Warlords of Aternum的广告投入获得丰厚回报

InnoGames如何利用推广受众智能定位提高了用户获取和ROAS

InnoGames – Unity开发人员案例分析

开发人员如何利用成熟、成功的游戏在优化广告费用的同时不断获得高价值用户? 为了维护和发展健康的用户群,InnoGames的广告宣传与Unity Ads保持了一致。 将推广受众智能定位(一种功能强大的Unity Ads功能)实施到用户获取策略中已显著提高了他们的业绩,并且提高了他们能够通过Unity Ads一致地获取高质量用户的期望。

项目

使用Unity Ads的推广受众智能定位进行游戏玩家等级广告定位

目标是

提高留存率并增加ROAS

平台

安卓、iOS

团队成员

12名工程师、9名美术师/设计师、5名支持人员

地点

德国汉堡

凭借众多屡获殊荣的浏览器和移动游戏,包括《Forge of Empires》、《Elvenar》和《Warlords of Aternum》,InnoGames在30多个国家/地区拥有400多名员工,当前运营着7款现场游戏,其App Store和Google Play评分分别保持在4.7和4.5。 为进一步优化他们的用户获取(UA)策略并实现广告支出回报率(ROAS)目标,InnoGames使用推广受众智能定位来吸引具有高7天(D7)留存率的游戏玩家。

结果:

  • D7留存率提高了20%
  • 在一年内广告支出缩减了60%
  • 减少了需要营销经理进行的重复优化

InnoGames在夜色中诞生

2003年,Eike和Hendrik Klindworth兄弟与他们的朋友Michael Zillmer制作了他们的第一个浏览器游戏《Tribal Wars》。他们最开始将这个游戏纯粹作为漫长冬夜里一个有趣的消遣,但随着他们增加新的世界,该游戏很快就流行了起来。 这变成了一项全职工作,他们于2007年在汉堡成立了InnoGames。该公司稳步发展,随着移动游戏市场的主导地位日益增强,他们决定使用Unity开发所有新的移动游戏。

开发Aternum

InnoGames于2017年从Wooga Studio收购了《Warlords》。通过使用Unity,他们继续开发出了回合制战略(TBS)游戏,即《Warlords of Aternum》,并且增加了大量内容更新,优化了战斗平衡等。 许多Unity功能帮助简化了开发并增强了该游戏:

  • C# AssetBundleGraphTool减少了枯燥乏味的资源导入和捆绑任务,从而使他们的工程师可轻松构建和自动化以图形方式创建和更改资源设置的工作流程。
  • 光照贴图对《Warlords of Aternum》多个场景中的表面亮度进行预计算,并且将结果保存在光照贴图中,以供以后使用。
  • ScriptableObject是一个可序列化的Unity类,其包含对UI/游戏对象的引用,以便进行战斗平衡。 通过使共享数据独立于脚本实例,可更轻松地管理更改和调试。

为进一步提高性能,InnoGames定期利用资源缓存服务器绘制调用批处理编辑器脚本,当然还有Unity Profiler

展望未来,InnoGames团队对于实现新的Unity面向数据的技术堆栈(DOTS)组件 – 实体组件系统(ECS)C#作业系统Burst编译器 – 感到特别兴奋,这些组件可使开发人员更充分地利用移动设备上的多核处理器。

提高变现和用户获取

大多数InnoGames解决方案纯粹通过IAP获利,尽管Unity Ads团队多年来一直是合作伙伴,但他们在广告变现方面的工作量正在不断增加。 据Performance Networks的主管Sebastian Goldt称:“与其他来源相比,CPM和填充率非常出色,我们特别感谢Unity专门的支持、客户合作伙伴和Ad-Ops团队,他们发挥了重大作用。”

InnoGames的UA策略多种多样,他们在Facebook、Google、Unity以及电视等广告网络上开展广告活动。 他们尝试了许多实时竞价(RTB)和需求方(DSP)平台,只是为了避免依赖单一来源。 “凭借Unity Ads,我们始终能够获得高质量的用户。 现在凭借推广受众智能定位,我们已进一步提高了已获取用户的质量,这令人印象非常深刻”,Sebastian继续说道。 InnoGames首次将推广受众智能定位应用于其《Warlords of Aternum》UA广告活动,从而专注于具有高7天留存值的游戏玩家。

