与 Unity 合作推出创新的学位课程

UAA 如何帮助 OUHK 为竞争激烈的行业培训和认证学生。

香港公开大学:Unity 案例分析

一所大学如何将最新的可视化技术融入到传统的美术课程中,为学生提供极具市场价值的工作技能?他们又如何满足影视制作、广告、医疗保健、工程和其他行业对实时 3D (RT3D)、AR/VR 专业人士日益增长的需求?

  • 挑战

    满足行业对高技能 Unity RT3D 和 AR/VR 开发者的需求,并利用最新的可视化技术实现课程创新和现代化。

  • Unity 解决方案实践

    Unity Pro、ProBuilder、HDRP、Asset Store、XR 交互工具包、AR Foundation

  • 项目规模

    60 名学生

  • 所在地

    中国香港

香港第一个 UAA 合作伙伴

香港公开大学艺术与社会科学学院创意美术系与 Unity 高校联盟 (UAA) 取得联系,寻求帮助开发一个反映 Unity 综合开发技能的计算机与互动娱乐多学科学位课程。OUHK 是香港第一所加入 UAA 的机构,Unity 很乐意为其提供价格合理的 Unity 产品和服务,包括课程框架、专业发展和认证。

Unity editor with a 3d nature scene
Unity editor with a scene with a portal

结果

  • 通过提供顶级 RT3D 和 AR/VR 课程,提高了作为大专教育领导者的知名度
  • 扩展了他们的学位课程,让更多学生能够掌握 Unity 技能
  • 让获得 Unity 认证的毕业生在竞争异常激烈的就业市场上取得优势
  • 提高了教员在 Unity 能力和技术方面的水平
Unity editor with character and mountain range scene

政府对创造性/技术性课程的支持

OUHK 成立于 1989 年,现已从一个为在职人士提供兼职学习机会的远程学习机构,发展成为提供合格的多学位课程的大学。由于预料到各行各业对技术型创作者的需求将迅速增长,政府拨款 1 亿港元资助 OUHK,以满足市场对结合创意和可视化技能的项目的需求。

OUHK 的 William Lai 博士在创建将 RT3D 与 CAD、Maya 和 Unity 等多种应用程序相结合的本科课程方面很有经验。在接手创建一个集成实时图形设计和人机交互 (HCI) 的计算和互动娱乐课程时,他专注于一个开发平台。“Unity 特别适合开发互动娱乐应用程序。对于可能没有太多技术专长的艺术向学生来说,它也非常易用。”

UAA 帮助扩展该项目

在香港,Unity 开发者的就业市场竞争相当激烈,即使在 COVID-19 大流行期间也是如此。Unity 认证为应届毕业生提供了可信度,不仅可以让他们进入游戏公司,还可以进入建筑和工程公司。目前,有 25 名学生有望完成 Unity 认证初级工程师级别的认证,还有两名教授正在准备 Unity 认证专业人士级别的考试。

OUHK 的 Rebecca Leung 博士认为,UAA 提高了学生的成功率。“UAA 的教育机构折扣和面向 AR、VR、游戏、建筑、工程和施工的新课程框架将帮助我们将 RT3D 和 AR/VR 技能扩展到 OUHK 的更多学位课程,以进一步满足行业需求。”

UAA 的核心使命是帮助像 OUHK 这样的大专院校开设和扩展 RT3D、AR/VR 课程,帮助学生为高需求的工作做好准备,进而实现高校自身的创新和发展。为此,UAA 提供了由可堆叠的、基于能力的模块、认证和专业发展以及具有成本效益的折扣计划组成的课程框架。据 Lai 估计,在 OUHK 计算机和互动娱乐专业的毕业生中,有一半以上在其当前工作中会用到 Unity。

学生通过 Unity 学习综合技能

除了利用 Unity 认证初级工程师和 Unity 全球认证讲师课件的学分和打折的 Unity 许可证外,学生还可以使用 XR 交互工具包AR Foundation 包。该工具包对于缺乏编码经验的人来说极具价值,AR Foundation 使他们的内容能够跨平台工作,以用于不同的头戴式显示器和手持控制器。此外,他们还从 Unity Asset Store 下载了很多工具和资源包。

