程序员版本控制

更智能的开发始于正确的工具链。使用适用于所有人的版本控制工具来构建高效的开发流程 - 这样您就可以专注于创建干净的代码。

使用此全面的最佳实践指南掌握版本控制并设置您的项目。 获取详细信息

节约最宝贵的资源:时间

借助 Unity DevOps 解决方案,您可以专注于重要的事情:承担风险、尝试、创新和创造。开始使用功能强大的版本控制解决方案,以弥合程序员和美术师工作流程之间的差距。

《Lost in Random》宣传画

Zoink! 开发的《Lost in Random》

为程序员带来的优势

Plastic SCM 大文件
大型二进制文件不在话下

Plastic 处理大文件的签入和更新,比其他 VCS 快 5-8 倍,轻松处理大量模型、材质和网格。规模越大, Plastic 的性能就越好。

节省时间并减少任务切换
节省时间并减少任务切换

SemanticMerge 是 Unity 的代码感知合并技术,支持 C#、Java、VB.NET 等。通过分析语法,它可以自动完成 16–30% 的代码合并(通常需要手动合并)。

Plastic SCM 分支资源管理器
了解代码更改历史

Plastic 的分支资源管理器可视化代码仓库的分支和合并历史。可对单个文件或目录使用此视图,来探索历史并了解代码更改。

Unity 版本控制中的工作区
针对非开发者的独立工作流程

不同的工作流程,同一代码仓库。美术师可以在一个简化、直观的工作空间中工作,或者在没有面向编码人员功能的 Unity 中工作 – 这样您就可以减少故障排除时间。

主要特性

Unity 的 DevOps 解决方案为您提供了广泛的功能,同时保持精简。列表中缺少了什么?请浏览我们的 DevOps 路线图

使用 Plastic SCM 创建代码仓库

支持集中式和分布式工作方式

有些团队需要分布式版本控制系统 (DVCS) 的强大分支和合并带来的优势,但不希望在每台机器上都有一个代码仓库(或多个代码仓库)的克隆。Plastic SCM 允许团队选择进行集中式还是分布式工作。您甚至可以同时选择两者,一些团队成员采用集中式,而另一些则同时采用分布式。

使用 Unity Plastic SCM 创建分支

响应式分支

任何成功的分支和合并模式都依赖于快速创建分支。即使对于包含数十万个文件的代码库,这个过程也应在一秒内完成。使用 Plastic SCM,文件数永远不会成为创建分支的障碍。

与其他版本控制系统不同,Plastic SCM 创建新分支并不依赖对现有分支的复制。相反,新分支从给定的变更集继承其属性。由于此过程与代码库中的文件数量无关,花费的时间是固定的(几毫秒) – 即使对于一个分支上超过 500,000 个文件的大型项目也是如此。

使用 Unity 版本控制进行 3 路合并

三路合并

Plastic SCM 的内置三路合并工具 Xmerge 具有与语言无关的重构支持,让您可以在短时间内解决最复杂的合并冲突。您还可以轻松插入第三方工具,如 Araxis、BeyondCompare 等。

了解更多详细信息
Unity 与 Git 版本控制

利用 Git 生态系统

Git 生态系统中的任何工具都可以使用其原生 Git 功能立即连接到 Plastic。这样,使用 Plastic 的团队可从专为 Git 开发的所有 DevOps、CI 和项目管理集成中受益。

Plastic SCM 的 GitSync 提供了 Plastic 与 Git 之间的双向同步。Plastic 与 Git 网络协议进行通信,以对包进行推送和拉取,以及合并到远程 Git 服务器(反之亦然)。这允许您将 Plastic GUI 用作 Git 客户端:因为 Plastic 的结构有些类似于 Git,所以您可以在它们之间交换所有变更集、分支和合并。

GitServer 对应于 GitSync 的服务器端。它允许 Plastic SCM 使用 Git 协议(支持 Git 和 HTTP)为代码仓库提供服务,从而关闭了 Git 互操作性循环。

