Unity 帮助 Mediatonic 将不合理的多人游戏进行整合。

Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout 使用 Unity 制作而成,由 Multiplay 托管

Mediatonic:Unity 案例分析

工作室如何应对多人游戏的技术挑战同时又不影响其顶级开发人员?在经历了制作休闲的单人和双人游戏的长期探索后,Mediatonic 通过 Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout 开始尝试大型多人游戏。该游戏的复杂性达到了工作室前所未有的新级别,工程师们全力以赴,创造了这款最多可同时容纳 60 名玩家的动作冒险产品。

挑战

启用多人托管和匹配,同时尽量减少对游戏开发的影响

平台

PC (Steam)、PlayStation 4(发布时对 Plus 用户免费)

项目工作人员

25+,涵盖工程、艺术、设计和制作领域

公司

230+,位于英国的布莱顿、皇家利明顿温泉市和伦敦;以及西班牙的马德里

Unity + Multiplay 让他们能够专注于游戏

Mediatonic 并没有投入内部资源来解决设置和运营全天候全球游戏托管基础架构的复杂性问题,而是选择 Unity 的 Multiplay 解决方案来担此重任。Mediatonic 技术总监 Stephen Taylor 表示,“我们希望集中精力打造一款人们汇聚在一起的精彩游戏。借助 Unity 开发游戏并通过 Multiplay 托管游戏,我们可专注于自己的兴趣所在。”

结果

  • 通过 Multiplay 在全球范围内进行经济高效的混合云扩展并建立稳定连接
  • 借助 Multiplay 的大量历史游戏数据及其分析专家进行容量规划
  • Unity 的匹配系统与 Multiplay 的混合云集成在一起,可快速实现让合适的玩家参与合适的游戏
  • Unity 面向游戏设计师、艺术家和编码人员的广泛工具带来了更多创造力、更好的协作和更快的结果

混乱不断升级,直到只剩下一名玩家

向 80 年代初期的英国电视游戏节目致敬(在该节目中参赛者参加了疯狂的挑战,例如穿着荒谬的服装赛车和在游泳池中追逐人造鲨鱼),Fall Guys 在网上也表现出类似的疯狂。在多达 60 名玩家的比赛中,你是一位不折不扣的竞争者,疯狂地冲过不断升级的爆炸性混乱和比赛终点障碍,直到只剩一个胜利者。

“在灯光下,MXCTotal Wipeout 的融合是对皇家大逃亡游戏风格的不同理解,”Mediatonic 首席技术官 Adam Fletcher 说。在这款游戏中,玩家在明亮、爆炸性的画面和许多混乱场景中进行竞争。Fall Guys 标语?“忘记你的尊严。”它丰富多彩、轻松有趣,并且完全符合 Mediatonic 创造让人们汇聚在一起的游戏这一使命。 

服务于大型多人游戏环境

设计、构建和运营多人游戏会带来独特的挑战,尤其是存在平台推广等未知变量的情况下。Fletcher 说,“与 PlayStation 的合作(在 PlayStation 4 上发布,对 Plus 用户免费)令人难以置信,因为这意味着许多玩家会在发布时玩 Fall Guys,这显然也带来了许多技术挑战。”

在之前的游戏中,Mediatonic 具有经过时间检验的后端和内容管理系统,用于维护帐户、在游戏之间进行升级和执行类似功能。但是对于 Fall Guys,Taylor 说,“我们需要大规模运行专用服务器。随着游戏在 PlayStation、PlayStation Plus 和 Steam 上启动,我们的玩家人数变成了一个猜谜游戏。那么在发布之后,当玩家人数在圣诞节假期等促销活动和时间激增时,我们如何调整基础架构?在实时多人游戏中,这个问题很难解决。”

来自历史游戏数据的宝贵见解

Multiplay 的跟踪记录及其对海量游戏托管数据的访问极具吸引力。“我们知道 Multiplay 产品极具价值,因此我们立即进行了电话沟通。他们做了很多工作,让我们获得舒适感,这一点真的很棒。甚至在我们没有进行任何商业谈判之前,他们就为我们提供了巨大的支持。”Taylor 说。