在一个典型的学生项目中,一个四人团队创作了一个故事,并使用 ProBuilder 构建了原型。然后,他们将一系列使用高清渲染管线 (HDRP) 和各种其他 Unity 功能的实时过场动画组合在一起。在一个项目中,学生们制作了一个实验室泄露病毒的简短动画。完成的项目将在创意、艺术性、技术执行等方面接受同行评审。

为 RT3D 和 AR/VR 寻找更多的应用

OUHK 希望其计算机和互动娱乐项目能够得到长远的发展。他们希望在不久的将来提供 Unity MARSUnity ArtEngine 课程,让学生参与涉及文化历史、安全和创意叙事的项目。Unity MARS 支持构建具有上下文感知和响应能力的智能 AR 应用,而 ArtEngine 能够自动实现和加快将照片转化为基于物理的渲染 (PBR) 材质的过程,让学生可以对不同的表面进行实验。

Leung 认为,借助这些及其他 Unity 功能,RT3D 和 AR/VR 可以为整个校园的各个系增加价值。“我们希望 Unity 实时技术能够提升该系其他研究领域的课程,尤其是中国文化方面的课程。”与 UAA 合作,她的希望可能很快就能实现。

Dr. William Lai, Assistant Professor, Program Leader of BA (Hons) in Computing and Interactive Entertainment, the Open University of Hong Kong

“Unity 特别适合开发互动娱乐应用程序。对于可能没有太多技术专长的艺术向学生来说,它也非常易用。”

Dr. William Lai, Assistant Professor, Program Leader of BA (Hons) in Computing and Interactive Entertainment, the Open University of Hong Kong
Dr. Rebecca Leung, Associate Professor, Head, Department of Creative Arts, School of Arts and Social Sciences, the Open University of Hong Kong

“UAA 的教育机构折扣和面向 AR、VR、游戏、建筑、工程和施工的新课程框架将帮助我们将 RT3D 和 AR/VR 技能扩展到 OUHK 的更多学位课程,以进一步满足行业需求。”

Dr. Rebecca Leung, Associate Professor, Head, Department of Creative Arts, School of Arts and Social Sciences, the Open University of Hong Kong

阅读完整的案例分析

深入了解 Unity 高校联盟如何帮助香港公开大学为许多竞争激烈的行业培训和认证掌握实时 3D 技能的学生。

加入 Unity 高校联盟

利用实时 3D、VR 和 AR 技术加快交互式设计和开发计划。让学生为广阔的互动媒体、技术和创新的领域做好准备,在职业市场上占据优势。

我们使用 Cookie 来确保为您提供网站的最佳体验。有关更多信息,请访问我们的 Cookie 政策页面

明白了

Launching an innovative degree program with Unity

How UAA helps the OUHK train and certify students for highly competitive industries.

The Open University of Hong Kong: A Unity case study

How does a university integrate the latest visualization technologies into a traditional arts program to provide students with highly marketable job skills? And how do they meet the growing demand for real-time 3D (RT3D) and AR/VR professionals in film and TV production, advertising, healthcare, engineering and other industries?

  • The challenge

    To meet industry demand for highly skilled Unity RT3D and AR/VR developers, and innovate and modernize curricula with the latest in visualization technologies.

  • Unity solutions in use

    Unity Pro, ProBuilder, HDRP, Asset Store, XR Interaction Toolkit, AR Foundation

  • Program size

    60 students

  • Location

    Hong Kong

The first UAA partner in Hong Kong

The Department of Creative Arts of the School of Arts and Social Sciences at the Open University of Hong Kong reached out to the Unity Academic Alliance (UAA) for help to develop a multidisciplinary degree program in Computing and Interactive Entertainment that would reflect comprehensive skills in Unity development. The OUHK is the first institution in Hong Kong to embrace the UAA, and Unity is happy to offer affordable access to Unity products and services, including curriculum frameworks, professional development, and certifications.

Unity editor with a 3d nature scene
Unity editor with a scene with a portal

The results

  • Increased visibility as a post-secondary leader by offering cutting-edge RT3D and AR/VR programs
  • Expanded their degree program to empower more students with Unity skills
  • Graduated students with Unity Certifications in an extremely competitive job market
  • Upskilled instructors in Unity capabilities and techniques
Unity editor with character and mountain range scene

Government support for a creative/technical approach

Founded in 1989, the OUHK has evolved from a distance-learning institution for working adults studying part-time to become a full-fledged university multiple-degree program. Anticipating rapidly growing demand for tech-savvy creators across all industries, the government funded the OUHK with HK$100M to meet the need for a program that combined both creative and visualization skills.