以更细致的级别定位

推广受众智能定位是Unity Ads的一个功能,它可根据广告商的目标识别可能具有超出应用安装的特定值的游戏玩家。 它可实现单独游戏玩家(而不是群组级别)定位,从而能够提高:

  • 留存率 – 获取玩游戏的时间更可能达到或超过7天的游戏玩家
  • ROAS – 根据游戏玩家在游戏最初7天内的预计支出获取游戏玩家

在发出广告请求时,根据预计的D7留存率或ROAS,Unity的机器学习模型使用实时游戏玩家评估来动态决定对每个玩家的出价。 系统根据实际游戏玩家的行为以及Unity平台上数百万玩家的偏好不断进行更新。

“通过使用Unity的推广受众智能定位解决方案,我们将2018年1月至2019年1月的广告支出缩减了60%”,Performance Networks主管Sebastian Goldt说。 竞价会自动调整,以便使InnoGames根据动态更新的CPI进行支付,从而最大程度提高了他们的ROI。 对于InnoGames而言,另一个重要功能是推广受众智能定位如何减少曾经手动设置的每日优化数。 这使他们的营销经理有更多时间专注于改进其广告活动的创造性方法。

致力于Unity社区

除用户获取外,人才获取对任何工作室而言都是一项重要挑战。 对于InnoGames而言,成为一家Unity商店意味着能够获得大量Unity开发人员,他们可立即为游戏制作做出贡献。 “Unity可使我们非常轻松地对新员工进行入职培训”,首席产品官Armin Busen说。 InnoGames提供内部Unity培训,每年还举办多场Unity聚会,每场聚会都会吸引多达100位参与者。

Armin继续说道:“Unity是我们所有移动游戏的首选实时开发平台。 《Warlords of Aternum》是一个非常好的示例,证明了Unity能够为移动设备带来极具吸引力的战略游戏体验。”

"“凭借Unity Ads,我们始终能够获得高质量的用户。 现在凭借推广受众智能定位,我们已进一步提高了已获取用户的质量,这令人印象非常深刻。”

Sebastian Goldt, Head of Performance Networks, InnoGames

“Unity是我们所有移动游戏的首选实时开发平台。 Warlords of Aternum是一个非常好的示例,证明了Unity能够为移动设备带来极具吸引力的战略游戏体验。”

Armin Busen, Chief Product Officer, InnoGames

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

明白了

Search Unity

Warlords of Aternum hits a bullseye with ad buys

How InnoGames increased user acquisition and ROAS with Audience Pinpointer

InnoGames – A Unity developer case study

How does a developer with an established, successful game continue to acquire high-value users while optimizing ad costs? To maintain and grow a healthy user base, InnoGames has advertised consistently with Unity Ads. And implementing Audience Pinpointer, a powerful Unity Ads feature, into their user-acquisition strategy has significantly improved their results and raised their expectations of being able to consistently acquire high-quality users via Unity Ads.

The project

Use Unity Ads’ Audience Pinpointer for gamer-level ad targeting

The goal

Improve retention rates and increase ROAS

Platforms

Android, iOS

Team members

12 engineers, 9 artists/designers, 5 support personnel

Location

Hamburg, Germany

With a number of award-winning browser and mobile games under its belt, including Forge of Empires, Elvenar, and Warlords of Aternum, InnoGames employs more than 400 from over 30 countries, currently runs seven live games, and maintains App Store and Google Play ratings of 4.7 and 4.5, respectively. To further optimize their user acquisition (UA) strategies and achieve their return on ad spend (ROAS) goals, InnoGames uses Audience Pinpointer to reach gamers with high day-7 (D7) retention rates.

The results:

  • 20% increase in D7 retention rates
  • 60% scaling of ad spend within one year
  • Fewer repetitive optimizations needed from marketing managers

InnoGames was born at night

Along with their friend Michael Zillmer, brothers Eike and Hendrik Klindworth put together Tribal Wars, their first browser game, in 2003. They started the game purely as a fun diversion for long winter nights, but it caught on quickly as they added new worlds. It became a full-time effort and they founded InnoGames in Hamburg in 2007. The company grew steadily, and with the increasing market dominance of mobile games, they made the decision to develop all new mobile titles in Unity.

