实时电影制作

实时技术变革已经走进了CG animation、previs、VFX等公司,使导演和艺术家能够完成更接近他们创作愿景的叙事项目。了解更多关于实时电影制作的信息。

Hear VFX Supervisor Chris Harvey explain real-time creation

Hear VFX Supervisor Chris Harvey explain real-time creation

实时的含义是什么?

简单地说,使用实时引擎意味着你的项目在开始生产时就可以“实时呈现”。在创作时,你可以通过更改角色、灯光和相机位置等设置进行试验,并且无需等待任何渲染农场即可看到内容的实际样子。集中管理,实时呈现,上下文可见。

这种底层强大的技术源自游戏行业:游戏必须实时呈现才能让引擎响应(以毫秒计)玩家对游戏的操控。Unity 是全球使用最广泛的游戏开发平台,这也使其成为出于其他目的(不管是线性媒体、汽车设计、建筑还是太空研究)而希望制作实时 3D 内容的用户的最佳选择。

变革已经发生了

不久前,一些有影响力的人曾预测一场重大变革即将到来。现在,随着众多顶级工作室和行业领导者开始采用和试用大小不一的实时在线项目,情况开始变得明朗,这并不是一个遥远的梦想或可能的趋势,而是电影制作的必然未来。

历史上,不管是由于硬件方面的技术限制,改变高度定制化管线和已经得到多年优化的工作流程有困难,还是由于在尝试替代解决方案方面缺乏组织弹性,总之,制作 CG 内容会遇到太多不必要的障碍。幸运地是,我们生活在一个史无前例的技术发展时代。在这个时代,任何人随时随地都可以制作这种内容,而不会受到速度缓慢,费时费力且常常让人望而生畏的离线流程难题的影响。现在唯一的障碍是需要学习这种变化会对你的工作室有何影响以及你是否有实现飞跃的愿望。

Forbes 的 Charlie Fink 在 2017 年写道:“Unity 和好莱坞正在发生巨变,这场变革将在未来几年对媒体制作产业造成显著影响,因为游戏开发技术逐渐开始取代已有上百年历史的叙事娱乐制作技术。我们知道,这将彻底颠覆电影和电视产业。善加利用这一不断深化的变革将成为影片制作人、电影摄影师、设计师和技术人员千载难逢的机遇... 如果电影学院不教学生如何利用 Unity 来构建场景和制作电影,他们就是在误人子弟。” (阅读全文:How Unity is disrupting film and TV production(Unity 如何颠覆电影和电视制作产业)。)

不断前进

与“传递式”或“序列化”方法不同,实时工作意味着从开始帧一直到末尾帧,所有人可以一起迭代。

CG 动画的新工作流程

使用实时平台作为管线的创意中心的最大不同之一是所有部门可以立即同时开始工作和协作[上图 (1)]。这本身就可以带来许多宝贵的优势:

  • 以前你所认为的“前期制作”现在变成了“实际制作”。由于项目从一开始就是实时制作的,所以你可以在迭代时删除临时动画和镜头,在准备好之后使用更新或改进的版本来替换[上图 (2)],而不需要丢弃全部工作或全部预先可视化,然后在新制作阶段从头开始工作。将一些预先可视化直接用在最终镜头中的情况也很常见,因为它们经常自始至终都可以作为有用的创作基础。某些导演甚至喜欢不用剧本,直接开始创作,因为先构建好一个场景,然后找到有机结合的合适镜头,这样创作出来的作品往往更加自然流畅,更容易引起共鸣。
  • 审核周期、反馈回路和迭代速度的提升十分明显,生产力倍增 — 让你只需投入以往的一半时间就能达成目标。导演随时可以查看场景进度,而不必在艺术家完成工作后保留几天或者甚至几周的时间(当渲染准备好进行审核时)[上图 (3)]。这意味着反馈本身也是实时的。与之类似,艺术家也拥有了最新的方向和持续的能力来确保他们符合领导团队的创意愿景。迭代之间没有时间延迟,制定决策更加及时,这意味着可以减少浪费宝贵的资源,以免在错误的创作路径上越走越远。
  • 零风险实验。我们先举个例子:当编剧/导演 Neill Blomkamp(《第九区》、《极乐世界》)和视觉特效总监 Chris Harvey(《创空间》、《猎杀本·拉登》)制作“Adam 2: The Mirror”时,一个特殊的户外场景设在正午时分,当时光线不佳,使他们无法得到想要的场景画面。最后,Harvey 给 Blomkamp 出了一个主意:给他一个小时,他会带几个备选方案回来。随后,他跟他的灯光团队一起在一天的四个时间点(2:00、4:00 等)分别拍摄了这一 30 秒钟的短片。当他回来后,和 Neill 一起确定选择拍摄得最好的一个短片,然后继续完成最终版本。如果没有实时技术,可能永远也无法实现这样的结果,因为你可能要花很多时间来制作无用的版本,最终会导致成本极其高昂。在 Unity 中,你可以免费、快速而灵活对所有方面进行试验,一顿午饭的时间就可以完成。