The OUHK’s Dr. William Lai was experienced in creating undergraduate-level courses that used RT3D with a variety of applications such as CAD, Maya, and Unity. When he took on responsibility for the Computing and Interactive Entertainment program, which integrates real-time graphic design and human computer interaction (HCI), he focused on one development platform. “Unity is particularly good for developing interactive entertainment applications. It’s also very user-friendly for art-oriented students who may not have much technical expertise.”

UAA helps expand the program

The job market for Unity developers in Hong Kong is quite competitive, even during the COVID-19 pandemic. Unity Certifications provide the credibility for recent graduates to get in the door not only at game companies, but at architecture and engineering firms as well. Currently, 25 students are on track to complete the Unity Certified Associate level of certifications, and two professors are preparing for the Unity Certified Professional level of exams.

The OUHK’s Dr. Rebecca Leung credits UAA with increasing student success. “The UAA academic discount and new curricular frameworks for AR, VR, gaming, architecture, engineering, and construction will help us address industry demand further by expanding RT3D and AR/VR skills into more degree programs at the OUHK.”

The core mission of UAA is to help post-secondary institutions like the OUHK innovate and stay relevant by starting and expanding RT3D and AR/VR programs that prepare students for high-demand jobs. To do this, UAA offers curricular frameworks composed of stackable, competency-based modules, certifications and professional development, and a cost-effective discount program. Lai estimates that over half of the OUHK’s Computing and Interactive Entertainment graduates are using Unity in their current jobs.

Students learn comprehensive skills with Unity

In addition to leveraging credits for Unity Certified Associate and Unity Certified Instructor courseware and discounted Unity licenses, students make use of both the XR Interaction Toolkit and AR Foundation packages. The toolkit was particularly valuable for those who lacked coding experience, and AR Foundation made their content work cross-platform for different head-mounted displays and hand controllers. They also downloaded a number of tools and asset packages from the Unity Asset Store.

In a typical student project, a four-person team creates a story and builds prototypes with ProBuilder. They then put together a series of real-time cutscenes that use the High Definition Render Pipeline (HDRP) and a variety of other Unity capabilities. In one project, students built a short animation of a lab that leaked viruses. The finished projects are peer-judged for creativity, artistry, and technical execution.

Finding more applications for RT3D and AR/VR

The OUHK is looking forward to the long-term development of their Computing and Interactive Entertainment program. They hope to offer courses in Unity MARS and Unity ArtEngine in the near future, engaging students in projects involving cultural history, safety, and creative storytelling. Unity MARS enables building intelligent AR apps that are context-aware and responsive, while ArtEngine lets students experiment with different surfaces by automating and accelerating the photoconversion of physically based rendered (PBR) materials.

Making use of these and other Unity capabilities, Leung sees RT3D and AR/VR adding value across departments campus-wide. “We hope Unity real-time technology can enhance curricula in other fields of study in the department, especially in Chinese culture.” Partnering with UAA, her hope may soon be realized.

Dr. William Lai, Assistant Professor, Program Leader of BA (Hons) in Computing and Interactive Entertainment, the Open University of Hong Kong

“Unity is particularly good for developing interactive entertainment applications. It’s also very user-friendly for art-oriented students who may not have much technical expertise.”

Dr. William Lai, Assistant Professor, Program Leader of BA (Hons) in Computing and Interactive Entertainment, the Open University of Hong Kong
Dr. Rebecca Leung, Associate Professor, Head, Department of Creative Arts, School of Arts and Social Sciences, the Open University of Hong Kong

“The UAA academic discount and new curricular frameworks for AR, VR, gaming, architecture, engineering, and construction will help us address industry demand further by expanding RT3D and AR/VR skills into more degree programs at the OUHK.”

Dr. Rebecca Leung, Associate Professor, Head, Department of Creative Arts, School of Arts and Social Sciences, the Open University of Hong Kong

Read the full case study

Get the full story of how Unity Academic Alliance helps the Open University train and certify students in real-time 3D for many highly competitive industries.

Join the Unity Academic Alliance

Accelerate your interactive design and development programs with real-time 3D, VR and AR technology. And give your students an edge in the job market by preparing them for the expansive fields of interactive media, technology, and innovation.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. Visit our cookie policy page for more information.

Got it