狮子、老虎和哈士奇

了解实时性能适配服务(LiveTune)如何帮助游道易(Yodo1)针对分散的Android市场优化Rodeo Stampede

Rodeo Stampede:Unity 数据分析服务(Unity Analytics)案例

使用Unity实时性能适配服务(LiveTune)为市场上数千种不同设备远程地优化性能,游道易(Yodo1)节省了数百个小时的开发时间。节省下来的时间,他们可以用来开发适用于任何设备的超赞的本地化内容。

该游戏

Rodeo Stampede 不仅仅是一款移动端跑酷游戏,它还提供动物围捕、建设动物园和引人入胜的游戏玩法。

目标是

通过优化中国市场上众多不同设备的性能来提高留存率

平台

iOS、Android

团队成员

125+

地点

中国,北京

游道易(Yodo1)与国际游戏开发商密切合作以创建、本地化和销售手机游戏。 然而,在分销Rodeo Stampede过程中,他们发现花费了大量时间来优化分散的Android移动游戏市场的性能。这些时间本来可以用来为Rodeo Stampede已经获得的150多万玩家创造更多精彩内容。更重要的是,即使花费了这么多的时间,他们仍然只是以基本的方式解决优化问题。但Unity
实时性能适配服务(LiveTune)则使他们能够以更为高效和分段的方式进行远程优化,从而提升了用户体验。 

成果:

  • 节省了数百小时的开发时间
  • 使留存率增加了26%,使加载时间由20秒缩短为10秒或更短
  • 预计玩家(用户)终生价(LTV)增加了17%以上

节省了数百小时的开发时间

过去,游道易(Yodo1)使用定制解决方案来优化Android市场中的各种设备。 但是,这种类型的编码需要在游戏和服务器上进行大量的系统设置。

然而,在与Unity密切合作中,游道易(Yodo1)全球发行副总裁Vincent Diao和他的团队能够分析有多少人使用高端、中端和低端设备,确定他们应该追踪的内容,以及关于需要针对每个细分市场进行优化的决定。

Diao说:“实时性能适配服务(LiveTune)真是令人大开眼界;它就像是专门为我们的情况打造的。整合和升级只用了大概一周时间,但节省了我们数百个小时的工作时间,而且实现了之前的解决方案无法企及的效果。”

使加载时间从20秒缩短到10秒或更短

实时性能适配服务(LiveTune)不仅比游道易(Yodo1)之前的解决方案更有效,还使他们能够更好地控制优化的细节。他们可以自动和远程控制图形质量设置如阴影、在同一屏幕上显示的动物数量以及粒子效果。

游道易(Yodo1)的大多数游戏都是单人休闲游戏,一旦这些游戏发布并且连接到服务器,控制权就受限了。他们以前的解决方案仅作为控制所有用户的一种开关。如果他们想要对给定设备进行详细的控制,他们需要使用很多个开关,但这种解决实际问题的方式非常笨拙。

Diao说道:“发现问题时,我们所能做的就是打开或关闭某个元素。以前的解决方案充当了一种开关,因此我们无法进行细分,例如,根据用户的设备将细节阴影更改为简单阴影。”

因此,虽然详细的阴影可能会增强某些用户的体验,但对于其他用户而言,这会使体验变得更糟

“LiveTune的优点在于我们可以使用它来远程控制所有重要细节。每个《疯狂动物园》(Rodeo Stampede)用户都会看到针对自己设备优化的内容。”Diao表示。

 

如何优化都是动物的动物园?

市场上有50000多种设备,所以很难实现性能优化,但Diao知道这才是成功的关键。他们跟踪了帧率(fps),但很快发现主要问题是加载时间滞后。

Diao解释道:“自项目启动以来,我们做出了很多内容。有八张地图,100多只不同皮肤的动物,然后我们想到了把它变成一个大动物园。这个想法非常酷,但却造成了重大的性能问题。”

横幅尺寸增加,加载时间滞后,特别是当玩家浏览动物园观察栖息地时。

Diao说:“LiveTune为我们调整资产、效果和渲染类别的设置提供了很大的灵活性。我们从动物数量/栖息地、TextureQuality和Shadows开始查找,最终发现围栏质量对设备性能影响最大。”