最后,即使创作方向发生变化,项目也会不断向前推进[上图 (4)]。与传统工作流程不同,如果要进行明显的更改(例如改变摄像机角度或切换角色),这可能会让你回到原点重置布局或从头开始制作,而在实时制作中,你可以即时调整,不会影响各个部门的工作进度。如果你要从一个不同的角度来进行拍摄,只需改变一下环境中道具的大小,或者只需重新审视一下作品的整体外观和感受。一切都可以在实时 3D 中完成,防止出现连锁反应,也不需要再返回原点。每一天的工作,每一个制定的决策都可以推动你和你的团队向最终目标和最后一帧前进。

实时工作对团队的积极影响

实时创作团队与非实时创作团队的另一个明显不同点在于,如果艺术家可以精诚合作、积极参与,并且在整个团队中对项目的归属感更强烈的话,那么对整体文化的促进作用是完全不同的。这些优势超越了个人的范畴,可以让整个工作室的创造性满意度得到极大的提升:

  • 过去使用的更倾向于工厂生产线模式的传递式方法现在变成了圆桌式开放席位模式。 在离线工作流程中,艺术家感觉孤立、孤单或不被重视的情况并不少见。陷入孤岛会让人失去激情、欲望或荣誉感,而积极地跟队友合作,大胆设想,集体讨论或自由发言的效果完全不同。因为在实时工作流程项目中不再有等级限制,每一位艺术家、技术总监、专家、部门领导或执行制片人都可以发挥作用,为创意价值添砖加瓦,在需要解决额外难题或进行创造性探讨时,他们随时随地都可以提出各自不同的观点,充分利用自己的经验。
  • 过去被时间和流程分离的“上游”和“下游”技能人员现在可以同步工作,甚至在一起协作。比方说,动画师可以跟照明艺术家协作[上图 (5)] ,看看一个角色的不同艺术方向在整个场景设置下的效果如何。如果艺术家彼此可以弥补(并称赞!)相互的工作,最终自然就会产生质量更好的产品 — 更重要的是,这样可以营造更健康的专业合作关系和更深入的感情联系。不仅如此,它还可以提高发生“意外惊喜”或神奇时刻的可能性,例如当偶然的创造力汇聚到一起,一个全新的故事元素或难得一遇的机会浮现时,一定会让人无法抗拒。
  • 艺术家可以快速而轻松的推销自己的想法,他们会产生赋权感。 艺术家为何可以为他们自己或他人的直觉和概念进行试验有两点特别原因,而这在传统离线工作流程中是无法想象的。第一点,由于管线中的创意中心,Unity 可以让艺术家将他们的资源一路添加到上下文场景中,甚至使用叙事工具制作微作品,这样更容易为导演描绘画面。第二点,由于任务需要消耗的时间大大减少(因为他们不需要依赖技术人员提供协助),他们这样做也不会影响日常工作或里程碑;他们可以推销更多创意,从而为导演提供更多视角,同时也让他或她的艺术天分贡献更多价值。
  • 个人可以在更全面的完整故事上下文中查看他们的工作会产生的影响。这样会形成一个全新的工作环境:一个在生产进展过程中更加团结、积极和更有意义的环境。当导演对艺术家提出要求时,艺术家不会再在一知半解的情况下不假思索地去执行,因为艺术家也可以查看工作并理解各个部分拼接在一起(或不拼接在一起)的原因和方式。如果故事是由一个充满活力的创意社区、由富有激情的团队成员创作的,那么即便是观众也可以看出来。

从渲染农场释放自己

在实时环境中工作的最强大的方面之一是,当你确定已经达到目标或到了交付故事的截止时间时,只需轻轻一点就可以完成最终渲染。Unity 引擎现在不仅可以产生符合创意愿景的审美风格的适当视觉保真度,而且帧记录功能可以让你用各种自己需要的格式立即捕获画面(甚至高达 8K)。

以前导演习惯了单个帧就需要几分钟(如果不是几小时)来渲染的概念世界,现在,点击一下“记录”,甚至一杯咖啡都没有喝完,就看到编辑器弹出了整个短片,这样的世界看起来有点过于梦幻。这就是实时影片制作的强大之处,在内容创作的未来世界,技术将不再是限制故事作者的因素,反而会产生强大的支持力。在这个世界中,唯一的限制将是创造力和想象力。世界本该如此。

还要注意一点,对于喜欢在最终渲染解决方案中保留自定义或专有离线渲染的工作室,Unity 也提供了 FBX 导出功能来导出几何体并记录摄像机和动画。编辑器是高度定制化的,并且可以通过多种方式连接到渲染管线。但是,在推进到最终渲染的过程中,随时可以利用实时工作流程,直到开始最终渲染,这让团队可以在过程中从上述所有机会获益。

“所有工作随时都可以实时进行。每一位艺术家都可以看到整体效果。与孤立工作相比,创意决策更加完整而灵活。”

Chris Harvey, VFX Supervisor, OATS

准备好加入这场实时变革了吗?