Fletcher 表示同意,“Multiplay 根据他们的历史数据和我们的营销计划向我们展示了我们的资源需求。他们计算了服务器负载、容量阈值和第一天的期望值,并以图形方式对所有数据进行了解释,因此对我们来说非常清楚。”当 Multiplay 接管游戏托管服务时,Mediatonic 感到非常高兴:“作为开发者,我们希望专注于游戏体验,Unity Multiplay 可以将我们解放出来去做这些事情。

设计师和艺术家可以尽享流畅的工作流程

Mediatonic 的第一款游戏是用 Flash 和 C++ 编写的,并利用了开源图形库。他们决定构建更少的工具,而开发更多的游戏,因此他们采用了 Unity 平台。多年来,他们已从 Unity 的许多功能受益,但对于 Mediatonic 来说,最重要的功能之一是 Unity 如何实现协作,帮助设计师、艺术家和开发者使用相同的工具和术语进行协作。

“Unity 赋予设计师力量,使他们成为更高效的团队成员,”Taylor 说。“如果设计师想关闭某个行为,只需勾选一个框,而不必重写很多代码,因此只需要 10 秒钟,而不是 30 分钟。”他们无需不断与编码人员互动就可以进行实验,同时增加的迭代次数可显著改进游戏玩法。

快速 3D 模型往返工作流程

为了加快和增强其 3D 建模过程,Mediatonic 采用了 Unity ProBuilder,这已成为其早期游戏设计工作流程的基石。“我们的游戏涉及许多具有独特外观的独特对象。使用 ProBuilder,我们可以将这些对象导出到 Maya 中进行完善,然后再相对轻松地重新导入,”Taylor 说。在原型制作及之后的过程中,他们还利用 ProBuilder 的关卡设计工具和 Asset Store 软件包来快速模拟角色和游戏玩法。

此外,Mediatonic 还大大减少了对动画系统的手动编码,而改用 Unity 动画状态机。“我们有诸多状态及状态之间的过渡,因此,仅观看屏幕上的状态机这个工作量就相当巨大,”Taylor 说。“考虑到动画的复杂性,使用 Unity 所需时间仅为使用任何非 Unity 选项所需时间的五分之一。” 

Taylor 泰勒还指出 Unity 在多个平台上的高级渲染和后期处理功能如何显著提高 Mediatonic 的生产率。“从极高的层面上讲,我们是从与平台无关的视角编写游戏,同时我们了解到,Unity 已经解决了大多数平台问题。例如,Unity 的一大好处是编写着色器的抽象。我们可以编写一次代码,然后将其部署到任何位置,包括不同的管线、平台和图形硬件。”

与 Unity 和 Multiplay 支持团队保持同步

Mediatonic 喜欢轻松访问 Unity 集成成功服务和 Multiplay 团队。“我们会在奇怪的时候遇到问题,但答复很少出现延迟,因此我们可以在 Slack 上与了解我们团队和产品的人交流,”Taylor 说。对 Mediatonic 而言,Unity 支持包是应对意外情况的保障。“过去,我们在临近发布时遇到很多问题,我们能够直接与 Unity 团队合作,制定出非常及时的解决方案。”

由于 Unity 团队对工作室及其产品有深入的了解,因此能够针对仍在管线中的 Unity 功能进行合作开发。“我们准备开发下一款游戏,Unity 询问我们是否想与他们的工程师谈谈,他们正在研究的功能可能会对我们有帮助。同样,一切都围绕协作展开。”

匹配变得简单

与 Unity 和 Multiplay 支持团队保持同步的好处之一是可以尽早使用开发中的技术。对于 Mediatonic 来说,一家工作室在第一次开发这种规模的多人游戏时,能够使用 Unity 的新匹配解决方案(在撰写本文时为 Beta 版)是一件幸事。

Taylor 说,“许多工作室都会花费大量的宝贵时间来制作匹配系统(通常每款新游戏都需要一个匹配系统),因此,能够使用现成的解决方案并使其快速满足我们的需求真是太好了。” 

匹配解决方案与“开箱即用”的 Multiplay 游戏托管集成在一起,因此 Mediatonic 从该系统中受益匪浅,该系统不仅可以根据要求的标准对玩家进行分组,还可以为玩家找到合适的服务器。