From here to Aternum

InnoGames acquired Warlords from Wooga Studio in 2017. Using Unity, they continued developing the turn-based strategy (TBS) game as Warlords of Aternum, added massive content updates, optimized battle-balancing, and more. Many Unity features helped streamline development and enhance the game:

  • The C# AssetBundleGraphTool reduces tedious asset importing and bundling tasks, letting their engineers easily build and automate workflows for creating and changing asset settings graphically.
  • Lightmapping precalculates surface brightnesses in Warlords of Aternum’s multiple scenes and it stores results in a lightmap for later use.
  • ScriptableObject is a serializable Unity class that holds references to UI/GameObjects for battle-balancing. It makes it easier to manage changes and debugging by keeping shared data independent from script instances.

To further boost performance, InnoGames regularly leverages the asset cache server, draw call batching, editor scripting, and of course, the Unity Profiler.

Looking forward, the InnoGames team is particularly excited about implementing the new Unity Data-Oriented Technology Stack (DOTS) components – the Entity Component System (ECS), the C# Job System, and the Burst Compiler – which let developers take better advantage of multicore processors on mobile devices.

Stepping up monetization and user acquisition

Most InnoGames offerings monetize purely via IAP, and though the Unity Ads team has been a partner for many years, their efforts with ad monetization are just ramping up. According to Sebastian Goldt, Head of Performance Networks, “The CPM and fill rate are great compared to other sources, and we especially appreciate Unity’s dedicated Support, Client Partners, and Ad-Ops teams – they’ve made a big difference.”

InnoGames’ UA strategy has been diverse, with campaigns running on ad networks like Facebook, Google, and Unity as well as TV. They’ve tried a number of real-time bidding (RTB) and demand-side (DSP) platforms, if only to avoid relying on a single source. “With Unity Ads we have always been able to acquire high-quality users. And now, with Audience Pinpointer, we’ve pushed acquired-user quality even higher, which is quite impressive,” continued Sebastian. InnoGames first applied Audience Pinpointer with its Warlords of Aternum UA campaigns, focusing on gamers with high day-7 retention values.

Targeting at a more granular level

Audience Pinpointer is a Unity Ads feature that identifies gamers likely to have a specific value beyond an app install based on an advertiser’s goals. It enables individual-gamer, rather than cohort-level, targeting to enable better:

  • Retention – acquire gamers who are more likely to play a game for 7 or more days
  • ROAS – acquire gamers based on their predicted spend during their first 7 days in a game

At the moment of an ad request, and based on predicted D7 retention or ROAS, Unity’s machine-learning model uses real-time gamer valuation to dynamically decide on a bid for each individual gamer. The system updates constantly based on actual gamer behavior and the preferences of millions of gamers across Unity’s platform.

“Using Unity’s Audience Pinpointer solution, we scaled our ad spend by 60% from January 2018 to January 2019,” said Sebastian Goldt, Head of Performance Networks. Bidding adjusts automatically so InnoGames pays based on dynamically updated CPIs, maximizing their ROI. Another important feature for InnoGames is how Audience Pinpointer reduces the number of daily optimizations that used to be set manually. This gives their marketing managers more time to focus on creative approaches to improving their campaigns.

Committed to the Unity community

Besides user acquisition, talent acquisition is an important challenge for any studio. For InnoGames, becoming a Unity shop meant gaining access to a rich pool of Unity developers who could immediately contribute to game production. “Unity allows us to onboard new staff very easily,” said Armin Busen, Chief Product Officer. InnoGames offers internal Unity training and also hosts several Unity Meetups per year that typically draw up to 100 participants each.

Armin continued, “Unity is the real-time development platform of choice for all our mobile games. Warlords of Aternum is a good example of the power of Unity to bring a compelling strategy game experience to mobile.”

"With Unity Ads we have always been able to acquire high-quality users. And now, with Audience Pinpointer, we’ve pushed acquired user quality even higher, which is quite impressive.”

Sebastian Goldt, Head of Performance Networks, InnoGames

“Unity is the real-time development platform of choice for all our mobile games. Warlords of Aternum is a good example of the power of Unity to bring a compelling strategy game experience to mobile.”

Armin Busen, Chief Product Officer, InnoGames

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.