立即与我们联系,了解Unity如何帮助您简化制。

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Real-Time Filmmaking, Explained

The real-time revolution has arrived in CG animation, previs, VFX, and more, empowering directors and artists to complete storytelling projects that look closer to their creative vision. Read on to learn how it works.

Hear VFX Supervisor Chris Harvey explain real-time creation

What does real-time mean?

At its simplest, using a real-time engine means your project is ‘live’ as soon as you start production. You can experiment by making changes to things like characters, lighting, and camera positions as you work, and you don’t need to wait for any render farm to see what your content looks like. It’s all together, all in context—all the time.

The powerful technology beneath this originated from the gaming industry: games have to be rendered in real-time in order for the engine to respond (in milliseconds) to how a player is controlling the game. Unity is the most widely-used game development platform in the world, which also makes it the best choice for anyone wanting to harness real-time 3D content creation for other purposes, whether linear media, automotive design, architecture, or even space research.

  • The real-time revolution
  • How it looks
  • A new and improved workflow
  • Collaborative culture
  • Final render

The revolution is already here

It wasn’t long ago that influencers began predicting a fundamental change was coming. Now, with so many of the top studios and industry leaders already adopting and experimenting with real-time on projects big and small, it’s clear that this isn’t a distant dream or possible trend. This is the future of filmmaking.

Historically, there have been too many unnecessary barriers to creating CG content, whether due to technical limitations in hardware, the difficulty of changing highly customized pipelines and workflows already optimized over many years, or lack of organizational flexibility to try out alternative solutions. Fortunately, we have reached an unprecedented stage of technological advancement where anyone, anywhere can create this content without the slow, laborious, and often intimidating challenges of offline processes. The only barrier now is learning what this shift means for your studio—and the willingness to make the leap.

Forbes’ Charlie Fink wrote in 2017: “There is something very important going on with Unity and Hollywood that is going to impact media production dramatically in the coming years, as game production techniques begin to supplant hundred-year-old narrative entertainment production techniques. This is going to deeply disrupt the film and television industry as we know it. Filmmakers, cinematographers, designers, and technicians have a great opportunity to harness this growing disruption... Film schools not teaching their students how to build worlds and make movies with Unity are committing malpractice.” (Read the full article on how Unity is disrupting film and TV production.)

Always moving forward

Unlike the ‘handoff’ or ‘sequential’ approach, working in real-time means everyone iterates together—from the beginning—and moves continually toward final frame.

A new workflow for CG animation

One of the biggest differences in using a real-time platform as the creative center of your pipeline is that all departments are able to begin work immediately [(1), fig. above], simultaneously, and collaboratively. That in and of itself brings numerous invaluable benefits:

  • What you formerly thought of as ‘pre-production’ is actually now just ‘production.’ Because your project is live from the beginning, you can remove and replace temporary animations and shots with updated or refined versions as you are iterating [(2), fig. above], whenever they are ready, without needing to throw out work or pre-visualizations entirely and starting from scratch again in a new phase of production. It’s not unusual to have even some pre-visualizations themselves make it into final shots, as they can often be a useful foundation that carries all the way through. Some directors prefer to begin even without storyboarding, since building out a world first and then finding the right shot organically to tell your story often feels more natural and inspiring.
  • Review cycles, feedback loops, and speed of iteration are so much improved that productivity can double—allowing you to meet your goals in half the time. Directors, no longer forced to remain several days or even weeks behind artists’ work (by the time renders come in for review), are able to lean over and look at a scene’s progress at any time [(3), fig. above]. This means feedback itself is in real-time. Similarly, artists are empowered with up-to-date direction and the ongoing ability to make sure they are meeting the creative vision of their leadership team. Without time delays between iterations, decisions are made faster, which means fewer waste in precious resources that would have been spent going down the wrong creative paths.
  • Experimentation is risk-free. Let’s start with an example: when writer/director Neill Blomkamp (District 9, Elysium) and VFX Supervisor Chris Harvey (TRON: Legacy, Zero Dark Thirty) were creating “Adam 2: The Mirror,” a particular outdoor scene set up in midday was causing them to struggle with lighting that wasn’t quite right for the look of the scene. Finally Harvey suggested an idea to Blomkamp: give him one hour, and he’ll come back with more choices. He then worked with his lighting team to take the same 30 seconds of the shot lit in four different times of day (2:00, 4:00, and so on). He came back to Neill, they agreed on the strongest, and moved forward with it for the final version. This would never have been possible without real-time technology, as it would have taken far too long to create unnecessary versions of the scene and ultimately too much of a luxury because of the cost. Yet in Unity, all of this is free, fast, and flexible enough to accomplish even as a quick experiment over lunch.