联手实现游戏的终极成功

刚刚发布了 Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout,Mediatonic 在每月“新季节”之前的日程便已经排满,包括新化妆品和其他主题。他们期待着尝试 Unity Physics 和语音聊天,可能会使用 Unity 的 Vivox 解决方案。当然,他们最激动人心的计划是保密的。 

Fletcher 总结道,“展望未来,我们很高兴 Unity 和 Multiplay 成为我们团队的一员。我们希望有尽可能多的人能够玩我们的游戏,这意味着在最新平台上使用。Unity 帮助我们保持领先。他们致力于为我们配备最新、最精彩的游戏和托管资源。”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“我们希望集中精力打造一款人们汇聚在一起的精彩游戏。借助 Unity 开发游戏并通过 Multiplay 托管游戏,我们可专注于自己的兴趣所在。”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic
Adam Fletcher, CTO, Mediatonic

“Multiplay 根据他们的历史数据和我们的营销计划向我们展示了我们的资源需求。他们计算了服务器负载、容量阈值和第一天的期望值,并以图形方式对所有数据进行了解释,因此对我们来说非常清楚。”

Adam Fletcher, CTO, Mediatonic
Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“我们知道 Multiplay 产品极具价值,因此我们立即进行了电话沟通。他们做了很多工作,让我们获得舒适感,这一点真的很棒。甚至在我们没有进行任何商业谈判之前,他们就为我们提供了巨大的支持。”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic
Adam Fletcher, CTO, Mediatonic

“展望未来,我们很高兴 Unity 和 Multiplay 成为我们团队的一员。我们希望有尽可能多的人能够玩我们的游戏,这意味着在最新平台上使用。Unity 帮助我们保持领先。他们致力于为我们配备最新、最精彩的游戏和托管资源。”

Adam Fletcher, CTO, Mediatonic
Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“Unity 赋予设计师力量,使他们成为更高效的团队成员,”如果设计师想关闭某个行为,只需勾选一个框,而不必重写很多代码,因此只需要 10 秒钟,而不是 30 分钟。”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic
Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“我们有诸多状态及状态之间的过渡,因此,仅观看屏幕上的状态机这个工作量就相当巨大。考虑到动画的复杂性,使用 Unity 所需时间仅为使用任何非 Unity 选项所需时间的五分之一。”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic
Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“我们会在奇怪的时候遇到问题,但答复很少出现延迟,因此我们可以在 Slack 上与了解我们团队和产品的人交流。过去,我们在临近发布时遇到很多问题,我们能够直接与 Unity 团队合作,制定出非常及时的解决方案。”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic
Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“从极高的层面上讲,我们是从与平台无关的视角编写游戏,同时我们了解到,Unity 已经解决了大多数平台问题。例如,我们可以编写一次 [shaders],然后将其部署到任何位置,包括不同的管线、平台和图形硬件。”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

开始使用

Fall Guys 突出了在 Unity 中构建并通过 Multiplay 运营时可以实现的目标。了解详细信息或取得联系。

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Unity helps bring the masses together in Mediatonic’s absurd multiplayer

Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout is made with Unity and hosted by Multiplay

Mediatonic: A Unity case study

How does a studio address the technical challenges of multiplayer gaming without sidelining their top developers? After a long history producing casual single- and two-player games, Mediatonic went massively multiplayer with Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout. The game reached a new level of complexity for the studio, and its engineers had their hands full creating this action-adventure offering for up to 60 players at a time.

The challenge

To enable multiplayer hosting and matchmaking with minimal impact on gameplay development

Platforms

PC (Steam), PlayStation 4 (free to Plus subscribers at launch)

Project staff

25+ across engineering, art, design, and production

Company

230+ in Brighton, Leamington Spa, and London, UK; and Madrid, Spain

Unity + Multiplay keep them laser-focused on the game

Rather than devote internal resources to solving the complexities of setting up and operating their own 24/7/365 global game-hosting infrastructure, Mediatonic chose Unity’s Multiplay solution to carry the load. According to Stephen Taylor, Mediatonic’s technical director, “We want to focus our effort on building a great game that brings people together. With Unity for game development and Multiplay hosting the game, we’re focused on the fun.”