Unity 版本控制的安全权限

访问控制、加密和安全

Plastic SCM 具有一系列安全功能来保护您的源代码。设置代码仓库、分支、标签和路径的权限,不仅可以保护代码库,还可以在团队中实施策略和安全最佳实践。

了解更多详细信息
Unity 编辑器与 Plastic SCM

引擎内工作

Plastic SCM 针对各种游戏开发场景进行了优化,同时支持 Unreal 和 Unity。使用 Unity 创作?直接从 Unity Package Manager 获取 Version Control 包。通过深度嵌入、灵活且可靠的版本控制解决方案,让每个人都能轻松理解和使用,享受真正的项目集体所有权。

Visual Studio CodeLens Unity 版本控制

Visual Studio 的 CodeLens

Codelens 现在作为 Visual Studio 2022 Plastic SCM 扩展的一部分安装。当您在方法、属性或类型上方创建 Plastic SCM 数据点时,它将显示该元素中最多 10 个最近更改的列表。这利用了 Plastic SCM 中的语义技术,仅显示文件中影响带批注元素的更改。请记住,此功能只会显示在 Plastic SCM 工作区的语义可用文件(C#、C、C++)中。

使之成为现实

《Goodbye Volcano High》

由工作者拥有的合作型工作室如何让美术师和工程师在制作过程中保持一致?阅读 KO_OP 如何使用 Plastic SCM 推动协作。

《Return to Nangrim》

了解 Sycoforge 如何利用 Unity 工具来管理不断扩大的项目作用域及整合的玩家反馈,从而实现快速、迭代的游戏开发。

《Subnautica》

了解 Unknown Worlds 为什么选择 Unity 和 Plastic SCM 来帮助在多个平台上实现《Subnautica》

为您的项目设置 Unity 版本控制

想快速启动和运行?这些操作步骤可以帮助您在几分钟内为项目设置 Unity 的版本控制。

常见问题解答

是否与 JIRA 或其他工具集成?

会的。Plastic 与各种问题跟踪和项目管理工具集成,包括 JIRA、Rally、Bugzilla、Polarion 等。添加新工具并不难,随时欢迎联系我们,即使是关于内部工具。

哪些 IDE 具有集成功能?

Plastic 支持常见的集成开发环境 (IDE),例如 Visual Studio Code、Eclipse、IntelliJ、Android Studio 等。使用任何其他 IDE 的开发者可以利用透明 SCM,它可以检测工作区中的任何更改,包括移动和重命名的文件和目录。

支持哪些 CI 和 DevOps 工具?

您可以将 Plastic 与构建和部署生态系统中的各种工具集成,以支持您的 DevOps 生命周期。Unity 版本控制系统支持 Unity Cloud Build、Jenkins、TeamCity、Atlassian Bamboo、Maven 和 CruiseControl。

支持哪些协作工具?

借助 Unity 的版本控制系统,您可以为 Slack、Discord 和 Webhooks 等工具设置触发器和通知。

我可以导入版本控制历史记录吗?

Plastic 可以使用快速导入格式(Git 创建的事实标准)导入任何版本控制历史记录。任何可以导入 Git 的内容都可以导入 Plastic。我们已经帮助客户使用这种方法从 Hg、Subversion、CVS 和其他设置迁移。Plastic 还能够导出为快速导出格式(GitSync 除外),这意味着如果您根据需要离开 Plastic。

我可以连接到 Git 或 Perforce 吗?

您将能够使 Plastic 代码仓库与 Git 和 Perforce 保持同步,还可以使用快速导入/导出事实标准进行导入和导出。要了解更多关于 Git 和 GitSync 的信息,请参阅此处Perforce 和 P4 同步。

是否支持 Windows、Linux 和 MacOS?

