搜索

62 天实现 1.25 亿美元收入:《Last Day on Earth》

Kefir 在走上优秀的游戏设计和 UA 决策之路时并没有创作僵尸游戏。

Kefir:Unity 开发人员案例分析

2009 年,伏尔加格勒的 Kefir 在游戏行业横空出世,这是一个只有五名成员的团队,为俄罗斯社交网络开发游戏。通过利用新技术和移动应用市场,该工作室的规模迅速发展到 165 名成员。他们开发的一款僵尸求生游戏《Last Day on Earth》 (LDOE) 获得了巨大成功,这让他们名声大振。到目前为止,LDOE 已经获得了 8300 万次的巨大下载量,每日活跃用户 (DAU) 数量高达一百万人。现在,他们已经实现了超过 1.25 亿美元的总收入。他们发布的所有游戏都是使用 Unity 开发的。

项目

将这种类型的游戏带到移动平台上,添加多玩家功能,扩展游戏玩法

目标是

加速生产和优化性能

平台
项目工作人员

27 名美术师和设计师,23 名软件和 QA 工程师

公司

在俄罗斯圣彼德斯堡和伏尔加格勒有超过 165 名成员

总部:俄罗斯伏尔加格勒

在生存游戏接近饱和的市场中,Kefir 希望找到一条脱颖而出的道路。他们决定专注于三项具有挑战性的任务:在移动平台本机实现这种类型的游戏,开发多玩家功能和社区,为相对复杂的游戏玩法构建简洁的用户界面。

“让我们感到自豪的是,我们创作的资源十分简单直观,根本不需要跟用户解释,所以我们总是有有意识地限制屏幕上显示的按钮、设置和说明的数量,”Kefir 的美术总监 Petr Kostylev 说。不过,他也知道有些玩家喜欢阅读说明。“我们非常讨厌攻略,” 他开玩笑说,但是他也承诺为喜欢参考攻略的玩家提供适当的说明。

那么,LDOE 是怎样利用 Unity 的?为了开始,该工作室使用 Unity 来加速和优化游戏架构和编码任务。Kefir 的美术师使用此平台创建和简化人形 Avatar、反向动力学效果和粒子系统。他们的业务团队则使用 Unity 来确保通过更简单而有效的方法来吸引新玩家,并通过用户获取 (UA) 和广告投放策略维持收入增长。对于 LDOE,Kefir 利用了 Unity 提供的大量功能。

结果:

  • 仅在发布后 62 天的试运营期内,LDOE 就取得了巨大成功
  • 高度专注的团队并行开发不同的 Unity 模块,解决不同的游戏机制问题
  • 利用 Unity Ads、Unity IAP 和 Audience Pinpointer 增强变现和营销策略
  • 利用 Unity 内存分析器在所有设备上实现流畅的游戏体验

在构建之前设计

大部分游戏评论家都注意到了 LDOE 流畅的运行体验。为了实现这一点,Kefir 利用了许多技巧,包括合并网格来优化绘制调用数量,以及利用最少的图集来简化用户界面。

正如技术主管 Roman Romanenko 所说:“最重要的是在开发的早期阶段专注于创建项目架构。例如,我们的基本设计模式解决了库存系统和构建机制等问题。”

为了节省更多时间,Kefir 的开发人员使用了自定义“合并精灵”组件来同时绘制多个精灵。只要可能,他们还重复利用固定对象池中的对象,从而最大限度减少实例化对象的数量,并支持根据设备配置自动化用户图形设置。Unity 内存分析器是一款重要的工具,通过经常测量游戏对设备内存所有方面的影响,可以帮助他们确保在所有 Android 和 iOS 设备上实现最佳性能。

培育更广泛的游戏社区

除了游戏之外,Kefir 在保持开放性方面也声名卓著,他们总是在博客和行业活动上直率地指出竞争对手的优势,并坦诚地发表关于游戏趋势的评论。“作为一名真正的游戏开发人员/设计师,不管他们来自哪里,都要了解、学习和试玩最优秀的游戏,”Kostylev 说。

他认为这种态度对任何人来说都很重要,不管是初创公司还是成立的工作室。“如果您注意自己在玩其他人开发的游戏时的心情,您会产生许多创意和新奇的想法。”

Kostylev 还指出了不简单模仿让他人取得成功的游戏元素的重要性。“那是死路一条 – 你需要集中精力打造打磨自己的特点。对我们来说,Unity 至关重要的原因之一就在于它让我们更容易实现创意和进行创新。”