The results

  • Cost-effective hybrid cloud scaling and stable connections worldwide with Multiplay
  • Capacity planning thanks to Multiplay’s massive amount of historical game data and their analytics experts
  • Unity’s Matchmaking integrated with Multiplay's Hybrid Cloud gets the right players in the right game fast
  • More creativity, better collaborations, and faster results with Unity’s wide-ranging tools for game designers, artists, and coders

Escalating chaos till only one player remains

With a nod to an early 80s, British TV game show where contestants competed in crazy challenges like racing in ridiculous costumes and chasing artificial sharks in swimming pools, Fall Guys takes similar zaniness online. In matches of up to 60 players, you’re a roly-poly contestant madly dashing through escalating rounds of explosive mayhem and race-ending obstacles until a single victor remains.

“It’s a different take on the battle royale genre, under the lights, where MXC meets Total Wipeout,” says Mediatonic CTO Adam Fletcher. It’s a game where players compete amidst bright, explosive graphics and lots of messes. The Fall Guys tagline? “Leave your dignity at the door.” It’s colorful, slapdash and fun, and in line with Mediatonic’s mission to create games that bring – and keep – people together. 

Serving up a massively multiplayer environment

Designing, building, and operating a multiplayer game brings unique challenges, especially if there’s an unknown variable like a platform promotion. According to Fletcher, “The partnership with PlayStation, launching on PlayStation 4 where it will be free for Plus subscribers, has been incredible because it means so many players got to play Fall Guys on launch, but that obviously also brings a number of technical challenges.”

For its previous games, Mediatonic has a time-tested backend and content-management system to maintain accounts, level up between games, and perform similar functions. But for Fall Guys, Taylor says, “We needed to run dedicated servers at scale. With the game launching on PlayStation, PlayStation Plus, and Steam, our player count was a guessing game. Then, beyond launch, how do we adjust our infrastructure as the player base spikes around special promotions and times like Christmas holidays? This is not easy to solve for a real-time multiplayer.”

Invaluable insight from historical game data

Multiplay’s track record and their access to massive amounts of game hosting data were appealing. “We knew there was a lot of value on the table with the Multiplay offering, so we jumped on a call right away. The fact they put in a lot of legwork to get us to a point where we felt comfortable was really great. Their support was overwhelming, even before we entered into any business negotiations,” remarks Taylor.

Fletcher concurs, “Multiplay showed us what we’d need for resources based on their historical data and our marketing plans. They calculated server loads, capacity thresholds, and day-one expectations, and they interpreted all the data graphically so it was very clear for us.” Mediatonic was very happy when Multiplay took on the game hosting: “As developers, we want to focus on the game experience, and that’s what Unity Multiplay frees us to do.”

Designers and artists enjoy the smooth workflows

Mediatonic’s first games were written in Flash and C++ and leveraged open-source graphics libraries. Deciding to build fewer tools but more games, they adopted the Unity platform. Over the years, they’ve benefited from a number of Unity capabilities, but for Mediatonic, one of the most important has been how Unity enables collaboration, helping designers, artists, and developers work together with the same tools and terminology.

“Unity empowers our designers, making them much more effective members of the team,” according to Taylor. “If a designer wants to turn off a behavior, it’s just a tick box instead of rewriting a lot of code – it’s 10 seconds instead of 30 minutes.” They can experiment without needing to constantly interact with the coders, and the increased number of iterations significantly improves the gameplay.

Quick 3D model round-tripping

To speed and enhance their 3D modeling, Mediatonic uses Unity ProBuilder and it’s become a cornerstone of their early game-design workflows. “Our gameplay involves lots of distinct objects that have unique looks. With ProBuilder, we can export them to Maya for polishing, then reimport them relatively effortlessly,” says Taylor. During prototyping and beyond, they also take advantage of ProBuilder’s level design tools and Asset Store packages to rapidly mock up characters and gameplay.

Additionally, Mediatonic is doing a lot less hand-coding of animation systems and is instead making use of Unity Animation State Machines. “We have a ton of states and transitions between them, so just looking at the state machine on the screen is overwhelming,” adds Taylor. “With the complexity of our animations, using Unity takes a fifth of the time over any non-Unity option.” 