Plastic SCM 是一个多平台版本控制系统。您可以在 Windows、Linux 和 macOS 上运行客户端和服务器,以及适用于其他 Unix 平台的解决方案。Plastic SCM 的关键特性之一是性能,对于三个主要平台(Windows、Linux 和 Mac)即使在重负载下也能可靠运行。

我可以使用 Plastic 云版本进行签入和合并吗?

是的,您可以直接签入并合并到云。

Plastic SCM 的用户有哪些?

从事 3D 或游戏开发项目的组织和工作室依靠 Plastic SCM 促进美术师工作流程和处理大型文件和二进制文件的能力。例如 KO OP – 使用 Plastic 来帮助美术师和工程师保持一致。进一步阅读此案例分析

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Version control for programmers

Smarter development starts with the right toolchain. Build an efficient development pipeline with version control tools that work for everyone – so you can concentrate on creating clean code.

Master version control and set up your project with this thorough best practices guide. Get the details

Get back your most precious resource: time

With Unity DevOps solutions in place, you can focus on what’s important: taking risks, experimenting, innovating, and creating. Get started with a powerful version control solution built to bridge the gap between programmer and artist workflows.

Lost in Random promo art

Lost in Random by Zoink!

Benefits for programmers

Plastic SCM large files
Large binary files are no big deal

Plastic handles checkin and update of huge files 5–8x faster than other VCS, easily handling lots of models, materials, and meshes. The more you scale, the better Plastic performs.

Save time and minimize task-switching
Save time and minimize task-switching

SemanticMerge is Unity’s code-aware merge tech, supporting C#, Java, VB.NET and more. By analyzing syntax, it automates  16–30% of code merges normally requiring a manual merge.

Plastic SCM Branch Explorer
Understand code change history

Plastic’s branch explorer visualizes your repo’s branch and merge history. Use this view on a single file or directory to explore the history and understand code changes.

Workspaces in Unity Version control
Separate workflows for non-developers

Different workflows, same repo. Artists can work in a simplified, intuitive workspace, or inside Unity with no coder-oriented features – so you spend less time troubleshooting.

Key features

Unity’s DevOps solutions give you a wide range of functionality while keeping things simple. See something missing from the list? Check out our DevOps roadmap.

Creating a repository with Plastic SCM

Work centralized or distributed

Some teams need to benefit from the powerful branching and merging of a distributed version control system (DVCS) but don’t want to have a clone of the repository (or repositories) on each machine. Plastic SCM allows teams to choose whether they want to work centralized or distributed. You can even choose both, with some team members using centralized and others distributed concurrently.

Creating a branch with Unity Plastic SCM

Responsive branching

Any successful branching and merging pattern relies on creating branches quickly. This process should take less than a second, even for codebases containing hundreds of thousands of files. With Plastic SCM, file count is never a blocker for branch creation.

Unlike other version control systems, Plastic SCM doesn’t rely on copying existing branches to create new ones. Instead, new branches inherit their properties from a given changeset. Because this process isn’t tied to the number of files in the codebase, it always takes the same amount of time (a few milliseconds) – even for massive projects with an excess of 500,000 files on a branch.

3 Way Merge with Unity Version Control

Three-way merging

Plastic SCM’s built-in three-way merge tool, Xmerge, features language-agnostic refactoring support, allowing you to resolve even the most complex merge conflicts in short order. You can also easily plug in third-party tools like Araxis, BeyondCompare, and others.

Get more details
Unity with Git version control

Take advantage of the Git ecosystem

Any tool in Git’s ecosystem can connect to Plastic instantly using their native Git functionalities. Teams using Plastic can then benefit from all the DevOps, CI, and project management integrations developed specifically for Git.

Plastic SCM’s GitSync provides bidirectional synchronization between Plastic and Git. Plastic communicates with Git network protocols to push and pull packages and merges to a remote Git server (and the reverse). This allows you to use the Plastic GUI as a Git client: Because Plastic is structured somewhat similarly to Git, you can exchange all changesets, branches, and merges between them.

GitServer is GitSync’s server-side counterpart. It closes the Git interoperability loop by allowing Plastic SCM to serve repositories using Git protocols (Git and HTTP supported).

