决定将其移植到移动设备上。在这种情况下,由于移动平台的性能限制,您通常不得不重新设计游戏的大部分内容。 DOTS让我们能够使用在PC上运行游戏逻辑和渲染的完全相同的代码,并将其无缝缩减来适应移动平台。”

Megacity Soundscape(实验性)

DSPGraph是一个基于Unity C#作业系统的最新音频渲染/混音引擎。该引擎完全可通过C#进行扩展,并且可与Burst编译器配合使用。在Megacity中,其为100,000个独特分散的3D/空间发声器提供支持,包括霓虹灯、空调风扇和汽车,可形成丰富、逼真的音响效果。

注意,DSPGraph是一个内部实验性API,我们计划在今年晚些时候将其润色并作为预览包发布。这将是即将推出的面向数据的技术堆栈音频系统的基础。如果您对DSPGraph有任何疑问或建议,请加入官方DOTS音频论坛线索中的讨论。

深入了解为在Megacity中启用声音而构建的不同音频系统

构建特大城市

Megacity演示入门

在GDC 2019上记录的本次会议中,Unity技术讲师Mike Geig将为您介绍该项目,并展示我们如何利用Unity的“默认性能”创建一个充满复杂对象和模拟的大型游戏世界。

特大城市亮相洛杉矶Unite大会:欢迎观看

Joachim Ante在2018年洛杉矶Unite大会上展示他和他的团队在过去六个月中的成果,拉开了ECS研讨会序幕。

特大城市亮相洛杉矶Unite大会:以微薄预算构建鲜活世界

一个小型团队在不到两个月的时间内建造了一个非常复杂、高度逼真的城市。Martin Vestergaard将带您了解相关概念、模型、文档、制作和完善阶段。

特大城市亮相洛杉矶Unite大会:ECS世界中的图形驱动音频

了解基于C#作业的新音频渲染引擎。探索这个低级音频渲染器,了解将大规模音频引入演示的ECS技术。

特大城市亮相洛杉矶Unite大会:大规模LOD和剔除系统

Mike Acton将介绍团队如何使用ECS在洛杉矶Unite大会特大城市(Megacity)流媒体演示中展示大型环境。

特大城市亮相洛杉矶Unite大会:基于样条曲线的AI代理

了解演示中的流量模拟如何检查计算内核及其Burst编译器生成的代码,以及我们如何使用ECS开发基于样条曲线的AI代理。

特大城市亮相洛杉矶Unite大会:加载与序列化

了解与磁盘之间的实体序列化、我们如何构建无缝玩耍模式加载和高效的编辑器工作流,,以及独立的ECS世界可以为您做些什么。

特大城市亮相洛杉矶Unite大会:ECS API的演进

了解ECS的过去、现在和未来。来自Unity数据导向设计团队的Aria Bonczek将解释我们为何会选择这个功能强大的API。

特大城市亮相洛杉矶Unite大会:借力Entity Debugger

查看Entity Debugger各项功能的介绍,了解其在Unity未来版本中的位置的探讨。

ECS旨在助力构建大型游戏世界

特大城市(Megacity)的主要目标之一是展示实体组件系统如何完美地加载大量场景元素。

例如,特大城市包含450万个网格渲染器、5000辆动态车辆和每栋建筑的20万件独特物品。车辆在以样条曲线为基础的车道上飞行,绝不会发生碰撞;其中还有10万个独特的音频源,包括霓虹灯牌、空调扇和汽车产生的丰富且逼真的音效。

特大城市现已提供

下载特大城市 (Megacity) 示例项目,获取完整源文件及资源。 

特大城市使用 Unity 2019.1.0 Beta 7 完成。

访问我们的论坛,掌握最新动态,了解如何使用实体组件系统 (Entity Component System)

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Search Unity

Megacity

In just two months, our ECS team and two artists from our FPS Sample group produced a futuristic cityscape – alive with flying vehicles, hundreds of thousands of highly detailed game objects and unique audio sources – that showcases our progress on ECS and the Burst Compiler.

Unite LA 2018 Keynote

In Los Angeles, there was a lot of interest in ECS and the Burst Compiler. Building on the Nordeus demo from Unite Austin, our Game Code and FPS Sample teams produced Megacity, a dynamic futuristic cityscape. Megacity exploits our Data-Oriented Technology Stack (DOTS), the name for all projects under the Performance by Default banner, including ECS, Native Collections, C# Job System, and the Burst Compiler.