扩大玩家群体和提高收入

除了制作游戏外,Kefir 还使用 Unity 来将游戏变现,通过广告和应用内购 (IAP) 获得收入,并利用 UA 策略扩展游戏市场。当 Kefir 使用 Unity Ads 将广告集成到 LDOE 中时,他们通过仔细调整广告展示频率,尽可能降低广告对游戏体验的影响,而 Unity Ads 可最大限度减少 Android 环境中的外部调用次数,这让他们受益匪浅。不过,LDOE 的大部分收入来自 IAP。据 Kefir 的市场主管所说:“通过设计,广告产生的收入可能只占游戏总收入的 5%。我们的重点在于游戏和 IAP,而 Unity IAP 使这一切对我们来说易于反掌。”

一个内部小团队专门负责 UA,他们主要关注绩效营销。“我们最近开始在 Unity Ads 的 UA 策略中使用 Unity Audience Pinpointer 活动。这帮助他们实现了广告支出回报率 (ROAS) 目标,同时也让他们扩大了活动规模并提高了收入。我们正在将更多用户获取预算投入到这个方面,”Kulakov 说。

不过,他们补充道:“我们在排行榜上名列前茅是我们在游戏中投入的辛勤工作和饱满热情的直接结果 – 我们相信也许这才是终极制胜的 UA 策略。”

超越《Last Day on Earth》

当 LDOE 成为一款热门游戏,吸引了数百万玩家在噩梦场景下打僵尸后,另一个 Kefir 团队以时光机的形式将这一款游戏融入《Grim Soul: Survival》。后者是一款黑暗中世纪幻想风格游戏,其中充满了城堡,地牢和各种令人印象深刻的中世纪武器和工具。

凭借他们在集体努力下取得的巨大成功,Kefir 的未来会怎样?在 Unity 方面,Romanenko 提到 LDOE 团队希望使用可编程渲染管线 (SRP) 来“更全面地控制他们的着色器系统。我们也会开始使用可编程摄像机系统 Cinemachine,因为我知道利用该功能可以制作许多精彩的效果。”Romanenko 补充道:“Unity 在我们构建和发布《Last Day on Earth》时发挥了至关重要的作用。这是我们目前发布的最成功的游戏。未来,我们在创作新项目时也会和以前一样勇往直前!”

“Unity 在我们构建和发布《Last Day on Earth》时发挥了至关重要的作用。这是我们目前发布的最成功的游戏。未来,我们在创作新项目时也会和以前一样勇往直前!”

Roman Romanenko, Technical Lead, Kefir

“我们最近开始在 Unity Ads 的 UA 策略中使用 Unity Audience Pinpointer 活动。这帮助他们实现了广告支出回报率 (ROAS) 目标,同时也让他们扩大了活动规模并提高了收入。我们正在将更多用户获取预算投入到这个方面。”

Andrey Kulakov, Head of Marketing, Kefir

“通过设计,广告产生的收入可能只占游戏总收入的 5%。我们的重点在于游戏和 IAP,而 Unity IAP 使这一切对我们来说易于反掌。”

Andrey Kulakov, Head of Marketing, Kefir

“作为一名真正的游戏开发人员/设计师,不管他们来自哪里,都要了解、学习和试玩最优秀的游戏。”

Petr Kostylev, Art Director, Kefir
62 天游戏计划

关于 Kefir 是如何制作出风靡移动平台的生存游戏的,以及他们如何在短短两个多月的试运营期内就实现了巨大成功,下面提供了一些额外的见解。为了开始,该工作室选择 Unity 作为《Last Day on Earth》的开发平台,因为它最适合他们的敏捷开发环境。

打造完美的用户体验

在开发过程中,不同团队分别专注于游戏的不同关键领域,如游戏机制的迭代和优化方面、库存菜单和行进地图等,他们要准备好所有这些方面,直到在移动平台上完美运行。这种经过深思熟虑的策略主要是为了向玩家清晰地展示复杂的机制。凭借深受喜爱的用户界面,他们获得了成功。

分享 Unity 提示和技巧

“为了满足我们的特定需求,我们对 Unity 进行了大量调整。例如,通过合并网格来优化绘制调用数量,通过尽量减少图集数量来简化用户界面,以及通过合并精灵(自定义组件)来同时绘制多个精灵。同时,我们经常使用内存分析器来分析性能,只要可能,我们都会将对象池化。我们还建立了内容管理流程来尽量减少实例化。最后,我们配置了用户图形,使其在每一台设备上都能发挥最佳性能。” – Kefir 技术主管 Roman Romanenko