Security permissions with Unity Version Control

Access control, encryption, and security

Plastic SCM has a range of security features to protect your source code. Set permissions to repositories, branches, labels, and paths to not only secure the codebase but also enforce policies and security best practices within your team.

Get more detail
Unity editor with Plastic SCM

Work in-engine

Plastic SCM is optimized for a variety of gamedev scenarios and supports both Unreal and Unity. Creating with Unity? Get the Version Control Package directly from the Unity Package Manager. Enjoy true collective project ownership with a deeply embedded, flexible, and reliable version control solution that everyone can easily understand and use.

Visual Studio CodeLens Unity version control

Visual Studio with CodeLens

Codelens is now installed as a part of Visual Studio 2022 Plastic SCM extension. When you create the Plastic SCM data point above a method, property, or type, it will display a list of up to 10 of the last changes in that element. This leverages the semantic technologies in Plastic SCM, showing only changes in the file that affect the annotated element. Keep in mind that this feature will only show up in semantic-available files (C#, C, C++) in a Plastic SCM Workspace.

Games making it happen

Goodbye Volcano High

How does a worker-owned cooperative studio get both artists and engineers aligned on a production process? Read how KO_OP powered collaboration with Plastic SCM.

Return to Nangrim

Read how Sycoforge leveraged Unity tools to manage the growing scope of their project and integrated player feedback for rapid, iterative game development.

Subnautica

Find out why Unknown Worlds chose Unity and Plastic SCM to help bring Subnautica to life on multiple platforms.

Set up Unity version control for your project

Want to get up and running quickly? These instructions can help you set up Unity’s version control for your project in just a few minutes.

Frequently asked questions

Does this integrate with JIRA or other tools?

Yes. Plastic has integrations with various issue tracking and project management tools, including JIRA, Rally, Bugzilla, Polarion, and more. Adding a new tool isn’t difficult, so don't hesitate to contact us, even if it's about an in-house tool.

What IDEs have integrations?

Plastic supports common Integrated Development Environments (IDEs) such as Visual Studio Code, Eclipse, IntelliJ, Android Studio, and more. Developers using any other IDE can take advantage of transparent SCM, which detects any changes in your workspace, including files and directories being moved and renamed.

What CI and DevOps tools are supported?

You can integrate Plastic with a variety of tools inside your build and deploy ecosystem to support your DevOps lifecycle. The Unity version control system supports Unity Cloud Build, Jenkins, TeamCity, Atlassian Bamboo, Maven, and CruiseControl.

What collaboration tools are supported?

With Unity’s version control system, you can set up triggers and notifications for tools such as Slack, Discord, and Webhooks.

Can I import version control history?

Plastic can import any version control history using the fast-import format, the de facto standard created by Git. Anything that can be imported into Git can be imported into Plastic. We have helped customers to migrate from Hg, Subversion, CVS, and other set-ups using this method. Plastic is also capable of exporting to fast-export format (besides GitSync), which means that if you ever need to move away from Plastic, you can.

Can I connect to Git or Perforce?

You'll be able to keep Plastic repositories in sync with Git and Perforce and also import and export using the fast-import/export de facto standard. Read more aboutGit and GitSync here or Perforce and P4 Sync here.

Are Windows, Linux, and MacOS supported?

Plastic SCM is a multiplatform version control system. You can run clients and servers on Windows, Linux and macOS, and there are solutions for other Unix platforms. One of the key features in Plastic SCM is performance, and the three main platforms (Windows, Linux and Mac) perform reliably even under heavy loads.

Can I check in and merge with Plastic Cloud Edition?

Yes, you can check in and merge directly to the cloud.

Who uses Plastic SCM?

Organizations and studios working on 3D or game development projects rely on Plastic SCM for its ability to facilitate artist workflows and handle large files and binaries. One such example is KO OP – who used Plastic to help get artists and engineers aligned. Read more in this case study.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it