通过使用LiveTune远程分割和控制性能设置,他们发现大多数设备的加载时间缩短了10秒或变得更短。

 

Yodo1 - 图形和质量设置

*AnimalCountInGenus ##键指的是游戏中不同动物的数量。

 

使玩家(用户) 终生价值增加了17.1个百分点

游道易(Yodo1)最初面临的性能优化问题无疑是非常严重的,导致其在中国某些Android分销平台上的第1天留存率急剧下降至29%左右。

但是,在2016年6月使用LiveTune实施修复后,他们将不同设备的留存率提高到40%到45%之间。Diao表示说提高第1天留存率仍然是一项长期奋斗目标。

Yodo1做的不仅是本地化,而是文化浸润

自然地修复性能问题是关键任务,但LiveTune帮他们有效地做到这一点,使他们能够专注于开发新的内容,从而改善用户体验并最终提高玩家生命周期价值(LTV)。

Diao说道:“通过计算LTV [日活跃用户平均收益(ARPDAU)*估计的生命时间],我们估计在实施LiveTune后,平均玩家生命价值提高了约17.1%。”考虑到超过1.5亿玩家已下载《疯狂动物园》(Rodeo Stampede),这会创造巨大的价值。

毕竟,公司的主要优势之一是不断开发高度吸引人的内容,这些内容可以响应当地市场。 Yodo1创造具有文化吸引力的主题内容。例如,为了配合狗年,他们引入了灯笼和哈士奇狗(中国流行品种)的节日环境。

“我们超越了语言的本地化;我们称之为文化浸润。感谢LiveTune节省的时间,我们可以开发更多有趣的内容,以顺利和自信地做到这一点,而不会有扰乱我们的市场动力或打破游戏的风险。”刁说道。

“LiveTune真的让我们打开眼界,它使玩家的LTV平均提高了17%以上,玩家的保留率提高了26%。我们只用了大约一周的时间就全面集成和升级一切。使用之前的解决方案,这可能需要花费数百小时的工作时间,而且我无法达到使用LiveTune取得的这些成绩。“

Vincent Diao, VP of Global Publishing, Yodo1

如何开启LiveTune?

请填写表格以注册测试版,如有疑问,请通过unity3d.com/livetune随时与我们联系。

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.

Lions, tigers and huskies, oh my

How LiveTune helped Yodo1 optimize Rodeo Stampede for a fragmented Android market

Rodeo Stampede: A Unity Analytics case story

Using Unity LiveTune to optimize performance remotely for thousands of different devices on the market, Yodo1 saved hundreds of development hours, which they could instead use on developing great localized content that worked well on any device.

The game

More than your average mobile endless runner, Rodeo Stampede, offers animal round-ups, zoo-building, and engaging gameplay

The goal

Raise retention by optimizing performance for the many different devices on the Chinese market

Platforms

iOS, Android

Team members

125+

Location

Beijing, China

Yodo1 works closely with international game developers to create, localize, and sell mobile games. However, after distribution of Rodeo Stampede, they found that they were spending a great deal of time optimizing performance for the fragmented Android mobile-game market. Time that could be better spent creating more great content for the 150+ Million players that Rodeo Stampede has already garnered. What’s more, even with excessive hours spent, they were still only addressing optimization in a basic way. Unity LiveTune enabled them to optimize remotely in a much more efficient and segmented way, which added up to a better user experience. 

The results:

  • Saved hundreds of development hours
  • Increased retention by 26%, speeding up loading time from 20 seconds to 10 seconds or faster
  • Increase in predicted player LTV by over 17%

Saved hundreds of hours of dev time

In the past, Yodo1 had used a custom solution to optimize for the various devices in the Android market. This type of coding, however, required a lot of work setting up systems both in the game and on the server.

However, working closely with Unity, Yodo1’s VP of Global Publishing, Vincent Diao and his team were able to segment how many people were using high-end, middle and low-end devices, identify what they should be tracking, and make decisions about what needed to be optimized for each segment.