他们首先是玩家

参加游戏比赛和培育本地游戏社区是 Kefir 文化的一个重要组成部分。因为该工作室为游戏而生,他们的饱满热情和丰富经验最终变成了新产品的创意。

重要发布日

该游戏于 2017 年 5 月发布后,每日用户数量高达 100 万,共获得了 8300 万下载量,并实现了超过 1.25 亿美元收入。自从发布后,《Last Day on Earth》已经在 Google Play 和 AppStore 中进入游戏收入排行榜的前 150 名。

Kefir Games 生活 . . . 包括屠龙积分

《Last Day on Earth》这样的热门 F2P 游戏工作可能压力不小。同时,Kefir 团队需要仔细策划实时游戏内活动,与当地社区互动,改进 UA 策略,还需要准备下一次涉及功能的更新。为了缓解员工的压力,他们会开展主题派对、旅行和职业发展等活动。

就像在某些 MMO 游戏中一样,Kefir 100 多名充满激情的员工在实现特定的公司目标时可以累积“屠龙积分”(DKP)。除了获得奖金外,DKP 还可以用于竞拍最新的小物品、摄像机、礼品卡、旅行等等。

 

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.

62 days to $125M success: Last Day on Earth

Kefir is no zombie when it comes to making shrewd game-design and UA decisions.

Kefir: A Unity developer case study

In 2009, Kefir leapt out of the starting gates in Volgograd with a team of five making games for Russian social networks. Taking advantage of new technologies and markets for mobile apps, the studio has grown to 165 people and is best known for its crazy-successful Last Day on Earth (LDOE), a zombie survival title. So far, LDOE has garnered a whopping 83-million downloads, a million daily active users (DAU), and so far, over $125M in gross revenue. Unity powers all their launched games.

The project

Bring the genre to mobile, add multiplayer capability, and expand gameplay

The goal

Speed production and optimize performance ​​​​​​

Platforms
Project staff

27 artists and designers, and 23 software and QA engineers

Company

165+ in St. Petersburg and Volgograd, Russia

HQ: Volgograd, Russia

In a market saturated with survival games, Kefir looked for ways to stand out. They decided to focus on three challenging tasks: bringing the genre to mobile natively, developing multiplayer capability and community, and building a simple UI for relatively complex gameplay.

“We pride ourselves on creating intuitive resources that don’t need to be explained, so we consciously limit the number of buttons, settings and instructions that appear on the screen,” said Petr Kostylev, Kefir’s Art Director. Still, he understands that some players like instructions. “We really hate tutorials,” he joked, but promised that they’ll provide some for those who like them.

So, where does Unity fit in the LDOE world? To start, the studio uses Unity to speed up and optimize their game architecture and coding tasks. Kefir’s artists use it to create and apply humanoid avatars, inverse kinematics, and particle systems. And the business teams use Unity to ensure easier, more effective ways to attract new players and sustain revenue growth through user acquisition (UA) and ad placement strategies. For LDOE, Kefir has embraced a wide range of Unity’s offerings.

The results:

  • Soft-launched mega-successful LDOE in just 62 days
  • Highly focused teams solved different game mechanics by working on separate Unity modules in parallel
  • Enhanced monetization and marketing strategies with Unity Ads, Unity IAP, and Audience Pinpointer
  • Achieved smooth gameplay experience across all devices using the Unity Memory Profiler

Design it before you build it

Most game reviewers note LDOE’s smooth-running gameplay. To achieve this, Kefir used a variety of techniques, including combining meshes to optimize the number of draw calls and simplifying the UI with a minimum number of atlases.

According to Technical Lead Roman Romanenko, “The most important thing is to focus on creating project architecture at an early stage of development. For example, our basic design patterns solved the inventory system and building mechanics.”

To save more time, Kefir’s developers used a custom “combined sprite” component to draw multiple sprites at once. They also reused objects from fixed pools when possible, minimizing the number of instantiated objects, and enabled automatic user-graphic settings based on device configuration. The Unity Memory Profiler was an important tool that helped them regularly ensure optimal performance across all Android and iOS devices by measuring the impact of all aspects of the game in the device memory.

Nurturing the wider game community

Beyond its games, Kefir has an admirable reputation for openness, freely pointing out competitors’ strengths and commenting on gaming trends in their blogs and at industry events. “Being a true game developer/designer requires understanding, studying, and playing the best games, wherever they come from,” said Kostylev.

He feels this attitude is important for everyone, from startups to established studios. “If you pay attention to your own emotions while you’re playing someone else’s game, you can stimulate a lot of creativity and get a lot of fresh ideas.”

Kostylev also pointed out the importance of not simply emulating game elements that have worked for others. “That leads nowhere – you need to focus on your own individuality. One of the reasons Unity is so valuable for us is because it makes it easier to express ourselves and try new stuff.”