Taylor also noted how Unity’s advanced rendering and post-processing for multiple platforms have increased Mediatonic’s productivity significantly. “From a very high level we’re writing the game from a platform-agnostic perspective, knowing that Unity has solved most platform issues. For example, a big Unity benefit for us is the abstraction of writing shaders. We can write them once and deploy them everywhere, including for different pipelines, platforms, and graphics hardware.”

In sync with Unity and Multiplay support teams

Mediatonic likes having easy access to both Unity Integrated Success Services and the Multiplay team. “We have problems at weird times, but there’s rarely a delay getting a response, so we chat on Slack with people who know our team and our product,” says Taylor. The Unity support package is, for Mediatonic, insurance against the unexpected. “In the past we’ve had issues crop up quite close to launch and have been able to work directly with the Unity team to put together a very timely solution.”

And because the Unity team has such a deep working knowledge of the studio and its products, they’re able to collaborate with development on Unity features that are still in the pipeline. “We’ll be working on something for our next game, and Unity will ask if we want to talk to their engineers who are working on a capability that might help out. Again, it’s all about collaboration.”

Matchmaking made easy

One of the benefits of syncing with the Unity and Multiplay support teams is early access to technology in development. For Mediatonic, a studio developing a multiplayer game of this size for the first time, being able to use Unity’s new Matchmaking solution (in beta at time of writing) was a blessing.

Taylor notes, “Many studios spend a lot of precious development time building a matchmaker – often for each new game – so being able to use an off-the-shelf solution and adapt it quickly to meet our needs has been great.” 

The Matchmaking solution integrates with Multiplay’s game hosting “out of the box” so Mediatonic benefits from a system that not only groups players based on the required criteria, but finds them the right server too.

Teaming up for ultimate game success

Having just launched Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout, Mediatonic has a full schedule ahead of monthly “new seasons” with fresh cosmetics and themes. They’re looking forward to trying out Unity Physics as well as voice chat, possibly using Unity’s Vivox solution. And of course, they’re keeping their most exciting plans secret. 

Fletcher concludes, “Moving forward, we’re happy to have Unity and Multiplay as part of our team. We want our games to be available to as many people as possible, which means being on the latest platforms. Unity helps us stay ahead of that curve. And they work hard to keep us well equipped with the latest and greatest gaming and hosting resources.”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“We want to focus our effort on building a great game that brings people together. With Unity for game development and Multiplay hosting the game, we’re focused on the fun.”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic
Adam Fletcher, CTO, Mediatonic

“Multiplay showed us what we’d need for resources based on their historical data and our marketing plans. They calculated server loads, capacity thresholds, day-one expectations, and they interpreted all the data graphically so it was very clear for us.”

Adam Fletcher, CTO, Mediatonic
Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“We knew there was a lot of value on the table with the Multiplay offering, so we jumped on a call right away. The fact they put in a lot of legwork to get us to a point where we felt comfortable was really great. Their support was overwhelming, even before we entered into any business negotiations.”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic
Adam Fletcher, CTO, Mediatonic

“Moving forward, we’re happy to have Unity and Multiplay as part of our team. We want our games to be available to as many people as possible, which means being on the latest platforms. Unity helps us stay ahead of that curve. And they work hard to keep us well equipped with the latest and greatest gaming and hosting resources.”

Adam Fletcher, CTO, Mediatonic
Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“Unity empowers our designers, making them much more effective members of the team. If a designer wants to turn off a behavior, it’s just a tick box instead of rewriting a lot of code – it’s 10 seconds instead of 30 minutes.”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic
Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“We have a ton of states and transitions between them, so just looking at the state machine on the screen is overwhelming. With the complexity of our animations, using Unity takes a fifth of the time over any non-Unity option.”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic
Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“We have problems at weird times, but there’s rarely a delay getting a response, so we chat on Slack with people who know our team and our product. In the past we’ve had issues crop up quite close to launch and have been able to work directly with the Unity team to put together a very timely solution.”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic
Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

“From a very high level we’re writing the game from a platform-agnostic perspective, knowing that Unity has solved most platform issues. For example … we can write [shaders] once and deploy them everywhere, including for different pipelines, platforms, and graphics hardware.”

Stephen Taylor, Technical Director, Mediatonic

Get started

Fall Guys highlights what is achievable when you build in Unity and operate with Multiplay. Learn more or get in touch.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it