“LiveTune was a real eye-opener; it was as if it was made for our situation” says Diao. “It took us around a week to get everything fully integrated and upgraded. It would have cost us hundreds of hours of work time with our previous solution, and we still wouldn’t have been able to achieve the kind of results we have with LiveTune.”

Reduced loading time from 20 to 10 seconds or less

LiveTune is not only more efficient than Yodo1’s previous solution, it has also given them better control of the particulars of optimization. They can control graphical quality settings automatically and remotely, like shadows, how many animals were displayed on the same screen, and particle effects.

Most of Yodo1’s games are single-player casual, and once they went out and connected to a server they had limited control. Their former solution acted merely as a kind of on/off switch for all users. If they wanted a detailed level of control for given devices, they ended up with multiple switches, which was a clumsy way of solving the actual issues.

“When we noticed a problem, all we could do was turn a certain element on or off. Our former solution acted as a kind of a switch. We couldn’t segment and, for example, change a detailed shadow to a simple one based on the user’s device,” Diao says.

So while the detailed shadow might enhance the experience for some users, for others it made the experience worse.

“The great thing about LiveTune is that we can use it to control all the important details remotely. Each Rodeo Stampede user sees something optimized for their own devices,” Diao says.

 

How do you optimize a whole zoo full of animals?

With over 50,000 types of devices, it is difficult to achieve performance optimization, which Diao knew was key to success. They tracked fps but soon found that the main issue was a lag in loading time.

“We’ve turned out a lot of content since launch,” Diao says. “Eight maps, over 100 animals with different skins, and then we came up with the idea of turning it into one big zoo. And yes, the idea was really cool, but it created major performance issues.”

The banner size increased, and loading time lagged, especially when players scrolled through the zoo to view habitats.

”LiveTune gave us lots of flexibility to tune settings across assets, effects, and rendering categories,” Diao says, “We started with things like Animal Count per Genus/habitat, TextureQuality, and Shadows. Eventually, we found the Fence Quality had the most impact on the device performance.”

By using LiveTune to segment and control performance settings remotely, they saw a reduction of 10 seconds or less on loading time for most devices.

 

Yodo1 - Graphics and Quality Settings

*The AnimalCountInGenus## keys refer to the number of  different animals in the game.

 

Increased lifetime value by 17.1 percent

The issue Yodo1 initially faced with performance optimization was, of course, serious in and of itself causing their Day 1 Retention rate to drop dramatically to around 29% on certain Android distribution platforms in China due to the prevalence of lower-end Android handsets.

After implementing fixes with LiveTune in June 2016, though, they raised retention up to between 40 and 45% across different devices. Diao says that Day 1 Retention is still an ongoing effort.

Yodo1 doesn’t just localize, they culturalize

Naturally fixing performance issues was mission-critical, but the fact that they were able to do so efficiently with LiveTune also enabled them to focus on developing fresh new content, which improved the user experience and ultimately, increased LTV.

Diao says. “By calculating LTV [ARPDAU * Estimated Life Time], we estimated that after implementing LiveTune, average Lifetime Value increased by around17.1 percent.” That’s a huge amount of value creation considering that Rodeo Stampede has been downloaded by more than 150 Million players.

One of the companies main strengths, after all, is continually developing highly engaging content that resounds with the local market. Yodo1 creates topical content that has cultural appeal. For example, to coincide with the Year of the Dog, they introduced festive environments with lanterns and Husky dogs (a popular breed in China).

“We go beyond localization of language; we refer to it as culturalization. And thanks to the time saved with LiveTune, we can develop more interesting content, and we can do it smoothly and confidently, without the risk of disturbing our market momentum or breaking the game,” Diao says.

“LiveTune was a real eye-opener; it increased average player LTV by over 17%, and boosted player retention by 26%. What’s more, it took us just around a week to get everything fully integrated and upgraded. It would have cost us hundreds of hours of work time with our previous solution, and we still wouldn’t have been able to achieve the kind of results we have with LiveTune.”

Vincent Diao, VP of Global Publishing, Yodo1

How do you get started with LiveTune?

Please fill out the form to sign up for the beta and feel free to reach out to us at unity3d.com/livetune if you have any questions.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.