Finally, the project is always moving forward [(4), fig. above], even if creative direction changes. Unlike traditional workflows, where a significant change like camera angle or character swap might send you back to square one to reset the layout or art from scratch, a real-time production simply adjusts in the moment and departments carry on working. If you need to shoot something from a different angle, change the scale of props in an environment, or even revisit the entire look and feel or style of your art, it’s all in real-time 3D, preventing any ripple effects and any need to return to square one. Every day of work, and every decision made, is propelling you and your team to your ultimate vision and final frame.

The positive impact real-time work has on teams

Another significant difference between teams that create in real-time and teams that don’t is the overall culture boost when artists can truly collaborate, participate, and feel more ownership of the project as a whole. These benefits extend beyond individuals and can result in a studio-wide increase in creative satisfaction:

  • What used to be more of a factory-line handoff is now an open seat at a large, round table. It’s not uncommon for artists in offline workflows to feel isolated, lonely, or insignificant. Being stuck in a silo is never as inspiring, desirable, or rewarding as actively partnering with teammates to ideate, brainstorm, or spitball.. Because there’s no step-ladder restriction anymore when it comes to workflows in a live project, every artist, technical director, specialist, department head, or line producer can show up to add creative value and contribution, bringing their own unique eye and experience at any time to any situation that requires problem-solving or creative exploration.
  • ‘Upstream’ and ‘downstream’ skillsets formerly separated by time and process can now work simultaneously and even physically together. An animator, for example, can work with a lighting artist [(5), fig. above] to see how various artistic directions for a character would play out in context with the fully lit scene. When artists can complement (and compliment!) each others’ work, it naturally leads to a better quality product in the end—but more importantly, it leads to healthy professional partnerships and deeper relationships. What’s more, it increases the likelihood of those ‘happy accidents’ and magic moments when unplanned creative forces come together in such a way that a brand new story element or clever opportunity emerges that is simply impossible to resist.
  • Artists can pitch their own ideas (and do so quickly and easily), which leads to a sense of empowerment. There are two reasons in particular why artists can test out hunches and concepts for themselves or others, in a way they can’t in traditional offline workflows. First, as the creative center of your pipeline, Unity allows artist to bring their assets all the way into the contextual scene, and even to create mini-moments themselves using the storytelling tools, which makes it easier to paint the picture for the director. Second, because this is less time-intensive of a task (and because they aren’t dependent on technical staff to assist in doing so), they can do so without disrupting their daily work or milestones; they can pitch more ideas, which empowers the director with additional perspectives as well as raises the value of contribution from his or her artist talent.
  • Individuals can see the impact of their work in the larger context of the overall story. This fosters a new kind of work environment: one that becomes collective, motivating, and more meaningful as production progresses. When directors make requests to artists, it’s no longer something that has to be taken on faith or without understanding, because the artist can view the work too and understand why and how it fits together (or doesn’t). When a story is the result of a thriving community of creative, passionate team members, even the audience can tell.

Free yourself from render farms

One of the most powerful aspects of working in real-time is that, when you decide you have reached your vision or when the time has come to deliver your story, a final render is only a click away. Not only can the Unity engine now produce the right visual fidelity to match the aesthetic style of your creative vision, but the frame recording feature allows you to capture footage right away, in a variety of desired formats (even up to 8K).

In a world where directors are used to the idea of single frames taking minutes if not hours to render, the idea of hitting ‘record’ and seeing the editor popping out an entire short film before you’re even back from grabbing coffee might seem too good to be true. This is the power of real-time filmmaking, the future of content creation in a world where storytellers are not restricted by technology but empowered by it—a world where the only limitation is creativity and imagination. This is how it should be.

It should also be noted that, for studios who prefer to remain with their custom or proprietary offline renderers for a final render solution, Unity also has FBX exporting functionality to export geometry and record cameras and animations. The editor is highly customizable and can be plugged into your rendering pipeline in various ways. On the journey to final render, however, a real-time workflow can always be leveraged until that moment arrives, enabling teams to benefit from all the above opportunities along the way.

“It’s all live, all the time. Every artist can see the big picture. Creative decisions are much more holistic and flexible, rather than isolated.”

Chris Harvey, VFX Supervisor, OATS

Ready to join the real-time revolution?

Get in touch today to learn more about the ways Unity can help streamline your production.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.