Growing their player base and revenue

In addition to game creation, Kefir uses Unity to monetize their game through ads and in-app purchases (IAP), and to grow their game with UA strategies. While Kefir integrates advertisements into LDOE using Unity Ads, they try to minimally impact their game world by fine-tuning the frequency of impressions, and they especially appreciate how Unity Ads minimizes external calls in Android environments. The bulk of LDOE’s revenue, however, comes from IAP. According to Andrey Kulakov, Kefir’s Head of Marketing, “By design, ads only make up perhaps five percent of our game revenue. Our priority is the game and IAP, and Unity IAP makes that very easy for us.”

A small in-house team is dedicated to UA, focusing mainly on performance marketing. “We recently started running Unity Audience Pinpointer campaigns as part of our UA strategy with Unity Ads. This has helped us meet our return-on-ad-spend (ROAS) goals while also letting us scale campaigns and increase volumes. We’re moving a larger portion of our acquisition budget towards it,” said Kulakov.

However, he added, “Our top positions in the charts are the direct result of the work and excitement we put into our games – which we believe is ultimately the best UA strategy possible.”

Going beyond the Last Day on Earth

Once LDOE became a beloved game with millions of players battling zombies in a nightmare landscape, another Kefir team took the title into a time machine and emerged with Grim Soul: Survival, a dark Middle Ages fantasy replete with castles, dungeons and plenty of impressive medieval weapons and tools.

So, with these huge successes under their collective belt, what does the future hold for Kefir? On the Unity front, Romanenko mentions that the LDOE team is looking forward to using the Scriptable Render Pipeline (SRP) to “have more control over their shader systems. We’ll also start using Cinemachine, the procedural camera system, because I know we’ll get some great effects from that,” Romanenko added. “Unity was key for building and launching Last Day on Earth. And it’s our most successful game to date. As for the future, our new projects will be daring as always!”

“Unity was key for building and launching Last Day on Earth. And it’s our most successful game to date. As for the future, our new projects will be daring as always!”

Roman Romanenko, Technical Lead, Kefir

“We recently started running Unity Audience Pinpointer campaigns as part of our UA strategy with Unity Ads. This has helped us meet our return-on-ad-spend (ROAS) goals while also letting us scale campaigns and increase volumes. We’re moving a larger portion of our acquisition budget towards it.”

Andrey Kulakov, Head of Marketing, Kefir

“By design, ads only make up perhaps five percent of our game revenue. Our priority is the game and in-app purchases, and Unity IAP makes that very easy for us.”

Andrey Kulakov, Head of Marketing, Kefir

“Being a true game developer/designer requires understanding, studying, and playing the best games, wherever they come from.”

Petr Kostylev, Art Director, Kefir
The 62-day game plan

Here are some additional insights into how Kefir created the most popular survival game on mobile and soft-launched it in just over two months. To start, the studio chose Unity for Last Day on Earth because it best-suited their agile development environment.

Getting the UX just right

During development, different teams focused on key areas of the game, iterating and polishing aspects like game mechanics, inventory menus and travel maps, readying them until the adaptation to mobile worked well. This well-thought-out strategy focused on ensuring the complex mechanics could be displayed cleanly for the players. Based on the much-loved UI, they succeeded.

Sharing Unity tips & tricks

“We’ve done a lot of things to tailor Unity for our needs. For example, we’ve combined meshes to optimize the number of draw calls, simplified the UI with a minimum number of atlases, and consolidated sprites (custom components) to draw several at once. As well, we regularly employ the Memory Profiler and we use object pooling when it’s possible. We also set up our content management processes to minimize instantiation. Finally, we configured our user graphics so they are optimized for each device.” – Roman Romanenko, Technical Lead, Kefir

They’re gamers first

Participating in game tournaments and nurturing the local gaming community are a big part of Kefir’s culture. Because the studio lives and breathes gaming, their enthusiasm and deep experience ultimately translate into ideas for new product features.

A big release day

Launched in May 2017, the game has 1M daily players, 83-million downloads and has made over $125M. Last Day on Earth has been sitting in the Top-150-grossing game charts on Google Play and the AppStore since its release.

Life at Kefir Games . . . includes slaying dragons

Working on top F2P titles like Last Day on Earth can be stressful. In parallel, Kefir teams are orchestrating live in-game events, engaging with the local community, honing their UA strategies, and preparing the next feature-filled update. To help de-stress staff, they offer activities like theme parties, travel, and professional development.

And just like in some MMO games, Kefir’s 100+ passionate staffers accumulate “dragon kill points” (DKP) when they achieve certain company goals. Supplementing monetary bonuses, DKPs can be spent in auctions on the latest gadgets, cameras, gift cards, trips and more.

 

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.