Cyber week

获取促销礼品。限时优惠。12 月 4 日结束。
获取促销礼品。限时优惠。12 月 4 日结束。

《非常英雄》

发布者 Magic Design Studios
The studio
从大到小

2015 年,Ubisoft 的三位资深专家在法国南部沿海地区的蒙彼利埃(这里是资深游戏开发者的天堂)创立了 Magic Design 工作室。Bruno Gentile、Lu Yang 和 Nicolas Leger 的目标是创办一家专注于制作优秀娱乐作品的公司。对于这些才华横溢的美术师和设计师来说,“怎么做”不成问题,“做什么”才是关键。

Founders Bruno Gentile, Lu Yang and Nicolas Leger

Founders Bruno Gentile, Lu Yang and Nicolas Leger

“我们希望将玩家带入一些奇妙的梦幻宇宙。”首席执行官兼创意总监 Yang 如此说道。Magic Design 的核心团队在制作《雷曼》《雷曼:疯狂兔子》《刺客信条》《勇敢的心》以及《幽灵行动》系列游戏中积累了丰富的经验,因此其在实现这一目标所需的顶级视觉效果、动画、音频和游戏性方面拥有大量的人才。“我们花了一年半的时间来阐述、定义、寻找和塑造我们想要制作的游戏/故事/体验。最终发现,我们最想做的还是视频游戏!”

2017 年 6 月,该团队全力开工制作其第一款以工作室名义发布的游戏:《非常英雄》

The project
当动作平台游戏遇见中国文学

《非常英雄》的灵感来自于明朝成书的古典小说《西游记》。“这是一个非常棒的故事,”Yang 继续说道,“但我发现它在西方并不为人所熟知。”《西游记》是中国 16 世纪的伟大作品之一,讲述了一个和尚带领三个徒弟为取得真经而历经磨难的传奇朝圣之旅。  

在浓郁鲜活的环境中,游戏将演绎一出比原作更轻松愉悦、丰富多彩、诙谐有趣的故事,同时仍传达出成为圣人所必需的深层品格:信任、决心、智慧和勇气。在游戏中,玩家面临一系列需要混合运用跳跃和攀爬技能的挑战,并与成群敌人和令人难忘的 Boss 角色进行紧张刺激的战斗。

Unruly Heroes reimagines a timeless piece of Chinese literature

Unruly Heroes reimagines a timeless piece of Chinese literature

虽然这款动作平台游戏宣扬合作精神,旨在鼓励“沙发合作”(玩家每人控制四个独特角色中的一个进行游戏),但崇尚独狼主义、对共享体验不感兴趣的玩家也可以在本地竞争模式下狂虐自己的好友。

《非常英雄》计划于 2018 年在 PC、Xbox One、PS4 和 Nintendo Switch 上发布。

观看 Unruly Heroes 预告片
The reveal
再铸辉煌

虽然 Magic Design 团队曾制作过多款大获成功的游戏,但在《非常英雄》的开发过程中,许多最适用的经验来自于《雷曼传奇》《勇敢的心》,他们在制作这两款游戏的过程中掌握了构建 2D 游戏的趁手工具。

“从概念上说,我们为《非常英雄》创建的作为 Unity 扩展使用的关卡设计工具与我们以前制作一些出色的 2D 游戏时所用的工具类似。”Magic Design 的 Bruno Gentile 解释道,“但是,我们所做的事情要更复杂一些,而且是在 3D 模式下工作。我们使用编辑器流程生成美术资源和碰撞体,美术师和关卡设计师使用的同样也是这些数据。”

该工作室的主要工作是创作令人难忘的动画和艺术

在开发过程中,每个关卡在编辑器中都分成了三个独立的场景,以便关卡设计师、美术师和声音设计师可以同时进行工作。“我们的关卡设计师 Simon 从构建基块开始工作 - 你可能已经在 #Blocktober [10 月期间“鼓励分享‘构建基块网格’布局”的标签] 上看到了。构建基块让我们能够设计和完善游戏原型,并在工作完成后与其他场景合并。这使我们的工作更有针对性。”

每个团队都很熟悉 Playmaker,这有助于进行原型设计,并且可以快速构建新的游戏场景。事实上,该团队能够为游戏创建 PVP 模式(他们引以为豪的本地和在线游戏功能),而不必寻求编程团队的帮助。

工具成就艺术

Magic Design 使用 Unity 作为强大的基础来构建游戏 - 音频和粒子系统等内置功能给他们带来了极大便利,更不用说将游戏发布到市场上所有游戏主机和桌面系统的能力。

“但我不认为我们的工具是 Magic Design 最出色的作品,功劳应该属于创作出精美和引人注目的美术资源的美术师们。”Gentile 继续说道。

查看让其中一位 Unruly Hero 栩栩如生的创作过程

“我们使用的所有资源都是简单的手绘纹理。”艺术总监 Jean-Brice Dugait 表示:“借助我们的工具,可以对它们进行实时修改,例如光照、变形、动画等。”这非常直观和简单,任何 2D 美术师都能在 Unity 中将静态插图转换为动态的 3D 环境。