Unite LA demo created in 6 weeks

Two Unity artists, assisted by a small outside team, produced all the high-resolution assets in about six weeks. They relied on nested Prefabs and some newly developed features that facilitate working with very large sets of game objects.

It takes a village...

to build a Megacity. To produce this sample, we tapped teams and technology across all of Unity R&D, including the latest features like nested Prefabs and the Scriptable Render Pipelines as well as many existing ones such as Scene editing, World-building, Cinemachine, and the Post-Processing Stack. We also leaned on some in-development features, coming your way in 2019:

  • Workflows for (very) large scenes
  • C# audio system
  • HLOD system
  • ECS culling system
  • Asynchronous scene streaming
  • Asynchronous entity instantiation
  • Improvements to ECS tooling and debugging features

Megacity on Mobile

A few developers from Nordeus took on the Megacity demo to show how DOTS and the Lightweight Render Pipeline (LWRP) can help seamlessly scale a PC project down to mobile platforms. The goal was to maintain the graphics complexity of the PC version but run it on mobile devices with a very fast frame rate.

To achieve this, they used LWRP which is coming out of preview in 2019.1. Their takeaway: “When you are working on a game that is supposed to stretch the limits of PCs, and then you decide to port it to mobile later, you usually have to rework large parts of it due to performance limitations of mobile platforms. DOTS enabled us to use the same exact code running gameplay logic and rendering on a PC and seamlessly scale it down to mobile platforms.”

Megacity Soundscape (experimental)

DSPGraph is a new Audio rendering/mixing engine built on top of Unity’s C# Job System. It’s completely extensible in C# and can be used with the Burst Compiler. In Megacity, it powers 100,000 uniquely scattered 3D/spatial sound emitters, including neon signs, air-conditioning fans, and cars, producing a rich, realistic soundscape.

Note that DSPGraph is an internal experimental API that we plan to polish and publish as a Preview package later this year. This will be the foundation of the upcoming Data-Oriented Technology Stack audio system. If you have questions or suggestions about DSPGraph please join the discussion in the official DOTS audio forum thread.

Take a deeper look at the different audio systems built to enable sound in Megacity

Building the Megacity

Getting Started with the Megacity Demo

In this session, recorded at GDC 2019, Unity Evangelist Mike Geig will give you an introduction to the project and show how we leveraged Unity's "Performance by default" to create a massive game world full of complex objects and simulations.

Megacity at Unite LA: Welcome and Overview

Joachim Ante opened the ECS track at Unite LA 2018 by presenting what he and his team have been working on for the last six months.

Megacity at Unite LA: Building a Living World on a Tiny Budget

A small team constructed a hugely complex, high-fidelity city in less than two months. Martin Vestergaard walks you through the concept, mockup, documentation, production, and polish stages.

Megacity at Unite LA: Graph-Driven Audio in an ECS World

Learn about the new C# job-based audio rendering engine. You’ll get an introduction to this low-level audio renderer and an understanding of the ECS technology that brings large-scale audio to the demo.

Megacity at Unite LA: LOD and Culling Systems That Scale

Mike Acton explains how the team used ECS to display a large environment in the Unite LA Megacity streaming demo.

Megacity at Unite LA: Spline-Based AI Agents

Find out how the traffic simulation in the demo examines the compute kernels and their Burst Compiler-produced code as well as how we developed the spline-based AI agents with ECS.

Megacity at Unite LA: Streaming and Serialization

Learn about entity serialization to and from disk, how we built seamless play-mode streaming and efficient Editor workflow, and what a separate ECS world can do for you.

Megacity at Unite LA: The Evolution of the ECS API

Learn about the past, present and future of ECS. Aria Bonczek, from the Unity Data-Oriented Design team, explains our choices for this powerful API. 

Megacity at Unite LA: Using the Entity Debugger

Check out this introduction to the functions of the Entity Debugger and a discussion of its place in future versions of Unity.

ECS designed to power massive game worlds

One of our major goals with Megacity was to show how the Entity Component System is perfect for streaming huge numbers of scene elements.

For example, Megacity contains 4.5M mesh renderers, 5000 dynamic vehicles and 200,000 unique building objects. The vehicles fly on spline-based traffic lanes, never colliding, and there are 100,000 unique audio sources, including neon signs, air-conditioning fans, and cars producing unique sounds to form a rich, realistic audioscape

Megacity is available now

Download the Megacity sample project to access the full source files and assets. 

Megacity works with Unity 2019.1.0 Beta 7.

Join us in our forums to stay updated, or learn how to get started with ECS.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.