对于一个擅长游戏开发和动画制作的工作室来说,他们集合的所有技术功能和工具首先是为美术师服务的,旨在让美术师能够创造出极富表现力的视觉体验,这一点并不令人惊讶。

Unity的美术和设计工具助您将游戏想法变为现实。

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Unruly Heroes

by Magic Design Studios
The studio
From big to small

Founded in 2015 by a trio of Ubisoft veterans, Magic Design Studios is nestled in Montpellier, a haven for veteran game developers near the coast of southern France. Bruno Gentile, Lu Yang and Nicolas Leger set out to build a company focused on creating high-quality entertainment. At the time, the question for these accomplished artists and designers was more “What?” than “How?”

Founders Bruno Gentile, Lu Yang and Nicolas Leger

Founders Bruno Gentile, Lu Yang and Nicolas Leger

“We want to invite players to be part of some fantastic universes,” says CEO and creative director Yang. And given the core team’s massive experience creating games in the Rayman, Raving Rabbids, Assassin’s Creed, Valiant Hearts, and Ghost Recon franchises, Magic Design has a lot of talent for the top-line visuals, animations, audio and gameplay needed to meet that goal. “We spent a year and a half elaborating, defining, searching for, and shaping the kind of game/story/experience we wanted to offer. It turns out we are video game crafters!”

The team entered full production in June 2017 on their first game release as a studio: Unruly Heroes.

The project
Action-platformer meets Chinese literature

Unruly Heroes takes its inspiration from the classic Ming dynasty tale Journey to the West. “It’s a wonderful story,” continues Yang. “But I noticed it wasn’t really known in the West.” Indeed, Journey to the West is one of China’s great works from the 16th century and tells the tale of a monk’s legendary pilgrimage, along with three companions, to obtain sacred texts while enduring trials and tribulations on the road.   

Set in lush and lively environments, the game will spin a version of the tale that is more lighthearted, colorful and funny than the original while still communicating the deeper message of what it takes to be a hero: Trust, determination, wisdom and courage. The players are invited to mix jumping and climbing challenges with high-intensity combat against an army of enemies and memorable boss characters.

Unruly Heroes reimagines a timeless piece of Chinese literature

Unruly Heroes reimagines a timeless piece of Chinese literature

While this action-platformer is an allegory for the power of cooperation, and is designed to encourage “couch co-op,” where players take control of one of four unique characters, those not interested in the companionship that comes with shared experiences can instead crush their friends in a local competitive mode.

Unruly Heroes is set to release in 2018 on PC, Xbox One, PS4, and Nintendo Switch.

Watch Unruly Heroes' trailer
The reveal
Building from experience

While the Magic Design team has worked on a variety of hugely successful games, many of the most applicable lessons learned for the development of Unruly Heroes have come from their work on Rayman Legends and Valiant Hearts, where they learned about elegant tools for building 2D games.

“The level design tools we’ve created as Unity extensions for Unruly Heroes are conceptually similar to tools we’ve used for some amazing 2D games in the past,” explains Magic Design’s Bruno Gentile. “However, what we’ve done is a bit more complex and works in 3D. We use an editor line to generate art and a collider, and it’s the same data for artists and level designers.”

The studio’s primary focus is creating memorable animation and art

During development, each level is split into three separate scenes in-editor so that the level designer, artist, and sound designer can work on it at the same time. “Our level designer, Simon, starts with blocks, as you may have seen on #Blocktober [a hashtag that ‘encourages the sharing of “blockmesh” layouts’ during October]. The blocks let us prototype and evolve gameplay, and merge with the other scenes after work is done. This allows us to work with more focus.”

Each of the teams is familiar with Playmaker to aid prototyping, and can build new gameplay scenarios quickly. In fact, they were able to create a PVP mode (a feature they’re proud to include for local and online play) for the game without needing to solicit their programming team.

The tools celebrate the art

Magic Design uses Unity as a powerful base to build their game, taking advantage of several built-in features such as the Audio and Particle Systems, not to mention the ability to bring the game to every console and desktop system on the market.

“But I don’t think our tools are the best part of what we’re doing at Magic Design: It’s the artists who are creating beautiful and compelling art,” continues Gentile.

See the creative process that brings one of the Unruly Heroes to life

“All the assets we use are simple, hand-painted textures. Using our tools, we are able to apply real-time modifications over them, such as lights, deformations, animation and so on,” says artistic director Jean-Brice Dugait. This is quite straightforward and makes it possible for any 2D artist to transform a still illustration into a living, 3D environment in Unity.

For a studio that advertises game development and animation as its forte, it’s not surprising that, first and foremost, all of the technical features and tools they’ve assembled serve their artists, allowing them to create a masterful visual experience.

Unity’s art and design tools can help make your game vision a reality.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Click here for more information.